Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 40 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

40 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

40 reviews | 4 out of 5

83%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
22
4 stars
9
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 stars
6
1-20 of 34 total reviews
83%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 34 total reviews
1-20 of 34 reviews
Perfect!! Comfortable and even heat.
11/20/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 11/20/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I use it to heat a 580 sq ft cottage in MA that is not well insulated. I have had trouble in the past maintaining comfortable heat. Dr heater was my answer. It distributes evenly throughout my home. It is far superior to the electric radiator and forced hot air methods I have used in the past. No more feeling drafts, no more fighting the battle betweeen being either too hot or too cold. And if I want to warm up from coming in from outside, I just sit in front the heater for a minute or two and the air it blows out warms me right up. It's easy to move around the room since it's on wheels and is small. It keeps my house at a constant 70 degrees with outside temps going down into the 30's so far. I am confident it will perform well when even when outside temps go down to the teens. I keep my bedroom door closed during the day and open up the door about 15 min before I go to bed. That's all it takes for the whole bedroom (including all the bedding) to warm up thouroughly after being unheated all day. I don't even have to move the heater into the bedroom. I also love that I can leave the front door open while bringing in groceries, etc., and even though lots of cold air rushes in from outside, the room goes right back to being perfectly warm after I shut the door. Excellent product.

Was this review helpful? (110) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Southeastern MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
11/20/2011

Customer review by bobswifey

5.0 stars 11/20/2011 by bobswifey
by bobswifey

AWESOME furnace has not run yet! last night was 28 and stayed 72 inside.heating 900 square feet nicely

Was this review helpful? (58) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bobswifey
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great investment and does the job as stated
12/15/2011

Customer review by Eggdraw

5.0 stars 12/15/2011 by Eggdraw
by Eggdraw

After doing much research on heaters that may do what I indeded to use it for, this was my final choice. Keep in mind however, this heater will heat up the area, but it will take time, it is not going to produce instant heat unless one stands right in front of it. It honestly needs time to do the job and it will. If you start with a cold room, the air as well as the walls plus other places need to heat up. Once the room heats up it gets nice and warm then and will then shut on and off all by it self. This is in a 35 foot 5th wheel RV with 3 slideouts. It heats the whole RV when it's needed. The cost of the Propane is just to expensive to use and this is really the answer. (Keep in mind that electric is needed to operate this heater). To really give this a jump start we also use The Big Buddy heater. Use it first and switch to this and never be cold in a room. I took 2 whole weeks to see if this is what I hoped it was and also to see if it would fit my needs. It did and will also maybe fit your needs. I know it works in a house also as we gave it a test in a friends house. They then bought one after that. Everyone is warm now.

Was this review helpful? (38) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Eggdraw
Texas & Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
nice looking unit that works well for more heat
10/24/2011

Customer review by NewEnglandFolks

5.0 stars 10/24/2011 by NewEnglandFolks
by NewEnglandFolks

The infra red heater brings the additional warmth to our large living area saving us the cost of boosting the central heating unit for those periods when we want to be just a bit warmer. the heat from the unit circulates evenly and we find it comfortable and easy to use.

Was this review helpful? (61) (19)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NewEnglandFolks
Holyoke, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great heater with a problem
11/20/2011

Customer review by wesviking

2.0 stars 11/20/2011 by wesviking
by wesviking

This heater is excellent, however, it has a problem. I wanted it for my family room and I was quick to find out that the signal from my TV remote conflicts with the Dr. Heater remote. My TV remote turns the heater on and changes other settings as well, which is not a good thing. The manufacturer is aware of the problem and is working on a fix. My 2 star rating would probably go to a 4 or 5 star when the remote conflict gets resolved. I had to return my heater because of this and look for something else. If you don't have a remote situation at your house then this heater would be a great buy. The remote turns the heater on or off, raises and lowers the thermostat setting, and can set the shutoff timer to 1, 2, or 3 hours. It is small and compact and fits in small places. The cabinet is wood and it looks great.

Was this review helpful? (45) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
wesviking
Livonia, MI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
12/22/2011

Customer review by hcdrred

5.0 stars 12/22/2011 by hcdrred
by hcdrred

Heater really works nice for my large bedroom and master bath area. (387 sq. ft.). I usually turn it on 70 or 72 degrees. Cycles on and off like a furnace. Heat is not as dry as natural gas heat. I turn my central heat to 63 degrees for the rest of the house and close the door to the bedroom where I use the infrared heater. My bedroom has a door leading to an outside deck and large glass windows. The central heat wouldn't heat that room properly and it was always much colder than the rest of the house. The infrared heater has solved my problem. Very pleased with it so far as I've only had it for 3 weeks. Don't know yet how it affects my utility bill as I haven't compared yet as this is new to me. Also love the remote control and can regulate the heat from my bed. I set the unit on top of my cedar chest as they say it works better if you have it elevated 2 or three feet above floor level. The wood exterior makes for a nice appearance and the small size of the unit makes it very practical.

Was this review helpful? (35) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
hcdrred
Springfield, Mo.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great heater
11/20/2011

Customer review by Canonshooter1

5.0 stars 11/20/2011 by Canonshooter1
by Canonshooter1

I ordered this Dr. Heater a couple weeks ago at Walmart.com. It is everything I expected it to be. It heats my 14x23 livingroom, and 14x21 kitchen. I set it at 67 and it stays at that temp. It also has a programable thermostat, and shuts off when it reaches the set temp. I haven't had it long enough to tell wheather it saves on electric, but I know it will compaired to that old 220 volt furnace that comes on every 20 min or so. I'll update this when I get my elec. bill. Thanks walmart.

Was this review helpful? (22) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Canonshooter1
Somewhere in WV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Top 1000 contributor
This heater is a joke
11/30/2012

Customer review by Deltorro

1.0 stars 11/30/2012 by Deltorro
by Deltorro

I purchased this same heater from the manufacturer two years ago. It does not heat multiple rooms as the manufacturer advertises. This heater couldn't keep one room warm without running constantly. The money I saved on my gas bill was spent on my electric bill by keeping this unit running continuosly. Direct from the manufacturer, I paid just over $200. Walmart's price is much better. I have a small 1500 watt ceramic heater that I paid $30 for. The $30 heater works better than this infrared heater.

Was this review helpful? (16) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Deltorro
Oklahoma
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Great energy effecient heater
11/26/2013

Customer review by wteturner

5.0 stars 11/26/2013 by wteturner
by wteturner

My heat pump went out we bought this and I already had an eden pure that I bought 3 years ago between the two they keep my 2000 square feet home toasty,,, I also had the lowest bill in 7 years but the duraflame puts the 300.00 eden pure to shame, to be honest I couldn't believe the difference and no fans to circulate either just keep doors to rooms open its amazing

Was this review helpful? (17) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
wteturner
Knoxville,TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Not what claims to be and stopped working quick
12/21/2011

Customer review by drheaterstinks

1.0 stars 12/21/2011 by drheaterstinks
by drheaterstinks

Cheaply made and stopped working after 3 times being used. I warn you to not buy this product. I should have listened to the reviews I read. There are a lot better products out there. They only honor the warranty if you ship it back to them. I decided to use the $70 to put toward a new heater that is worth the money.

Was this review helpful? (22) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
drheaterstinks
Kokomo Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
11/11/2011

Customer review by MrsPeanut123

4.0 stars 11/11/2011 by MrsPeanut123
by MrsPeanut123

I've had this heater for a week now and it's working great and heats up 2 rooms of my house. No problems so far, great heater.

Was this review helpful? (18) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MrsPeanut123
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Excellent infrared heater
12/24/2011

Customer review by pricehaggler

5.0 stars 12/24/2011 by pricehaggler
by pricehaggler

This heater heats an entire room and the heat comes on quickly and is efficient. Our utility bills are 1/3 less than the same month last year. We attribute this to buying three infrared heaters and placing them in the three rooms that we use the most. We have now turned off our central heat, as it is just too expensive to run (luckily, we live in a southern state where this is possible). We also are going to window units in strategic rooms in the summer (and turning off our central A/C). If we could afford solar panels, we would also go there. We are waiting for Walmart to offer the first affordable solar panel energy units. Best of luck...

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
pricehaggler
SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Not worth the Money
11/7/2012

Customer review by Jacqueline49

1.0 stars 11/7/2012 by Jacqueline49
by Jacqueline49

I received this yesterday, unpacked the box, read the instructions, plugged it in and it worked for less than 5 minutes. Emailed service and I am waiting to hear on returning it.

Was this review helpful? (9) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jacqueline49
Vermont
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
2/25/2013

Customer review by goosehead57

1.0 stars 2/25/2013 by goosehead57
by goosehead57

Purchased in Sept. 2012. It worked for 5 months and died. Cannot contact customer service. They are not recieving calls. This choice cost me. Buyer beware.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
goosehead57
Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Decent heater
10/23/2011

Customer review by jay1586

4.0 stars 10/23/2011 by jay1586
by jay1586

I use this heater for supplemental heating and it works well. I haven't received the electirc bill since having it, so I don't know how much of an impact it will have. The heater is quiet and warms quickly.

Was this review helpful? (20) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jay1586
North Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Did not heat up the area that i needed at all
11/21/2012

Customer review by happygilmore26

1.0 stars 11/21/2012 by happygilmore26
by happygilmore26

It says 1000 sq ft, my livivng room and kithcen makes up about that. However it did not warm up the area. I do have an open area that could have been the problem not sure. I moved it to the dinning room that was a little more closed in and it still did not work. Maybe it would work in a room that isnt that big and you could close a door. In an open space it dosent work.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
happygilmore26
Aston, pa
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Heater that went south on me
11/22/2013

Customer review by Clonemetoday

1.0 stars 11/22/2013 by Clonemetoday
by Clonemetoday

Bought the heater and put it in my daughter's bedroom to keep off the chill. Heater was not abused. Ran at a low temp. Only lasted one season. This year when we turned in on, it will only run at the highest temp and never shuts off.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Clonemetoday
Godrey, Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Really great!
1/5/2012

Customer review by customtele

5.0 stars 1/5/2012 by customtele
by customtele

I bought this after reviewing lots of infrared heaters. We have a 900 sq ft basement with no heat. It is doing a great job, with no walls to stop it. The most comfortable the basement has ever been!

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
customtele
St Louis, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
12/1/2011

Customer review by andy32n

4.0 stars 12/1/2011 by andy32n
by andy32n

The Doctor Heater is affordable, compact,and attractive. I have had it only two weeks, but, I prefer it to the Eden pure which cost nearly twice as much. Hopefully the Doctor will prove to be much more durable

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
andy32n
Prestonsburg, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Product
12/10/2011

Customer review by DevotedBuyer

4.0 stars 12/10/2011 by DevotedBuyer
by DevotedBuyer

My Dr. Heater just arrived this morning, it heats okay but it doesn't heat as much square footage as it says it does, it's nice looking though, I love the color and the design, the size is smaller than I thought. I love that there's wheels, it's easy to move. The price is good and the delivery is fast. However, I still recommend this to everyone.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DevotedBuyer
Rogersville, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 34 total reviews
1-20 of 34 reviews