Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 4.1out of 5 stars
4.1 out of 5 | 45 reviews
5 stars
26
4 stars
10
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 stars
6
Sort by: 
1-20 of 39 reviews
1-20 of 39 reviews
12/22/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Heater really works nice for my large bedroom and master bath area. (387 sq. ft.). I usually turn it on 70 or 72 degrees. Cycles on and off like a furnace. Heat is not as dry as natural gas heat. I turn my central heat to 63 degrees for the rest of the house and close the door to the bedroom where I use the infrared heater. My bedroom has a door leading to an outside deck and large glass windows. The central heat wouldn't heat that room properly and it was always much colder than the rest of the house. The infrared heater has solved my problem. Very pleased with it so far as I've only had it for 3 weeks. Don't know yet how it affects my utility bill as I haven't compared yet as this is new to me. Also love the remote control and can regulate the heat from my bed. I set the unit on top of my cedar chest as they say it works better if you have it elevated 2 or three feet above floor level. The wood exterior makes for a nice appearance and the small size of the unit makes it very practical.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (55)No (20)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great investment and does the job as stated
12/15/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
After doing much research on heaters that may do what I indeded to use it for, this was my final choice. Keep in mind however, this heater will heat up the area, but it will take time, it is not going to produce instant heat unless one stands right in front of it. It honestly needs time to do the job and it will. If you start with a cold room, the air as well as the walls plus other places need to heat up. Once the room heats up it gets nice and warm then and will then shut on and off all by it self. This is in a 35 foot 5th wheel RV with 3 slideouts. It heats the whole RV when it's needed. The cost of the Propane is just to expensive to use and this is really the answer. (Keep in mind that electric is needed to operate this heater). To really give this a jump start we also use The Big Buddy heater. Use it first and switch to this and never be cold in a room. I took 2 whole weeks to see if this is what I hoped it was and also to see if it would fit my needs. It did and will also maybe fit your needs. I know it works in a house also as we gave it a test in a friends house. They then bought one after that. Everyone is warm now.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (56)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Perfect!! Comfortable and even heat.
11/20/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I use it to heat a 580 sq ft cottage in MA that is not well insulated. I have had trouble in the past maintaining comfortable heat. Dr heater was my answer. It distributes evenly throughout my home. It is far superior to the electric radiator and forced hot air methods I have used in the past. No more feeling drafts, no more fighting the battle betweeen being either too hot or too cold. And if I want to warm up from coming in from outside, I just sit in front the heater for a minute or two and the air it blows out warms me right up. It's easy to move around the room since it's on wheels and is small. It keeps my house at a constant 70 degrees with outside temps going down into the 30's so far. I am confident it will perform well when even when outside temps go down to the teens. I keep my bedroom door closed during the day and open up the door about 15 min before I go to bed. That's all it takes for the whole bedroom (including all the bedding) to warm up thouroughly after being unheated all day. I don't even have to move the heater into the bedroom. I also love that I can leave the front door open while bringing in groceries, etc., and even though lots of cold air rushes in from outside, the room goes right back to being perfectly warm after I shut the door. Excellent product.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (132)No (14)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Awesome and safe!
6/26/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I purchased this heater for my trailer as we have a Jayco Jayfeather. It is very light weight, which makes it easier for us to tow...but not keep warm in the winter. Our rig has the heater, but then it uses the propaine, so we decided to purchase this heater. We went with this one because it shuts off if tipped over. The unit itself doesn't get hot, unless you touch the very front screen. It warmed our 30 foot trailer within 30 minutes. Our children slept much better being warm. I am happy with this and have already recommended it to many friends! Thank you!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great heater with a problem
11/20/2011
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This heater is excellent, however, it has a problem. I wanted it for my family room and I was quick to find out that the signal from my TV remote conflicts with the Dr. Heater remote. My TV remote turns the heater on and changes other settings as well, which is not a good thing. The manufacturer is aware of the problem and is working on a fix. My 2 star rating would probably go to a 4 or 5 star when the remote conflict gets resolved. I had to return my heater because of this and look for something else. If you don't have a remote situation at your house then this heater would be a great buy. The remote turns the heater on or off, raises and lowers the thermostat setting, and can set the shutoff timer to 1, 2, or 3 hours. It is small and compact and fits in small places. The cabinet is wood and it looks great.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (56)No (20)
Report
Was this review helpful?
11/20/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
AWESOME furnace has not run yet! last night was 28 and stayed 72 inside.heating 900 square feet nicely
Was this review helpful?
Yes (74)No (5)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great heater
11/20/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I ordered this Dr. Heater a couple weeks ago at Walmart.com. It is everything I expected it to be. It heats my 14x23 livingroom, and 14x21 kitchen. I set it at 67 and it stays at that temp. It also has a programable thermostat, and shuts off when it reaches the set temp. I haven't had it long enough to tell wheather it saves on electric, but I know it will compaired to that old 220 volt furnace that comes on every 20 min or so. I'll update this when I get my elec. bill. Thanks walmart.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (29)No (5)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great energy effecient heater
11/26/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
My heat pump went out we bought this and I already had an eden pure that I bought 3 years ago between the two they keep my 2000 square feet home toasty,,, I also had the lowest bill in 7 years but the duraflame puts the 300.00 eden pure to shame, to be honest I couldn't believe the difference and no fans to circulate either just keep doors to rooms open its amazing
Was this review helpful?
Yes (22)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
This heater is a joke
11/30/2012
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I purchased this same heater from the manufacturer two years ago. It does not heat multiple rooms as the manufacturer advertises. This heater couldn't keep one room warm without running constantly. The money I saved on my gas bill was spent on my electric bill by keeping this unit running continuosly. Direct from the manufacturer, I paid just over $200. Walmart's price is much better. I have a small 1500 watt ceramic heater that I paid $30 for. The $30 heater works better than this infrared heater.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (22)No (5)
Report
Was this review helpful?
12/1/2011
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
The Doctor Heater is affordable, compact,and attractive. I have had it only two weeks, but, I prefer it to the Eden pure which cost nearly twice as much. Hopefully the Doctor will prove to be much more durable
Was this review helpful?
Yes (8)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Excellent infrared heater
12/24/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This heater heats an entire room and the heat comes on quickly and is efficient. Our utility bills are 1/3 less than the same month last year. We attribute this to buying three infrared heaters and placing them in the three rooms that we use the most. We have now turned off our central heat, as it is just too expensive to run (luckily, we live in a southern state where this is possible). We also are going to window units in strategic rooms in the summer (and turning off our central A/C). If we could afford solar panels, we would also go there. We are waiting for Walmart to offer the first affordable solar panel energy units. Best of luck...
Was this review helpful?
Yes (13)No (4)
Report
Was this review helpful?
nice looking unit that works well for more heat
10/24/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
The infra red heater brings the additional warmth to our large living area saving us the cost of boosting the central heating unit for those periods when we want to be just a bit warmer. the heat from the unit circulates evenly and we find it comfortable and easy to use.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (62)No (27)
Report
Was this review helpful?
3/16/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I use this in a RV and it heats the whole 37 footer in just a small amount of time!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (6)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Not what claims to be and stopped working quick
12/21/2011
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Cheaply made and stopped working after 3 times being used. I warn you to not buy this product. I should have listened to the reviews I read. There are a lot better products out there. They only honor the warranty if you ship it back to them. I decided to use the $70 to put toward a new heater that is worth the money.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (28)No (11)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Not worth the Money
11/7/2012
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I received this yesterday, unpacked the box, read the instructions, plugged it in and it worked for less than 5 minutes. Emailed service and I am waiting to hear on returning it.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (15)No (4)
Report
Was this review helpful?
11/11/2011
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I've had this heater for a week now and it's working great and heats up 2 rooms of my house. No problems so far, great heater.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (19)No (6)
Report
Was this review helpful?
2/25/2013
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Purchased in Sept. 2012. It worked for 5 months and died. Cannot contact customer service. They are not recieving calls. This choice cost me. Buyer beware.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (14)No (4)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Heater that went south on me
11/22/2013
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Bought the heater and put it in my daughter's bedroom to keep off the chill. Heater was not abused. Ran at a low temp. Only lasted one season. This year when we turned in on, it will only run at the highest temp and never shuts off.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (11)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Really great!
1/5/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I bought this after reviewing lots of infrared heaters. We have a 900 sq ft basement with no heat. It is doing a great job, with no walls to stop it. The most comfortable the basement has ever been!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (6)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Did not heat up the area that i needed at all
11/21/2012
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
It says 1000 sq ft, my livivng room and kithcen makes up about that. However it did not warm up the area. I do have an open area that could have been the problem not sure. I moved it to the dinning room that was a little more closed in and it still did not work. Maybe it would work in a room that isnt that big and you could close a door. In an open space it dosent work.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (10)No (4)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184643928, DC-prod-dal4, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-