Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 193 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

193 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

193 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

98%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
152
4 stars
32
3 stars
5
2 stars
2
1 stars
2
1-20 of 186 total reviews
98%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 186 total reviews
1-20 of 186 reviews
Lifetime Deck Box beats Rubbermaid hands down!
6/2/2013

Customer review by Rustie66

5.0 stars 6/2/2013 by Rustie66
by Rustie66
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The unique design (quite smart), plastic quality/stiffness (a BIG plus), bug security, and extreme ease of assembly beats all the other deck boxes, hands down. The few included screws all hit home and tighten very solidly, adding further to the stiffness of the entire assembly. On top of this, the Lifetime box has TWO gas lift cylinders, which few (if any) others have. When the lid is closed, it snaps shut....and opening is literally a reverse snap. This is one high quality deck box! I'm using mine in my back yard to hold my Mantis tiller, handheld gas blower, two BBQ cylinders, two bug zappers, and a fold-up wagon (from Costco)....and it still has just enough room for all my patio furniture covers (which is why I bought it in the first place). I've had previous Rubbermaid deck boxes, and inspected the latest Suncast and Keter, but was pleasantly surprised that none have the robustness of this Lifetime box. A great find!!

Was this review helpful? (34) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Rustie66
Westlake Village
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Outdoor storage box
7/21/2014

Customer review by Ridethebarrel

3.0 stars 7/21/2014 by Ridethebarrel
by Ridethebarrel
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Luckily my cousin was visiting from Geneva so, he quickly assembled this beast. took him 20 minutes - the hinges were perhaps the most challenging but, no biggie. I have yet to see how waterproof this box is because I only just got it and really cannot leave a fair review without at least one year going by to test it so, alas, I shall wait one year.

Was this review helpful? (3) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Ridethebarrel
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
One Tough Storage Box
1/24/2016

Customer review by Mary W

5.0 stars 1/24/2016 by Mary W
by Mary W

I have owned the Lifetime 130 gallon storage box for several years. If you saw it today, you would think it is brand new. This product can take a beating in the heat or cold and perform perfectly every time. My favorite part is the gas assist pistons that hold up the lid and keep it from falling down on my head or hands. A close second favorite feature is a place to lock the lid. I store pesticides, fertilizers and garden tools in this storage box and use a padlock for extra safety and peace of mind. Since the lid can handle up to 900 pounds of weight on it, I don't have to worry if I stand, sit or keep things on the top. Strong, safe, versatile and good looking - definitely worth the price!

Mary W
Gainesville, FL, United States
Functional, good value
1/22/2016

Customer review by Daveb

5.0 stars 1/22/2016 by Daveb
by Daveb

Well designed, easy to assemble, seems durable.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Daveb
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Best Deck Box on the market!
4/19/2012

Customer review by DIYpro1

5.0 stars 4/19/2012 by DIYpro1
by DIYpro1

After spending hours researching Deck Boxes on the internet, this was the box that stood out from all the rest. The previous reviews for this box were right on the mark. The box could be a couple inches wider, but my cushions fit just perfect. It is strong enough to hold my 280lb weight. Can't beat that for strength! Ordered this box from Walmart online and had it shipped to store for pickup, thus saving the shipping cost. Setup was a snap, don't overtighten the screws! Last fall I purchased a Home Depot box for $59, thinking I was getting a good deal! The box was too small and poorly constructed. I stuffed the cushions in for the winter and when I removed them this spring the box was bulged out on the sides. When I sat on it, the lid slid past the side support and threatened to collapse. I reniforced it with 1x2s" and has now become the grandkids outdoor toy box.

Was this review helpful? (27) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DIYpro1
Huber Heights, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Deck Bench/Storage
6/16/2014

Customer review by casavon

5.0 stars 6/16/2014 by casavon
by casavon
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We ordered this to put on our new deck. I'll be honest...even though we knew the measurements, it's really big and roomy!!! Almost too big! But it's perfect for what we need-a place to put things when the weather is bad. The instructions were confusing at first because there were only pictures for most of the steps, but we were able to put it together in about a half hour. It's sturdy and will hopefully last for years. Be warned-it says you can use it for extra seating, but the limit is 250 pounds and the thing is big enough to easily seat two adults. But to keep the weight limit, an adult and a kid would be about it. It's also large enough to use as a serving area...throw on a tablecloth and set out your food. I think this was an excellent purchase and would buy it again!

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
casavon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
great product
6/15/2012

Customer review by bigwader

5.0 stars 6/15/2012 by bigwader
by bigwader

very well made,the lid is strong enough to sit on.and there is a ledge about 10 inches up you can put a piece of plywood on and make two layers of storage.great product.

Was this review helpful? (33) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bigwader
kirksville,mo.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Sturdy, ROOMY storage bin!
2/15/2012

Customer review by jasonwife

5.0 stars 2/15/2012 by jasonwife
by jasonwife

I didn't want to buy a toy chest only to get rid of it in a couple of years.....wanted to buy something that would store toys now but have other uses later. This certainly fits the bill. As a toy chest it is GREAT! so roomy......so sturdy.....and safe. Even the bulky toys fit in fine. The floor is sturdy enough for the kids to get in the box too. It's built well and I know we will use this bin our whole lives with multiple uses over the years.

Was this review helpful? (40) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jasonwife
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very well designed and constructed
1/17/2016

Customer review by Shag

5.0 stars 1/17/2016 by Shag
by Shag

See above

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Shag
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good value
11/28/2015

Customer review by Mike

5.0 stars 11/28/2015 by Mike
by Mike

Easy to assemble. On-line video available, but not needed. Don't over-tighten screws and bolts. Holds six chair cushions with room to spare. Stays in open position until closed. Can be locked or clipped close if needed for wind or security.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mike
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent quality and simple assembly.
8/7/2011

Customer review by LovitALot

5.0 stars 8/7/2011 by LovitALot
by LovitALot

Excellent quallity in strength and very simple to assemble. I purchased it to store my hammock and swing and hammock cushions. I have already recommended to others needing a deck storage/seat box.

Was this review helpful? (40) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LovitALot
Scott Depot, WV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
plenty of room
5/22/2014

Customer review by trvlbug33

5.0 stars 5/22/2014 by trvlbug33
by trvlbug33
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

My husband and I put together in less than 15 minutes...water tight....easily stores 12 cushions

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
trvlbug33
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
I was pleased with this item
11/19/2012

Customer review by Dees222

5.0 stars 11/19/2012 by Dees222
by Dees222

I put it together myself without the help of a man. It was a bit tricky but finally came together well. I like that the lid closes and there are no cracks for bugs to crawl into once the lid is closed. The bottom fits together snugly once it was put together. This seems to be pretty sturdy, not wobbly at all, and my grandkids love sitting on it too. It is great to be able to store all those items, that used to just sit and collect dust and spiders, somewhere to protect them from the weather and bugs.

Was this review helpful? (16) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Dees222
Richmond VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Storage box
12/29/2015

Customer review by Hunley

5.0 stars 12/29/2015 by Hunley
by Hunley

Very roomy and easy to put together

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Hunley
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
NOT WATERPROOF
8/17/2015

Customer review by Gigabyteguy

2.0 stars 8/17/2015 by Gigabyteguy
by Gigabyteguy

Bought this in 06-2014 and placed in the open. A week after a torrential downpour I noticed a terrible odor emanating from this deck box. I pulled all the stuff out only to realize that the panels filled high enough with rain water so that the interior weep holes began to expel water into the deck box. This was very disappointing as my other deck boxes are WATERPROOF. Lifetime Customer Service said they make no claim of being waterproof - so I'm the idiot in this transaction. If you buy this to store under a covering, you'll be fine but outside in the elements is NOT the place for this deck box. Look for a Suncast instead.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Gigabyteguy
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ultimate storage unit
11/14/2012

Customer review by Saunder

5.0 stars 11/14/2012 by Saunder
by Saunder
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I now have three of these units and will be getting one more soon. They fit nicely next to my garage and walkway. They are sleek. sturdy and completely weather proof. I do indeed expect them to last a life time and then some. They are holding outdoor furniture cushions, garden supplies, and the numerous pots and planting medium that were stored in an unappealing, haphazard way for twenty years. Finally, life is organized.

Was this review helpful? (12) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Saunder
Independence, Mo.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good Product, but Not the Easiest to Assemble
10/30/2013

Customer review by iugirl1023

4.0 stars 10/30/2013 by iugirl1023
by iugirl1023
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I put together a lot of my own furniture, so I'm not new to this process, but this product was by far the hardest thing I've ever tried to put together. It wasn't because it is actually complicated, but because there's no indication in the description of the product (prior to purchase), what tools you will need. I did not have the correct size wrench or ratchet, but didn't realize that until I was already halfway through building so I couldn't disassemble and go to the store without losing a lot of time and effort. As long as you have a pretty comprehensive tool set you'll be fine, but just be aware you need several wrenches, a ratchet, and two screwdrivers to put this together. Once assembled, the product is great. It's spacious, seals tightly, and takes a normal sized padlock.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
iugirl1023
Chicago, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
sturdy and does not leak!
8/14/2012

Customer review by butterflygirl2878

5.0 stars 8/14/2012 by butterflygirl2878
by butterflygirl2878

We are very happy with this deck box. We did a lot of online research before deciding on the deck box to purchase and this product had high ratings. The interior is very large. The unit is sturdy and well built. We can sit on it without any buckling or damage. The lid fits securely and stays open with metal hinges. The contents stay dry - perfect for storing our outdoor cushions. It was easy to assemble. We would highly recommend this deck box.

Was this review helpful? (14) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
butterflygirl2878
Eastern Shore, Maryland
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Best Deck Box Ever!
6/26/2014

Customer review by nighttimepatiolover

5.0 stars 6/26/2014 by nighttimepatiolover
by nighttimepatiolover
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I purchased the Lifetime 130 gallon deck box and I want to tell you it exceeds everything I had in mind for storage. It was delivered on the day promised. It was easy to put together and has kept my outdoor chair cushions completely dry and dirt free. I shopped around and found this deck box also available at Costco but even with the shipping cost it was still cheaper through Wal Mart. The other point I really liked is that it was made here in the good ole USA. What could be better? I will be purchasing another in the near future. Thanks Wal Mart and a big thanks to Lifetime who manufactured the deck box.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
nighttimepatiolover
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Poor workmanship
10/9/2014

Customer review by Keithanne

2.0 stars 10/9/2014 by Keithanne
by Keithanne
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This was extremely difficult to assemble. The holes in some cases were pre-drilled and in some cases not. The holes in most cases did not match up with the notches. Required three different sizes of sockets to put together. Although the Lifetime Company's website states that their products are made in the USA, the owner's manual for this product clearly states that it was made in Mexico. Once we finally had the deck box put together, it does its job well, keeping our patio furniture cushions clean and dry.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Comment from - 10/16/2014

I am sorry about the difficulty you had with assembly. We will look for ways to improve it. This product is made in our factory in Clearfield, Utah. On the owner's manual we have an import sticker for Mexico as we ship these into Mexico as well.

Keithanne
Uniontown, OH
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 186 total reviews
1-20 of 186 reviews