Generated at Sun, 20 Oct 2019 13:18:20 GMT exp-ck: 3wJD716AW5f1KODsU1VomOs1f-ZKU1kAmPw2u1ISE1uCqkt1; xpa: 3wJD7|6AW5f|F7qQN|KODsU|VomOs|f-ZKU|kAmPw|u1ISE|uCqkt;
Electrode, Comp-719541756, DC-prod-az-southcentralus-14, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-19.1.28, SHA-f0c74a35c2e08b07720c4b50a72461c9af18ea9d, CID-1e4a9f63-abf-16de951922666f, Generated: Sun, 20 Oct 2019 13:18:20 GMT

Nightmare House

Walmart # 574656151
$16.99$16.99
Sold & shipped byWalmart

Customer Review Snapshot

4.1 out of 5 stars
8 total reviews
5 stars
4
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Most helpful positive review
Nightmare House by Douglas Clegg is a fantastic haunted house story that will leave you wanting more. Clegg's eloquent style transports the reader to a different time and place, making one feel as if he is actually at Harrow House experiencing the horrors with the narrator of the story. The heir of Harrow House, Ethan Gravesend, stakes his claim on the estate hoping for a new beginning. What Ethan finds instead is the true terror the house has to offer including poltergeists, hallucinations, and psychic activity. With the help of housekeeper, Maggie Barrow, Ethan discovers a boarded up room with the remains of a woman inside. Clegg masterfully guides the reader through the twists and turns of Harrow House. The horror unfolds as Ethan uncovers the secrets of his own past and the identity of the woman who was walled up alive in the room. The Bottom Line: It's been a long time since I've read a haunted house story that I've truly enjoyed, and this is one of the best. This scary tale of the supernatural truly terrifies proving that classic horror still exists. Perfect reading for stormy, Autumn nights; just make sure you leave the lights on. Highly recommended for horror aficionados. Don't miss Mischief and The Infinite as the horror of Harrow House continues.

About This Item

We aim to show you accurate product information. Manufacturers, suppliers and others provide what you see here, and we have not verified it.
Some houses go bad. Harrow was born that way. Claiming his inheritance, a young man unlocks long-buried secrets within his occultist-grandfather's house of infinite hauntings, awakening a nest of hungry ghosts. First in series. Get ALL the Harrow novels: Mischief, The Infinite, and The Abandoned now. For fans of Stephen King, Shirley Jackson, H.P. Lovecraft and Guillermo del Toro.

"Douglas Clegg has become the new star in horror fiction." - Peter Straub, NY Times bestselling author of The Talisman (with Stephen King) and Ghost Story.
Don't Miss A Single Harrow Novel!
The Harrow Series:
Book #1, Nightmare House - set at Harrow in the 1920s, the grandson of its creator has come to claim his deadly inheritance and explore the terrifying mystery within the ancient stones and passages of the house.
#2, Mischief - Boys will be boys - and a dark fraternity of misfits seek out Jim Hook, the new student at Harrow Academy - but something more terrifying is hunting Jim, as well.
#3, The Infinite - A handful of psychic investigators are called in to document the horrors of Harrow - but little do they know that the house is more than simply a haunted place - it may be the soul of evil itself.
#4, The Abandoned - In the village of Watch Point, New York, in the bucolic Hudson Valley, something toxic and horrifying has leaked from the old boarded-up mansion called Harrow. Throughout the town, people who sleep awaken with blood-lust in their hearts - and hatchets in their fists. A rampage of mayhem, murder and madness begins - and only those brave enough to enter Harrow may find a way to stop the terror.
Harrow Prequel Novellas:
The Necromancer - set in the 1800s, this is the story of the young Justin Gravesend and his initiation into a terrifying mystery cult.
Isis - set right at the end of the 1800s, the story of the young Iris Villiers when she discovers the terrible price that must be paid to speak with the dead.

Specifications

Series Title
Harrow
Publisher
Alkemara Press, On Demand Publishing, LLC-Create Space
Book Format
Paperback
Number of Pages
264
Author
Douglas Clegg
ISBN-13
9781944668198
Publication Date
June, 2017
Assembled Product Dimensions (L x W x H)
8.00 x 5.25 x 0.60 Inches
ISBN-10
1944668195

Customer Reviews

5 stars
4
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Most helpful positive review
Nightmare House by Dou...
Nightmare House by Douglas Clegg is a fantastic haunted house story that will leave you wanting more. Clegg's eloquent style transports the reader to a different time and place, making one feel as if he is actually at Harrow House experiencing the horrors with the narrator of the story. The heir of Harrow House, Ethan Gravesend, stakes his claim on the estate hoping for a new beginning. What Ethan finds instead is the true terror the house has to offer including poltergeists, hallucinations, and psychic activity. With the help of housekeeper, Maggie Barrow, Ethan discovers a boarded up room with the remains of a woman inside. Clegg masterfully guides the reader through the twists and turns of Harrow House. The horror unfolds as Ethan uncovers the secrets of his own past and the identity of the woman who was walled up alive in the room. The Bottom Line: It's been a long time since I've read a haunted house story that I've truly enjoyed, and this is one of the best. This scary tale of the supernatural truly terrifies proving that classic horror still exists. Perfect reading for stormy, Autumn nights; just make sure you leave the lights on. Highly recommended for horror aficionados. Don't miss Mischief and The Infinite as the horror of Harrow House continues.
Most helpful negative review
This should have been ...
This should have been an interesting story but was so terrible I had to force myself to finish it. Like the story idea, but did not the actual execution
Most helpful positive review
Nightmare House by Dou...
Nightmare House by Douglas Clegg is a fantastic haunted house story that will leave you wanting more. Clegg's eloquent style transports the reader to a different time and place, making one feel as if he is actually at Harrow House experiencing the horrors with the narrator of the story. The heir of Harrow House, Ethan Gravesend, stakes his claim on the estate hoping for a new beginning. What Ethan finds instead is the true terror the house has to offer including poltergeists, hallucinations, and psychic activity. With the help of housekeeper, Maggie Barrow, Ethan discovers a boarded up room with the remains of a woman inside. Clegg masterfully guides the reader through the twists and turns of Harrow House. The horror unfolds as Ethan uncovers the secrets of his own past and the identity of the woman who was walled up alive in the room. The Bottom Line: It's been a long time since I've read a haunted house story that I've truly enjoyed, and this is one of the best. This scary tale of the supernatural truly terrifies proving that classic horror still exists. Perfect reading for stormy, Autumn nights; just make sure you leave the lights on. Highly recommended for horror aficionados. Don't miss Mischief and The Infinite as the horror of Harrow House continues.
Most helpful negative review
This should have been ...
This should have been an interesting story but was so terrible I had to force myself to finish it. Like the story idea, but did not the actual execution
1-5 of 8 reviews

As some of you may kno...

As some of you may know I'm a helpless Clegg fan! I adore his writing style and how his stories always manage to send a chill down my spine. Nightmare House was fantastic. I enjoyed the changing points-of-view; that really kept the story interesting. Another thing about Douglas Clegg's writing...it's always shrouded in mystery that keeps you guessing. It makes the story more exciting because I never know what will happen. If your a horror fan I'll say check this one out. If you haven't read this author's work yet I'll also include a recommendation to check out Neverland. That's also an awesome book!

Nightmare House by Dou...

Nightmare House by Douglas Clegg is a fantastic haunted house story that will leave you wanting more. Clegg's eloquent style transports the reader to a different time and place, making one feel as if he is actually at Harrow House experiencing the horrors with the narrator of the story. The heir of Harrow House, Ethan Gravesend, stakes his claim on the estate hoping for a new beginning. What Ethan finds instead is the true terror the house has to offer including poltergeists, hallucinations, and psychic activity. With the help of housekeeper, Maggie Barrow, Ethan discovers a boarded up room with the remains of a woman inside. Clegg masterfully guides the reader through the twists and turns of Harrow House. The horror unfolds as Ethan uncovers the secrets of his own past and the identity of the woman who was walled up alive in the room. The Bottom Line: It's been a long time since I've read a haunted house story that I've truly enjoyed, and this is one of the best. This scary tale of the supernatural truly terrifies proving that classic horror still exists. Perfect reading for stormy, Autumn nights; just make sure you leave the lights on. Highly recommended for horror aficionados. Don't miss Mischief and The Infinite as the horror of Harrow House continues.

Nightmare House by Dou...

Nightmare House by Douglas Clegg is a fantastic haunted house story that will leave you wanting more. Clegg's eloquent style transports the reader to a different time and place, making one feel as if he is actually at Harrow House experiencing the horrors with the narrator of the story. The heir of Harrow House, Ethan Gravesend, stakes his claim on the estate hoping for a new beginning. What Ethan finds instead is the true terror the house has to offer including poltergeists, hallucinations, and psychic activity. With the help of housekeeper, Maggie Barrow, Ethan discovers a boarded up room with the remains of a woman inside. Clegg masterfully guides the reader through the twists and turns of Harrow House. The horror unfolds as Ethan uncovers the secrets of his own past and the identity of the woman who was walled up alive in the room. The Bottom Line: It's been a long time since I've read a haunted house story that I've truly enjoyed, and this is one of the best. This scary tale of the supernatural truly terrifies proving that classic horror still exists. Perfect reading for stormy, Autumn nights; just make sure you leave the lights on. Highly recommended for horror aficionados. Don't miss Mischief and The Infinite as the horror of Harrow House continues.

Really enjoyed this bo...

Really enjoyed this book. Read it in a weekend and it kept my interested the entire time. Took me a while with the second story of purity but enjoyed that to

This novel is about a ...

This novel is about a man who inherits a huge, rambling mansion and how he is drawn into the life the house and it's previous occupants. The tone of the novel is nice and creepy, and the suspense increases as the novel unfolds. I liked the psychological twists at the end of the book, but it devolved a little too Lovecraftian for my taste. The second novella in the book, was way over the top Lovecraftian - like Dagon-ish and I didn't get too far into it.

Customer Q&A

Get specific details about this product from customers who own it.

Policies & Plans

Pricing policy

About our prices
We're committed to providing low prices every day, on everything. So if you find a current lower price from an online retailer on an identical, in-stock product, tell us and we'll match it. See more details atOnline Price Match.
webapp branch
Electrode, Comp-805469453, DC-prod-az-southcentralus-15, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-30.0.0, SHA-4c05261de7b7524702d8d137579365498522abc0, CID-b6d8879a-a7b-16de959f909b0f, Generated: Sun, 20 Oct 2019 13:27:31 GMT