Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 17 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

17 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

5 stars
14
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 stars
0
94%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

A Beast of a Product, Before AND AFter Assembly
6/8/2009

Customer review by TexasLou

5.0 stars by TexasLou

I conducted a decent amount of research on the Internet before deciding on Spalding's "Beast" as a portable basketball hoop for our driveway. Fearing that cheaper models would blow over and/or wear out quickly, I looked at more robust models and since other reviews of the Beast were very positive, I paid the extra $$$ for the quality. Simply put, it's a great outdoor goal. It's big, strong, and most importantly, a lot of fun for my two boys and their friends who now frequent our driveway seemingly day and night. There is a caveat, however, and that is that the Beast is far from easy to assemble. Other reviews stated the same thing but since I'm pretty mechanically inclined, I discounted the accounts of taking two to four adults four to five hours to construct. Boy, was I wrong. It took us Saturday and part of Sunday, mostly because I sheared off a bolt when assembling the pole to the base unit and had to go to the hardware store to buy a replacement. It was a little frustrating but as I mentioned before, the bottom line (now that it's installed) is that it's a great hoop and we're having lots of fun. Just don't buy this product if you're thinking it's a snap to assemble... Be prepared to invest a significant amount of time and effort before the fun can begin.

Was this review helpful? (35) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
TexasLou
Dallas, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Basketball System
3/17/2010

Customer review by Berkle

5.0 stars by Berkle

Love it so far. Shipment arrived on a pallet in three boxes. Assembly was a breeze! The first assembly step, attaching the lower tank to the base frame, was already done for me. I took the advice of other reviews that I've read and greased the ends of the pole sections prior to joining them, I think it helped somewhat. All hardware (nuts/bolts/washers) for each assembly stage were packaged in seperate, color coded blister packs, really nice! Took the guesswork out of it. After you get the backboard on, you will definitely need two adult-sized people to lift the goal upright. All in all, took me about 2-1/2 hours to put together. I opted to fill the tank with water (plus non-toxic antifreeze). My kids and I managed to get a half hour or so of hoops in before it got dark, and this thing is pretty solid, almost as good as playing in a gym. I was really struck by how large and substantial the metal components of this system are. Makes our old system look like a tinker toy. You definitely get what you pay for. It's pretty easy to move around, given its weight. The wheel/handle system works almost like a pallet jack, you can actually steer it. If you need a portable system, and can afford this one, get it. I'd guess you'd go through 2 or 3 systems of lesser quality before this one would wear out, and it's a lot more enjoyable to play on.

Was this review helpful? (16) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Berkle
Southern Maryland
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
7/14/2009

Customer review by chesster33

4.0 stars by chesster33

nice hoop, assembly about 7hrs,does have some shaking after a missed shot,easy to move around even with sand in it.looks great and plays nice

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
chesster33
pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
The Beast by Spaulding
4/27/2010

Customer review by skillet2

5.0 stars by skillet2

This basketball system was received quickly. The wheel brace was missing out of the original packaging, but customer service sent it directly to me within one week. After consideration of all the other reviews, and many where very helpful; leaning the system up against a tree to brace it and using WD40 to lubricate the pole were the most helpful tips. The instructions were plain and simple. Just one other strong man and myself put it together in about four hours. It is an excellent basketball system. I love it, the kids love, my wife loves because she has a daycare and when it is lowered even the smaller children can feel they can make a shot.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
skillet2
Baltimore, Maryland
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
beast
11/29/2009

Customer review by LEEONE

5.0 stars by LEEONE

this basket ball standard is a great buy solid product and very easy to assemble I DID IT BY MY SELF IN 2 HOURS THE INSTRUCTIONS ARE VERY EASY TO FOLLOW. i NEVER HAD TO GO BACK AND LOOSEN OR CHANGE ANYTHING. BUY THIS ONE YOU CAN'T GO WRONG

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
LEEONE
UT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Spalding Beast installation
5/4/2011

Customer review by dongraves

4.0 stars by dongraves

It took about 12 man hours to put it together. The biggest problem was fitting together the two steel posts! The directions said to have two able men stand the two posts on top of each other with the bottom one on a flat board and then jiggle them together. They are both very heavy and would not jiggle together. We had to lay them down and fit then ends together and put the bottom end against a large oak tree and use a sledge hammer to pound them together. That process took about an hour and we were still about 1/4 inch short of the spot we wanted to get to.

Was this review helpful? (2) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
dongraves
Union, CT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
The Beast Reviewed
4/11/2011

Customer review by CBCofMilton

5.0 stars by CBCofMilton

Great product. Was delivered in 3 very large and heavy boxes for only $50 shipping. No missing or damaged parts and the documentation was good. The assembly took roughly 5-6 hours spread out across 2 days. The key was to follow the setup instructions exactly step by step. Don't try to take any shortcuts because the parts are so heavy and fitting is so precise that everything has to be done in perfect order for success. The only holdup was attaching the main post which consisted of 2 heavy posts where 1 inserted into the other with an extreemly tight fit. We wasted a little time trying to lift and pound on plywood over asphalt which has a little give and didn't provide the full impact needed to join the parts. Once we moved the plywood over a solid concrete slab..bam! everything went together in a couple of tries. The hoop and backboard plays beautifully and my kids love it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
CBCofMilton
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
10/29/2010

Customer review by RamPride

2.0 stars by RamPride

Quality Control lacking. Pole marked incorrectly, rim bent and alignment was off. Unlike the first one we purchased it took a long time to put together. Spalding Corp Customer Service has been very responsive in resolving our issues.

Was this review helpful? (1) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
RamPride
Would recommend to a friend? No
Are you kidding me.......
4/14/2009

Customer review by m5fromns

5.0 stars by m5fromns

.....is a typical response as people enter the back yard basketball court for the first time. This hoop is awesome. It lives up to it's name 'The Beast'. Wal-Mart's $798 deal is AWESOME. Everywhere else is $999-$1499. Shipping was fast, no problems. I set it up with another guy and it took 5 hours. Not as bad as I anticipated judging from other reviews. Play is awesome, just like an arena hoop. This thing is solid. Ground hoops shake more then this thing does. People complained about the backboard shattering? Yeah right, how bout you not hang on the rim like crazy. This hoop is solid. Get it now!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
m5fromns
Phoenix, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Make sure you have strong adults to assemble
4/20/2009

Customer review by Kidsports247

5.0 stars by Kidsports247

This is very aptly named The Beast. It is fantastic once assembled and very very sturdy. The instructions to build were very clear but you need a lot of muscle power. It says 2 capable adults. We had 2 adults and 2 teenages and it took all we had at some points to man handle the item. All in all it took us about 6 hours to assemble!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Kidsports247
TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
4/28/2009

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars by An anonymous customer

Great product. Shipping was faster than advertised. Assembly took roughly 4 hours. not issues at all. Play of the backboard is great. Very portable even when full of water.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
An anonymous customer
orlando
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
simply awsome
4/29/2011

Customer review by kidkgotgame

5.0 stars by kidkgotgame

WOW! easy to put together less than 2 hours time instructions were well written easy to follow my kids and all their freinds have been playing non stop. Money well spent the adults have more fun with it than the kids! I would recommend this to anybody looking for a portable system of all the one I looked at at least 10 this one is the best hands down

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
kidkgotgame
Forest Lake,MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
quality product
2/20/2013

Customer review by kdoed

5.0 stars by kdoed

this basketball hoop was easy to construct with two people in a matter of hours. It is a quality hoop and the kids as well as the adults love it. I recommend spending the extra money for a quality product rather than going cheaper and replacing it in a few short years

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
kdoed
decatur, Il
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good quality, easily movable, challenging assembly
5/10/2013

Customer review by smithbeast

5.0 stars by smithbeast

I ordered this for my son and me and it came in three big boxes delivered to my doorstep. It was a challenge to put it together in a timely fashion but I had the help of my 7 year old son and his two buddies who are 10 years old. Most of it can be assembled with one person (adult), but the two big posts that connect were really difficult. I had to get another guy (adult) to help me slam the thing together (per directions) but once that was completed the rest went on with out a hitch, thanks to my little helpers. All in all the total time to assemble was about 7 hours. But I must disclose that I did mess up the post connection and put the top part on backwards which could not be taken off once it was together because it simply would not come apart. SO, I had to take the time to measure and drill new holes for the arms that hold the back board. this set me back a couple hours. It is a high quality goal, and you pay for it but you get what ya pay for and i am generally very pleased as this will clearly last for years to come and is easily adjustable.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
smithbeast
Greenville, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
WOW! This thing is fantastic.
5/26/2014

Customer review by AbsoluteValue

5.0 stars by AbsoluteValue

I spent a few weeks trying to decide if I should purchase The Beast. I wasn't worried at all about people's claims that it was very difficult to assemble or that the holes didn't line up correctly. I was mostly worried about whether or not it would live up to the price. Well, it most definitely does. It is well designed, extremely solid and surprisingly easy to move around my driveway, even when full of water (making the weight about 600 lbs). Having a large, real glass backboard is wonderful. The action off the backboard is better than any other portable system I've ever played on. If you have the money, and you want a portable system, this is the one for you. As for the common negative comments that it is very difficult to assemble and the holes didn't line up. First, it is difficult to assemble. You must have at least two people to put it together. But I can honestly tell you that my 11 year old son and I did it together, in less than 3 hours. I used good old fashioned elbow grease to push, pull or twist things into place while my son would slide in the bolts or twist on the nuts. Second, there was a couple times when the holes (that a bolt was meant to go through) didn't quite line up. At these points, I had to use some serious force to push up or over on the main post. Then, my son was able to get the bolt into position. The fact that I needed to use a little muscle in order to line up the holes only makes me appreciate this system more. I believe that it means it is very precisely made and must be precisely assembled. It has been up in our driveway for about a month now and has seen many hours of play time. It's fantastic. We have also received numerous positive comments, from neighbors and passer-bys on how impressive it looks.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
AbsoluteValue
Would recommend to a friend? Yes