Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 68 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

68 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

68 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

93%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
35
4 stars
22
3 stars
6
2 stars
1
1 stars
4
1-20 of 62 total reviews
93%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 62 total reviews
1-20 of 62 reviews
Does the job WELL!
5/15/2011

Customer review by StormChase1717

4.0 stars 5/15/2011 by StormChase1717
by StormChase1717

Very nice radio for the $. I only purchased it as a backup to my main mobile radio in my chase vehicle, but I use it quite often. Sound quality is good, and the reception is fantastic, once connected to my dual mobile weather ant's. The backlight is great for night chasing, and not too brilliant on the eyes. The alerts always went off in perfect time with my main radio... great performance. It is easy to use, and far superior to the more expensive Sangean CL-100. I went through 3 of those before purchasing this one. I highly recommend this for all of your weather safety needs, whether at home or on the road. Great product once again Midland....Bravo.

Was this review helpful? (16) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
StormChase1717
Southeast Wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Very disappointed
6/27/2012

Customer review by Sparky34

1.0 stars 6/27/2012 by Sparky34
by Sparky34

Setup is very frustrating - instructions in manual do not coincide with the product responses. I am quite disappointed in the AM/FM radio. I was so looking forward to having a digital radio so that I could precisely tune to stations and be able to 'memorize' my favorite stations. Unfortunately, the tuning is not very discriminating, to say the least. Example: 930 AM is one of the stations I like. However, it comes in from 880 to 990. This overrides 970, another favorite station. The weather stations and alert messages seem to function just fine. I believe I just may have gotten a lemon. I will return this unit to the store and purchase another in the hope that it will function better. I spent over a week in contact with a Midland rep, but got no satisfaction. Her only solution was for me the send my unit to them, at my expense, and they would replace it. Otherwise, their answer was, "the weather portion works, what do you want?".

Was this review helpful? (14) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sparky34
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Excellent product!
2/15/2012

Customer review by papatuzz

5.0 stars 2/15/2012 by papatuzz
by papatuzz

I bought this for my mother as a Christmas gift. I set it up for her and the next day I was in the basement and she was in the living room, when it sounded an alarm. Both our thoughts were at first...what the heck was that! I ran upstairs just as she was getting to the radio and it started announcing the severe thunderstorm warning and also a tornado watch. She looked at me with that worried look, but also a look that I knew was gratitude for giving her this wonderful product. You can set it for only your area or several areas. There are options for floods, avalanche, hurricane and more. You can decide which warnings pertain to you and which you don't want to hear. It has a small learning curve on setup, but I don't think anyone would be disappointed with their decision to buy this radio. Oh, the storm never did get too bad, but it was nice being warned that it may have.

Was this review helpful? (21) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
papatuzz
Marion, Ky.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Choose the alerts you want!
8/2/2010

Customer review by tamrik

5.0 stars 8/2/2010 by tamrik
by tamrik

When you live in tornado country, a weather radio is a MUST. However, I live at the top of a hill and I don't want to be wakened at 3:00 am for a flood warning - No longer a problem. This radio uses SAME to provide only localized warnings, and then allows you to custom configure only appropriate warnings for each individual owner. Being able to turn off warnings that don't apply to you will result in extra sleep which is always a good thing. I am very happy with this product as a weather radio. However, you may not want to buy this product to use as a clock because the time display on the lcd is quite small.

Was this review helpful? (26) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tamrik
Northeast Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Excellent weather radio.
7/19/2010

Customer review by N8tdog

5.0 stars 7/19/2010 by N8tdog
by N8tdog

Definitely works as advertised. I did not have any problems setting it. Just find your county code on the NOAA website and enter that in. You can also mute out warnings you do not care about -- completely configurable in that respect. Also, it will let you monitor more than one area....I believe up to 20-30 counties. Nice for when you have more than one residence you care about. It does have battery backup on FM tuner, so you can take it in the basement when the power goes out.

Was this review helpful? (42) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
N8tdog
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Fast updates
7/19/2016

Customer review by kato

5.0 stars 7/19/2016 by kato
by kato
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

battery back up ,loud alert , easy to read alert message with end time posted with alert

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kato
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Works as promised
8/10/2009

Customer review by SBAWM

5.0 stars 8/10/2009 by SBAWM
by SBAWM

We wanted a radio with true S.A.M.E. that would allow blocking of warnings we did not wish to hear at 3am. This is one of the few options that exist out there. This one allowed us to set exactly what we wanted to block and how we wished to be alerted. No problems at all. It has received all alerts and test alerts that we've set as promised.

Was this review helpful? (60) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SBAWM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great radio, Great Value
4/29/2016

Customer review by WXSpotter

5.0 stars 4/29/2016 by WXSpotter
by WXSpotter

This radio does everything it's supposed to. The reception on the weather channel in my area is excellent: clean and clear signal on what is the most important feature of any S.A.M.E. weather alert radio. It's a little complicated to program, and the manual could be better, but it's easy to figure out what to do and how to do it with a little patience. The weekly test and one actual warning alert came in on the radio during the first week of operation. FM reception is very good on the radio. AM reception is only marginal with a lot of bleed-over between stations, but I have other portable radios if I need to listen to AM during a storm. It has an alarm, and it works, but I'll probably never use it. AM, FM and an alarm clock is not why I purchased this radio. The warning siren is loud enough for me set to LOW, and you can crank it up a notch to HIGH and it should wake up anyone. One real annoyance is a beep sound with every push of a button, but you can get around this during the programming by turning the main power switch off: the beep is silenced. The display is clear and sharp and the backlighting can be set to keep it illuminated at all times. I would recommend this radio to anyone looking to purchase a Weather-Alert S.A.M.E radio.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WXSpotter
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Half good half bad
6/20/2016

Customer review by geneo

3.0 stars 6/20/2016 by geneo
by geneo
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Good weather radio , poor am-fm tuning and sound.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
geneo
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Weather radio
6/13/2016

Customer review by Gary

5.0 stars 6/13/2016 by Gary
by Gary
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Excellent safety addition for your home

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Gary
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
more than I bargained for
6/15/2010

Customer review by UberDad

3.0 stars 6/15/2010 by UberDad
by UberDad

I was looking for an alarm clock that would also give me weather updates, I got a weather update that also can function as an alarm clock. Not user friendly, not really. As a weather alert system it really does a great job, however, being an alarm clock radio really seems like it was an afterthought. I like it, just takes some getting used to. TIME DISPLAY is WAY TO SMALL!!!! I don't even look at it to check the time, as I wear glasses and don't sleep in them.

Was this review helpful? (20) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
UberDad
Arkansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good but not Stellar
8/27/2009

Customer review by ThisSpaceForLease

3.0 stars 8/27/2009 by ThisSpaceForLease
by ThisSpaceForLease

This radio does the basic job. When NOAA sends S.A.M.E. encoded watches and warnings, it sounds a loud siren and an alert light illuminates. Problem is that if you have multiple counties programmed in, it doesn't tell you which county or counties the warning is for. You have to take the time to listen to the broadcast to get that. The FM broadcast band radio is fairly sensitive and receives stations that more expensive radios can't hear. Instruction booklet is vague and confusing. Aside from having to guess much of how this thing works, the booklet shows a jack on the rear labelled "PC". No explanation of what it is for. Contacted Midland and customer service said it is for "cloning" radios. That's it! No more explanation! Pretty good product for the Walmart price and "Site to Store" worked great!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ThisSpaceForLease
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Great Weather Radio Alarm Clock with Radio!
10/1/2011

Customer review by PCOnlineShopper

5.0 stars 10/1/2011 by PCOnlineShopper
by PCOnlineShopper

This Weather Radio comes with a built-in Alarm Clock and AM/FM radio. Easy to program and use. My only complaint is the time/date is too small. You can choose to have the time/date illuminated or 'off'. If you use the 'off' option you can press any button on the alarm clock and it will illuminate for 5 seconds and turn off. I use the 'off' option and without the illumination it allows you to have a more peaceful sleep. One button touch to hear the weather report when you need it. When the unit is not plugged in it operates on 4 'AA' batteries. Great when there is an electrical outage. Overall it's a great unit!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PCOnlineShopper
Pine City, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
great product, easy to set up, easy to move.
6/28/2011

Customer review by jilliannm

5.0 stars 6/28/2011 by jilliannm
by jilliannm

I have been researching the web for a weather radio that we could use at home and when we go camping. This is nice for many reasons. You can program it for your county, what type of alert you want ( tornado, thunderstorms, blizzard, etc.) and it will wake you up to alert you. I placed it in the hallway near the bedrooms, two days later it went off at 2am, it was loud enough to wake everyone. Tornado warning with a touch down 10 miles away. We all went into the basement. Not only does it sound an alarm it also switched automatically to the weather station so you know what the emergency is. It has not gone off while camping, yet. We have been through many storms in the camper without knowing how severe the storm really was. Now I will know :)

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jilliannm
illinois
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good radio, lots of features
9/29/2011

Customer review by TNFlyboy

4.0 stars 9/29/2011 by TNFlyboy
by TNFlyboy

I had another brand of radio that I realized did not alert me the last couple of storms in the area. We live in North GA and get many alerts(storms, tornadoes, etc). This radio picks up several additional alert my previous model did not. It picks up the NOAA station much better. So far we have had one storm warning since we got the radio. It perform great. One note, make sure you set the siren level appropriately. Our was set to LOW and could not hear in other parts of the house. I changed it to LOUD and tested, I should be able to hear it now anywhere in the house.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TNFlyboy
Canton, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good buy
5/3/2009

Customer review by popcornboy1

4.0 stars 5/3/2009 by popcornboy1
by popcornboy1

For the money, this is great! I have tried other weather radios in the same price range and this one is heads above the othrs.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
popcornboy1
russell, ks
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great for Weather
5/9/2014

Customer review by OKCPBSEngineer

5.0 stars 5/9/2014 by OKCPBSEngineer
by OKCPBSEngineer
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Great Weather radio. You can disable a lot of the Alerts and they will not set off the radio's alarm. However, the radio will light up the LED and there will be a message to show you what the Alert is. I work for a PBS TV station. The Alerts I received on this radio matched the Alerts we received in a SAGE Digital Encoder at the TV Station. This is a GREAT radio.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
OKCPBSEngineer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Midland All Hazard Alerts
4/16/2016

Customer review by Braun

5.0 stars 4/16/2016 by Braun
by Braun

Enjoying alarm clock radio. A little confusing at first to set up but once weather alert set up outstanding radio...

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Braun
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Does what we need. Gives instant weather reports.
6/19/2014

Customer review by RPZBackflow

4.0 stars 6/19/2014 by RPZBackflow
by RPZBackflow
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Instructions are clear and easy to follow. It gives my wife peace of mind. Very easy to operate.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RPZBackflow
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good to have for weather and emergency info.
12/13/2012

Customer review by Chiknstik

4.0 stars 12/13/2012 by Chiknstik
by Chiknstik
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Of the midland weather radios, the wr-300 is the only one that allows you to select which alerts will sound the alarm. Nice if you don't want to be awakened for, say, a flood watch. I also wanted a clock-radio, so that I only have one device on the night stand. My only complaint would be that the programming is not very intuitive. You have to have the manual in hand to know how to program the functions. (But, I expected that from my experience with an older version of this product.) Also, so far I haven't figured out how to have the alarm actually turn on the radio, and not just a beeper. But, I suspect I simply haven't figured out the programming. As I stated, I have had a similar Midland wx radio for years. VERY dependable. Also, this works on batteries when the power is out.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Chiknstik
Arkansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 62 total reviews
1-20 of 62 reviews