Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 97 reviews | 2.8 out of 5

3.0 stars

97 reviews | 2.8 out of 5

3.0 stars

97 reviews | 2.8 out of 5

46%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
27
4 stars
15
3 stars
7
2 stars
12
1 stars
36
1-20 of 90 total reviews
46%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 90 total reviews
1-20 of 90 reviews
Great HD Antenna
10/11/2008

Customer review by Astronomer77

4.0 stars 10/11/2008 by Astronomer77
by Astronomer77

I looked at several of the antennas on this site and it was important for me that the antenna was available in-store so I could compare them side-by-side and would be omni-directional and not cost too much as I expect to get either HD cable or satellite in a couple of years. There is a more expensive version of this (also in stores) and the only difference is this one does not pick up FM radio stations. If all you want is an antenna for TV pick this one and save $20. It comes with a small optional amplifier and I recommend using it. With it on, I was able to pick up an HD signal from 40 miles away and it is excellent. All of the HD signals are crystal clear and extremely sharp. My only complaint is the analog TV signals are fuzzy. I'm three miles from my NBC and CBS transmitter (they share a tower) and I was surprised the analog signals came in so poor. I'm not too worried about that since they will go away in Feb. 2009. The manual says the antenna works best laying flat. My TV is not near a window and to pick up that distant station I had to mount the antenna vertically about 7 feet up the wall behind the TV. I noticed no difference in picture quality whether it was vertical or horizontal. If you are looking for an unobtrusive indoor antenna that you don't have to constantly adjust as you switch channels, don't want to spend to much on and don't care about analog signals, then this is an excellent choice.

Was this review helpful? (80) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Astronomer77
Columbus, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Perfect reception in Austin, TX
9/30/2008

Customer review by vwmike

5.0 stars 9/30/2008 by vwmike
by vwmike

I purchase this antenna and have used it in two locations with two different setups. I plugged it into my media center pc and was able to get 17 HD tv channels and all of my local FM radio channels. Plugged into my television directly it gives me a better HD local picture than Time Warner did. Highest recommendation!

Was this review helpful? (96) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
vwmike
Austin, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Excellent;You must have it.
10/20/2008

Customer review by durbandale

5.0 stars 10/20/2008 by durbandale
by durbandale

I love this product. It is way more then I expected. A lot of products claim to do what they say they do but they fall short of all their claims. This Antenna is the best I have ever owned. I never have to get up and mess with the rabbit ears to get a clear picture. My antenna is on a self inside my T.V cart. When people come to visit they think I have cable/satellite. The picture is perfect. Love it, Love it, Love it ...... : )

Was this review helpful? (44) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
durbandale
urbandale, Iowa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
I had to be creative with it
2/26/2009

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 2/26/2009 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I live in the ground floor of a 3 story apartment & I succeed in getting a 16 mile distant digital channel crystal clear. Though it is multidirection, when I placed on the wall or near the TV stand, as advertised, I didn't get a single channel. So before deciding to return the product I had to walk around my room with the antenna to see if I can catch something. And fortunately I did by placing it on a side table, slanted at 30° from vertical, facing the window. I get 4 digital channel & 2 analog channels crystal clear, keeping the antenna in that particular direction.

Was this review helpful? (36) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Albany, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Works well.
3/23/2011

Customer review by Svanna

4.0 stars 3/23/2011 by Svanna
by Svanna

My husband bought this in our local Walmart this morning for 29.99. We hooked it and the amplifier that came with it to a new HD tv. Our goal was to get local news so we could do away with expensive satellite and use our Roku box for movies, etc. It didn't work till we did an auto channel scan. Trying to punch in the local channel numbers on the remote got us nothing. The scan found 4 channels. Expecting the 4 local channels, we were surprised to get 2 local and 2 we had never heard of, a country music channel and Cool TV. Picture was outstanding and sound good. A little breakup till we found the right spot. We hung it on the wall behind the tv next to a window. We are sitting on a hillside with the hill less then 6 ft, behind our tv room and a hill directly across the road from us. The satellite guys were surprised we got a satellite reception at all. This little antenna achieved what rabbit ears couldnt and my hubby didnt want to string cable wire up the side of a mountain at his age. We were excited at how plain channels 8 and 11 were and that we got them at all lol. Now he gets the news, I get American Idol and the Roku box gets the rest and we save 86.00 a month off satellite, which for social security recipients is great! Also, it rained hard while we were adjusting it and it didnt lose the signal.

Was this review helpful? (18) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Svanna
WV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Don't waste your time
8/29/2009

Customer review by JustMe25

1.0 stars 8/29/2009 by JustMe25
by JustMe25

The product looks nice - However - I live near the city of town in Greensboro, NC and it was unable to pick up anything that was over 5 miles away. This antenna is a total waste of time and money. It could not even pick up any of the local networks - ABC, CBS, Fox or NBC.

Was this review helpful? (15) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JustMe25
Greensboro, NC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Best Local HD, Highly Recommend!
9/1/2011

Customer review by Chrisisalright

5.0 stars 9/1/2011 by Chrisisalright
by Chrisisalright

Cable service prices continue to grow and the viewing options are limited when you have 150 channels and nothing you ever watch comes on. Buy this antenna and cut the cable cord! I purchased this bad boy on a whim last night because I just moved and there's no way I'm paying $60 for cable. Got it hooked up and ran the Air Channel Search on my tv and boom, I now have between 15-20 FREE channels to watch in my spare time. The picture is exceptionally clear, sound signal coming through is crisp with no dropout. I have not seen the signal quality during bad weather, but I couldn't imagine it would be unusable in the least. Placement of the antenna was very easy as it is flat with no old outdated rabbit ears. Between this and Netflix, don't hesitate to cut your cable cord. I save $642 a year!

Was this review helpful? (14) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Chrisisalright
Charlotte, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
it really, really, works
2/1/2011

Customer review by soulmath

4.0 stars 2/1/2011 by soulmath
by soulmath

i'm in a small city on the wrong side of a hill and was having problems getting all the broadcast channels. passive or amplified rabbit ears were failing to work but with this antenna i get all the local channels clearly 95% of the time, though i did have to spend some time finding just the right spot to hang it before all channels came through.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
soulmath
Bend, OR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Works Well
10/7/2008

Customer review by WisconsinBill

4.0 stars 10/7/2008 by WisconsinBill
by WisconsinBill

I read a number of negative reviews on this so I was a bit hesitant about getting this, however since I knew I could return it due to Walmarts excellent return policy I decided it to give it a try. My first signal was an analog one and it did look bad but I realized I wanted to see the digital stations only and programmed my set to search for those. The digital channels came in great and I was blown away by how good they looked. Off air was better than cable for digital and the hi-def was great. The size was perfect for placing it on top of my nearby kitchen cabinets. An advantage of using the cabinets was I got it as high as I could and was able to turn as I needed it to balance out the signal strengths among the 6 digital stations I was able to get. Most were 20 to 30 miles away. Those people complaining about the signal are either too far away or are expecting it to work with regular UHF stations. This small antenna is optimized for digital signals and it does a fine job at that. I was thinking I would need an amplifier and was satisfied that I did not.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WisconsinBill
Neenah Wi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Better than 14$ batwing style
9/9/2009

Customer review by Rexw

4.0 stars 9/9/2009 by Rexw
by Rexw

I first bought the basic batwing digital antenna from Walmart. Where a channel is not coming in at all with that one, this RCA 1500 brings in sketchy reception. Where that reception was sketchy this one has made it watchable. So, in order to get all the stations, you still may have to position this antenna, high, near windows, and possibly expect to move it around on occasion. But it is better than basic.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Rexw
Las Vegas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
TUNED IN
10/9/2008

Customer review by glebenhagen

5.0 stars 10/9/2008 by glebenhagen
by glebenhagen

Excellent reception and better HD than local cable provider. Received 13 channels. Great reception at a fair price and much nicer to look at.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
glebenhagen
Indianapolis, Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
HDTV antenna
4/27/2009

Customer review by 44Don

4.0 stars 4/27/2009 by 44Don
by 44Don

It was adevertised to provide good quality reception WITHOUT having to ever move or adjust it. We had it laying flat on the area next to the TV and some channels continued to break-up periodically and we would move it around and the picture would get better. We just tried hanging it vertically on the wall next to the TV and it seems to work well in that position, without having to move it around to adjust the picture.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
44Don
Monrovia, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Can't get reception as advertised
6/20/2008

Customer review by Newsaddict

2.0 stars 6/20/2008 by Newsaddict
by Newsaddict

I got this from Walmart just today after returning the Philips Antenna I got which stopped functioning after 2 weeks. This one does not even get the local HDTV channels. I could not get ANY normal channels such as NBC, ABC, PBS, CBS, FOX. I'm hate returning things and now I have to return this tomorrow. I am now on the look out for any antenna that will hopefully functiona nd give me at least NBC.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Newsaddict
Grand Rapids, MI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Not quite...
2/4/2009

Customer review by An anonymous customer

2.0 stars 2/4/2009 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I bought this $50 antenna, and the $15 "wing" antenna, both by RCA. Guess what? The $15 antenna delivered a BETTER, STRONGER signal than the $50 one. Needless to say, I returned it for a refund. I'm sure it's a great product, but for my use, there was no sense in spending the extra money.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great product
5/7/2009

Customer review by Jinkx2

5.0 stars 5/7/2009 by Jinkx2
by Jinkx2

Wonderful, I plugged it in an laid it on the table next to my TV an all my reception problems were gone. Was using a regular rabbit ears, had breakup on most all of the channels. This is rock solid on all channels. Now I'm getting the most out of my $600 HDTV

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jinkx2
Superior, Wi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Really?!
3/21/2011

Customer review by Trulla

4.0 stars 3/21/2011 by Trulla
by Trulla

I bought this antenna thinking that it was cheap ($29 and no monthly fee) way to watch TV on my iMac. It turns out that it works excellent. It was easy to install (no brainer). I have a EyeTV tuner connected to my iMac via USB 2.0. I just plugged the power cord to the outlet on the wall and the coaxial cable that comes with it to my "eyetv" tuner. Turned on the iMac and watch TV while surfing the web. I can get almost 40 channels. I live near the city though. I'm so glad I bought this antenna.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Trulla
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
didn't work for me
6/6/2009

Customer review by peggyann65

1.0 stars 6/6/2009 by peggyann65
by peggyann65

Rca digital antenna didn't work for me at all.my 10.00 rabbit ears worked better. i'm going to take it back to the store, and get a credit to my account.i tried hanging it on the wall, but it still didn't work.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
peggyann65
bassfield, ms
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Excellent Indoor Antennna
4/20/2009

Customer review by GadgetFreak56

4.0 stars 4/20/2009 by GadgetFreak56
by GadgetFreak56

Living 22 miles from the transmitters, and being on a first floor with windows not facing towards them, I had trouble with other antennnas I had bought at other stores. This one gives me the best reception for digital TV I have ever received at this location. I had to try various positions. Horizontal is recommended by the instructions, but, being far from the transmitters, I had to tilt mine about 45 degrees and point the plane of the antenna towards the transmitters' general direction. Now I get no interruption in signal, specially with the help of an extra in-line amplifier I bought. I don't get all the local channels well but I do get all the major networks, which is what I wanted. Keep in mind my location is near the outer limits of the TV signal's capacity from the big city. (22 miles)

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GadgetFreak56
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Does not meet expectations
9/10/2012

Customer review by MsAverage

3.0 stars 9/10/2012 by MsAverage
by MsAverage

This antenna does not perform any better than a much less exensive antenna that I was using. While the HD picture is better, I don't receive as many channels and still have to move the antenna around for best reception.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MsAverage
Charlotte, NC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Does not do what the add says;
12/22/2011

Customer review by dwkE

2.0 stars 12/22/2011 by dwkE
by dwkE

Does not receive signals for any channel without moving the antennae from one spot to another. Would not purchase again.

Was this review helpful? (2) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dwkE
Phoenix Az
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 90 total reviews
1-20 of 90 reviews