Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 3.8out of 5 stars
3.8 out of 5 | 23 reviews
5 stars
10
4 stars
5
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 stars
2
Sort by: 
1-20 of 23 reviews
1-20 of 23 reviews
Good value, but go bigger if you can.
9/27/2009
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I bought this cage for my daughter's dwarf hamster a couple of months ago, when we first got him. At first, the cage sufficed our needs as we had been using a small terrarium meant for hermitt crabs for our new baby hamster. So, the cage was an upgrade. The hamster really liked the lower level where he could hide, play with a few toys, and bury his food. The wheel was a little noisy, despite being inside the cage. But, I fixed that by applying some electrical tape around the axel. Where this cage comes up short is that, even for a dwarf, it runs out of space very quickly. You really don't have enough room to add any climbing toys, huts, etc. Our hamster quickly began to get bored and hated being in the cage. The only way to add more room is by buying additional tubing and connecting to a 2nd cage. So, the way I see it, you are better off buying the biggest cage you can afford and have room for in your house. Then your hamster will have plenty of room to play, hide, and explore. Just make sure you buy something along the same lines as this cage (plastic housing - no bars)... just bigger.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (10)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great Cage for a Dwarf Hamster
12/23/2008
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
My dwarf hamster loves this cage! She was exploring the minute I put her in there. She loves the "dungeon" (the lower part). I gave her some fluff and she made a bed... and doesn't want to come out!! It's great because the wheel's inside, so no urine gets outside the cage, and the bottom part opens up easily into what's called a petting area. The water bottle actually doesn't leak, but I'm not sure yet it she can get anything out of it (She's only been with me a few days) It's also the cheapest cage I could find (dwarfs get out of the wire cages) with the best ratings! Good Luck!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (68)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Cute!
6/19/2009
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I was hoping the color would be a darker shade of blue like the picture. Some pieces of it are almost like a bluish-green color. I love the compact size of it. I got it for my female mice. They love it! It's very easy to clean because it disconnects in pieces & easy to put back together.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (35)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
perfect for us
3/16/2010
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
very small but was perfect for us. it suited our need for 1 dwarf hamster, has everything it needs inside, hold water bottle in place without annoying wires that other cages have, and the size fits great in our daughter's bedroom-who is 9 years old. has great openings for kids to play with the hamster.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (24)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
my hamster loves it
9/18/2009
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have a big lazy hamster and he loves this cage. I never had a problem with the water bottle besides that it is small but my kids fill it up everyday. If you have a big hamster and it doesnt do much then I would say try this cage.... good luck....
Was this review helpful?
Yes (6)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Blue Knight Hamster Cage
3/5/2009
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This cage is great, except that it is for Dwarf hamsters, which isn't stated in the description on the website. It is prints all over the box however. My son bought this himself, and was disapointed to find out that it was too small for his full size hamster. Luckily, his sister does have a dwarf hamster, so they were able to trade. If your hamster is very large at all, it will be a bit cramped in this cage.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (17)No (5)
Report
Was this review helpful?
A great value
8/25/2009
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
We shopped at several stores before choosing this cage. My daughter got a pet mouse and this cage is the perfect size. I love the "cellar" because the mouse can dig and burrow but we can still see her. Best buy in my opinion! The only fault I find is that the water bottle doesn't work well. We may replace that.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (4)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
ok
11/4/2008
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I bought this cage because our dwarf hamster was a little smarter then we thought and could get out of an open bared cage. This is really nice for an animal that does not like to chew and one that loves to spin in the wheel. Our hamster has chewed the lid (by the tube that goes down) and can get out now. Very nice for smaller animals, works well for a little while but eventually will need replaced.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (4)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Not very good
1/28/2010
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Its needs to say on product details that its not for big hamsters because I got this and thought it was great but now I wish I wouldn't of bought this product my kids hamster is way to big for this cage..... Go bigger if you can just dont settle if you can help it......
Was this review helpful?
Yes (4)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
10/13/2008
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
water bottle is junk.is really small.i used it as an add on to another cage.be sure to put bedding on top and bottom levels or it will stink.get a water bottle that is ball bearing type.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (5)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
not what I expected
8/30/2008
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Online, I didn't realize it was so small. But fortunately we were buying it for gerbil and not a hamster. So it turned out to be just the right size. Overall I am happy with my purchase.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (4)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
good for small mice
10/28/2010
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
this product was awful. the wheel would not secure to the cage properly, the water bottle constantly leaking. we have a dwarf hamster and the cage was too small for him. only air holes are at one end. very disappointed in this product.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Too Small for Comfort
8/31/2011
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I bought this for my son's single dwarf hamster, and the poor fellow looks like Alice in Wonderland inside. Although the cage is sturdy and easy to put together, it is much for suitable for a single mouse.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
only good for dwarfs
4/23/2009
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This product is on the small side. It is good for dwarf hampsters but not the others. Wish I realized that before I bought it because my son's hampster is to big and I had to buy the bigger one for him.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
11/22/2008
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
If your hampster is shy, gentle, quiet, ect. this cage is fine for them. Not too happy with water bottle but otherwise it is good for small hampsters and mice.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
great
3/11/2009
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I love it. It is so much cleaner than our last cage. There are no dropping outside the cage and it is very easy to clean.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
8/31/2009
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
The two mice that we have just love it. We also don't have a problem with the water bottle as stated in previous reviews.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
hamster home
12/28/2008
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
very well put together. Just the right size. keeps the mess inside not outside. Can carry with you where you go.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
12/17/2008
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Walmart associate
This is the perfect cage for my son's dwarf hamster.Have had no problems with it.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
A hamster's dream
1/15/2011
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Very good and solid. My hamster loves every second of it!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184643922, DC-prod-dal4, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-