Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 62 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

62 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

62 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

90%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
41
4 stars
12
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 stars
4
1-20 of 55 total reviews
90%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 55 total reviews
1-20 of 55 reviews
Nice Radio, But Complicated
10/26/2011

Customer review by callen34

1.0 stars 10/26/2011 by callen34
by callen34

I bought this radio to have it available in an emergency. I especially liked the talk / receive capability. However, it turns out that you must previously arrange a talk privacy channel with those whom you wish to talk to. That means that you can't simply power up and talk to anyone in range, they must know the privacy channel that you want to talk on. Also, let me tell you, that the control buttons are way too multi-functional. That means you have to know far more about the button functions than the button labels state. I would bet that just about anyone would have to consult the radio's operating manual to do almost all of its functions. The problem is, if you buy this radio just for emergencies, you will not use it often enough to recall what every multi-function button does. Midland could have prevented this problem with more buttons or switches, but multi-function buttons saved them cost. Consequently, in my opinion, it is a nightmare to operate. Hope this helps prospective buyers.

Was this review helpful? (47) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
callen34
Dallas, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per year
A Great Muti-Purpose Tow-Way Radio
2/16/2012

Customer review by SuperDogOwner

5.0 stars 2/16/2012 by SuperDogOwner
by SuperDogOwner

I love this radio. YOu must be aware , however, that you must have an FCC license to use the high Power Channels. the License costs $85 but when coupled with some similar Two-Way hand helds it makes for a great private communications network. I live in rural Vermont on a lake and visitors can hike around and go for walks in the woods and stay in touch with the base station at the cabin. We often have power failures and as long as you follow the Midland instrutions regarding charging batteries you will always be prepared ..... I have a pair of Midland hand helds as well and they work quite well with the Base Camp Radio up to about 2-3 miles in the woods ..... the added WX/AM/FM radio , emergancy light and crank power are excellent additions for emergencies .... The radio can be powered by NiMh included battery and AA batteries as well as AC. I purchased some high capacty 2700 MA/H batteries and they also work well ........ just read the manual and follow the instructions realizing that in the real world you will get about 2-4 miles of communication range out of it in the woods and you will be happy with this product ......

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SuperDogOwner
Vermont
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Exactly what I wanted-Emergency Weather Radio ~
8/21/2008

Customer review by awesumdove

4.0 stars 8/21/2008 by awesumdove
by awesumdove

Have had 1-1/2 weeks. Shipping was timely. AM/FM radio, and weather radio, works good, has flashlight. In addition, it included ac/dc adapter and re-chargeable batteries. It also came with plug in microphone that works with a set of Motorola walkie talkies we already had. What with all the bad weather across the nation, and various emergencies that can come about, this is exactly what we needed. It is portable (small enough) that we can pack and take with us when we go traveling. I am very happy with it, and feel I received what I paid for. One thing is You do need a battery charger for the re-chargeable batteries though.

Was this review helpful? (47) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
awesumdove
Noble County, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
It's a Midland
8/7/2010

Customer review by Buku

5.0 stars 8/7/2010 by Buku
by Buku

Very nice product. I purchased to use with my two other midland hand held radios for emergencies and road trips. This radio does require a license to legally operate using the higher power channels! Only weakness is it's ability to receive a strong signal when switched to weather (WX) in some parts of the home. That said, we are a pretty good distance from the nearest transmitter (Mobile AL) so that's not surprising or any real problem. One feature I really like is the multiple power sources. I can set it to use regular 110V, set it to use the rechargeable batteries, or set it to use the standard disposable batteries also installed in the unit. The hand crank and USB port ensure we can keep our cell phones charged. Overall, I good deal and nice to have down here on the Gulf Coast.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Buku
Alabama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great for CERT Teams & Emergencies
8/6/2009

Customer review by WPUC720

5.0 stars 8/6/2009 by WPUC720
by WPUC720

Excellent! Only, why didn't somebody think of this sooner? After a hurricane, power can be out for weeks. And who keeps weeks worth of spare batteries piled up--or wants to pay for them?? By using the "armstrong" method, batteries need never be a consideration during an extended power outage. With this excellent product, we have unlimited GMRS talk-time power for emergency contact to other licensed GMRS users such as REACT & local CERT teams. And we can charge up our cell phones, for when the cell networks remain up and running. I am exceedingly pleased. Thanks Midland!

Was this review helpful? (58) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WPUC720
Florida - Space Coast REACT, Inc.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Quality product so far.
12/8/2013

Customer review by TMfromMichigan

5.0 stars 12/8/2013 by TMfromMichigan
by TMfromMichigan
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Being a Buyer in the Automotive Industry for 15 years, (currently laid-off in Michigan), My purchase is up to my quality standards to this point. Durability is yet to be seen, as this has been a recent purchase. That being said, I live in a small town in rural Michigan and reception stinks with the small stubby coil type bottom loaded rubber antenna. I run citizens band radio (CB), and have a Ham radio license as well. I may not have a formal degree from a transferable college, but I know a little with my limited credits and life experience. I made an antenna from a small diameter coat hanger and get great reception. It is simple, if you know what to do, regardless of mathematical formulas for frequencies and band widths. I now get acceptable reception and it cost nothing. Midland has been making two way radio's for decades and is a quality product. That is why I purchased this particular product. Period. End of story. You can't go wrong with Midland.

Was this review helpful? (4) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TMfromMichigan
Howell, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Mixed feelings
4/27/2009

Customer review by pompanovice

3.0 stars 4/27/2009 by pompanovice
by pompanovice

I like the way the radio works and the size and feel, with two exceptions that are related. One, to re-charge the battery manually, I must crank like crazy for a minute and I get only five minutes usage. This may be related to the second exception. I don't know how to disable the clock display which uses electricity which I would like to save when I am manually re-charging the battery by cranking.

Was this review helpful? (51) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
pompanovice
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Useful
8/15/2010

Customer review by Robkr82

4.0 stars 8/15/2010 by Robkr82
by Robkr82

Pros: Built well, bright flashlight, charges my cell phone, good WX reception. Cons: Does not charge my iPod touch or Sony walkman mp3 player. Poor FM reception. AM reception and GRMS rx/tx is as expected. Overall it is really nice to have when camping/hiking or when the power get knocked out at home.

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Robkr82
NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Handy when not near a power source
7/10/2010

Customer review by Rigy

5.0 stars 7/10/2010 by Rigy
by Rigy

am-fm-gmrs-weather all come in clear sends your transmission at high power giving you longer range strong light 5 different power sources

Was this review helpful? (34) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Rigy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Good Emergency Radio
2/3/2011

Customer review by flcountrydj

5.0 stars 2/3/2011 by flcountrydj
by flcountrydj

I found this radio to be a good value to have in case of an emergency. It receives AM and FM and weather well and has short range 2 way communication as well as a flashlight. Living in FL it will be stored in my emergency kit.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
flcountrydj
Pensacola, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
great product. exactly what I wanted
6/29/2011

Customer review by Luvtoshopfromhome

5.0 stars 6/29/2011 by Luvtoshopfromhome
by Luvtoshopfromhome

This interacts with our set of Midland walkie-talkies and is great for keeping in touch on our land. I can charge it even in power outages by cranking it. The weather alert is of great value to me.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Luvtoshopfromhome
Boonies, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Reception not so great
5/8/2011

Customer review by Hobizzle

4.0 stars 5/8/2011 by Hobizzle
by Hobizzle

Everything's great as expected, except the reception. You would think that for an emergency radio it would have good reception, but nope. I could barely get the regular statons that my car or portables could get easily.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Hobizzle
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Always a Need for This
5/24/2011

Customer review by Calif

5.0 stars 5/24/2011 by Calif
by Calif

this is something that everybudy needs whether or not you live in a area that may lose power. It is a life saver and helps when you can not see or talk to anyone else. I have two and just bought this one for my son.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Calif
Hampton Cove, AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
4/9/2012

Customer review by Outdoor5

5.0 stars 4/9/2012 by Outdoor5
by Outdoor5

We found the radio is great to have for numerous reasons. One night it set itself off during an alert, we did not have it on. But found that it is great to have an option for just this resaon. Normally most people don't have their radio on all hours of the day. We found the instructions to be easily understood. There are many options on this radio that most normal ones don't have. Check it out! We like it and will be happy to buy another one in the future. Price beats most other ones by about $30.00.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Outdoor5
Canton,Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Excellent combination emergency radio
3/28/2011

Customer review by Karnivore

5.0 stars 3/28/2011 by Karnivore
by Karnivore
Top 250 contributor

PROs; -small, light weight, yet seems durable -has many needed functions all in one place -relatively easy to use -considering all the functions, this is a great price, buying all these features on individual devices would have cost hundreds of dollars CONs; -the internal battery does not seem to hold a charge very long, maybe a week or less of shelf life -I would have liked a 220V adapter for use in other countries, but I guess that is not what it is intended for -if you ever have to use the crank for power, you will be doing a LOT of cranking, something like 1 minute of cranking for 5-10 minutes of use, but it does work -not designed to be waterproof at all, would be great to have some thought given to waterproofing it

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Karnivore
Tampa, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Top 250 contributor
2/11/2012

Customer review by weepy911

4.0 stars 2/11/2012 by weepy911
by weepy911

I have not used every fuction this product has to offer but what i used worked good. Better in the open than in storm shelter but still working just have to find signal.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
weepy911
smithville,ms
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Better than expected
6/24/2010

Customer review by MSgtJim

5.0 stars 6/24/2010 by MSgtJim
by MSgtJim

I've had this product for only about three weeks but I like it! The sound quality is good, it seems well constructed and overhaul I believe it is worth the value for the money.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MSgtJim
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great versatile radio
11/3/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 11/3/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Nice emergency radio. Light weight with lots of functions. Good value. Bug outbag ready.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
TOP OF THE LINE EMERGENCY RADIO
4/26/2013

Customer review by SAFLO

5.0 stars 4/26/2013 by SAFLO
by SAFLO
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

PRICE FOR SAME RADIO AT RADIO SHACK THIRTY DOLLARS HIGHER. PRODUCT WOULD BE IMPROVED BY OFFERING SOLAR CHARGING AND FULL TIME AC; WHILE ELIMINATING BATTERY DRAINING CLOCK. SOUND FIDELITY SURPRIZINGLY EXCELLENT FOR THE SIZE OF THE RADIO. PACKAGING HIDES THE RECHARGEABLE BATTERY PACK WHICH IS INCLUDED.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SAFLO
MIDDLETOWN SPRINGS, VT.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Very good for the car.
10/7/2011

Customer review by QualityBargainFinder

5.0 stars 10/7/2011 by QualityBargainFinder
by QualityBargainFinder

I ran it for over 4 hours and it was still fairly bright after 3 hours. I plan on using it in the car since it has a cigarette lighter adapter to charge it as well. You will need to be careful not to drop it since it seems pretty fragile like most things plastic.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
QualityBargainFinder
Augusta, ME
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
1-20 of 55 total reviews
1-20 of 55 reviews