Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 44 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

44 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

44 reviews | 4 out of 5

91%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
17
4 stars
19
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 stars
2
1-20 of 44 total reviews
91%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 44 total reviews
1-20 of 44 reviews
top quality
5/11/2013

Customer review by Robin

5.0 stars 5/11/2013 by Robin
by Robin
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

My son is 15 and was ready to upgrade from his old board....he can't believe how much better he can hit his shots because of its' stability. We almost went with the 44" back board and we're glad we opted to upgrade to the 50". The newer base is a great improvement over the old design and the bounce-back is a nice bonus. Son is 6'1" and had a hard time adjusting the height to 10 ft by himself---it's a two man job to hold it up and place the pin in---but he won't need to adjust the height very often if at all. Our neighbor has the Lifetime board and I think the Spaulding is better quality. Husband is a mechanic had has all the tools and brains but it will be a project for most.....took them about 3 hrs. ----but no real complaints from them.

Robin
PORTLAND,ME
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
"Fairly decent unit"
1/15/2012

Customer review by Ballin' in Hollywood, SC

4.0 stars 1/15/2012 by Ballin' in Hollywood, SC
by Ballin' in Hollywood, SC

Bought this as a 2010 Christmas gift for my 10 yr old son. He loves basketball, and shoots hoops on a daily basis. Assembly of this unit took a few hours, but overall I think the directions were clearly written. Cons: It is rather difficult to move from place to place. While trying to move, the base cracked. Searced the Spalding (Huffy) website, but a replacement is not offered. This would be an added plus; otherwise, I would have to replace the entire unit.

Ballin' in Hollywood, SC
Hollywood SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great product, good looking, well built
7/1/2010

Customer review by Troy

5.0 stars 7/1/2010 by Troy
by Troy
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The only complaints I have about this hoop are that it takes a bit of muscle to adjust, may just be because its new and with the base full it is not easy to tip to its wheels to move. Neither is a big deal as they can both be solved by having two people. Overall a great product that I would purchase again and recommend to others. Also if you want to get it go through Hayneedle's site, bet price[...]

Troy
Cape Cod, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Amazing!
6/7/2010

Customer review by Key

5.0 stars 6/7/2010 by Key
by Key

We love this hoop. Spent a lot of time looking and comparing. This was easy to assemble with two people and had great directions and all parts included (always a plus). It looks amazing, definitely the best in the neighborhood and there are a ton! Durable, easy to raise and lower and a hit with the kids!!! Great product, we are thrilled! Price can't be beat!

Key
Bloomington, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Not the best...
3/26/2011

Customer review by Mom of teen boys

2.0 stars 3/26/2011 by Mom of teen boys
by Mom of teen boys

Wobbly. Entire unit wiggles with each shot. No amount of water or sand or level surface works to stabilize it. Also, plastic shield at base does not fit properly. Holes for screws do not line up. After calling and getting a replacement shipped, it still doesn't fit. I'd spend a bit more for a more solid unit if you have teenagers.

Mom of teen boys
IL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Hours of fun on the horizon
4/25/2011

Customer review by Duane

4.0 stars 4/25/2011 by Duane
by Duane
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Packaging of the product was a bit disorganized.It did take about 4 hours and I have put many items together and the parts were not organized very well. It did all come together with some time and is a very well built product. Would still recommend buying. I bought this for my daughter and she loves it.

Duane
Greencastle PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Nice Goal....
8/14/2011

Customer review by Mike

4.0 stars 8/14/2011 by Mike
by Mike

This is a nice hoop for the price. Quality is good. Stability is good. However, it is not easy to assemble. Follow instructions closely. They are good instructions. Difficult to move once you have water in it. This system could really benefit from a drain cork.

Mike
Indianapolis, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Nice hoop for the money!!!!
9/4/2011

Customer review by BBallMom

4.0 stars 9/4/2011 by BBallMom
by BBallMom
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

REALLY time consuming to put together but my kids love it! Hope you're really good with tools- also make SURE you have a good socket set- it took assembly from 4 hours ( from what I read on previous reviews before purchase) to only 2 1/2 for us!!!

BBallMom
Orlando, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
the best hoop i ever got
6/28/2011

Customer review by mike

5.0 stars 6/28/2011 by mike
by mike

i'm in college and i needed a new hoop so for my graduation my mom got me this hoop it was easy to set up and was great for my practices since i'm in basketball i give this hoop a 5 star and i'm in college

mike
Chicago, il
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Exactly as described
7/15/2012

Customer review by Daniel

5.0 stars 7/15/2012 by Daniel
by Daniel
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Took some time to assemble but very happy with it. Both my six and nine year olds love it.

Daniel
GREENWICH,CT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Pretty Good
6/15/2010

Customer review by Money

4.0 stars 6/15/2010 by Money
by Money

I use this basketball goal all the time to work on my game. Easy to adjust.

Money
Indianapolis, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
GOOD PRODUCT [...]
4/22/2011

Customer review by GEM

5.0 stars 4/22/2011 by GEM
by GEM
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

JUST WHAT I WAS LOOKING FOR

GEM
NORTH STONINGTON, CT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Product
4/24/2011

Customer review by gamrae

4.0 stars 4/24/2011 by gamrae
by gamrae
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Kids love it

gamrae
Metairie, LA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
This is the one to buy!
3/20/2014

Customer review by BKMDAD

5.0 stars 3/20/2014 by BKMDAD
by BKMDAD

I took the time to read all of the reviews for several models. The acrylic backboard material makes ALL of the difference in the world. Nice, solid rebound- and quiet. My neighbor tried to one up me and bought the "bigger" 54" polycarbonate board/hoop; and all I hear when his kids are playing is GADONG GADONG when the ball hits the board, while mine is DADUNT DADUNT nice and solid. There is a reason the smaller hoop is more expensive as the acrylic is superior material to the polycarbonate. It was easy to assemble- I did it by myself with a little common sense in about 3 hours- taking my time. Hint- disregard the separate packaging- open and lay ALL of the pieces out in groups on a table before you start (my neighbor didn't take my advice on this, and ran to Home Depot for "missing" bolts that are actually there. 2nd hint- the four inch bolts that hold the adjustment arm bracket on to the pole are "hiding" in with (down the middle of) the short black spacer tubes. Lastly, I recommend you tear out the parts matchup pages so you are not flipping back and forth all of the time and losing your place.

Was this review helpful? (12) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BKMDAD
Az.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Well made but extremely hard to assemble
8/3/2008

Customer review by Bill30339

4.0 stars 8/3/2008 by Bill30339
by Bill30339

Having read some of the reviews, I would have thought this was impossible to assemble. It was definitely tough but definitely not impossible. My 12 year old son and I did most of the work with my wife pitching in on occasion. All in all, it took us 3-4 hours. There were some real shortsighted elements in the instructions (like referring to parts in a way that required you to go the parts list to decipher what was what) but overall, it came together without too much hassle. We had a few scares about missing parts but they all turned out to be in the packaging even if they were stuffed away in odd spots or in the wrong bags. Having played on the goal now, I can say that it's very well made and the feature that allows you to raise and lower the backboard is very cool. I am definitely a happy customer. My only wish would have been for a simpler installation and better instructions.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bill30339
Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Good value, good system
10/18/2008

Customer review by dondestef

4.0 stars 10/18/2008 by dondestef
by dondestef

My son needed a new basketball system, and we looked online for one that met his criteria. This one had what he was looking for, and the price was better than anywhere else. It was a little difficult to assemble, but no harder than the one I had to put together the last time. My son helped, so it wasnt too bad, until you have to put the backboard onto the pole. But if you follow the directions, its not too bad, and took me about 6 hours. The only thing I dont like, is that it is very hard to adjust the height. You literally have to hang on the thing to pull it down, and then try to put the pin in to hold it there. Luckily for me, he doesnt want to adjust it. So if you dont have to adjust it for your kids all the time, it should serve you well. But if you need to adjust the height often, I would spend the extra money, and buy one with a very easy adjustment system. DD

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dondestef
Morgantown, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Aweson
7/21/2010

Customer review by Shopalhallic

4.0 stars 7/21/2010 by Shopalhallic
by Shopalhallic

This is the second spalding system we have purchased. The first one was put together wrong by a handyman and slowly fell apart. We found out that Wal-Mart will actually assemble them for you free of charge and that was a blessing. Once we got it home and put the 300 lbs. of sand in it it is perfect. The net that came with it is cheap though so luckily we were able to take the better net from the previous system off and use it. Other than that I say let Wal Mart put it together and take it home fore your kids to enjoy. We got it home in our Dodge Ram 1500 with no problems.

Was this review helpful? (43) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Shopalhallic
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great product, great store!
11/23/2013

Customer review by beachbballman

5.0 stars 11/23/2013 by beachbballman
by beachbballman
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The Spalding basketball system and store experience exceeded my expectations. For perspective, I played high school varsity basketball, have 2 sons who also played high school basketball, and my 13 year-old daughter is a middle school varsity basketball player. After reading many of the customer reviews I selected the system to accommodate our family level of play. My only concern from the reviews was assembly, but Wal-Mart provided a professional assembly at no charge. The system arrived more than a week earlier than projected via Site to Store, and the store assembled it in 2 days. It's been up at our home for a week and everyone loves it. Great job Wal-Mart!

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
beachbballman
Rehoboth Beach, DE
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Quality Product
10/18/2010

Customer review by SupstarsportsDad

4.0 stars 10/18/2010 by SupstarsportsDad
by SupstarsportsDad

Good value and surprisingly good assembly instructions. With help from my 16 yr old son, assembly time was about 4 hours. Would highly recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? (21) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SupstarsportsDad
Syosset, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great Portable Basketball System
2/19/2012

Customer review by GoBigOrange111

5.0 stars 2/19/2012 by GoBigOrange111
by GoBigOrange111

The only thing that concerned me was other reviews stating poor instructions and that it takes a really long time to assemble. The directions state that there should be 2 people involved in the assembly but I didn't have that option but can definitely see where that would be beneficial!!! From the opening of the box to shooting the first goal took about 3 hours and 15 minutes with some hillbilly ingenuity and power tools. The adjustable system works great and I stretched a tape measure on the goal height at it's different settings and they were all within 1 inch. This system adjust in 6 inch increments from 7 1/2 - 10ft.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GoBigOrange111
Mountain City, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 44 total reviews
1-20 of 44 reviews