Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 31 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

31 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

31 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

90%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
11
4 stars
13
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 stars
2
1-20 of 31 total reviews
90%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 31 total reviews
1-20 of 31 reviews
Aweson
7/21/2010

Customer review by Shopalhallic

4.0 stars 7/21/2010 by Shopalhallic
by Shopalhallic

This is the second spalding system we have purchased. The first one was put together wrong by a handyman and slowly fell apart. We found out that Wal-Mart will actually assemble them for you free of charge and that was a blessing. Once we got it home and put the 300 lbs. of sand in it it is perfect. The net that came with it is cheap though so luckily we were able to take the better net from the previous system off and use it. Other than that I say let Wal Mart put it together and take it home fore your kids to enjoy. We got it home in our Dodge Ram 1500 with no problems.

Was this review helpful? (43) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Shopalhallic
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Quality Product
10/18/2010

Customer review by SupstarsportsDad

4.0 stars 10/18/2010 by SupstarsportsDad
by SupstarsportsDad

Good value and surprisingly good assembly instructions. With help from my 16 yr old son, assembly time was about 4 hours. Would highly recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? (21) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SupstarsportsDad
Syosset, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Excellent value
3/14/2009

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 3/14/2009 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

It took my nephew and a friend 2 hours to assemble and is really sturdy. My son loves it!

Was this review helpful? (24) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Fayetteville, AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
This is the one to buy!
3/20/2014

Customer review by BKMDAD

5.0 stars 3/20/2014 by BKMDAD
by BKMDAD

I took the time to read all of the reviews for several models. The acrylic backboard material makes ALL of the difference in the world. Nice, solid rebound- and quiet. My neighbor tried to one up me and bought the "bigger" 54" polycarbonate board/hoop; and all I hear when his kids are playing is GADONG GADONG when the ball hits the board, while mine is DADUNT DADUNT nice and solid. There is a reason the smaller hoop is more expensive as the acrylic is superior material to the polycarbonate. It was easy to assemble- I did it by myself with a little common sense in about 3 hours- taking my time. Hint- disregard the separate packaging- open and lay ALL of the pieces out in groups on a table before you start (my neighbor didn't take my advice on this, and ran to Home Depot for "missing" bolts that are actually there. 2nd hint- the four inch bolts that hold the adjustment arm bracket on to the pole are "hiding" in with (down the middle of) the short black spacer tubes. Lastly, I recommend you tear out the parts matchup pages so you are not flipping back and forth all of the time and losing your place.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BKMDAD
Az.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Well made but extremely hard to assemble
8/3/2008

Customer review by Bill30339

4.0 stars 8/3/2008 by Bill30339
by Bill30339

Having read some of the reviews, I would have thought this was impossible to assemble. It was definitely tough but definitely not impossible. My 12 year old son and I did most of the work with my wife pitching in on occasion. All in all, it took us 3-4 hours. There were some real shortsighted elements in the instructions (like referring to parts in a way that required you to go the parts list to decipher what was what) but overall, it came together without too much hassle. We had a few scares about missing parts but they all turned out to be in the packaging even if they were stuffed away in odd spots or in the wrong bags. Having played on the goal now, I can say that it's very well made and the feature that allows you to raise and lower the backboard is very cool. I am definitely a happy customer. My only wish would have been for a simpler installation and better instructions.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Bill30339
Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Hard to assemble, fun to play
5/15/2010

Customer review by peaopot

4.0 stars 5/15/2010 by peaopot
by peaopot

The product was not very easy to assemble, it took me and another adult male about 5 hours, definitely needed socket wrenches, wrenches, sawhorses, etc. Wish I knew how much of a challenge it was going to be. Now its built and it seems pretty sturdy and kids love it. The backboard is not the firmest, it does not rebound crisply but seems like it will not break or anything.

Was this review helpful? (12) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
peaopot
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great product, great store!
11/23/2013

Customer review by beachbballman

5.0 stars 11/23/2013 by beachbballman
by beachbballman

The Spalding basketball system and store experience exceeded my expectations. For perspective, I played high school varsity basketball, have 2 sons who also played high school basketball, and my 13 year-old daughter is a middle school varsity basketball player. After reading many of the customer reviews I selected the system to accommodate our family level of play. My only concern from the reviews was assembly, but Wal-Mart provided a professional assembly at no charge. The system arrived more than a week earlier than projected via Site to Store, and the store assembled it in 2 days. It's been up at our home for a week and everyone loves it. Great job Wal-Mart!

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
beachbballman
Rehoboth Beach, DE
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
7/14/2008

Customer review by quiltforfun

5.0 stars 7/14/2008 by quiltforfun
by quiltforfun

Absolutely a two person project. All parts present. Good guide. Seems to be very well made and sturdy.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
quiltforfun
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good value, good system
10/18/2008

Customer review by dondestef

4.0 stars 10/18/2008 by dondestef
by dondestef

My son needed a new basketball system, and we looked online for one that met his criteria. This one had what he was looking for, and the price was better than anywhere else. It was a little difficult to assemble, but no harder than the one I had to put together the last time. My son helped, so it wasnt too bad, until you have to put the backboard onto the pole. But if you follow the directions, its not too bad, and took me about 6 hours. The only thing I dont like, is that it is very hard to adjust the height. You literally have to hang on the thing to pull it down, and then try to put the pin in to hold it there. Luckily for me, he doesnt want to adjust it. So if you dont have to adjust it for your kids all the time, it should serve you well. But if you need to adjust the height often, I would spend the extra money, and buy one with a very easy adjustment system. DD

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dondestef
Morgantown, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
6/12/2008

Customer review by mom2us

4.0 stars 6/12/2008 by mom2us
by mom2us

Very sturdy and easy to change the height of the goal.

Was this review helpful? (6) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mom2us
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Portable Basketball System
2/19/2012

Customer review by GoBigOrange111

5.0 stars 2/19/2012 by GoBigOrange111
by GoBigOrange111

The only thing that concerned me was other reviews stating poor instructions and that it takes a really long time to assemble. The directions state that there should be 2 people involved in the assembly but I didn't have that option but can definitely see where that would be beneficial!!! From the opening of the box to shooting the first goal took about 3 hours and 15 minutes with some hillbilly ingenuity and power tools. The adjustable system works great and I stretched a tape measure on the goal height at it's different settings and they were all within 1 inch. This system adjust in 6 inch increments from 7 1/2 - 10ft.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GoBigOrange111
Mountain City, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
A bit challanging
3/5/2009

Customer review by jammang

4.0 stars 3/5/2009 by jammang
by jammang

I used the site to store shipping option. It took longer than I expected but came in sooner than Wal Mart predicted. The unit was a little bit of a challange to assemble but once my 14 year old son and I finished the unit turned out to be worth every penny. The only problem with it is that when shipped, there is paper covering the front of the backboard but none on the back. This resulted in a few scratches being present from how it was packaged in the box.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jammang
Melbourne, Fl.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
8/27/2012

Customer review by lmbbiz

5.0 stars 8/27/2012 by lmbbiz
by lmbbiz

This is a great solution. It has a pin in it to change heights. I was looking for one that did not need a pin and you could squeeze the handle to change heights quicker but it is not a big deal.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lmbbiz
atl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great for our 10 year old son.
4/19/2013

Customer review by Zanycat

5.0 stars 4/19/2013 by Zanycat
by Zanycat

After reading other reviews we did have Walmart assemble the hoop. It was definitely worth it! It is hard to adjust the height(takes 2 people), our 10 year old cant do it. Overall it is a great product for the price.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Zanycat
Aurora, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good choice
6/26/2013

Customer review by Todd3339

4.0 stars 6/26/2013 by Todd3339
by Todd3339

Good value for the money. Best value is that Walmart will put it together for you which from what I read is not fun. All you need is a friend with a big truck to help you get it home.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Todd3339
Bergen county. Nj
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent basketball goal...!!!
1/8/2014

Customer review by Clif22

5.0 stars 1/8/2014 by Clif22
by Clif22

Excellent basketball goal for my six year old son!! It's the talk of the neighbor hood everyone Love to play on it!! It's very durable!! & The best part...Wal-Mart put it together for me!!! I just picked it up in my Ford F250 and brought it home!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Clif22
Orlando, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Perfect combo of performance and cost for home use
4/14/2014

Customer review by WhoopWhoop123

5.0 stars 4/14/2014 by WhoopWhoop123
by WhoopWhoop123

Good construction. Perfect combination of price, performance and quality for the home driveway user. This is an acrylic backboard, much better than a polycarb. Polycarb is "bouncy" and does not give a solid rebound. It absorbs impact effecting play. Glass is the best, if you want to spend $1,000 or much much more on a system. Everything fit together well. Bolts are a tight fit, but need to ensure a secure final assembly. No misalignment issues as with some other posts, I think that has something to do with the mechanical abilities of the assembler. Had all the proper tools needed for assembly so that probably helped a bit too. Took about 4 hours to assemble with the help of my 10 year old to sort parts etc. and an hour to pour the sand into the base one cup at a time through a funnel! Note if you are in a freezing climate, I would not recommend using water unless you use plan on adding antifreeze in the mix. I choose sand, as once it is in I will never need to worry about evaporation and the hoop crashing in my driveway or on top of someone's head at some point in the future. Make sure you use construction sand NOT play sand. I made that mistake initially and had to lug 300 lbs. of play sand back to Home Depot to exchange. Play sand packs and clumps which makes it impossible to pour into the base. It was a good work out though and no need to go to the gym today.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WhoopWhoop123
Airmont, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good product for the money.
1/13/2012

Customer review by DrPiper

4.0 stars 1/13/2012 by DrPiper
by DrPiper

This unit appears to be worth the money, and it serves the purpose that be bought for. Very well illistrated assembly directions, took me some 6 liesurely hours and my 11 yr. old son helped for a few minutes when two were required. The three pole tubes were assembled as per drawings and instructions, but now I know why others pointed out that the 10' marking is really 11' etc, so I just lowered it to the 9' marking to get exactly 10' (no real problem unless you needed 7 1/2' which would really be 8 1/2 ft. I especially liked the 45 degree piece of plastic that serves as a ball return on many made baskets.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DrPiper
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Ambiguous directions
4/7/2013

Customer review by DadTimesThree

3.0 stars 4/7/2013 by DadTimesThree
by DadTimesThree

I restore antique cars as a hobby, so I know my way around tools etc. I DID have all the pieces and almost everything fit correctly. I had to drill-out two holes on flat brackets for the back board for the provided bolts to work, as the factory holes were too small. Even I wound up taking things apart that I had already assembled per the directions when the next step wouldn't work out. If the Spalding people had invested more time in assembly directions this could have been avoided. After you assemble a step, then proceed to the next step, the illustration that they give you might not reflect what you just put together in the previous step = frustrating. What should have been a two hour job took closer to four w/ all the back-track / re-work. It looks very nice once completed. Plastic water base is SUPER thin material...thus the issues folks have had w/ bases. Our old cheap Lifetime goal (that we were upgrading from) has a much thicker plastic base. I do NOT plan to move this around much at all as a result of this. It shakes and wobbles much more than would be ideal, particularly when it is up at 10' height. Walmart transaction was great. Was delvrd. quicker than the estimated time given. The LTL (less-than-full load) truck driver was prompt & courteous. I would recommend dealing with Walmart on this kind of purchase on free ship-to-home transaction which is what we opted for in lieu of ship to store. That was worth a lot as heavy & bulky as the box is- had we picked up at the store. Walmart price was about $50 less than any other on-line retailers that I could find after doing my research to settle on this model. Do your home work & read reviews before buying a goal. There is a lot to learn from the review, if you plan to have kids playing on them for years to come. I don't want to have to put any more of these together in a perfect world. I have put two others together-years ago w/ my Dad as I wore-out my first one as a teenager. They were both in-ground models-nearly NO shaking/ shimmying. Had we chosen a lesser quality goal for this purchase and invested 4 hours putting it together and it fall apart in short order, I would NOT be happy. I would have liked ZERO wobble -shake factor but have decided that the roll-around portables are all going to shake & shimmy some. The (2) big-box retailers are not the best bang for your buck, unless you have a super-duper coupon of some sort. Unless you bump up to the $1500 in ground models, you better be reconciled to have a little shimmy factor. For $300, this was a pretty good deal.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DadTimesThree
Winston-Salem, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Easy to set up - Rim in 3" too high
4/15/2010

Customer review by An anonymous customer

3.0 stars 4/15/2010 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Don't be worried about the reviews about bad instructions. My 11 year old daughter and I set it up in 4 hours taking our time. It is pretty sturdy. My only problem is that the rim is 3" too high. Due to the hight adjustment mechanism, it can only be set at 6" increments. I have double checked the instructions, and everything looks correct. I have contacted technical support and they have asked for pictures to make sure it is set up correctly. The most likely problem is that the poles aren't connected properly but according to the instructions, we did it correctly. Unfortunately, there isn't a positive indications that the poles are connected properly. I am hoping that I can switch over to one of the other hight adjustment mechanisms or replace the current adjustment to a fixed length pole that keeps it at 10".

Was this review helpful? (2) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 31 total reviews
1-20 of 31 reviews