Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 395 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

395 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

395 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

92%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
305
4 stars
42
3 stars
17
2 stars
16
1 stars
15
1-20 of 317 total reviews
92%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 317 total reviews
1-20 of 317 reviews
Blissful sleep
1/22/2009

Customer review by ellbee

5.0 stars 1/22/2009 by ellbee
by ellbee

After having used a fan for years to produce white noise, I finally got fed up with all the dust and cold breezes in winter and bought this based on reviews. So glad I did. The machine is very small, inconspicuous, and easy to use. With the adjustable top and sides and high/low switch, users can find the perfect sound for their needs. It's small enough to pack in a suitcase and use on vacation. I have used this for a month now and am very happy.

Was this review helpful? (131) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ellbee
Kansas City
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Better than expected
10/29/2009

Customer review by pwyler

5.0 stars 10/29/2009 by pwyler
by pwyler

The Sleep Mate exceeded my expectations. Very southing and consistent sound. No complaints thus far. I suffer from tinnitus and this product cancels out the humming sound very well.

Was this review helpful? (55) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
pwyler
Central Kentucky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
5/12/2009

Customer review by ILikePizza

1.0 stars 5/12/2009 by ILikePizza
by ILikePizza

I purchased this product because my job requires that I sleep in a hotel that is located near a beach bar that plays music late into the night and I cannot wear ear plugs because I get ear infections easily. I knew as soon as I turned the machine on that it would not be loud enough and I was correct. This machine is just too quiet for anyone that needs to block out anything more than whispers or other light noises. This is too bad because I actually really like the type of noise that it creates -- like a fan. Also, others that mentioned that there is not much of a difference between the low and high volume settings are correct. Overall, it would probably be a good product if it was much, much louder.

Was this review helpful? (66) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ILikePizza
Would recommend to a friend? No
Can sleep well again
9/6/2010

Customer review by GoTeamVenture

5.0 stars 9/6/2010 by GoTeamVenture
by GoTeamVenture

This noise machine is perfect. I am a very picky person and a light sleeper. We had been using a humidifier at night for white noise for the past 2 years but it finally gave out. We then switched to a Homedics tabletop fan. It really dried the room out and was way too loud. Another humidifier we own was also too loud. We contemplated an electronic sound machine (nature sounds, rain, waterfall, etc.), but after researching found that many of them turn off after 60-90 minutes or were poorly manufactured. We then decided to go with this one after reading reviews. We couldn't be happier with our choice. Runs all night, multiple volume/sound adjustments can be made. Sounds just like a fan/humidifier or blowing air but it doesn't blow any air. I was able to sleep better on the first night of use.

Was this review helpful? (29) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GoTeamVenture
Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
You never go back...
1/7/2010

Customer review by FadeToBlack

5.0 stars 1/7/2010 by FadeToBlack
by FadeToBlack

I've had one of these since I was a child and they are addictive. I bought one for my sister, brother-in-law and their dog and they all love it! It cuts down on bothersome ambient noises and lasts for years. Mine is over 20 years old. They seem expensive at first, but in a few years you will look back and see that they were very well made and worth every penny. I highly recommend one of these for any household.

Was this review helpful? (41) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FadeToBlack
Andalusia, AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
not an air purifier - a sound purifier
7/31/2011

Customer review by FlashTex

5.0 stars 7/31/2011 by FlashTex
by FlashTex

This is the sound I've been looking for, the one that wipes out the others and leaves nothing for your consciousness to bump into. No infernal synthesized babbling brooks, crickets and ocean waves - just one smooth solid whooshing brain wipe, tunable to your personal sweet spot. It's so much better than those electronic noise machines, like my Homedics, or the recordings and smartphone apps. Old fashioned, well built, American made, and very retro-cool. The price seemed high at first, but it's worth it.

Was this review helpful? (17) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FlashTex
Austin, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
4/29/2009

Customer review by pris1107

3.0 stars 4/29/2009 by pris1107
by pris1107

I was so excited when I received this item. I thought I would no longer have to use a fan to sleep at night. WRONG!!! Some one wrote a review that said it was too loud, but I don't think it's loud enough! I can still hear my husband snoring and any noises outside. On the other hand, this product has the closest sound to a fan that I've ever heard. I really like this product but I would have to purchase another one to drown out the noise and that's just too much money. Still deciding though because it might be worth it.

Was this review helpful? (14) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
pris1107
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great product
7/19/2011

Customer review by BigCleo

5.0 stars 7/19/2011 by BigCleo
by BigCleo

I purchased my Marpac SleeMate 980A WHite Noise Sleep Sound Machine about two weeks ago hoping that it would cancel out the barking dog that lives behind me. Well folks it is working. For two weeks I have used it and it works. Several nights I've left it off until the dog woke me up and then turned it on and I could no longer hear the barking, now I just turn it on everynight when I go to bed. I would highly recommend this machine for blocking out outside noises.

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BigCleo
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
9/18/2011

Customer review by sleephungry

4.0 stars 9/18/2011 by sleephungry
by sleephungry

It masks out most of the noise except for heavy snoring by your spouse right next to you.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sleephungry
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
I couldn't sleep during the day without it!
7/31/2013

Customer review by Allyall

5.0 stars 7/31/2013 by Allyall
by Allyall

My family is awake and living their lives during the day, just as they would if I wasn't sleeping down the hall. This product drowns out the noise of the television being up too loud, loud conversations, and the family playing tug of war with the dogs. I can still tell that the television is on or a loud conversation may be happening as I am falling asleep, but the white noise takes precedence. This product keeps a gentle consistant filter of white noise, so that something unexpected elsewhere does not startle me. I will still wake to the sound of the telephone ringing on my nightstand, and my alarm clock sounding (which I turn up loud). Concerns: I am not so sure if I would hear the sound of a fire alarm down the hall, or an intruder until it reached my bedroom. I would have the same problems if I used earplugs. Thankfully, the majority of the time someone is home while I am using this product.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Allyall
Western Massachusetts
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Life saver!
1/7/2012

Customer review by NoisyStreet

5.0 stars 1/7/2012 by NoisyStreet
by NoisyStreet

We mistakenly bought an otherwise very nice house on the corner of a very very busy street. The bedroom wall is closest to the noisy traffic. The SleepMate works better than a fan at silencing the noise. This somehow masks 90% of the sound without being overly loud itself. You can still hear the biggest trucks and the un-muffled motorcycles and gangsta cars, but the irritation is somehow lessened. I would recommend this product to everyone!

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NoisyStreet
South Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good product for troubled sleepers.
11/5/2013

Customer review by sleepymama12

4.0 stars 11/5/2013 by sleepymama12
by sleepymama12

Machine is easy to use. It's small enough to fit anywhere. This machine has two settings. My son falls asleep and stays asleep on the high setting but I can still hear some sound breaking through on the high setting. I need white noise in order to sleep. I get more restful sleep with this machine than I did if I didn't have the machine.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sleepymama12
Covington, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Helps with getting a Good Night's Sleep!
4/18/2010

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 4/18/2010 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I love this product! About 20 years ago I purchased one of these from the same mfg. and still have it. We have used it every night, all night for all these years and it still works perfect! I purchased another one because I wanted one for another room in the house. The design is basically the same as 20 years ago, just looks a bit more modern. It is about the size of a roll of toilet paper. I have used other "sleep/noise machines" when at other's homes, but I much prefer the sound of 'white noise' to nature sounds when trying to sleep. This really helps block out noise when sleeping. It is easy to pack and take for traveling. Recommend highly! Also, love ordering on line from Walmart's 'site-to-site' shoping option -- it's easy and very quick.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Cincinnati ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
A Good Product
7/3/2010

Customer review by PixieCut

5.0 stars 7/3/2010 by PixieCut
by PixieCut

The sounds made by this machine are soothing and not at all annoying or intrusive. There is no vibration or whine, and it doesn't hum. It is just pure white noise, like rushing air. It works pretty well in drowning out normal neighborhood noises, and you can set it on low or high, and also adjust the "tone" of the white noise as you wish. Unfortunately, it was not loud enough for my purposes. I bought it hoping to drown out the sound of the jet planes which, when the wind is right, zoom over my house half the night at something like 17,000 feet. I guess that was too much to expect from any machine, because the only thing that's going to drown out an A320 is another A320. However, I am glad I bought it, and I do use it on a regular basis to drown out ordinary noises. It works very well for that.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PixieCut
Valley Stream, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
A great product by a great company
1/26/2012

Customer review by djctbs

5.0 stars 1/26/2012 by djctbs
by djctbs

I ordered this Sleepmate for my parents who do not particularly trust buying items online. :) This is for their second home so they no longer have to transport the one they have back and forth when they travel. They ordered their first one in 1973 and have been unable to live without it since. They had to replace that one in the late 1980s and have had the replacement one ever since, running it every night for at least six hours. These machines are wonderful noise conditioners and have stood the test of time.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
djctbs
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Product TOO QUIET...
9/25/2012

Customer review by weatherfan

1.0 stars 9/25/2012 by weatherfan
by weatherfan

If you are looking for a sound machine conditioner that will filter-out loud noises, either extraneous outside the room, or within the room, including snoring, this is *NOT* the one that will do it. The problem is that this machine is TOO QUIET. From what I have auditioned with the product, it's really only for someone who's looking for a soft, continuous whisper at night to help them sleep, as a sleep aid. And if you do that, you must have it close-up like next to your nightstand. My intended useage for the product was to filter-out extraneous noises from outside like lawn mowers buzzing by, loud vehicles driving by, noisy music and barking dogs. Unfortunately this product will *NOT* do this, and that's why I'm returning it. I have adjusted the settings to the loudest and highest speed, and it is still WAYYY too quiet & soft. It cannot drown out the sound of a dryer that is 2 rooms away, with my door closed. Further, it cannot even drown out the sound of a radio that is SOFTLY playing on LOW volume just 8 ft. away. I've been using a box fan, and even it is louder and better with filtering-out extraneous noises; however, during the cool season that is coming up, I didn't want the cooling breezes nor the aggravating air particulates circulating during the cold & flu season. I guess I will have to keep looking for a machine that is much louder and that can actually filter-out substantial noise.

Was this review helpful? (6) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
weatherfan
New Orleans, LA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
7/25/2011

Customer review by forbygrace

5.0 stars 7/25/2011 by forbygrace
by forbygrace

Exactly what I wanted. Takes the place of dusty fan. Creates the background noise needed for sleep.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
forbygrace
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Excellant Sound Machine!
6/20/2011

Customer review by Shopper12wally

5.0 stars 6/20/2011 by Shopper12wally
by Shopper12wally

Best sound machine by far! Sounds like a fan. Nice & compact. More effective as a white sound machine than the next higher end model by same co. Wish I had known about this when I was traveling as will buy a second one if I travel again. I use it every time I sleep. I work night shifts so this is especially helpful to drown out sounds of traffic & occasional dogs barking. Highly recommend it. The reviews on this product are right on.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Shopper12wally
TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
Very good.
10/29/2013

Customer review by Boogiebomb

5.0 stars 10/29/2013 by Boogiebomb
by Boogiebomb

Excellent...just what we wanted. Sounds just like the air conditioner which we just had to take out of the bedroom for the winter. It's the perfect sound.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Boogiebomb
Lockport ny
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
This thing is great
1/29/2010

Customer review by fiberdude

5.0 stars 1/29/2010 by fiberdude
by fiberdude

I didn't know if this product would be loud enogh to take the place of the box fan, but let me tell you, we run it on the low setting with the air damper on top at the minimum position and have it across the bedroom from the bed. Sounds just like a fan with the perfect white noise effect. I love this thing!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
fiberdude
washington,la
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 317 total reviews
1-20 of 317 reviews