Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 407 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

407 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

407 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

91%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
310
4 stars
45
3 stars
18
2 stars
17
1 stars
17
1-20 of 329 total reviews
91%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 329 total reviews
1-20 of 329 reviews
I couldn't sleep during the day without it!
7/31/2013

Customer review by Allyall

5.0 stars 7/31/2013 by Allyall
by Allyall

My family is awake and living their lives during the day, just as they would if I wasn't sleeping down the hall. This product drowns out the noise of the television being up too loud, loud conversations, and the family playing tug of war with the dogs. I can still tell that the television is on or a loud conversation may be happening as I am falling asleep, but the white noise takes precedence. This product keeps a gentle consistant filter of white noise, so that something unexpected elsewhere does not startle me. I will still wake to the sound of the telephone ringing on my nightstand, and my alarm clock sounding (which I turn up loud). Concerns: I am not so sure if I would hear the sound of a fire alarm down the hall, or an intruder until it reached my bedroom. I would have the same problems if I used earplugs. Thankfully, the majority of the time someone is home while I am using this product.

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Allyall
Western Massachusetts
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great purchase
7/25/2016

Customer review by Irisheyes

5.0 stars 7/25/2016 by Irisheyes
by Irisheyes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This was purchased to replace a air cleaner and I'm so glad that the cleaner died out. This machine does exactly what I needed it to do; give constant noise to allow sleeping without disturbing air being moved around in our bedroom. The air cleaner was much noisier and we were constantly replacing filters to ensure that clean air was being moved around. This machine does everything we need to help us sleep and be able to adjust the loudness to our liking without changing the sound.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Irisheyes
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Can sleep well again
9/6/2010

Customer review by GoTeamVenture

5.0 stars 9/6/2010 by GoTeamVenture
by GoTeamVenture

This noise machine is perfect. I am a very picky person and a light sleeper. We had been using a humidifier at night for white noise for the past 2 years but it finally gave out. We then switched to a Homedics tabletop fan. It really dried the room out and was way too loud. Another humidifier we own was also too loud. We contemplated an electronic sound machine (nature sounds, rain, waterfall, etc.), but after researching found that many of them turn off after 60-90 minutes or were poorly manufactured. We then decided to go with this one after reading reviews. We couldn't be happier with our choice. Runs all night, multiple volume/sound adjustments can be made. Sounds just like a fan/humidifier or blowing air but it doesn't blow any air. I was able to sleep better on the first night of use.

Was this review helpful? (45) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GoTeamVenture
Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
No frills perfect white noise machine
2/2/2014

Customer review by Suzanne4

5.0 stars 2/2/2014 by Suzanne4
by Suzanne4
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I purchased the older version of this machine 30 years ago, and it still works today! I gave my old one to my son because the sounds from his neighbors' apartments in his crowded apartment building in New York City were interfering with his sleep. It did the trick immediately and he loves it. I purchased this newest "sound conditioner" as a gift for my husband to help him cope with his tinnitis. It is corded, not battery operated. It has 2 settings for louder and softer, and when the lid is twisted, the size of the openings on the sides expands or contracts which also alters the sound quality. The noise you will hear is the sound of rushing air. That's it. The volume goes from soft to loud, depending on how you set it. There are no other sounds, no birds, no ocean waves, no thunder storms... This is a pure white noise machine that does the job perfectly.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Suzanne4
Boston, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Blissful sleep
1/22/2009

Customer review by ellbee

5.0 stars 1/22/2009 by ellbee
by ellbee

After having used a fan for years to produce white noise, I finally got fed up with all the dust and cold breezes in winter and bought this based on reviews. So glad I did. The machine is very small, inconspicuous, and easy to use. With the adjustable top and sides and high/low switch, users can find the perfect sound for their needs. It's small enough to pack in a suitcase and use on vacation. I have used this for a month now and am very happy.

Was this review helpful? (147) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ellbee
Kansas City
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Better than expected
10/29/2009

Customer review by pwyler

5.0 stars 10/29/2009 by pwyler
by pwyler

The Sleep Mate exceeded my expectations. Very southing and consistent sound. No complaints thus far. I suffer from tinnitus and this product cancels out the humming sound very well.

Was this review helpful? (65) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
pwyler
Central Kentucky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
5/12/2009

Customer review by ILikePizza

1.0 stars 5/12/2009 by ILikePizza
by ILikePizza

I purchased this product because my job requires that I sleep in a hotel that is located near a beach bar that plays music late into the night and I cannot wear ear plugs because I get ear infections easily. I knew as soon as I turned the machine on that it would not be loud enough and I was correct. This machine is just too quiet for anyone that needs to block out anything more than whispers or other light noises. This is too bad because I actually really like the type of noise that it creates -- like a fan. Also, others that mentioned that there is not much of a difference between the low and high volume settings are correct. Overall, it would probably be a good product if it was much, much louder.

Was this review helpful? (73) (19)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ILikePizza
Would recommend to a friend? No
A Good Product
7/3/2010

Customer review by PixieCut

5.0 stars 7/3/2010 by PixieCut
by PixieCut

The sounds made by this machine are soothing and not at all annoying or intrusive. There is no vibration or whine, and it doesn't hum. It is just pure white noise, like rushing air. It works pretty well in drowning out normal neighborhood noises, and you can set it on low or high, and also adjust the "tone" of the white noise as you wish. Unfortunately, it was not loud enough for my purposes. I bought it hoping to drown out the sound of the jet planes which, when the wind is right, zoom over my house half the night at something like 17,000 feet. I guess that was too much to expect from any machine, because the only thing that's going to drown out an A320 is another A320. However, I am glad I bought it, and I do use it on a regular basis to drown out ordinary noises. It works very well for that.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PixieCut
Valley Stream, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Helps with getting a Good Night's Sleep!
4/18/2010

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 4/18/2010 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I love this product! About 20 years ago I purchased one of these from the same mfg. and still have it. We have used it every night, all night for all these years and it still works perfect! I purchased another one because I wanted one for another room in the house. The design is basically the same as 20 years ago, just looks a bit more modern. It is about the size of a roll of toilet paper. I have used other "sleep/noise machines" when at other's homes, but I much prefer the sound of 'white noise' to nature sounds when trying to sleep. This really helps block out noise when sleeping. It is easy to pack and take for traveling. Recommend highly! Also, love ordering on line from Walmart's 'site-to-site' shoping option -- it's easy and very quick.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Cincinnati ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
not an air purifier - a sound purifier
7/31/2011

Customer review by FlashTex

5.0 stars 7/31/2011 by FlashTex
by FlashTex

This is the sound I've been looking for, the one that wipes out the others and leaves nothing for your consciousness to bump into. No infernal synthesized babbling brooks, crickets and ocean waves - just one smooth solid whooshing brain wipe, tunable to your personal sweet spot. It's so much better than those electronic noise machines, like my Homedics, or the recordings and smartphone apps. Old fashioned, well built, American made, and very retro-cool. The price seemed high at first, but it's worth it.

Was this review helpful? (20) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FlashTex
Austin, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
9/18/2011

Customer review by sleephungry

4.0 stars 9/18/2011 by sleephungry
by sleephungry

It masks out most of the noise except for heavy snoring by your spouse right next to you.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
sleephungry
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Not what hoped for
6/11/2016

Customer review by HLHL

1.0 stars 6/11/2016 by HLHL
by HLHL
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Purchased it for office to keep the noise from next door out and my office conversations private, but did neither, still could hear every word spoken in both rooms. Cannot recommend it for that purpose.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HLHL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Best white noise machine EVER
10/24/2012

Customer review by eragonlover

5.0 stars 10/24/2012 by eragonlover
by eragonlover

After moving from an apartment using window units, to a home with central air, my husband and I realized we needed a white noise machine to duplicate the fan noise. Using apps on our phone, we quickly realized most white noise replicators use a repeating sound recording. The problem with that is, that somewhere on that recording is going to be a skip or an added noise or something and your mind will pick it out and will continue to listen for it each and every loop. Therefore you are not relaxing, you are waiting for the sound discrepancy. The brilliance of this machine, is that it makes its own noise. There are no recordings. You can also rotate the shell to vary the open air holes and make noise changes. It is worth every penny. It also drowns out a lot of noise, so if you have other people awake in the house making noise, this should blot that out and allow you to sleep. I would recommend this for city visitors or people who just moved.

Was this review helpful? (2) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
eragonlover
Roanoke, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
4/29/2009

Customer review by pris1107

3.0 stars 4/29/2009 by pris1107
by pris1107

I was so excited when I received this item. I thought I would no longer have to use a fan to sleep at night. WRONG!!! Some one wrote a review that said it was too loud, but I don't think it's loud enough! I can still hear my husband snoring and any noises outside. On the other hand, this product has the closest sound to a fan that I've ever heard. I really like this product but I would have to purchase another one to drown out the noise and that's just too much money. Still deciding though because it might be worth it.

Was this review helpful? (15) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
pris1107
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good product for troubled sleepers.
11/5/2013

Customer review by sleepymama12

4.0 stars 11/5/2013 by sleepymama12
by sleepymama12
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Machine is easy to use. It's small enough to fit anywhere. This machine has two settings. My son falls asleep and stays asleep on the high setting but I can still hear some sound breaking through on the high setting. I need white noise in order to sleep. I get more restful sleep with this machine than I did if I didn't have the machine.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
sleepymama12
Covington, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
You never go back...
1/7/2010

Customer review by FadeToBlack

5.0 stars 1/7/2010 by FadeToBlack
by FadeToBlack

I've had one of these since I was a child and they are addictive. I bought one for my sister, brother-in-law and their dog and they all love it! It cuts down on bothersome ambient noises and lasts for years. Mine is over 20 years old. They seem expensive at first, but in a few years you will look back and see that they were very well made and worth every penny. I highly recommend one of these for any household.

Was this review helpful? (47) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FadeToBlack
Andalusia, AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Works great
1/3/2010

Customer review by SeaninEugene

5.0 stars 1/3/2010 by SeaninEugene
by SeaninEugene

I got this to help drown out the noise of the house after my two kids (4 and 5) went to bed. It works really well. There are two settings, soft and loud, and the sound is very soothing and easily ignored. The tone of the noise is adjustable by turning the outer casing clockwise or counter clockwise. I keep it in the hallway outside of the bedrooms. It's loud enough to be effective for all four bedrooms. It drowns out the sirens, train whistles, cat fights, noisy cars, and all the other things that would often wake me and my kids up and has really helped them to stay asleep throughout the night (and even helped them sleep in a bit later). It's compact and will easily fit in a suitcase to take with you on trips (after a while you get accustomed to the sound and it's hard to sleep without it). It works really well in a hotel room. I have relatives who use a box fan for the same effect, but that moves the air and causes a draft, not to mention it's bulky and difficult to take with you. I definitely recommend this.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SeaninEugene
Eugene, Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great product
7/19/2011

Customer review by BigCleo

5.0 stars 7/19/2011 by BigCleo
by BigCleo

I purchased my Marpac SleeMate 980A WHite Noise Sleep Sound Machine about two weeks ago hoping that it would cancel out the barking dog that lives behind me. Well folks it is working. For two weeks I have used it and it works. Several nights I've left it off until the dog woke me up and then turned it on and I could no longer hear the barking, now I just turn it on everynight when I go to bed. I would highly recommend this machine for blocking out outside noises.

Was this review helpful? (12) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BigCleo
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Life saver!
1/7/2012

Customer review by NoisyStreet

5.0 stars 1/7/2012 by NoisyStreet
by NoisyStreet

We mistakenly bought an otherwise very nice house on the corner of a very very busy street. The bedroom wall is closest to the noisy traffic. The SleepMate works better than a fan at silencing the noise. This somehow masks 90% of the sound without being overly loud itself. You can still hear the biggest trucks and the un-muffled motorcycles and gangsta cars, but the irritation is somehow lessened. I would recommend this product to everyone!

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NoisyStreet
South Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Wish I Had Found This Product Sooner!
7/17/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 7/17/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I live in a Condo Hotel in Maui, Hawaii nine months of the year. When I bought this apartment, it never occurred to me that being by the elevator and trash room door would be a noise problem. During the winter season, I have been awakened by Vacationers who must catch "red eye" flights, and leave at very early hours. And, because of the tropical climate, most people leave their bedroom windows open all night. The result has been that almost weekly, we are wakened by inconsiderate guests making a great deal of noise as they leave, throwing away things, and talking while waiting for the elevator. But now, after two months of use, this device creates a soothing, level of background noise that completely solves the problem. And it is small, uses very little electricity, and so far, has masked all outside noises. It's Great!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Kihei, Hawaii
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 329 total reviews
1-20 of 329 reviews