Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 277 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

277 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

277 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

95%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
198
4 stars
64
3 stars
6
2 stars
4
1 stars
5
1-20 of 255 total reviews
95%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 255 total reviews
1-20 of 255 reviews
Classy little armoire!
6/7/2008

Customer review by RebelMamma

5.0 stars 6/7/2008 by RebelMamma
by RebelMamma

After looking for more than a year for the perfect computer desk- this is it!! I was very hesitant to buy online- and the price scared me a little- but I know Sauder has a great reputation- so I took a risk- and I am so glad I did!! I chose the site-to-store option, and saved on shipping, and good thing, because this thing is a beast- nice and sturdy though!! You will need a truck or large SUV to get this home, and two people to lift- and assemble- well, most of the assembly can be done by one person, just need another to help lift upright after all main pieces are together. Be sure to have the back nailed on before you place upright or it will fall- we had a close call! It took me about 3 hours- and I am semi-handy, so maybe less time for someone that is a pro! The finished product is so classy- I was looking at armoires at a furniture store that were twice this price, but had much less character. It is not huge- but not tiny- fits perfect in our living room. My favorite feature is the 'work space' that slides out above the keyboard shelf to hold papers, books, etc. which is perfect for students or anyone that needs to have room for placing stuff while you are on the computer (You can't store stuff there, just while the armoire is open, but it is great!) The printer shelf even slides out- great feature! And it holds our HP photosmart printer perfectly.LOVE IT!!

Was this review helpful? (121) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RebelMamma
Las Vegas NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great armoire for the price!
3/15/2011

Customer review by MCShopaholicMom

5.0 stars 3/15/2011 by MCShopaholicMom
by MCShopaholicMom

After searching in numerous furniture stores for a computer armoire that served my needs, matched my decor, and was reasonably priced, I stumbled upon this one online. I was a bit skeptical about purchasing furniture online for fear that it might arrive damaged. But after reading all the positive reviews about this item I finally decided to take a chance and purchase it. I chose site to store (saved myself the expensive shipping cost) and it arrived in about two weeks. The box it came in was in tact, no dents or dings so, no damage. There was a little nick on the printer shelf (which I believe was caused at the factory) but nothing major and nothing a little furniture marker couldn't fix. As many of the other reviews state, it does take some time to assemble, but if you follow the instructions carefully, you should have no problem. Once assembled, I highly recommend two people to move it as it is a bit heavy. I also recommend placing felt pads under the feet before standing the computer armoire upright to avoid scratching the floors when you move it. I really love this armoire! My computer and monitor fit nicely and I love the fact that it has a pull out work space which I definitely need to prop books or paperwork on. The HP photosmart printer I have fits perfectly on the printer shelf and the space below the printer shelf serves as a space to put my in-boxes in. Most everything I had in my old desk fits nicely in this one. I do however wish it had at least one drawer to place small office supplies in but that problem was easily resolved when I purchased a couple of leather boxes (they add charm to the decor and are functional). The best part about the armoire is that at the end of the day, I can just close the doors and you can't even tell that we have a computer in the room. I HIGHLY recommend purchasing this computer armoire. It's a beautiful piece and I'm glad I took the chance and purchased it!

Was this review helpful? (53) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MCShopaholicMom
Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
You get what you pay for...
11/20/2011

Customer review by ef3477

3.0 stars 11/20/2011 by ef3477
by ef3477

I was really excited to get this desk because it had such great reviews and was much less expensive than other similar desks. However, upon starting to assemble the desk, it became clear that you really do get what you pay for. Several of the screw holes were stripped after a few turns with a screwdriver - they weren't over tightened, and there really wasn't a way to get the screws in tight enough. There are pre=drilled holes for the screws, which helps as long as the pre-drilled holes are straight. If not (as in our case) if you follow the pre-drilled holes, your pieces won't 100% perfectly line up and you'll have gaps in between pieces, or slightly askew pieces. The hinges that are provided do not appear to be strong enough to hold the doors very well. The doors each started shifting slightly after they were hung, and after trying to tighten the screws on the hinges and doors, we quickly stripped those screw holes as well. The quality of the wood is very poor, so it's very easy to strip the holes. We ended up having to inset those plastic screw hole things into several of the screw holes and our doors still don't hang square, but we're tired of messing with it. We're planning on looking for different hinges and switching them out at some point. The final appearance should be judged with the 10-foot rule: it looks good from ten feet away, but up close, you can see a lot of flaws and the doors don't work perfectly. The coloring is nice and there are a lot of good features (cord holes, sliding shelves, storage space) that help make up for the not 100% perfect appearance - but, for the price it was, I suppose the sub-standard quality of wood and pre-drilled holes is to be expected. I'd say this is a good deal if you don't need a high quality piece... but if you're getting it for heavy duty use or want something that's actually going to work and look perfect, you better look elsewhere.

Was this review helpful? (57) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ef3477
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Perfect solution for us
7/4/2009

Customer review by knotsinherhair

5.0 stars 7/4/2009 by knotsinherhair
by knotsinherhair

With another baby on the way, I had to give up my home office for a boy's nursery. This unit is IDEAL for relocating (hiding) my iMac, 3-in-1 printer, modem, router, and land line as well as some paper trays and office supplies. It's gorgeous and sophisticated enough to fit in with our living room furniture without looking like office furniture. The shelf on top is perfect for adding homey decor and making the piece fit in with any decor. I assembled it easily and was impressed by the quality of hardware as well as materials. Being 6+ months pregnant, I did have to wait for my husband to get home to stand it up in order to install drawers and doors (it's HEAVY!) - but it was a simple assembly and the pictures in the manual were VERY clear. I've assembled A LOT of furniture in my day and this was one of the easiest and highest quality. I LOVE IT!

Was this review helpful? (52) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
knotsinherhair
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great quality!
3/22/2013

Customer review by Honesty4U

5.0 stars 3/22/2013 by Honesty4U
by Honesty4U

I stewed on this purchase for quite sometime before I actually made the purchase. I must have read the reviews more than 20 times before I decided to buy. The reviews were great but I just wasnt sure it would match my bedroom decor. We are expecting a little one and the only place we had room for a computer desk was in her room and I needed the armoire to be camoflauge and match her furniture. Well I made the purchase and I am glad I did. My fiance told me that it took him about 2 hours to put it together but it looks great! The color matches almost perfectly with the other furniture in the room, is discrete, and it looks like very good quality. My fiance was impressed with how good it looked once it was all put together. My only complaint is that my printer does not fit in the printer slot of the armoire. In order for your printer to fit, you will have to have a small compact printer. I own a HP Officejet pro 8500 and it had no chance of fitting in the space. I love when reviewers leave pics so I attached a few for you. Pictures always give me an idea of what the product actually looks like...great buy, you wont be disappointed!

Was this review helpful? (35) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Honesty4U
Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
A beautiful piece to hide your "office stuff"
2/7/2010

Customer review by boxersrcute

5.0 stars 2/7/2010 by boxersrcute
by boxersrcute

We got this piece of furniture because we wanted our computer in the family room but we didn't want it to be seen when not in use. When you look at this piece with the doors closed , you would never guess that a computer is hidden inside. It comes with many inner shelves for speakers, organizational stuff and has a pullout keyboard for ease of use. The bottom has a space for the actual computer and next to that is a space for a very small printer as well as another pull out shelf. My big printer didn't fit so I took the pull out shelf out and used the bottom to store paperwork and a tote I keep my bills in. The top of the piece has a nice shelf for decorative items (I keep pictures and knick nacks on it). I would highly recommend this piece.

Was this review helpful? (22) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
boxersrcute
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great desk great price!
7/21/2011

Customer review by believeinkarma

5.0 stars 7/21/2011 by believeinkarma
by believeinkarma

I have looked around for about 2 yrs for a new armoire to replace 1 i had. I have been eying this 1 for quite sometime & decided after reading the reviews to take the chance. I must say that 99% of the reviews are dead on. This desk is an awesome piece of furniture for the $. It is both visually appealing & extremely functional. It did take about 2 hrs to assemble & also requires 2 people for some steps. Im the person in my home who assembles all furniture, my husband usually only helps when it comes time to lift things. I got this sight to store to save on shipping, will need 2 ppl 2 pick up, the box is heavy & make sure u put the back on while it is laying down. It says antique black & goes wonderfully with my Espresso colored tables. I have "tricked" mine out i also purchased from Walmart a square 11x11 cork board for the inside of one door and a 11x11 dry erase board for the other side. I plan to add a light fixture to the hutch to give some light. I couldn't b happier with this purchase love love love this desk it is now my favorite piece in my home

Was this review helpful? (14) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
believeinkarma
New York, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Solid
12/20/2010

Customer review by teamfamily5

5.0 stars 12/20/2010 by teamfamily5
by teamfamily5

Solid, Sturdy. I paid $230 total for site to store. Very heavy in the suprisingly compact shipping box. It took me almost two hours to put it together right, and I was able to set it upright and move it with little effort, and I am a small woman. The unit looks a higher quality than I had expected. It has a beadboard style back panel. My kids immediately banged some nicks in the base shelf and I just used brown and black sharpie on it and it looks great (vintage)

Was this review helpful? (14) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
teamfamily5
Norman Oklahoma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Computer armoire
4/3/2013

Customer review by Angelwings1975

5.0 stars 4/3/2013 by Angelwings1975
by Angelwings1975

Although there are a lot of pieces and parts and we dreaded putting it together, it took my husband about 3 hours to get it together and everything seemed to fall in place, just as the diagrams/directions showed. Once we got it set up with the computer on it, it looks AWESOME. A great addition to our room and much better than the corner desk we had. When we have company or kids around, we can just shut the doors and it looks like a piece of furniture and not a computer desk at all. We are very happy with it.........

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Angelwings1975
Radford, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Just as Advertised!
1/8/2010

Customer review by Purpledollfin

5.0 stars 1/8/2010 by Purpledollfin
by Purpledollfin

I bought this unit for my home office. As other reviewers noted, it is a heavy piece of furniture. Putting it together was simple and took about 2-1/2 hours. It really takes two people to set the unit upright and position it where you want it. I like all of the compartments to store things and the pull-out writing space. Only thing I would have liked better is to have a lap drawer or some sort of drawer to store pens, pads and other small items. I will need to get a couple of baskets for those things. All in all it is a great value-other comparable desks are around twice the price and for the identical unit, Walmart has the best price out there.

Was this review helpful? (11) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Purpledollfin
Englewood OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great computer storage!! Made in USA!!!
8/23/2012

Customer review by ohmom2

5.0 stars 8/23/2012 by ohmom2
by ohmom2

This unit is sturdy, very easy to put together (very good instructions), a little time consuming give yourself a few hours. It took me all day to put together by myself, but that included taking care of kids, making dinner, etc. It fits great in the corner of our dinning room and holds everything needed for our computer needs. I will be getting some battery powered under cabinet lights to stick in the unit because it is somewhat dark being enclosed in the armoire. What I also liked about this armoire compared to others is that the printer shelf slides out and there is an area above the keyboard slide out that also slides out so that you have a surface to write on. Compared to other units this one wins out on size, function, price and looks!

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ohmom2
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great product for the price.
9/3/2013

Customer review by shoptilidrop82

5.0 stars 9/3/2013 by shoptilidrop82
by shoptilidrop82

Super ceded my expectations. It is very sturdy and does not look cheap at all. I love it!

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
shoptilidrop82
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Great Piece of Furniture
3/18/2012

Customer review by southernchick731

5.0 stars 3/18/2012 by southernchick731
by southernchick731

We ordered it online and did the site to store option. It arrived two weeks earlier than it said it was going to. My husband and I unloaded it from my vehicle, which fit great in the back of my GMC Acadia. It was defiantly heavy but we got it inside fine. It took us about 3 hrs to put together, which wasn't bad I didn't think compared to what others had wrote in their reviews. I love this armoire, I'm glad that we ordered it. It is a great piece of furniture defiantly for the price. I like how it is distressed and makes the wood look aged. Looks great with our cedar home and hardwood floors. It doesn't look cheap at all and I would recommend to anyone!!

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
southernchick731
tn
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
It's just what I hoped for.
5/10/2011

Customer review by GinaLovestoShopToo

5.0 stars 5/10/2011 by GinaLovestoShopToo
by GinaLovestoShopToo

My unsolicited, humble advice to those who've never assembled furniture like this before would be to read and follow the directions closely and/or enlist the help of a strong adult who's familiar with this type of project. You'll make life much easier on yourself. I'm a 93-lb., 46-year-old woman. I put this thing together pretty much by myself in about 8 hours over a Saturday and Sunday. It's very heavy. The assembly instructions were perfect; they left nothing to question. No parts or screws were missing; however, a hinge somehow arrived bent (I don't know how it got bent; I tried to bend it back into shape and it wouldn't budge.) That annoyed me a little b/c that meant I couldn't close off my messy desk -- haha. That following Monday, I wrote Sauder an email, and in less than a week I had a brand new door and replacement hinge - free of charge -- not even s&h; the only questions Sauder asked me were what replacement parts I needed and for my shipping address. (Someone's wondering why I needed a new door? Well, it wasn't until after I got the last hinge installed and tried to close the door that I realized the reason it wasn't closing was because I was working with a bent hinge.) I have no problem fitting my 21-inch iMac in it, and I love how it has a writing surface above the keyboard tray. I love how the printer compartment comes with a sliding drawer. I love the top cut-out and arch. It has enough room for quite a few CDs. The doors don't hang crooked (and if yours do, the feet of the armoire might need to be screwed in a little tighter!) It's an appealing design. It actually has a Tommy Bahama look to it and that pleases me very much. Thank you Sauder for making quality furniture at an affordable price. I will buy from Sauder again!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GinaLovestoShopToo
Tustin, California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
just what we needed
6/27/2009

Customer review by walgirl80

4.0 stars 6/27/2009 by walgirl80
by walgirl80

Took a little while to put together, but the cabinet is just what we needed for our lifestyle (can close so little fingers don't get in). Would like the option of having cord holes on shelving for router, modem, etc. but we can make our own or make do. Like the keyboard tray and shelf. Wish the doors didn't have to swing open and fold back though--requires more space (not sure how you'd fix this though).

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
walgirl80
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great desk!
12/21/2010

Customer review by locomo49

5.0 stars 12/21/2010 by locomo49
by locomo49

This is a pleasure of a product! It has so many wonderful features and looks perfect in our home. Being able to fully close the unit and hide all of our computer components and still have a great-looking piece of furniture makes us so happy! The unit takes up a small amount of space yet holds all we need to store inside. The finishing touches really make it look great (the crown moulding on top and the rounded feet and the display shelf at top). The roll-out workspace above the keyboard shelf is a great feature, too! Assembly time is 2-3 hours with two people. We love it!!! Would recommend to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
locomo49
Pennsylvania
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
A real furniture piece.
3/11/2012

Customer review by Jawsnpaws

5.0 stars 3/11/2012 by Jawsnpaws
by Jawsnpaws

We paid more for this computer armoir compared to others that were available that we had considered. We wanted a darker look and something more eye catching. This piece fits the bill. Its worth the extra and was easy to assemble. Instructions were very easy to follow. Houses everything we need it to. Computer, printer, and speaker system with a sub speaker. Its not real wood and is all high density fibre board with a laminate over all the surfaces. Even still, looks good. To pull the desk and keyboard surfaces out you must have the doors able to open at least 120 degrees from the closed position so dont plan on butting one side up against a wall or you wont get the shelves out as they will strike the door.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jawsnpaws
Brockville, ON.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Just what I was looking for.
6/21/2010

Customer review by momo23kiddos

5.0 stars 6/21/2010 by momo23kiddos
by momo23kiddos

I have been looking for a computer armoire for weeks in every type of store poosible. This was exactly what I wanted as far as looks and function. This was for my bedroom, to get my laptop off the kitchen counter and to have everything in one place. Love the pull out printer tray. I am using this not for a desktop but for a laptop. Where the harddrive would go, I put a file box. Where the pull out tray is usually for the keyboard, I put a utensil organizer (nice one) to hold pens, markers, things like that, the top small part (on top of where the pull out part is) I use for a notepad, billbook, misc. Love the open top for books and decortative items. Even the top part is functional, I have photos there, candel holder,, and nice misc things. As far as the construction of it, I wish it did have parts that were real wood, especially for the price. It was easy to put together, took me (female w/ 3 kids) about 2 hours, I did stop a few times. I was able to assembly it on the floor and stand it up on my own. Directions were easy to follow, I really just looked at pictures. I'm pretty good at putting things together. Lay everything out and organize it before you start. Wish it was alittle cheaper, but I got the look I wanted and the functionality I needed, so I'm happy. Doesn't look like an plain ordinary computer cabinet.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
momo23kiddos
maryland
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Beautiful Armoire!
11/7/2010

Customer review by NewHome26

5.0 stars 11/7/2010 by NewHome26
by NewHome26

This product is truly perfect. I do not normally rate products purchased online, but this product went above and beyond my expectations. This was my first product purchased through the site to store option, which was easy and effective. The box is heavy, but easily fit into the back of our Jeep. The box is probably 5.5 feet long and 2 feet wide and 1 foot high. We are turning our office into an extra bedroom and needed an armoire to hide our computer, paperwork, etc., from our guests. My husband works from home and the desk itself is a nice size with a pull out tray for extra space. The armoire took me and my husband about 3.5 hours to assemble, but it was well worth it in the end and the assembly was not difficult. I search for a long time for a computer armoire, this was by far the best product out there for a reasonable price. If you take out the bottom printer panel, it will fit an all in one fax, copy, and printer. The finish is very beautiful and resembles a dark distressed wood, which fits in nicely with my other dark word furniture. Several people have commented on this in my home, which is something to be proud of! I found this product on other websites, but it was by far the least expensive from Walmart.com. In all, this product exceeded my expectations.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NewHome26
Chicago, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Difficult Assembly
3/19/2012

Customer review by Geordi2

3.0 stars 3/19/2012 by Geordi2
by Geordi2

Do NOT order this if you are not handy or live alone. You will want to take a sledge hammer to it before it is completed. Ask for help or pay a handyman to assemble.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Geordi2
Would recommend to a friend? No
1-20 of 255 total reviews
1-20 of 255 reviews