Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 240 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

240 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

240 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

95%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
197
4 stars
30
3 stars
7
2 stars
1
1 stars
5
1-20 of 163 total reviews
95%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 163 total reviews
1-20 of 163 reviews
delighted
1/5/2010

Customer review by impressed210

5.0 stars 1/5/2010 by impressed210
by impressed210

I bought this toothbrush for myself and my seven year old daughter this past xmas. It is so wonderful especially for my daughter because it has a 2 minute timer on it which guarantees she brushes for an adequate period of time. Additionally, after using the toothbrush I have noticed that our teeth are whiter and my mouth feels very clean- like I just stepped out of a dentist office. My only complaint is that you have to unscrew the toothbrush head from the base and clean it often because it traps water which will mold if not done frequently. I would recommend this product for all ages.

Was this review helpful? (63) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
impressed210
san antonio, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
excellent cleaning power
12/25/2009

Customer review by joyfulsinger

5.0 stars 12/25/2009 by joyfulsinger
by joyfulsinger

I have bought Sonicare for everyone in my family! I have worked in dentistry for 27 years, and totally recommend this product. My original Sonicare never wore out but it was so old that the replacement brushes were no longer available, so I bought this one! I actually like it even better! Great product for anyone....just one recomendation....the product does the work for you so dont scrub with it like a regular toothbrush. :-) Just move it from tooth to tooth and let it do the work, just like the hygenist does at the dentist!

Was this review helpful? (52) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
joyfulsinger
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Sonicare - Great Product
6/25/2008

Customer review by BillJ

5.0 stars 6/25/2008 by BillJ
by BillJ

This is the least expensive Sonicare toothbrush in the line, yet it is more powerful than my old top-of-the-line Sonicare. It works great. Before I started using electric toothbrushes I had deep pockets in my gums. They have all heeled in the last year from using these products.

Was this review helpful? (46) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BillJ
Maple Valley, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Love It!!!!!!!
4/2/2009

Customer review by buttercupsbrownie

5.0 stars 4/2/2009 by buttercupsbrownie
by buttercupsbrownie

I absolutely love this toothbrush. I attend my routine dental cleanings but I have been noticing a bit of plaque build up. I bought one for me and my fiance. My teeth feel sooooo clean after I brush. My fiance is also very pleased with the new toothbrush. Highly Recommended.

Was this review helpful? (36) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
buttercupsbrownie
Raytown, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
best toothbrush ever
6/25/2008

Customer review by cawinparadise

5.0 stars 6/25/2008 by cawinparadise
by cawinparadise

I have owned many battery operated toothbrushes but this one by far does a much more thorough job. It is gentle but if used per the directions your teeth feel like you just left the dentist office. It will be great to put in the plastic carrying case which was included to pack in a suitcase. I think my dental hygenist will be pleased the next time I visit.

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cawinparadise
Naples, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Toothbrush, Pricey Brushes, Good for Braces
8/26/2011

Customer review by GussChiggins

4.0 stars 8/26/2011 by GussChiggins
by GussChiggins

I have had a number of electronic toothbrushes(mostly in the budget price range) but Soniccare was my first real mid-priced investment. When I purchased my Soniccare I was looking for a fair value toothbrush that would work good for braces since cleaning braces with an ordinary toothbrush is a pain and barely effective. I paid around ~$50 & received it in the mail. The Good: I tried it out for the 1st time and had to admit that I wasn't ready for how powerful this toothbrush cleans, even with the supposed warmup ramp up of cleaning power(Soniccare has an acclimation feature where the toothbrush slowly increases cleaning power). However after using the toothbrush on my newly minted braces, I immediately felt the cleaning difference! Wow! My teeth felt clean and polished and with some inspection I could tell that my braces were definitely cleaner. The Not So Good: This Soniccare has a great battery life once fully charged but getting it fully charged takes a full day(15+hours)! Sure I could leave it on the charger but water builds up and it can get messy, plus I travel a lot and know that letting the battery run its charge/decharge cycle is imperative to maintaining its battery life. Each brush head is supposed to be used for 2 or 3 months and then replaced but at around ~$10 a brush head were talking a cost of $40-$60/year in brush head replacements! I don't know about you but I try to watch my budget and $60 in brush heads a year is a bit too much. Summary: I recommend this toothbrush soley on its cleaning abilities and its initial value especially for those with braces.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GussChiggins
San Francisco Bay Area
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Best bang for the buck!
8/30/2011

Customer review by rbongio

5.0 stars 8/30/2011 by rbongio
by rbongio

This model is in fact the "Best Buy" of ALL the models offered by Phillips. It comes with 2 additional sets of brushes as part of the entire package, none of the others do and the brushes are costly. My last Phillips Sonicare toothbrush lasted so many years I don't remember when I bought it. Nothing more to say...Contented!! :-)

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
rbongio
Williamsburg, Va.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
I seem to be striking out with Sonicare
8/3/2010

Customer review by electricallyuncharged

3.0 stars 8/3/2010 by electricallyuncharged
by electricallyuncharged

I've used a Sonicare toothbrush for at least 20 years. I just purchased this one to replace my last one which refused to take a charge and died after 2 years. Now this newly purchased one won't hold a charge! I'm taking it back, but I won't give up on replacing it with another Sonicare in the hopes that I won't have a 3rd strike out.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
electricallyuncharged
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Not as advertised
11/7/2011

Customer review by trohs

1.0 stars 11/7/2011 by trohs
by trohs

This model of the Sonicare Essence, e5300, does not have the quadrapacer as advertised. Philips freely admits that is an error in the product information they provide to retailers but do not seem to have any interest in correcting it. Their only response to me was to return it and buy the more expensive model.

Was this review helpful? (8) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
trohs
Would recommend to a friend? No
Good basic model
2/28/2009

Customer review by srblue

5.0 stars 2/28/2009 by srblue
by srblue

I used to have the fancier model with the quadpacing and slightly more ergonomic handle. The battery on that one eventually quit holding a charge (after 3 years) and I didn't want to spend the money for those options so I chose this basic model. It's not the cheapest model because I did want the smaller head that comes on this one. It seems to work just as well as the fancier model. Leaves my teeth clean and has helped get rid of my gum pockets. If you don't need the brush to tell you when to move it around, this is your best value.

Was this review helpful? (6) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
srblue
Douglas, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great product!
12/4/2011

Customer review by JulietRomeo

5.0 stars 12/4/2011 by JulietRomeo
by JulietRomeo

This is my first electric toothbrush and I'm very happy with it. I have braces and the Philips Sonicare Essence e5300 Sonic Power Toothbrush really does the job. A manual toothbrush just doesn't cut it. Also, the charge holds up well. So far, I've been using this toothbrush for a week and a half and I haven't had to recharge it yet. I brush my teeth at least 3 times a day. It's suppose to hold a charge for 2 weeks. I recommend the Philips Sonicare Essence e5300 Sonic Power Toothbrush, espeically if you have braces.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JulietRomeo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Sonicare
1/1/2009

Customer review by amers2180

5.0 stars 1/1/2009 by amers2180
by amers2180

I love this toothbrush. I don't know how I got by without it this long. It was suggested to me by a family member who spend over $8000 on dental work, as their dentist reccomended it to them. I have owned it less than a week but I feel a dentist clean everytime I use it. I would highly reccomend this to everyone. Others I have spoken with have also told me they have the sonicare model and they love it as well. I can't wait to go to the dentist in less than a month and see my results!

Was this review helpful? (4) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
amers2180
La Crosse, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
The best now that price is lower.
11/22/2011

Customer review by teacherguy

5.0 stars 11/22/2011 by teacherguy
by teacherguy

I have had this brush for over a year and it gives me a just from the dentist feeling each time I brush my teeth. I liked it so much that I bought one for my wife and she loves it just as much as I do, if not more. The dentist was impressed at how much cleaner my teeth were the last time he saw me and I said it was all because of this brush and using it according to the directions and his recommendation. I bought the brush when it was around $90 and I thought it was a great brush for that price. Now that it is much lower than that, then I would recommend it to anyone!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
teacherguy
Marion, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
6/6/2011

Customer review by DistortedDNA

4.0 stars 6/6/2011 by DistortedDNA
by DistortedDNA

Too highly priced, specially the maintenance costs, i.e. the brush heads.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DistortedDNA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Deceived by Walmart's product description
12/4/2011

Customer review by RoofingPrincess

3.0 stars 12/4/2011 by RoofingPrincess
by RoofingPrincess

It does a great job brushing, but I did not receive the features advertised. Contrary to the information above, this model does NOT have the "Quadpacer" timer, which splits the 2-minute brush cycle into four 30-second portions (one for each quadrant of your mouth). I would not have bought this model if I had known this is the case. This was bought to replace another Sonicare, which "died of old age". I came to depend on that Quadtimer when I was half asleep in the morning, just automatically moving it from quadrant to quadrant when the pauses occurred. Now I have to figure out how to brush the quadrants equally on my own :(

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RoofingPrincess
Bristol, CT
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Amazing
12/21/2009

Customer review by dianaaaa

5.0 stars 12/21/2009 by dianaaaa
by dianaaaa

I had wanted a sonicare toothbrush for a long time, but the price was always an issue for me. I came into a little extra money and decided to splurge on one and it is hands down the best. My teeth are so clean! Cant wait to see if my dentist notices :)

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dianaaaa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
nice toothbrush
11/26/2010

Customer review by anyark

4.0 stars 11/26/2010 by anyark
by anyark

This toothbrush works well. Only thing I don't like is that it doesn't beep every 30 seconds as my previous one did. I liked that as I knew when to move on.

Was this review helpful? (3) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
anyark
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
4/27/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 4/27/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I didn't buy this product at Walmart, but it is terrible. The part where the brush head and the handle connect there is a gap where gunk collects and looks disgusting. Other models are probably okay but steer clear of this one.

Was this review helpful? (3) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
West Jordan, UT
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Best toothbrush ever!
1/11/2011

Customer review by frugalsuzyqz

5.0 stars 1/11/2011 by frugalsuzyqz
by frugalsuzyqz

I have used a sonicare toothbrush for over 10 years. I started using it in my 30's after the dentist had to do a root cleaning of my teeth...not so pleasant. My dentist and hygienist have been very pleased with the results. This purchase at Walmart.com was for a sonicare for each of my 3 grown sons. If you are changing from a manual toothbrush, the vibrations take a week or so to get accustomed to. Just use it a few seconds each day and increase your time and all will be well. I love that it shuts off at 2 min recommended brushing time.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
frugalsuzyqz
Raleigh, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good Clean Routine
11/30/2011

Customer review by MikeHike

5.0 stars 11/30/2011 by MikeHike
by MikeHike

Great product. Well made. Some like the rotating heads better, but not me. This makes my teeth feel polished without scrubbing my gums. Dentist always comments on how clean my teeth are. Been using a sonicare for about a decade. This is my second one.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MikeHike
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 163 total reviews
1-20 of 163 reviews