Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 164 reviews | 2.7 out of 5

2.5 stars

164 reviews | 2.7 out of 5

2.5 stars

164 reviews | 2.7 out of 5

38%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
43
4 stars
18
3 stars
13
2 stars
22
1 stars
68
1-20 of 153 total reviews
38%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 153 total reviews
1-20 of 153 reviews
Best ever!
2/14/2010

Customer review by Crystala

5.0 stars 2/14/2010 by Crystala
by Crystala

Within the past couple of months I have gone through several humidifiers only to have to take them back. This one is here to stay. It does not leak. It doesn't get everything wet. It doesn't produce the algae and other nonsense people post about. If you have these problems, reread the instructions. I have now been using mine for over a month. Very little care and maintenance. I use distilled water in mine since I have problems with the tap water. I actually use mine on my 2 level wooden bookcase. I put a shamwow underneath it to make sure my bookcase is protected. Every couple of days I rinse it out and dry it with a shamwow and put it back together. Every other week I do the full weekly maintenance. It has a nice low white noise sound on the lowest setting, which I prefer since I cannot fall asleep in total silence. It has a nightlight but it is a very small full light. I'm actually planning to get another one cause I'm fixing to move my baby into his own room.

Was this review helpful? (34) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Crystala
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Best ever
5/15/2010

Customer review by EZofSA

5.0 stars 5/15/2010 by EZofSA
by EZofSA

I bought this 2 weeks ago and really am glad I did. My wife and I were both experiencing dry stale air. After buying this, I read the directions and also used distilled drinking water in the tank, it made a soothing sound and you could feel the coolness in the room. We turned off the air-conditioner and used the humidifier and ceiling fan to keep us cool and hydrated. We found that we do not snore with the humidifier - that was from day one. My wife experienced a very peaceful and uninterrupted sleep for the first time in weeks. We also do not wake up dehydrated in the middle of the night. I tested it by shooting a laser beam across it and found it was putting out a fine mist. I have not experienced any leaking, white powder or excessive noise. The only drawback I have is that it uses about a gallon of water a day, but there is no dampness in the room. The mist is so fine I have allowed myself to breath it directly and it is very soothing. It has helped me greatly since I had nasal surgery years ago. It's easy to use and I have yet to clean it. My wife and I sleep more soundly because of it. I highly recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
EZofSA
San Antonio, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Won't last a year
2/15/2009

Customer review by Claiforniaengineer

1.0 stars 2/15/2009 by Claiforniaengineer
by Claiforniaengineer

Like several others who wrote similar reviews, bought this one less than 1 year ago and used it constantly. Last night it just stopped. While we have hard water, it was properly maintained and I decided to take it apart (engineer in me). The problem is the humidity rotted the electrical connections inside the motor. Bad construction with inferior materials not designed to last. For just 1 extra dollar, they could have used a sealer for the electrical connections to stop the corrosion. Sadly, it is a piece of junk.

Was this review helpful? (78) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Claiforniaengineer
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
not worth it
4/13/2009

Customer review by Edugator

2.0 stars 4/13/2009 by Edugator
by Edugator

I was hooked in by the "filter free" description, but if you have hard water skip this purchase. It's easy enough to clean, but mine gets a lot of build-up in places you can't reach to clean. When I see red algae and can't clean it off, it makes me wonder if what my family is breathing is safe. I've rinsed this daily and cleaned weekly as per instructions. I've tried bottled water too. Product still leaves white dust on furniture. Will continue my search for the perfect humidifier...this one get a thumbs down.

Was this review helpful? (42) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Edugator
F-L-O-R-I-D-A
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Very Happy with this product!
9/7/2008

Customer review by rosearose

5.0 stars 9/7/2008 by rosearose
by rosearose

Tried several others that were too loud or did not steam all the time. This product for the money is great! Has a low hum that I could live with(my hearing is so acute). The other two we had were so loud I could not stand it! We have had it for a couple weeks now and are very pleased with it!

Was this review helpful? (22) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
rosearose
Phoenix, Arizona
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Filter Freedom
12/3/2009

Customer review by CompTechieGuy

5.0 stars 12/3/2009 by CompTechieGuy
by CompTechieGuy

We bought this humidifier to replace a humidifier that used filters. It was getting expensive to constantly purchase filters when they were in stock so we bought this humidifier and haven't looked back. This humidifier has a humidistat that turns the humidifier on and off at the desired humidity level which saves water and electricity. We have used it for a few weeks and haven't had any problems. If we needed another humidifier I would buy another one of these.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CompTechieGuy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Not Worth Your $$$$
12/1/2008

Customer review by BellaMadisonsMommy

1.0 stars 12/1/2008 by BellaMadisonsMommy
by BellaMadisonsMommy

I bought this humidifier last year. I followed the care instructions, cleaning it weekly. I brought it out to use it this year and it will not work - it does not turn on at all.

Was this review helpful? (11) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BellaMadisonsMommy
Salisbury, NC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Good for 1 year
11/11/2008

Customer review by WalmartMom2Boyz

3.0 stars 11/11/2008 by WalmartMom2Boyz
by WalmartMom2Boyz

We loved this humidifier for our son's nursery last year. The Vicks pads really helped when he got his first severe cold! And, we were truly impressed! We did an end-of-the-year thorough cleaning last Spring and put it in storage until last weekend. When we got it assembled and filled up, it took forever for it to start circulating. Then, once it started working, it just spewed mist out even on the lowest setting soaking the towel we had under the humidifier. I was really disappointed to find out that it didn't work as well as it did last year. We followed the cleaning and (dis)assembly directions to a T to make sure we got an extra long life out of it, but it was pointless! So, today, I am going to Walmart to buy a cheapy, easy to clean humidifier so it won't hurt (my wallet) as much next winter when it doesn't work! I would definitely recommend this for short-term use but not anything long-term even with proper care!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WalmartMom2Boyz
Central VA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
TERRIBLE!!!
2/22/2010

Customer review by MissMommyB

1.0 stars 2/22/2010 by MissMommyB
by MissMommyB

Please do not waste your money on this product. I bought this because my son gets the "croup" alot, and I needed to get a humidifier in his room so that he could sleep through the night without making frequent trips into the bathroom to get steam from the shower. This humidifier worked beautifully for a week or two. Now, every time it is turned on for the night, we wake up in the morning to a completely SOAKED dresser, and a SOAKED floor. It just empties out somehow, and just soaks everything. Also, in the short time that it actually did produce any mist... about a week or two... it caused black mold to grow in my sons bedroom window! Absolutly disgusting! Not to mention a big dissappointment and an even bigger waste a money.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MissMommyB
Would recommend to a friend? No
Big & Loud
3/1/2010

Customer review by MachaMom4

1.0 stars 3/1/2010 by MachaMom4
by MachaMom4

We purchased this humidifier 2 nights ago for a small bedroom. It has worked. It has helped our two sick kids who sleep in that room. BUT it takes up a lot of room on their chest of drawers, you cannot aim where the mist goes & it is quite loud. It seems to have gotten louder today. I have it on the lowest setting & in an hour it has used 1/2 of the water in the tank. I will be returning it tomorrow.

Was this review helpful? (6) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MachaMom4
TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Perfect as long as used distilled water
12/5/2012

Customer review by MommaNeedsaNap

4.0 stars 12/5/2012 by MommaNeedsaNap
by MommaNeedsaNap

This unit was perfect as long as we used distilled water. The noise kept the "monsters" at bay for my little one and helped him sleep as did the high moisture output. I enjoyed not having to clean and soak filters. Everything changed when I switched to regular tap water. We ran out of distilled, so tried tap for 1 week. 1 week is all it took to get build up in places that are sealed. The result was a flood all over the floor because the unit was sputtering and "spitting" the water all over the floor. I attempted to take the unit apart to get to those sealed areas. I am pretty handy, but failed completely. I could not pry it apart without breaking the plastic casing or cutting the cord and then, because it was wiggled slightly, would not go back together properly. We have gone through 5+ humidifiers in the past 3 years trying to find the PERFECT fit for us. This one was it until we used tap water. We're going to buy this one again (we hope) and stick with the distilled water. Our little one has never slept as sound as he has since we got this unit. That is priceless!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MommaNeedsaNap
SoCal
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Having it on is no different than having it off.
3/14/2009

Customer review by JustRose

1.0 stars 3/14/2009 by JustRose
by JustRose

I'm not impressed with this product at all. My previous humidifier worked fantastic however the filters for it are no longer manufactured. When I knew I'd be pregnant over the winter months I purchased this one and have been disappointed ever since. Neither my husband nor I can tell a different in our room air and both wake up with the same symptoms of sleeping in a room with electric baseboard heat drying out the air and our sinuses. We also have had to purchase distilled water for use in the product - without it, we awoke to discover a thin white film covering everything in the room - another problem we had not experienced with previous humidifiers. It's not easy to clean. The tank and base are fine, but the fan and vents are next to impossible to get to. I've suffered long enough and have finally given up, going in search of another humidifier today and hoping for better results.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JustRose
Harrisburg, PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Waste of money!
12/17/2010

Customer review by tnt22

1.0 stars 12/17/2010 by tnt22
by tnt22

I bought this humidifier because of the filter free option and the longer in between refill period. Well it has to be refilled EVERY day or it will run dry during the second night of use. You can see the mist but there really is no relief of the dryness from our electric furnace. It does however leave a fine white dust on my furniture every morning. I use filtered water in it and still there is this dust. The manual recommends using distilled watered. At 88 cents a gallon that would cost roughly $10 a week! The wick filters only cost about $5 a month and they filter out the minerals. Also this humidifier is very loud. Every time I clean it, it gets louder. I think I'm going to donate the two I bought to church or the YMCA and buy a couple of the relion humidifiers for $20. I'll change the filter every month rather than use this humidifier. It is not a very good product

Was this review helpful? (0) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tnt22
Pikeville, KY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Life Saver!
3/30/2009

Customer review by 30NeverLookedBetter

5.0 stars 3/30/2009 by 30NeverLookedBetter
by 30NeverLookedBetter

This is such a great humidifier. Whenever my son, husband or I get sick, this humidifier gets plugged in. The Vick's strips that go in this unit work so well. No matter how stuffed up you are, if you have this running with the door closed, you will sleep well and breathe easy. It's been such a life saver. Since we live in Yuma, Arizona, it is so dry here. I actually kept running it every night without the Vick's strips, just to help with how dry our noses and skin get. It makes a huge difference. If you put it right next to your head and crank it up to it's max setting it also helps to drown out your husband's snoring!!! The humming also helps kids sleep. If you look online for this machine or in other stores, you will find that this is by far the best deal. At CVS Pharmacy, they want $72.99 for this machine. It lasted over a year and a half for me, using pretty much every night. It would have lasted longer except I didn't use distilled water, and our water down here has so many minerals in it. The thing just didn't stand a chance. I'm buying another one now because there is nothing better for the buck.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
30NeverLookedBetter
Yuma, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
White Dustifier! Worst product ever
7/10/2010

Customer review by kde30

1.0 stars 7/10/2010 by kde30
by kde30

Just like everyone else on this review, we were attracted to the humidifier for the "filter free" feature. After the first few nights we noticed it uses almost a whole tank of water in a single night. It also leaves behind a nasty white dust that will cover the entire room, not just a little dust a ton of DUST! Leave it on for a night come back in the room and it looks like someone spread baby powder all over the room. Don't waste your time and money with this piece of junk.

Was this review helpful? (4) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kde30
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Covers Room with White Chalky Film
2/28/2012

Customer review by SoILHousehold

1.0 stars 2/28/2012 by SoILHousehold
by SoILHousehold

The number one reason I purchased this model was because it is filterless. Now I know why most humidifiers have filters. This model spreads a chalky white film on all surfaces in the room. It comes off with a dust rag, but it has covered my children's books, toys, shelves, blankets, ceiling fan, and every side and top of their furniture. The chalky film can be seen and/or felt on panel doors, window blinds, light switches, etc. The owner's manual recommends people with hard water use distilled water to prevent this film. I do not consider my water to be extremely hard. Why should I spend a dollar or more a day on water when the only reason I purchased this model was its marketing promise was that I could save many dollars a year because I would never have to purchase a filter? It is also loud and difficult to clean.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SoILHousehold
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
11/12/2008

Customer review by 2gmnb

5.0 stars 11/12/2008 by 2gmnb
by 2gmnb

So far I really like this humidifier. I haven't had to clean it yet, so I can't comment on the ease of cleaning. I have had many humidifiers over the years and this is lightweight and easy to fill. It sits nicely on anything. I love the Vicks pads, however, they only last a few hours so I can see where that component will be costly. So far so good.....yeah Vicks!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
2gmnb
Croghan, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Noisy
8/20/2010

Customer review by 5445125

2.0 stars 8/20/2010 by 5445125
by 5445125

We bought two, one for our office and the other home. One of the units is very noisy. Difficult to set the water container correctly and water will not flow into the unit. Previously had a Hunter Douglas Humidifier and it was much better. Bought the Vicks because WalMart did not have Hunter Douglas in stock. I should have waited.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
5445125
Dallas, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
What a racket!
11/30/2012

Customer review by IamMommyDearest

1.0 stars 11/30/2012 by IamMommyDearest
by IamMommyDearest

VERY disappointed. Whether on high or low speed, the machine sounds like a car rough-idling in the room. NOTHING we've tried will quiet it down -- back it goes. As far as the cool mist -- well it does that -- if you can stand the noise.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
IamMommyDearest
Coastal Rhode Island
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Vicks Filter Free Humidifier
6/11/2008

Customer review by Lauan

5.0 stars 6/11/2008 by Lauan
by Lauan

I would highly recommend this product compared to the other humidifier I had. This one cool the room nicely and I sleep very well no more stuff nose. Cleaning the unit is very easy and simple.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Lauan
Alabama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 153 total reviews
1-20 of 153 reviews