Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 164 reviews | 2.7 out of 5

2.5 stars

164 reviews | 2.7 out of 5

2.5 stars

164 reviews | 2.7 out of 5

38%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
43
4 stars
18
3 stars
13
2 stars
22
1 stars
68
1-20 of 153 total reviews
38%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 153 total reviews
1-20 of 153 reviews
Won't last a year
2/15/2009

Customer review by Claiforniaengineer

1.0 stars 2/15/2009 by Claiforniaengineer
by Claiforniaengineer

Like several others who wrote similar reviews, bought this one less than 1 year ago and used it constantly. Last night it just stopped. While we have hard water, it was properly maintained and I decided to take it apart (engineer in me). The problem is the humidity rotted the electrical connections inside the motor. Bad construction with inferior materials not designed to last. For just 1 extra dollar, they could have used a sealer for the electrical connections to stop the corrosion. Sadly, it is a piece of junk.

Was this review helpful? (78) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Claiforniaengineer
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
Best ever!
2/14/2010

Customer review by Crystala

5.0 stars 2/14/2010 by Crystala
by Crystala

Within the past couple of months I have gone through several humidifiers only to have to take them back. This one is here to stay. It does not leak. It doesn't get everything wet. It doesn't produce the algae and other nonsense people post about. If you have these problems, reread the instructions. I have now been using mine for over a month. Very little care and maintenance. I use distilled water in mine since I have problems with the tap water. I actually use mine on my 2 level wooden bookcase. I put a shamwow underneath it to make sure my bookcase is protected. Every couple of days I rinse it out and dry it with a shamwow and put it back together. Every other week I do the full weekly maintenance. It has a nice low white noise sound on the lowest setting, which I prefer since I cannot fall asleep in total silence. It has a nightlight but it is a very small full light. I'm actually planning to get another one cause I'm fixing to move my baby into his own room.

Was this review helpful? (34) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Crystala
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
not worth it
4/13/2009

Customer review by Edugator

2.0 stars 4/13/2009 by Edugator
by Edugator

I was hooked in by the "filter free" description, but if you have hard water skip this purchase. It's easy enough to clean, but mine gets a lot of build-up in places you can't reach to clean. When I see red algae and can't clean it off, it makes me wonder if what my family is breathing is safe. I've rinsed this daily and cleaned weekly as per instructions. I've tried bottled water too. Product still leaves white dust on furniture. Will continue my search for the perfect humidifier...this one get a thumbs down.

Was this review helpful? (42) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Edugator
F-L-O-R-I-D-A
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Very Happy with this product!
9/7/2008

Customer review by rosearose

5.0 stars 9/7/2008 by rosearose
by rosearose

Tried several others that were too loud or did not steam all the time. This product for the money is great! Has a low hum that I could live with(my hearing is so acute). The other two we had were so loud I could not stand it! We have had it for a couple weeks now and are very pleased with it!

Was this review helpful? (22) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
rosearose
Phoenix, Arizona
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Filter Freedom
12/3/2009

Customer review by CompTechieGuy

5.0 stars 12/3/2009 by CompTechieGuy
by CompTechieGuy

We bought this humidifier to replace a humidifier that used filters. It was getting expensive to constantly purchase filters when they were in stock so we bought this humidifier and haven't looked back. This humidifier has a humidistat that turns the humidifier on and off at the desired humidity level which saves water and electricity. We have used it for a few weeks and haven't had any problems. If we needed another humidifier I would buy another one of these.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CompTechieGuy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Not Worth Your $$$$
12/1/2008

Customer review by BellaMadisonsMommy

1.0 stars 12/1/2008 by BellaMadisonsMommy
by BellaMadisonsMommy

I bought this humidifier last year. I followed the care instructions, cleaning it weekly. I brought it out to use it this year and it will not work - it does not turn on at all.

Was this review helpful? (11) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BellaMadisonsMommy
Salisbury, NC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Best ever
5/15/2010

Customer review by EZofSA

5.0 stars 5/15/2010 by EZofSA
by EZofSA

I bought this 2 weeks ago and really am glad I did. My wife and I were both experiencing dry stale air. After buying this, I read the directions and also used distilled drinking water in the tank, it made a soothing sound and you could feel the coolness in the room. We turned off the air-conditioner and used the humidifier and ceiling fan to keep us cool and hydrated. We found that we do not snore with the humidifier - that was from day one. My wife experienced a very peaceful and uninterrupted sleep for the first time in weeks. We also do not wake up dehydrated in the middle of the night. I tested it by shooting a laser beam across it and found it was putting out a fine mist. I have not experienced any leaking, white powder or excessive noise. The only drawback I have is that it uses about a gallon of water a day, but there is no dampness in the room. The mist is so fine I have allowed myself to breath it directly and it is very soothing. It has helped me greatly since I had nasal surgery years ago. It's easy to use and I have yet to clean it. My wife and I sleep more soundly because of it. I highly recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
EZofSA
San Antonio, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Big & Loud
3/1/2010

Customer review by MachaMom4

1.0 stars 3/1/2010 by MachaMom4
by MachaMom4

We purchased this humidifier 2 nights ago for a small bedroom. It has worked. It has helped our two sick kids who sleep in that room. BUT it takes up a lot of room on their chest of drawers, you cannot aim where the mist goes & it is quite loud. It seems to have gotten louder today. I have it on the lowest setting & in an hour it has used 1/2 of the water in the tank. I will be returning it tomorrow.

Was this review helpful? (6) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MachaMom4
TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
TERRIBLE!!!
2/22/2010

Customer review by MissMommyB

1.0 stars 2/22/2010 by MissMommyB
by MissMommyB

Please do not waste your money on this product. I bought this because my son gets the "croup" alot, and I needed to get a humidifier in his room so that he could sleep through the night without making frequent trips into the bathroom to get steam from the shower. This humidifier worked beautifully for a week or two. Now, every time it is turned on for the night, we wake up in the morning to a completely SOAKED dresser, and a SOAKED floor. It just empties out somehow, and just soaks everything. Also, in the short time that it actually did produce any mist... about a week or two... it caused black mold to grow in my sons bedroom window! Absolutly disgusting! Not to mention a big dissappointment and an even bigger waste a money.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MissMommyB
Would recommend to a friend? No
White Dustifier! Worst product ever
7/10/2010

Customer review by kde30

1.0 stars 7/10/2010 by kde30
by kde30

Just like everyone else on this review, we were attracted to the humidifier for the "filter free" feature. After the first few nights we noticed it uses almost a whole tank of water in a single night. It also leaves behind a nasty white dust that will cover the entire room, not just a little dust a ton of DUST! Leave it on for a night come back in the room and it looks like someone spread baby powder all over the room. Don't waste your time and money with this piece of junk.

Was this review helpful? (4) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kde30
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Noisy
8/20/2010

Customer review by 5445125

2.0 stars 8/20/2010 by 5445125
by 5445125

We bought two, one for our office and the other home. One of the units is very noisy. Difficult to set the water container correctly and water will not flow into the unit. Previously had a Hunter Douglas Humidifier and it was much better. Bought the Vicks because WalMart did not have Hunter Douglas in stock. I should have waited.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
5445125
Dallas, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Vicks Filter Free Humidifier
6/11/2008

Customer review by Lauan

5.0 stars 6/11/2008 by Lauan
by Lauan

I would highly recommend this product compared to the other humidifier I had. This one cool the room nicely and I sleep very well no more stuff nose. Cleaning the unit is very easy and simple.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Lauan
Alabama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
11/12/2008

Customer review by 2gmnb

5.0 stars 11/12/2008 by 2gmnb
by 2gmnb

So far I really like this humidifier. I haven't had to clean it yet, so I can't comment on the ease of cleaning. I have had many humidifiers over the years and this is lightweight and easy to fill. It sits nicely on anything. I love the Vicks pads, however, they only last a few hours so I can see where that component will be costly. So far so good.....yeah Vicks!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
2gmnb
Croghan, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Vicks Humidifier
12/29/2008

Customer review by emerald33

5.0 stars 12/29/2008 by emerald33
by emerald33

I purchased this for my son & daughter-in-law and they love it. My son had trouble breathing at night & since they have been using the humidifier he sleeps like a baby.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
emerald33
Madison Heights, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
A good one
1/4/2009

Customer review by coolguypf

4.0 stars 1/4/2009 by coolguypf
by coolguypf

Its really easy to use this one and the good value for the price at walmart.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
coolguypf
Buffalo Grove, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Very Disappointed
1/1/2009

Customer review by GRS1

2.0 stars 1/1/2009 by GRS1
by GRS1

This unit is very noisy. Also filling and cleaning are cumbersome.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GRS1
Would recommend to a friend? No
What a racket!
11/30/2012

Customer review by IamMommyDearest

1.0 stars 11/30/2012 by IamMommyDearest
by IamMommyDearest

VERY disappointed. Whether on high or low speed, the machine sounds like a car rough-idling in the room. NOTHING we've tried will quiet it down -- back it goes. As far as the cool mist -- well it does that -- if you can stand the noise.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
IamMommyDearest
Coastal Rhode Island
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Wish I had something else
5/30/2009

Customer review by jblue

3.0 stars 5/30/2009 by jblue
by jblue

My dad bought this for my daughter. I cannot move this an inch after being filled with water or it will run out of this little hole on the bottom part until the thing is empty. The rubber ring came off of the lid for the water tank. And make sure to be careful if you have any electronic in the same room. Our X-Box stopped running because there was too much moisture in the room.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jblue
Tennessee
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Suddenly stopped working
9/29/2010

Customer review by momaz1

1.0 stars 9/29/2010 by momaz1
by momaz1

I purchased this humidifier in September 2009. It worked well and met my expectations (although it was difficult to clean thoroughly) until it suddenly stopped working in February 2010 (just stopped turning on).

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
momaz1
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Can't get clean
8/19/2010

Customer review by sneakyswife

1.0 stars 8/19/2010 by sneakyswife
by sneakyswife

You have to use Distilled water only or you get your room covered in white silt from water minerals. Even if you clean as recommended per manual, because you can't get in under the plastic far enough to get the dust and mildew out your room smells and it makes the breathing problems worse. Don't waste your money

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sneakyswife
washington state
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 153 total reviews
1-20 of 153 reviews