Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 476 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

476 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

476 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

73%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
247
4 stars
79
3 stars
20
2 stars
10
1 stars
120
1-20 of 405 total reviews
73%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 405 total reviews
1-20 of 405 reviews
Exactly what I was looking for!
11/11/2008

Customer review by ServeThePeople

5.0 stars 11/11/2008 by ServeThePeople
by ServeThePeople

My wife wanted to transfer some files from our old PC onto our new PC. The old PC is in another town and it can't burn CD's. The new PC doesn't have a 3.5' floppy drive. I searched WalMart's website and found a very reasonably priced external floppy disc drive, burned her files to floppies, took the floppies home, hooked the external drive up to the new PC and the transfer worked seamlessly. Now we can back up files from our old PC onto the new one. Since this item wasn't carried at our local WalMart I ordered it through the web based Site to Store option. It arrived at the store quickly and pick-up was easy. WalMart wins again.

Was this review helpful? (157) (19)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ServeThePeople
Cocoa Beach, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Needed this floppy drive
3/6/2011

Customer review by pickenup

5.0 stars 3/6/2011 by pickenup
by pickenup

Old camera (Sony) new computer with NO 3 1/2" floppy drive (stone age, I know) thousands of pictures already on floppies. Needed a reader. Ordering online was easy. Selected the site to store option (free) since I would be at the store anyway. They let me know (via email) that it was on the way, and when it had arrived in store. The whole transaction went off without a hitch. Plugged it in, thought it would show up as an "F" drive, but it showed up as an "A" drive unit. Worked with Windows 7, just like it advertises. Would gladly order from them again.

Was this review helpful? (80) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
pickenup
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
very helpful
11/12/2010

Customer review by goodnessgracious

5.0 stars 11/12/2010 by goodnessgracious
by goodnessgracious

Meets my expectations. Works well with Windows 7. Many documents and photos on floppies. Still can use my old Mavica which requires floppy. The MicroPac USB External is considerly cheaper than buying a memory stick floppy for the Mavica. 5 stars all around

Was this review helpful? (45) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
goodnessgracious
Maine
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
A life saver
10/14/2010

Customer review by mabarsh

5.0 stars 10/14/2010 by mabarsh
by mabarsh

This product meant the difference in not having to find another way of saving files that I had previously saved on floppy disks and now since I am using a newer computer that does not have a floppy disk drive. I tried to save these particular files on a cd but when I went to open them could not get them to work like they should. With this product I can continue to use the program I was using and save my files to floppy disks as always and when I get ready to open them again, they open with no problem.

Was this review helpful? (34) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mabarsh
Ranburne, AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
When I thought there was no hope for old pics...
1/15/2014

Customer review by maksh4

5.0 stars 1/15/2014 by maksh4
by maksh4

... along came this external USB Floppy reader. Thank GOD for this, "easy to install" device. I just plugged it in and my computer did the rest (with installing drivers & compatibility info). I inserted my floppys and away I went. Mind you, you have to know a "little" about copying files off of it because your computer has changed drastically since those were used and you have to be able to help it read the program you used, originally. But other than that. It was a plug-n-play product. I was able to upload all my pics of my kids from when they were babies. Back to 1999, so far, and still working on it. AND, with the price, you can't beat it. Better than paying some computer company a ton of money for them to do it, and put it on CD or ? Now you can do it AND edit, manipulate or save as is, all by yourself.

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
maksh4
Senoia, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
3/4/2012

Customer review by baldwinlennie

5.0 stars 3/4/2012 by baldwinlennie
by baldwinlennie

excellent, cheap and did exactly what I needed it to do. Recover pictures from a bunch of floppys. I might never need it again, but you never know...

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
baldwinlennie
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Doesn't support 720K disks
12/22/2012

Customer review by Marrelli

1.0 stars 12/22/2012 by Marrelli
by Marrelli

I was looking for a floppy drive so I could install some of my older games that were on diskettes. When I tried to install one of those games, it said the diskette was not formatted. Upon further research from the company's site, I found that this drive does not support single density diskettes (720K). Half of my games' install diskettes came on these 720K disks. So, I returned this drive and found one that does support the 720K disks.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Marrelli
Would recommend to a friend? No
Worked Great
6/13/2011

Customer review by Fairclothy

5.0 stars 6/13/2011 by Fairclothy
by Fairclothy

Looked all over town for one of these. Then after looking around online walmart had the best price. Bought it and it worked great. Fast shipping too(can't remember if I paid for faster shipping). Just plugged it in and worked. Had bought one that came with software and couldn't get it to work with vista.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Fairclothy
Hope Mills, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
Still a lot of data on floppies.
8/24/2011

Customer review by TheRealGeorge

5.0 stars 8/24/2011 by TheRealGeorge
by TheRealGeorge

Makers of the newer PCs are omitting the floppy drives, but in many cases legacy data is only available on 3.5 floppies. This unit can be a life saver. Unit is plug and play with Win7. Works fine with both my Acer laptop and desktop. Unit is powered from the USB port and will occupy little space in a laptop case or backpack. When you need it, you will need it really bad. Until I started loading some old data, I had forgotten how slow floppy drives were, but its still faster than retyping or searching for an older PC with both a floppy drive and a usb port for a thumbdrive, or using the kluge of sending the data as an email attachment.

Was this review helpful? (10) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TheRealGeorge
Rural SE Kansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Good value and met expectations
12/25/2013

Customer review by DPMG457

4.0 stars 12/25/2013 by DPMG457
by DPMG457

While not the cheapest external floppy drive that you can buy on the web, free shipping to a near by Wal-Mart and the fact that you can check the product for damage before leaving the store, in my mind, offsets any risk you might take in buying the drive blind on the web. The unit worked Plug-n-Play out of the box and set itself up on my Windows 7 machine. Oddly enough, the unit exhibits many of the old "bugs" that floppy drives had when used on windows 3.1, 95 and 98 machines in that occasionally it won't recognize a floppy disk or won't change root directories when a new disk is inserted. When this happens I have to unattached the USB drive and reattach it again to make the drive function correctly. Overall a good value for getting several dozen floppies converted over to newer operating systems.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DPMG457
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Happy with this products performance...
8/21/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 8/21/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Great for reading old 3.5" floppy discs and for transfering their information to a CD, DVD or jumpdrive so that the transfered information can be more easily read by today's computers...

Was this review helpful? (9) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Mobile, AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Works great....just plug and play.
11/13/2013

Customer review by ProfMCM

5.0 stars 11/13/2013 by ProfMCM
by ProfMCM

Fantastic product for the price.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ProfMCM
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
More than expected!
8/13/2014

Customer review by gaylord13

5.0 stars 8/13/2014 by gaylord13
by gaylord13

I have done Family Trees and stored them on disc since the 80's. So I was really upset when I discovered a pile of Floppy Discs. I ordered the Sabrent USB External 3.5" 1.44MB Floppy Disk Drive and was worried how it would work with Windows 7 & 8.1. It works awesome and it is portable so I can use it on more than one device! I was able to save years of research and photos! I would highly recommend the Sabrent USB External 3.5" 1.44MB Floppy Disk Drive to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
gaylord13
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
easy set up
4/2/2010

Customer review by kantotinio

4.0 stars 4/2/2010 by kantotinio
by kantotinio

this is a no brainer. take it out of the box, plug it in and you have an extra media device. I have a lot of files stored in floppy discs from my old PC. I now have a mac and this external disc drive is so easy to set up, even a caveman can do it.

Was this review helpful? (7) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kantotinio
Lutherville, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Product did not work
10/24/2010

Customer review by Iris13

1.0 stars 10/24/2010 by Iris13
by Iris13

I was very disappointed that the disk drive did not work with either my Mac or my son's PC.

Was this review helpful? (8) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Iris13
Chicago Heights, Il
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Worked first try right out of the box
8/14/2011

Customer review by 4art

5.0 stars 8/14/2011 by 4art
by 4art

I need a floppy drive in order to use my "dinosaur" Sony Mavica camera (that I am not ready to part with -- yet). After researching online for one, I opted to order from Walmart - knowing that I could easily return it to the local store if it didn't work properly. Reviews on a popular mail order site scared me from buying a product listed there. This Sabrent is indeed a nice NEW product - nicely packaged and properly labeled (professional labels - rather than hand written as some cheaper models). It was well worth paying a couple dollars more for a product I feel will work much longer (and doesn't appear to made from discarded computer parts as reviews for other products stated on the mail order site). My computer recognized it right away and installed the drivers. I run Windows Vista (PC). Hopefully, this Sabrent drive will hold up until I am ready to give the camera away (my nearly $1000.00 Sony Mavica camera is now worth about $45.00 re-sale on the marketplace last I checked). This drive will only be used occasionally - at most once per week.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
4art
Lima, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
a God-send, but temperamental
7/13/2011

Customer review by amotherhen

4.0 stars 7/13/2011 by amotherhen
by amotherhen

This is truly a God-send when I was desperate. However, it does not work all the time. It is temperatmental. When it works, it is great, but it can be frustrating. Worth the effort --definitely!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
amotherhen
Forney, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Works well and works with antivirus program.
8/16/2011

Customer review by TigersRnumber1

4.0 stars 8/16/2011 by TigersRnumber1
by TigersRnumber1

I bought this to upload old 3.5" disks to more modern media. Unfortunately, some of the disks contained virus signatures and my antivirus program fixed the problems, but that made the disk unreadable. Oh well, I got the majority of what I wanted and now have the data in 21st Century Technology.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TigersRnumber1
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per year
Great way to view 3.5" floppies - Win7-64bit
5/27/2012

Customer review by Nigel13

4.0 stars 5/27/2012 by Nigel13
by Nigel13

I was skeptical because some reviews said it worked fine with Win7-64 bit and others said not at all! But I thought I would give it a try and if it didn't work I felt sure WM would take it back; mine worked fine. I've read about 70 and only 3 could not be read. It is a little noisy and a little slow, but hey, I can see the contents and that was the idea. Overall performance and price - I would say it's great!

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Nigel13
Central FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
Could not have completed work with out it
5/23/2011

Customer review by Gemini39

5.0 stars 5/23/2011 by Gemini39
by Gemini39

Allowed me to upload reports from my laptop

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Gemini39
Port Richey, Fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 405 total reviews
1-20 of 405 reviews