Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 498 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

498 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

498 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

73%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
256
4 stars
84
3 stars
21
2 stars
11
1 stars
126
1-20 of 427 total reviews
73%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 427 total reviews
1-20 of 427 reviews
3/4/2012

Customer review by baldwinlennie

5.0 stars 3/4/2012 by baldwinlennie
by baldwinlennie

excellent, cheap and did exactly what I needed it to do. Recover pictures from a bunch of floppys. I might never need it again, but you never know...

Was this review helpful? (15) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
baldwinlennie
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
When I thought there was no hope for old pics...
1/15/2014

Customer review by maksh4

5.0 stars 1/15/2014 by maksh4
by maksh4
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

... along came this external USB Floppy reader. Thank GOD for this, "easy to install" device. I just plugged it in and my computer did the rest (with installing drivers & compatibility info). I inserted my floppys and away I went. Mind you, you have to know a "little" about copying files off of it because your computer has changed drastically since those were used and you have to be able to help it read the program you used, originally. But other than that. It was a plug-n-play product. I was able to upload all my pics of my kids from when they were babies. Back to 1999, so far, and still working on it. AND, with the price, you can't beat it. Better than paying some computer company a ton of money for them to do it, and put it on CD or ? Now you can do it AND edit, manipulate or save as is, all by yourself.

Was this review helpful? (22) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
maksh4
Senoia, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Worked first try right out of the box
8/14/2011

Customer review by 4art

5.0 stars 8/14/2011 by 4art
by 4art

I need a floppy drive in order to use my "dinosaur" Sony Mavica camera (that I am not ready to part with -- yet). After researching online for one, I opted to order from Walmart - knowing that I could easily return it to the local store if it didn't work properly. Reviews on a popular mail order site scared me from buying a product listed there. This Sabrent is indeed a nice NEW product - nicely packaged and properly labeled (professional labels - rather than hand written as some cheaper models). It was well worth paying a couple dollars more for a product I feel will work much longer (and doesn't appear to made from discarded computer parts as reviews for other products stated on the mail order site). My computer recognized it right away and installed the drivers. I run Windows Vista (PC). Hopefully, this Sabrent drive will hold up until I am ready to give the camera away (my nearly $1000.00 Sony Mavica camera is now worth about $45.00 re-sale on the marketplace last I checked). This drive will only be used occasionally - at most once per week.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
4art
Lima, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
USB floppy
2/10/2016

Customer review by Icabod

5.0 stars 2/10/2016 by Icabod
by Icabod

Easy to install, plug and play with a win 10 operating system.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Icabod
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Exactly what I was looking for!
11/11/2008

Customer review by ServeThePeople

5.0 stars 11/11/2008 by ServeThePeople
by ServeThePeople

My wife wanted to transfer some files from our old PC onto our new PC. The old PC is in another town and it can't burn CD's. The new PC doesn't have a 3.5' floppy drive. I searched WalMart's website and found a very reasonably priced external floppy disc drive, burned her files to floppies, took the floppies home, hooked the external drive up to the new PC and the transfer worked seamlessly. Now we can back up files from our old PC onto the new one. Since this item wasn't carried at our local WalMart I ordered it through the web based Site to Store option. It arrived at the store quickly and pick-up was easy. WalMart wins again.

Was this review helpful? (164) (21)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ServeThePeople
Cocoa Beach, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Needed this floppy drive
3/6/2011

Customer review by pickenup

5.0 stars 3/6/2011 by pickenup
by pickenup

Old camera (Sony) new computer with NO 3 1/2" floppy drive (stone age, I know) thousands of pictures already on floppies. Needed a reader. Ordering online was easy. Selected the site to store option (free) since I would be at the store anyway. They let me know (via email) that it was on the way, and when it had arrived in store. The whole transaction went off without a hitch. Plugged it in, thought it would show up as an "F" drive, but it showed up as an "A" drive unit. Worked with Windows 7, just like it advertises. Would gladly order from them again.

Was this review helpful? (84) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
pickenup
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good value and met expectations
12/25/2013

Customer review by DPMG457

4.0 stars 12/25/2013 by DPMG457
by DPMG457
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

While not the cheapest external floppy drive that you can buy on the web, free shipping to a near by Wal-Mart and the fact that you can check the product for damage before leaving the store, in my mind, offsets any risk you might take in buying the drive blind on the web. The unit worked Plug-n-Play out of the box and set itself up on my Windows 7 machine. Oddly enough, the unit exhibits many of the old "bugs" that floppy drives had when used on windows 3.1, 95 and 98 machines in that occasionally it won't recognize a floppy disk or won't change root directories when a new disk is inserted. When this happens I have to unattached the USB drive and reattach it again to make the drive function correctly. Overall a good value for getting several dozen floppies converted over to newer operating systems.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DPMG457
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Didnot work. Had to return it
1/29/2016

Customer review by Rebel

1.0 stars 1/29/2016 by Rebel
by Rebel

Did not work. Had to return it

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Rebel
Would recommend to a friend? No
external floppy disc drive
1/29/2016

Customer review by Tracker

1.0 stars 1/29/2016 by Tracker
by Tracker

does not work.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Tracker
Would recommend to a friend? No
was a little slow, may have been the computer.
1/27/2016

Customer review by 90sMom

4.0 stars 1/27/2016 by 90sMom
by 90sMom

It worked.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
90sMom
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Works as it should
1/21/2016

Customer review by c5mech

5.0 stars 1/21/2016 by c5mech
by c5mech

The drive was purchased to help retrieve information on 3 1/2 floppy disks. It installed on Windows and ran as it should. No problems. It was packaged well and delivered on time.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
c5mech
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
External Floppy Drive
1/19/2016

Customer review by Meezo12

1.0 stars 1/19/2016 by Meezo12
by Meezo12

This external floppy drive simply did not work with my PC. (I have a Dell Windows 7 PC.)

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Meezo12
Would recommend to a friend? No
Disk Reader
1/18/2016

Customer review by Dennis

4.0 stars 1/18/2016 by Dennis
by Dennis

Looks Good!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Dennis
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
ros
1/12/2016

Customer review by rosie

5.0 stars 1/12/2016 by rosie
by rosie

nice

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
rosie
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Works Great!
1/6/2016

Customer review by Lillac49

5.0 stars 1/6/2016 by Lillac49
by Lillac49

We thought we had lost the pictures on the floppy discs we have. Receive the floppy disc drive - downloaded 10 or so discs and it worked GREAT!!! No lost pictures and lots of memories saved. The price was fair and the product is excellent!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Lillac49
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
A life saver
10/14/2010

Customer review by mabarsh

5.0 stars 10/14/2010 by mabarsh
by mabarsh

This product meant the difference in not having to find another way of saving files that I had previously saved on floppy disks and now since I am using a newer computer that does not have a floppy disk drive. I tried to save these particular files on a cd but when I went to open them could not get them to work like they should. With this product I can continue to use the program I was using and save my files to floppy disks as always and when I get ready to open them again, they open with no problem.

Was this review helpful? (36) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mabarsh
Ranburne, AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
very helpful
11/12/2010

Customer review by goodnessgracious

5.0 stars 11/12/2010 by goodnessgracious
by goodnessgracious

Meets my expectations. Works well with Windows 7. Many documents and photos on floppies. Still can use my old Mavica which requires floppy. The MicroPac USB External is considerly cheaper than buying a memory stick floppy for the Mavica. 5 stars all around

Was this review helpful? (47) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
goodnessgracious
Maine
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
good product
1/4/2016

Customer review by natural

4.0 stars 1/4/2016 by natural
by natural

N/A

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
natural
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Worked Great
6/13/2011

Customer review by Fairclothy

5.0 stars 6/13/2011 by Fairclothy
by Fairclothy

Looked all over town for one of these. Then after looking around online walmart had the best price. Bought it and it worked great. Fast shipping too(can't remember if I paid for faster shipping). Just plugged it in and worked. Had bought one that came with software and couldn't get it to work with vista.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Fairclothy
Hope Mills, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
Doesn't support 720K disks
12/22/2012

Customer review by Marrelli

1.0 stars 12/22/2012 by Marrelli
by Marrelli

I was looking for a floppy drive so I could install some of my older games that were on diskettes. When I tried to install one of those games, it said the diskette was not formatted. Upon further research from the company's site, I found that this drive does not support single density diskettes (720K). Half of my games' install diskettes came on these 720K disks. So, I returned this drive and found one that does support the 720K disks.

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Marrelli
Would recommend to a friend? No
1-20 of 427 total reviews
1-20 of 427 reviews