Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 518 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

518 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

518 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

73%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
262
4 stars
92
3 stars
22
2 stars
11
1 stars
131
1-20 of 447 total reviews
73%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 447 total reviews
1-20 of 447 reviews
3/4/2012

Customer review by baldwinlennie

5.0 stars 3/4/2012 by baldwinlennie
by baldwinlennie

excellent, cheap and did exactly what I needed it to do. Recover pictures from a bunch of floppys. I might never need it again, but you never know...

Was this review helpful? (17) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
baldwinlennie
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Works, but with limitations
4/6/2016

Customer review by Jakhack

4.0 stars 4/6/2016 by Jakhack
by Jakhack

The product seems well made and installed perfectly into my Windows 10 laptop. However, the first disk I tried failed and so did the second. But the third one was read perfectly. I went back to the manual and read that it does not read the older 720K density 3.5" disks, only the later 1.44 Meg HD disks. It worked like a champ with the HD drives, but I think the files I was trying to locate were on the older 720K disks. So, yes, it worked as claimed and is a bargain for the price. But it did not solve my problem. It worked so well in fact, that I am reminded of how nice these old disks were, particularly for off computer and off network backups of small files, such as word processing and spreadsheet files. Today's huge photo sizes makes them useless for that, but there may still be some backup tasks that I an use all my old disks for.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jakhack
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Worked first try right out of the box
8/14/2011

Customer review by 4art

5.0 stars 8/14/2011 by 4art
by 4art

I need a floppy drive in order to use my "dinosaur" Sony Mavica camera (that I am not ready to part with -- yet). After researching online for one, I opted to order from Walmart - knowing that I could easily return it to the local store if it didn't work properly. Reviews on a popular mail order site scared me from buying a product listed there. This Sabrent is indeed a nice NEW product - nicely packaged and properly labeled (professional labels - rather than hand written as some cheaper models). It was well worth paying a couple dollars more for a product I feel will work much longer (and doesn't appear to made from discarded computer parts as reviews for other products stated on the mail order site). My computer recognized it right away and installed the drivers. I run Windows Vista (PC). Hopefully, this Sabrent drive will hold up until I am ready to give the camera away (my nearly $1000.00 Sony Mavica camera is now worth about $45.00 re-sale on the marketplace last I checked). This drive will only be used occasionally - at most once per week.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
4art
Lima, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
When I thought there was no hope for old pics...
1/15/2014

Customer review by maksh4

5.0 stars 1/15/2014 by maksh4
by maksh4
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

... along came this external USB Floppy reader. Thank GOD for this, "easy to install" device. I just plugged it in and my computer did the rest (with installing drivers & compatibility info). I inserted my floppys and away I went. Mind you, you have to know a "little" about copying files off of it because your computer has changed drastically since those were used and you have to be able to help it read the program you used, originally. But other than that. It was a plug-n-play product. I was able to upload all my pics of my kids from when they were babies. Back to 1999, so far, and still working on it. AND, with the price, you can't beat it. Better than paying some computer company a ton of money for them to do it, and put it on CD or ? Now you can do it AND edit, manipulate or save as is, all by yourself.

Was this review helpful? (25) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
maksh4
Senoia, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
works
5/29/2016

Customer review by tommmmmm

5.0 stars 5/29/2016 by tommmmmm
by tommmmmm
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

works with old disk, but computer does not . Need updates for the disk you use.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tommmmmm
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Needed this floppy drive
3/6/2011

Customer review by pickenup

5.0 stars 3/6/2011 by pickenup
by pickenup

Old camera (Sony) new computer with NO 3 1/2" floppy drive (stone age, I know) thousands of pictures already on floppies. Needed a reader. Ordering online was easy. Selected the site to store option (free) since I would be at the store anyway. They let me know (via email) that it was on the way, and when it had arrived in store. The whole transaction went off without a hitch. Plugged it in, thought it would show up as an "F" drive, but it showed up as an "A" drive unit. Worked with Windows 7, just like it advertises. Would gladly order from them again.

Was this review helpful? (85) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
pickenup
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Exactly what I was looking for!
11/11/2008

Customer review by ServeThePeople

5.0 stars 11/11/2008 by ServeThePeople
by ServeThePeople

My wife wanted to transfer some files from our old PC onto our new PC. The old PC is in another town and it can't burn CD's. The new PC doesn't have a 3.5' floppy drive. I searched WalMart's website and found a very reasonably priced external floppy disc drive, burned her files to floppies, took the floppies home, hooked the external drive up to the new PC and the transfer worked seamlessly. Now we can back up files from our old PC onto the new one. Since this item wasn't carried at our local WalMart I ordered it through the web based Site to Store option. It arrived at the store quickly and pick-up was easy. WalMart wins again.

Was this review helpful? (164) (22)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ServeThePeople
Cocoa Beach, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
it worked
5/23/2016

Customer review by OliveLover

4.0 stars 5/23/2016 by OliveLover
by OliveLover
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

It did the job. I needed something to read old files and this worked great!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
OliveLover
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good value and met expectations
12/25/2013

Customer review by DPMG457

4.0 stars 12/25/2013 by DPMG457
by DPMG457
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

While not the cheapest external floppy drive that you can buy on the web, free shipping to a near by Wal-Mart and the fact that you can check the product for damage before leaving the store, in my mind, offsets any risk you might take in buying the drive blind on the web. The unit worked Plug-n-Play out of the box and set itself up on my Windows 7 machine. Oddly enough, the unit exhibits many of the old "bugs" that floppy drives had when used on windows 3.1, 95 and 98 machines in that occasionally it won't recognize a floppy disk or won't change root directories when a new disk is inserted. When this happens I have to unattached the USB drive and reattach it again to make the drive function correctly. Overall a good value for getting several dozen floppies converted over to newer operating systems.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DPMG457
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
usefulness
5/20/2016

Customer review by Ronnie

4.0 stars 5/20/2016 by Ronnie
by Ronnie
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This product has provided the usefulness we anticipated.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Ronnie
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Easy to use
4/14/2016

Customer review by Erv55

5.0 stars 4/14/2016 by Erv55
by Erv55

All you have to do is plug it into a USB port and you are set to go.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Erv55
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
USB External Floppy Drive
5/9/2016

Customer review by Mike

4.0 stars 5/9/2016 by Mike
by Mike

Connected to PC with no need for other software. Have some old info that was still on 1.44 mb floppies. Able to read them and recover the data.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mike
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Easy
5/4/2016

Customer review by Jeff

5.0 stars 5/4/2016 by Jeff
by Jeff

Ordering online was very easy. The item isn't carried in store, which is only 5 minutes from my home. The external drive works great.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jeff
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
A life saver
10/14/2010

Customer review by mabarsh

5.0 stars 10/14/2010 by mabarsh
by mabarsh

This product meant the difference in not having to find another way of saving files that I had previously saved on floppy disks and now since I am using a newer computer that does not have a floppy disk drive. I tried to save these particular files on a cd but when I went to open them could not get them to work like they should. With this product I can continue to use the program I was using and save my files to floppy disks as always and when I get ready to open them again, they open with no problem.

Was this review helpful? (36) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mabarsh
Ranburne, AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
read one disc
4/25/2016

Customer review by user

1.0 stars 4/25/2016 by user
by user

Have only tried one.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
user
Would recommend to a friend? No
very helpful
11/12/2010

Customer review by goodnessgracious

5.0 stars 11/12/2010 by goodnessgracious
by goodnessgracious

Meets my expectations. Works well with Windows 7. Many documents and photos on floppies. Still can use my old Mavica which requires floppy. The MicroPac USB External is considerly cheaper than buying a memory stick floppy for the Mavica. 5 stars all around

Was this review helpful? (47) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
goodnessgracious
Maine
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
More than expected!
8/13/2014

Customer review by gaylord13

5.0 stars 8/13/2014 by gaylord13
by gaylord13
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have done Family Trees and stored them on disc since the 80's. So I was really upset when I discovered a pile of Floppy Discs. I ordered the Sabrent USB External 3.5" 1.44MB Floppy Disk Drive and was worried how it would work with Windows 7 & 8.1. It works awesome and it is portable so I can use it on more than one device! I was able to save years of research and photos! I would highly recommend the Sabrent USB External 3.5" 1.44MB Floppy Disk Drive to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
gaylord13
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Doesn't support 720K disks
12/22/2012

Customer review by Marrelli

1.0 stars 12/22/2012 by Marrelli
by Marrelli

I was looking for a floppy drive so I could install some of my older games that were on diskettes. When I tried to install one of those games, it said the diskette was not formatted. Upon further research from the company's site, I found that this drive does not support single density diskettes (720K). Half of my games' install diskettes came on these 720K disks. So, I returned this drive and found one that does support the 720K disks.

Was this review helpful? (13) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Marrelli
Would recommend to a friend? No
Worked Great
6/13/2011

Customer review by Fairclothy

5.0 stars 6/13/2011 by Fairclothy
by Fairclothy

Looked all over town for one of these. Then after looking around online walmart had the best price. Bought it and it worked great. Fast shipping too(can't remember if I paid for faster shipping). Just plugged it in and worked. Had bought one that came with software and couldn't get it to work with vista.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Fairclothy
Hope Mills, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
LOVE IT
4/5/2016

Customer review by SUSIE719

5.0 stars 4/5/2016 by SUSIE719
by SUSIE719

I had starts writing a book years ago on the disk and I didn't want to start over. But I could not find a floppy disk on and towers. so I goggled place to go and have it done and the Wal-Mart add popped up over on the right. I am so glad that Wal-Mart had this. the only thing wrong was it didn't have instructions, but figured it out without the help of my son or grandson

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SUSIE719
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 447 total reviews
1-20 of 447 reviews