Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 41 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

41 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

41 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

95%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
32
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 stars
3
1-20 of 34 total reviews
95%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 34 total reviews
1-20 of 34 reviews
Old Reliable
3/7/2010

Customer review by klebbadad

5.0 stars 3/7/2010 by klebbadad
by klebbadad

I've used these for over 30 years. Great for camping, patio lighting (I have 3 hung around the deck) and power outages. Pros:Brightest light available without a 110v outlet, and economical - 1 gallon of fuel will last a whole summer. Weatherproof (more or less). They don't wear out, although some parts occasionally need replacing (my oldest one is 40 years old). Cons: Not silent - they hiss (although I think of that as the normal camping ambience - YMMV). They get almighty hot - do not put in reach of small children and wait for them to cool down before storing in an enclosed space. They're breakable - plan on replacing the pyrex globe at least once during the life of the lantern, and the silk mantles can't take a lot of jostling. Have extra mantles around because you'll be replacing them occasionally.

Was this review helpful? (45) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
klebbadad
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Best lantern I have used
9/6/2009

Customer review by excatm76

5.0 stars 9/6/2009 by excatm76
by excatm76

This lantern is great. It is very bright and uses little fuel. A gallon of coleman fuel would last several weeks if using this lantern nightly. The only thing negative I cn say about it is that it gets pretty hot and is a little tricky to light. However for light output and fuel economy it blows the other lanterns away.

Was this review helpful? (47) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
excatm76
Michie, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Great for emergencies and Camping
1/13/2010

Customer review by Maingear

4.0 stars 1/13/2010 by Maingear
by Maingear

I use regular unleaded. Works as advertised. Fuel is easy to find. Great primary light source for campsite. Will last all night on low setting. Gives off enough light so the lantern could stay outside and not pose a fire or carbon monoxide hazard to the tent. Can be hung by handle to reduce the chance of knocking over and damaging. Before you check out in the store, open package and carefully look for the nut that holds the top metal cap and glass globe together. My box had been opened and the ball nut was missing. A standard one quarter inch course thread nut worked fine. Overall rating and expectation took a hit because of the difficulty of transport. A hardshell case is need to protect the glass globe and keep upright to eliminate the risk of damage while traveling or storage. Hard-shell case not available at the time of this review at this retailer.

Was this review helpful? (28) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Maingear
Arkansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Great lantern
8/19/2009

Customer review by ScottR1

5.0 stars 8/19/2009 by ScottR1
by ScottR1

Very bright and efficient. I've only used it with unleaded gasoline so far, but it works as well as the one I remember my dad owning 30 years ago.

Was this review helpful? (20) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ScottR1
Gray, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
The best all around
4/7/2012

Customer review by unfrozencaveman

5.0 stars 4/7/2012 by unfrozencaveman
by unfrozencaveman

For camping, this is the benchmark to compare the others with. And it wins. Propane is expensive in those stupid little cans. Batteries are a joke. Aladdin lamps are pretty good for home use, but obviously not for camping. Also they are finicky, and smelly if you aren't careful about the kerosene. (Hint: go to your local airport with some five-gallon gas cans and buy their "jet fuel". It is a better grade of kerosene. Just don't waste their time with only a gallon or two.) The classic Coleman lantern burned naphtha ("white gas") and this model will take ordinary unleaded gasoline too. I can say it works wonderfully on unleaded gasoline. Be sure to buy a few spare mantles, as they will break now and then. If you are paranoid, you might spray them with hair spray before going on a trip. I have used this tip successfully with the more expensive Aladdin mantles. The coating protects the mantle in transit and burns off quickly when the lantern is used. The Coleman lantern does make noise while in use and it needs some pumping from time to time. I think this is a trivial issue, and not enough to reduce its rating below five stars. Also, it really does need a match to light. I tried using a sparker device, but it just wouldn't work. Buy a box of real wooden matches and don't worry about it.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
unfrozencaveman
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
8/10/2011

Customer review by TrixR4Kids

4.0 stars 8/10/2011 by TrixR4Kids
by TrixR4Kids

I have never owned a Coleman lantern before but have camped with others who have owned them. I had a little difficulty figuring out how the pump worked but once I did it worked like a champ. I would recommend that you buy several packs of mantles though if you plan on camping for several days. The same lantern sells for quite a bit more from Amazon, so Walmart's online price rocked.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TrixR4Kids
Hampton Roads, Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
7/13/2012

Customer review by JEJJ

5.0 stars 7/13/2012 by JEJJ
by JEJJ

This Coleman lantern is better than I expected purchased it for night fishing and it works great. Brighter than my Coleman butane lantern and cheaper to run. Just wish Wal-Mart would carry the lantern case for it I had to get it from another store but it's well worth the money and in time I will buy another one just like it.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JEJJ
Pasadena TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
happy camper
5/1/2012

Customer review by movieaddict8

5.0 stars 5/1/2012 by movieaddict8
by movieaddict8

i was excited to see this on walmarts website because i thought that coleman discontinued making these lanterns. i do a lot of camping and hunting and the 2 i have are on there last legs although they still do work but there the old style lantern with the lever to clear the carbon out of the needle valve. on these new versions the removed that feature which makes it a whole lot easier to operate the lantern. another new thing i like about the new version is that it uses unleaded gas or coleman fuel but with gas prices on the rise i just might have to change back to coleman fuel but that is also on the price rise. all in all im super happy that i was able to buy this new lantern with the dual mantles. my brother has a single one and the light isnt quite as brite as the dual mantle one.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
movieaddict8
woodburn, oregon
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Just what we needed
11/21/2011

Customer review by Greyhawk39

5.0 stars 11/21/2011 by Greyhawk39
by Greyhawk39

Purchase was made to complement our emergency preparedness plan. Great for use of camping fuel or unleaded gasoline.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Greyhawk39
Babb MT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
WorthEveryPenny
10/31/2011

Customer review by Citycamper

5.0 stars 10/31/2011 by Citycamper
by Citycamper

This was my first Coleman Lantern i bought. I did some research to make sure i would buy a practicel lantern for outdoor use such as doing some yardwork, lighting the way for building a fire, etc., Compared all prices for the same item:Walmart got the cheapest price (Free shipping included). Be sure to follow the instruction, since it was tricky to light in the first few attempts. After you got the idea, you'll be a happy camper!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Citycamper
Edina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Site to Store
11/28/2012

Customer review by TheSlackers

5.0 stars 11/28/2012 by TheSlackers
by TheSlackers

Item wasn't on the shelf, so I ordered it online from my cellphone site to store. It was there the next morning for pickup, having been shipped directly from the manufacturer, not a Walmart facility. The shipping was free and the item was in perfect condtion.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TheSlackers
Argyle, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
coleman laterns are the best
10/5/2011

Customer review by lincv11

5.0 stars 10/5/2011 by lincv11
by lincv11

This makes my fourth latern

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lincv11
westbury ny
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
10/25/2012

Customer review by NVDoug

5.0 stars 10/25/2012 by NVDoug
by NVDoug

Great value, great product.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NVDoug
Sparks, Nevada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Coleman Lantern
4/4/2012

Customer review by mworley

5.0 stars 4/4/2012 by mworley
by mworley

Bought this on impulse before a camping trip and glad I did. Very bright, burns long time about 7-9 hours, rugged design, seems well built. Looking to pick up another one to help light family camp. It also brought back memories from youth and boy scout camp, the familiar Coleman lantern hiss.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mworley
Franklin, Oh
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Check for missing items, if bought from web-site.
6/4/2013

Customer review by CyberThug310

5.0 stars 6/4/2013 by CyberThug310
by CyberThug310

I purchased the lantern over web-site, but when I received it. I was missing a gas cap. So I had to returned back to store and had to go hunt one down and make sure everything was there. After I found the lantern I took it home I put some unleaded gas and tried it out and gave out a very bright light, I love it, works really well when I go camping and the fuel last a long time on one tank-full.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CyberThug310
Torrance, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellant Lantern
9/1/2013

Customer review by Vlad32807

5.0 stars 9/1/2013 by Vlad32807
by Vlad32807

I have owned the propane lanterns in the past and this is my 3rd duel fuel lantern I have owned, One was stolen and the 2nd one was left on the back of the truck and fell off somewhere The dual fuel is excellant due to it being able to use unleaded gas which can be found anywhere. Buy a spare set of wicks and keep them handy since they are very cheap in price

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Vlad32807
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
9/18/2013

Customer review by sjwhb

4.0 stars 9/18/2013 by sjwhb
by sjwhb

Lantern is good overall, could be easier to light, though.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sjwhb
Montana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
10/16/2013

Customer review by mctready

5.0 stars 10/16/2013 by mctready
by mctready

Great product from Coleman as always. Love it. And fast shipping from Walmart. Can't go wrong with this.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mctready
Boston Aea, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Product
1/5/2014

Customer review by Poorider

5.0 stars 1/5/2014 by Poorider
by Poorider

Another great Coleman product

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Poorider
Battle Creek,MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Very Pleased with the dual fuel lantern
2/3/2015

Customer review by Chuck

5.0 stars 2/3/2015 by Chuck
by Chuck

The shipment arrived on time and complete. I bought this lantern as a backup to the propane latern that I use for camping. These lanterns also form part of my emergency prep supplies in case of a prolonged power outage. I bought the lantern bundled with the dual fuel stove. I don't plan to ever run regular gasoline in it but who knows what kind of pinch I might be in if there is a prolonged power outage so its nice to have the option. I fired up the lantern just to make sure everything works ok. It worked great and produces nearly as much light as my propane lantern. Now its back on the shelf with my other emergency supplies. I'm still debating whether I will start using the dual fuel stove and lantern for camping instead of my propane versions. It would have some advantages. I would save money on fuel, would not be tossing those empty propane bottles into the garbage which seems like a pretty environmentally bad thing and the white gas stove will definitely run a lot better in cold weather than my propane version which barely runs two burners when cold because the canister freezes. I'm very happy with the products.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Chuck
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 34 total reviews
1-20 of 34 reviews