Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 4.7out of 5 stars
4.7 out of 5 | 44 reviews
5 stars
36
4 stars
6
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 stars
2
Sort by: 
1-20 of 41 reviews
1-20 of 41 reviews
Coleman Single Burner White Gas (dual fuel) Stove
12/3/2010
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Excellent, especially for my application.... Cold weather (below -20 deg F) 1. Propane bottles have difficulty working well in colder weather. This white gas stove works much better. 2. Car, motor home, tent-type camping (not back-packing)... where the slightly extra weight is less important. 3. The 10,000 BTU reliable emergency heat in case of a breakdown is excellent. 4. Each gallon of Coleman white gas equates (BTU-wise) to roughly 10 ea 16 oz green bottles of propane. (Do the math.) That makes Coleman fuel about 1/3 the cost of propane in my location (Fairbanks, AK). 5. Being dual fuel, as long as I have fuel in the car's gas tank, I have fuel for the stove. Sweet. Definitely a keeper! I now have two - one for each of my vehicles.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (69)No (5)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great little stove
5/3/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I like this stove because it is hot and uses regular gasoline or coleman fuel. You can cook several times before you need to refill. I got mine to heat camping food and emergency food and ramen, works great.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (8)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Can't ask for any better.
1/6/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I am a camping/backpacking enthusiast, have been for over 40 years. So when it comes to cooking in the backwoods I can give you very sound advise. There are many ways one can cook in the backwoods. You can use alcohol, canister, or white gas stoves. One can also cook over a camp fire. All of these methods have their merits and downfalls. Without going into detail I have the ability to use all of these methods and the equipment to do it. I like to use white gas because it WORKS in any conditions. High altitude, or cold weather. That is why I have purchased the Coleman Stove here. This will be my second one. The first one lasted me 36 years. A tried and true product that will last for years and work in any condition. The stove is built like a tank with all metal parts. I have never had any problems using this stove, and with a little maintenance will continue to work flawlessly. If you are looking for a great and portable base camp stove, or for an emergency back up stove for home use, look no further. This is the real deal.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (29)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Efficient and inexpensive
5/31/2012
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I own several different kinds of "camping stoves" and they all have their strengths and weaknesses. This one is a sturdy stove, and its inexpensive to use the Coleman fuel to run it. (Unleaded gas is dirtier and not ideal except in an emergency.) The reason it doesn't get as much use as others is that its much harder to pump up for me due to problems with my arm. Since I have to recruit my husband to pump it up for using, it tends to get used less often--I'm not crazy about the whole "would you..." routine when we're off to relax. If the pumping is a problem, you might want to opt for a propane or different type of white gas stove for camping. This is a solid stove from a company that has been selling camping gear for decades in America and it shows. The design hasn't changed much over the years, and that's because it works. It is a great stove to have in your emergency/hurricane kit too.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (13)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Will stand the test of time!
8/3/2009
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I just got back from an overnight camping trip. I bought the same Coleman burner (different model number, but picture is identical) back in 1991 and last used it in 1995. I stored it properly and it has followed me all over the world (I lived in Europe when i bought it). This morning, I put Coleman fuel in it, pumped air in it and it lit no problem, still able to boil water for coffee in just a few minutes. The unit didn't have any visible rust or corrosion whatsoever. When I stored it, once the fuel was out, I rolled a sheet of paper-towel and stuffed it in the tank for moisture control. This is a very well built and durable burner. I would strongly recommend this product to anyone who wants a long-lasting 1-burner unit, as it should last a lifetime with a little proper care!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (36)No (5)
Report
Was this review helpful?
This stove is a MUST for campers
9/2/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Top 500 contributer
This stove is so reliable, and so efficient. No other small stove compares with it. When you compaire complete systems, pound for pound, inch for inch, this is the most weight, size, and energy efficient stove available. The Coleman single burner stoves take a lot of abuse and still work. You need a stove to be reliable under all conditions; wet, cold, differing altitudes, etc. This stove proves to be reliable over the decades. Although this stove is dual fuel, I recommend using Coleman fuel because automotive fuel is not as clean and eventually clogs the generator and piping. If you stick with Coleman fuel, the stove will work literally trouble-free for decades.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (17)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Excellent Choice
11/29/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Coleman products have an excellent reputation for longevity and quality, this stove was no exception to that. It is not however a perfect stove for everyone, it is not light, but it works well in the cold when propane or butane won't work. So if you back pack in warmer climates and fuel cost and availability is no problem then maybe this isn't the perfect stove for you. The fuel is readily available and inexpensive almost anywhere, and if you do mainly car camping this is a great stove and will last you many many years. It is easy to maintain and parts are available at any Walmart and most outdoors specialty stores. I have owned and used Coleman stoves for 40+ years and the basic design has changed very little.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (7)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Perfect choice for environmentally-conscious
5/15/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Having used a larger 2-burner Coleman stove for years, I needed something more compact but didn't want the accumulation of waste fuel bottles from other stoves. I also wanted the fuel-flexibility I have with my 2-burner one. This is the perfect choice! It weights about as much as other fuel canister stoves but I can pack as much fuel as I think I'll need or use Unleaded in a pinch. It's solidly built and should last for many years (like other Coleman products). It works fine on White Gas or Unleaded fuel with little unpleasant after-odor. I was surprised that it ran as clean and efficiently on Unleaded as it did. White gas is preferred, due to being cleaner, but it operates fine on UL. Definately glad I got it!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (5)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great single burner stove
10/4/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
It's a much better deal than a propane burner. The fuel lasts way longer and it burns hotter. You can't beat the deal on this single burner camp stove.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (10)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great Coleman product
8/19/2010
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This stove, like every other Coleman product that I have owned, is a work horse! Since my home is electric, and you just never know when the power will be out, I find that having this stove in my emergency kit is must. And don't plan a camping trip without it! This is my second stove (the first one was stolen... had it for 5+ years and it also worked without a hitch!) and I love the dual fuel capability.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (8)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
ESSENTIAL
9/14/2008
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I can't understand why this product is currently NOT being offered on-line! This stove is an essential for any day trip. by car OR canoe. A little too big for backpack use. Please re-offer it on-line again.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (30)No (5)
Report
Was this review helpful?
THIS MULTI FUEL STOVE IS A LIFESAVER, YEP!
1/15/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
HA, I NEVER KNEW OF A PRODUCT BEFORE THAT I HAVE WANTED FOR 40 YEARS AND NEVER KNEW THAT I DID WANT IT THE ENTIRE TIME UNTIL I SAW IT IN THE WAL MART CATALOG, FOR CAMPING OR ANY NATURAL OR MAN MADE DISASTER THIS COLEMAN MULTI FUEL STOVE IS A IS A MUST HAVE BUT MAKE SURE YOU HAVE PLENTY OF GASOLINE TO GO ALONG WITH IT, I HAVE A FIVE GALLON PLASTIC GAS CONTAINER FILLED UP WITH A FEW OUNCES OF MARVEL MYSTERY OIL ADDED TO IT AS A FUEL PRESERVER, THATS 2 OZ. PER FIVE GALLONS, GOING TO ORDER A EXTRA PUMP FOR IT AND THEN I AM GOOD FOR MANY YEARS TO COME, COME WHAT MAY I WILL ALWAYS HAVE SOME HOT FOOD TO EAT ALONG WITH HOT WASH AND BATHING WATER, YOU CAN GET A COMPLETE SHOWER WITH A TWO LITER PLASTIC BOTTLE OF WARM WATER! THIS STOVE IS LITTLE BUT SHE IS MIGHTY, I AM GOING TO GET ONE MORE OF THESE STOVES TO LOAN OUT DURING EMERGENCIES, WHO WILL EAT UNCOOKED RICE OR RAW UNCOOKED POTATOES? WITH A LITTLE INGENUITY YOU CAN MAKE A FOLD UP WIND SCREEN OUT OF CARDBOARD OR BETTER YET SOME PLYWOOD AND A COUPLE CHEAP HARDWARE DOOR HINGES AND YOU ARE GOOD TO GO FOR ALMOST ANYTHING, ENJOY, I ALREADY THAN THE LORD FOR THIS INVALUABLE LITTLE MIGHTY STOVE
Was this review helpful?
Yes (6)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Super stove for the price
7/27/2011
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Great stove. ALTHOUGH, it seems much harder to start when you get above 12,000 feet in elevation. Still can't figure out why it's only $39 online with free shipping but $45 in the store.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (22)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
12/5/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Excellent small stove for Kayak Camping. Heats water faster than those small backpacking syoves.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (7)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Ez to light
4/29/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I had no problems with the stove. I had no trouble lighting the stove by following the directions. Some people may think the stove will light like a propane stove. They must not be letting the generator heat up enough and flood the burner with fuel and create a flaming mess by their description. I especially like the dual fuel feature. I can use automobile gas in an emergency. I regularly use Coleman fuel because it stores for a long time and burns cleaner which prolongs the generator life. The stove burns hot for its size and boils water quickly. It's another great Coleman stove.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (4)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
7/13/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This is a fantastic little one burner stove. Used it on my last fishing trip to make coffee and heat up my soup. Have not tried it with unleaded gasoline yet but it runs fine on Coleman fuel. It's lightweight and it will do anything I wanted to do when I'm somewhere that I cannot build a campfire.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (5)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great for Car Camping
3/16/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
The stove is too heavy for backpacking, but excellent for car camping when a duel burner is not needed and one is still concerned about space. My meals are simple when car camping and a single burner is all I need. Coffee in the morning of course. But I generally have cereal for breakfast and something I can just heat up for the other meals. I am not interested in elaborate meals that require a lot of time to prepare and even more time for cleanup. I prefer to dedicate time on the trail, hiking or bird watching. If I want an elaborate meal while car camping, I can easily look for a nice restaurant. It uses the same fuel as with my lantern and my heater which is convenient.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (5)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great product at a great price
11/2/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
This stove is a great product. It is very stable due to its broad base and not having the previously used fold out legs. The flame control is excellent from a very low flame for simmering to a high flame for a quick boil. It is handy that a fuel funnel is included with the stove. The Walmart online price is one of the lowest to be found; the product was easy to order and was promptly received. Again, this is a great and the Walmart purchasing experience was excellent.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (4)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
EXCELLENT
12/7/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
works superb heats very quickly
Was this review helpful?
Yes (5)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Works well
8/13/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Walmart associate
This little stove works well; lights easily and puts out a lot of heat. Runs an amazing amount of time on a small tank of fuel. Excellent price. The only complaint I have is that the pot supports seem a little flimsy/wobbly with a heavy pot on it. It could be a little more solid, or maybe sell an accessory pot support ring to go with it ... an iron ring with three legs would work wonders.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (5)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184642855, DC-prod-dal3, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-