Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 96 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

96 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

96 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

98%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
78
4 stars
15
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 stars
2
1-20 of 86 total reviews
98%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 86 total reviews
1-20 of 86 reviews
Great for camping, or emergency use.
2/13/2011

Customer review by dbhost3006

5.0 stars 2/13/2011 by dbhost3006
by dbhost3006

I have had mine now for about 6 years. We have propane stoves, but find that the Coleman liquid fuel stoves more cost effective to use even though the initial purchase price is higher for the stove. Operation is simple, Fill the tank, pump it up, turn the valve on the main burner, light it, let it warm up, turn on the secondary burner and light it if needed. Adjust to desired flame height. We have used our current Coleman stove, and a previous Coleman dual fuel stove for everything from camping trips in Canada, Oregon, Arizona, Texas, Oklahoma, Arkansas, and Mexico. Our current stove has seen us through both Hurricane Rita in 2005, and Hurricane Ike in 2008. We own or have owned a small shed full of camping gear of all sorts of descriptions, the Coleman Multi Fuel stoves, and among the best pieces of camping equipment in our collection. These are the stoves I remember from my scouting camping trips of the 1970s and 1980s. And I bet those old stoves are still in use!

Was this review helpful? (83) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dbhost3006
League City, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
The ultimate in efficiency
5/30/2012

Customer review by Cornbeefandcabbage

5.0 stars 5/30/2012 by Cornbeefandcabbage
by Cornbeefandcabbage
Top 500 contributor

There is a reason that the Coleman stove has been THE stove of choice for campers since the 1920's with very minimal design changes. In fact, the Coleman stove has remained almost completely unchanged since 1960. The only thing better than this Duel Fuel two burner stove would be the larger unit Coleman stoves that give you more space for cooking. The Duel Fuel capability is accomplished primarily by increased diameter fuel tubing in the generator. In other words, there is no magic or rocket science that makes the use of automobile gasoline possible. It is well known in camping circles that Duel Fuel stoves will technically work with automotive gasoline, but they will become testy with use as the automotive fuel additives start gumming up the internals of the stove. Even with a Duel Fuel stove, you are well advised to use Coleman fuel unless you are in a pinch and cannot find Coleman fuel. Given a choice between this liquid fuel Coleman Stove and the propane models, I prefer the liquid fuel stoves.

Was this review helpful? (44) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Cornbeefandcabbage
west coast and midwest
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Top 500 contributor
WOW! Just like I remember!
10/25/2013

Customer review by camper737

5.0 stars 10/25/2013 by camper737
by camper737

We used a Coleman stove back in the 70's and it was great...cooked REAL breakfast and suppers for hours, for five people with no problems. Because of rust and problems with replacement parts, we recently ordered a new one. Well............it burned with an orange flame which, no matter what we did, would not go away. Thank goodness, Walmart took it back, and we ordered another, exactly the same, from Walmart online. This one is a beauty......after one minute of lighting, the little bit of orange in the flame went away, and it burned a beautiful blue, just like we remember. The stove did have a dent in it, like we've read in reviews, but I wouldn't send it back because of that. Also, we,ve compaired this stove to the old (60's or 70's) model sitting on our back porch right now, and, yes, it's a little smaller and more compact, and a little lighter. Do you REALLY want it bigger and heavier?? It is quite sturdy, good quality, all you need, and we can't wait to go camping again!!

Was this review helpful? (14) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
camper737
Murphy NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Love the fuel source options - a bit hard to clean
6/26/2012

Customer review by GetPrepared

4.0 stars 6/26/2012 by GetPrepared
by GetPrepared

As a life-long disaster preparedness promoter I've long wanted a camp stove that can run on unleaded gas - what is likely to be the major liquid fuel source (available in cars) when the store shelves are emptied and there is no power to run gas station pumps after our long-overdue major quake in Southern California happens, affecting more than 23 million people. So I'm really glad this classic dependable and durable stove now has the dual fuel option. We decided to try to grill ribs and heat baked beans as our inaugural "backyard test drive" meal. The beans heated very quickly. The meat took a little longer than expected yet turned out delicious. The only drawback was the clean up. It was hard to get the grease out of the bottom of the stove and from under the "ledge." So we will be cooking only in foil pouches or using pots and pans when we go to the Grand Canyon later this summer - so as to avoid the time it takes to clean up dripping juices or grease.

Was this review helpful? (23) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GetPrepared
Eastvale, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Indispensable for camping
5/24/2011

Customer review by mlipenk

5.0 stars 5/24/2011 by mlipenk
by mlipenk

With this Coleman Dual Fuel 2-Burner Stove, coupled with Coleman's 2-Mantle Dual Fuel Lantern, you will have two of the most useful items for camping. Both share the same ability to use liquid fuel. And as a result, if you leave home with full tanks, you can get days and months of use before you have to refill the tanks. Much better in my opinion than buying and throwing away propane tanks which empty quickly. The stove itself is much more flexible in use than just a grill. Use it to boil water for spaghetti or dish water. Throw a griddle or frying pan on and you have a wonderful way to make pancakes or eggs. In the evening, pop some popcorn over the burner. The stove is easy to clean, is quite portable, everything including the tank stores in on itself, and if properly maintained should outlast you.

Was this review helpful? (72) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mlipenk
MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
good camping stove
6/18/2008

Customer review by sonu

5.0 stars 6/18/2008 by sonu
by sonu

I've used this type of camping stove since 1972 and much prefer it to the ones using propane cylinders. Pros - uses coleman fuel or unleaded gasoline, easy to start the burners, very durable, one full tank was more than enough to cook eggs, pancakes, toast, rice, stew, and coffee for breakfast and dinner each day for 2 people. Cons - need to repressurize the tank every 30 minutes of use, not as compact as propane stoves, on my old stove the tank developed a leak near the seam probably from internal rust, refilling the tank can be messy if you spill the fuel.

Was this review helpful? (118) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
sonu
Iselin, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Great Stove
12/2/2013

Customer review by martysanjose

5.0 stars 12/2/2013 by martysanjose
by martysanjose
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Very good stove for car camping, outdoor cooking of fish or fried chicken if you don't want the smell or splatter in your kitchen. My in-laws did a lot of the deep frying outdoors with their older Coleman which we still have but it is longer (22") vs this one which is only 17" long and length does make a big difference in weight and compactness. I like the new safety feature where you cannot fill it while attached to the stove in the operating position; you must disconnect it to access the tank cap. One minor complaint is that the manual is not clear on how many turns it takes to "loosen" the primer pump. I struggled for a while until I figured out it takes about 6-10 turns of the primer knob to where air is "easily" pumped in. If it is difficult to pump the primer initially, turn the knob a few more times and it works smoothly and easily. I have read several reviews where users complained that the flame was yellow with no blue flame (a result of insufficient pressure in the tank) and they gave up giving the product a bad undeserved rating. I love mine. I rated the durability high due to the longevity of my in-law's Coleman which must be at least 40 years old and still going strong at home....

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
martysanjose
Morgan Hill
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
5/23/2013

Customer review by TheBenician

5.0 stars 5/23/2013 by TheBenician
by TheBenician
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The Coleman gas stove is a classic. They've been around for decades because they work so well and are so reliable. The real question is "gas vs. propane". Here's a great reason to go with gas: With gas, you can always know that your tank is full before you set off on a trip. With propane, it's not possible to top off those individual canisters, and any canister that's been used at all is one that's no longer full. With propane, you'll collect a lot of canisters that might be nearly full, half full, nearly empty . . . If you don't want to waste fuel, you'll bring the whole collection with you on a trip. It's so much easier to use gas and simply top off your tank before you go. One gallon of camp gas = 4 1/2 propane cylinders. Gas is also great because you'll have a ready supply in an emergency . . . it's in your vehicle.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TheBenician
Benicia, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Stove for years of service
7/2/2011

Customer review by Puck25

4.0 stars 7/2/2011 by Puck25
by Puck25

This Coleman stove is a classic. The dual fuel is a nice feature. I used the stove for a three day trip and did not use half of the stove's tank. I would image that a gallon of Coleman camp fuel will last me for a long time. The price is a bit high compared to a propane stove, but I think you will make back your money due to the high cost of propane. Make sure you read the instructions. It does take the stove about a min to get the fuel line heated up. This was explained in the instructions. Overall, a great stove for a campsite.

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Puck25
Kentucky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Good, practical camping stove
8/5/2009

Customer review by 2geezers

5.0 stars 8/5/2009 by 2geezers
by 2geezers

This product has met our expectations. Its dual fuel flexibility makes it a very practical choice. We have already tried the gasoline fuel option and it worked perfectly. The little gasoline I put in the tank seemed to last quite a long time. The only negative I found is that it is very difficult to drain any remaining fuel from the tank after the burners are turned off and the unit has cooled down.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
2geezers
Mason, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
7/7/2008

Customer review by Ferrin

5.0 stars 7/7/2008 by Ferrin
by Ferrin

had it for over four years and i couldn't ask for any thing better just toke it camping the other day and it still works just as good as when i first bout it

Was this review helpful? (30) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Ferrin
crestview,fl.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Colman Dual Fuel stove
10/30/2012

Customer review by DanO7

5.0 stars 10/30/2012 by DanO7
by DanO7
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I purchased this stove for occassional out door use and for emergencys. It is amazeing how long it will go with just a small amount of fuel. It does cook fast, but I like that. I purchased a camp coffee perculator to try it out on the coleman stove. Works great. So far, i've only used coleman fuel, and will probably not use gasoline unless I have to. I also have a coleman 2 burner propane stove. I have had this for at least 20 years, and it still works good. I like the dual fuel better because it is easier and cheaper to operate. I would recommend this stove to anyone who is shopping for an outdoor/camping stove.

Was this review helpful? (11) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DanO7
Tennessee
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent Stove
8/22/2012

Customer review by happy2000usa

5.0 stars 8/22/2012 by happy2000usa
by happy2000usa

This stove, with minor refinements, has been around forever. It served me well as a kid. It serves me well now. One minor problem. If you use this stove to heat the camping oven, the bottom of the stove gets very hot from the reflected heat, so you want to make sure the stove isn't resting on something that's flammable/meltable.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
happy2000usa
California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Excellent!
6/21/2010

Customer review by OldTimer9

5.0 stars 6/21/2010 by OldTimer9
by OldTimer9

Totally terrific. Rather just like I remembered from long ago camping times. Maybe, though, the sides now have even stronger metal. Really looks great and works effortlessly. A wonderful Coleman product for camping ease and pleasure.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
OldTimer9
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
love to camp.
12/30/2008

Customer review by jafda

5.0 stars 12/30/2008 by jafda
by jafda

i received my first coleman camp stove in 1964. I just purchased my second stove this year 2008. this one should last me the rest of my life.. my coleman stove is the best! jd

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jafda
stockton, ca.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Great product......
2/20/2014

Customer review by trauts

5.0 stars 2/20/2014 by trauts
by trauts
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

bot 2, one is for use at home as emergency cooking source. second is a direct replacement of the 40 year old Coleman stove at my "off the grid" desert place. these stoves are added to dual fuel Coleman lanterns equipment. being dual fuel adds flexibility, eliminates having several small propane cylinders on hand. Coleman has sold millions of these, have a 5 yr. warranty, replacement parts are available at Walmart, hardware stores, or Coleman factory service. Had these stoves for family camping and boy scouts continuously since the 1950s, given minimal care they'll last over 40 years.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
trauts
jefferson city, mo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Perfect
9/2/2009

Customer review by Fireguy90

5.0 stars 9/2/2009 by Fireguy90
by Fireguy90

You gotta love Coleman products! This little stove worked wonderfully even in high wind conditions. Boils water in just a few minutes! I cooked with this and a small propane grill. I used 2 tanks (small ones) of propane and only a half gallon of Coleman Fuel and I used the stove more then the grill! Great buy!!! You need one of these stoves

Was this review helpful? (10) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Fireguy90
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
the best
2/26/2009

Customer review by cooking4family

5.0 stars 2/26/2009 by cooking4family
by cooking4family

had a regular coleman fuel stove in past and loved it.Really like this one because of the duel fuel. I will use coleman fuel on a regular basis but nice to have the option at a reasonable price.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cooking4family
Greenville,Ky.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Coleman Stove
8/15/2012

Customer review by ashopper1

5.0 stars 8/15/2012 by ashopper1
by ashopper1

I bought this for a camping trip I was going on and it worked perfectly. The price on the web site was actually less than the store price and free pickup at the store. I wanted the dual fuel type because I already had a dual fuel lantern and I think it costs less to run than propane.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ashopper1
New Hampshire
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Great little stove
9/29/2012

Customer review by BUTX

5.0 stars 9/29/2012 by BUTX
by BUTX
Top 500 contributor

Have not used this one yet have had one of these years ago. Bought this for emergency use at home. Make sure you buy this online at walmart.com it is $20 cheaper than in the stor. Online $79 In Store $98.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BUTX
Burleson, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Top 500 contributor
1-20 of 86 total reviews
1-20 of 86 reviews