Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 4.8out of 5 stars
4.8 out of 5 | 100 reviews
5 stars
82
4 stars
15
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 stars
2
Sort by: 
1-20 of 90 reviews
1-20 of 90 reviews
Great for camping, or emergency use.
2/13/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have had mine now for about 6 years. We have propane stoves, but find that the Coleman liquid fuel stoves more cost effective to use even though the initial purchase price is higher for the stove. Operation is simple, Fill the tank, pump it up, turn the valve on the main burner, light it, let it warm up, turn on the secondary burner and light it if needed. Adjust to desired flame height. We have used our current Coleman stove, and a previous Coleman dual fuel stove for everything from camping trips in Canada, Oregon, Arizona, Texas, Oklahoma, Arkansas, and Mexico. Our current stove has seen us through both Hurricane Rita in 2005, and Hurricane Ike in 2008. We own or have owned a small shed full of camping gear of all sorts of descriptions, the Coleman Multi Fuel stoves, and among the best pieces of camping equipment in our collection. These are the stoves I remember from my scouting camping trips of the 1970s and 1980s. And I bet those old stoves are still in use!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (89)No (4)
Report
Was this review helpful?
The ultimate in efficiency
5/30/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Top 500 contributer
There is a reason that the Coleman stove has been THE stove of choice for campers since the 1920's with very minimal design changes. In fact, the Coleman stove has remained almost completely unchanged since 1960. The only thing better than this Duel Fuel two burner stove would be the larger unit Coleman stoves that give you more space for cooking. The Duel Fuel capability is accomplished primarily by increased diameter fuel tubing in the generator. In other words, there is no magic or rocket science that makes the use of automobile gasoline possible. It is well known in camping circles that Duel Fuel stoves will technically work with automotive gasoline, but they will become testy with use as the automotive fuel additives start gumming up the internals of the stove. Even with a Duel Fuel stove, you are well advised to use Coleman fuel unless you are in a pinch and cannot find Coleman fuel. Given a choice between this liquid fuel Coleman Stove and the propane models, I prefer the liquid fuel stoves.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (50)No (5)
Report
Was this review helpful?
WOW! Just like I remember!
10/25/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
We used a Coleman stove back in the 70's and it was great...cooked REAL breakfast and suppers for hours, for five people with no problems. Because of rust and problems with replacement parts, we recently ordered a new one. Well............it burned with an orange flame which, no matter what we did, would not go away. Thank goodness, Walmart took it back, and we ordered another, exactly the same, from Walmart online. This one is a beauty......after one minute of lighting, the little bit of orange in the flame went away, and it burned a beautiful blue, just like we remember. The stove did have a dent in it, like we've read in reviews, but I wouldn't send it back because of that. Also, we,ve compaired this stove to the old (60's or 70's) model sitting on our back porch right now, and, yes, it's a little smaller and more compact, and a little lighter. Do you REALLY want it bigger and heavier?? It is quite sturdy, good quality, all you need, and we can't wait to go camping again!!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (17)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
25+ years going strong
11/1/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
My mom won this in a radio contest about 25-ish years ago and it has been used on many camping trips since. Years passed and it began to act up, and then got shoved to the side. Recently, I saved it from being sold off in a yard sale and was determined to get it going again. After a little bit of messing around I figured out the problem was that the pump seal had gone dry. A little bit of wd-40 fixed that problem, and it was running great again. I have used it several times since, using it to boil pots of water and such, and plan on taking it with me on next trip I make to a state park nearby. It puts out good heat, as good as or better than our electric induction stove inside. It lights about as well as I would expect from a gas stove, but I still recommend using nothing shorter than a kitchen match or a bbq lighter. The farther away your hands are the better. It holds up weight well, I tested this with a 6 qt. cast iron pot full of water and didn't give a sign of trouble. Overall I would say it has a good time-tested design, being simple, durable, reliable, and easy to use with a bit of practice.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Love the fuel source options - a bit hard to clean
6/26/2012
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
As a life-long disaster preparedness promoter I've long wanted a camp stove that can run on unleaded gas - what is likely to be the major liquid fuel source (available in cars) when the store shelves are emptied and there is no power to run gas station pumps after our long-overdue major quake in Southern California happens, affecting more than 23 million people. So I'm really glad this classic dependable and durable stove now has the dual fuel option. We decided to try to grill ribs and heat baked beans as our inaugural "backyard test drive" meal. The beans heated very quickly. The meat took a little longer than expected yet turned out delicious. The only drawback was the clean up. It was hard to get the grease out of the bottom of the stove and from under the "ledge." So we will be cooking only in foil pouches or using pots and pans when we go to the Grand Canyon later this summer - so as to avoid the time it takes to clean up dripping juices or grease.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (24)No (8)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Indispensable for camping
5/24/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
With this Coleman Dual Fuel 2-Burner Stove, coupled with Coleman's 2-Mantle Dual Fuel Lantern, you will have two of the most useful items for camping. Both share the same ability to use liquid fuel. And as a result, if you leave home with full tanks, you can get days and months of use before you have to refill the tanks. Much better in my opinion than buying and throwing away propane tanks which empty quickly. The stove itself is much more flexible in use than just a grill. Use it to boil water for spaghetti or dish water. Throw a griddle or frying pan on and you have a wonderful way to make pancakes or eggs. In the evening, pop some popcorn over the burner. The stove is easy to clean, is quite portable, everything including the tank stores in on itself, and if properly maintained should outlast you.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (75)No (11)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Affordable and useable
11/7/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
This is to use while camping to avoid heating up the camper.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
good camping stove
6/18/2008
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I've used this type of camping stove since 1972 and much prefer it to the ones using propane cylinders. Pros - uses coleman fuel or unleaded gasoline, easy to start the burners, very durable, one full tank was more than enough to cook eggs, pancakes, toast, rice, stew, and coffee for breakfast and dinner each day for 2 people. Cons - need to repressurize the tank every 30 minutes of use, not as compact as propane stoves, on my old stove the tank developed a leak near the seam probably from internal rust, refilling the tank can be messy if you spill the fuel.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (119)No (5)
Report
Was this review helpful?
5/23/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
The Coleman gas stove is a classic. They've been around for decades because they work so well and are so reliable. The real question is "gas vs. propane". Here's a great reason to go with gas: With gas, you can always know that your tank is full before you set off on a trip. With propane, it's not possible to top off those individual canisters, and any canister that's been used at all is one that's no longer full. With propane, you'll collect a lot of canisters that might be nearly full, half full, nearly empty . . . If you don't want to waste fuel, you'll bring the whole collection with you on a trip. It's so much easier to use gas and simply top off your tank before you go. One gallon of camp gas = 4 1/2 propane cylinders. Gas is also great because you'll have a ready supply in an emergency . . . it's in your vehicle.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (8)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great Stove
12/2/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Very good stove for car camping, outdoor cooking of fish or fried chicken if you don't want the smell or splatter in your kitchen. My in-laws did a lot of the deep frying outdoors with their older Coleman which we still have but it is longer (22") vs this one which is only 17" long and length does make a big difference in weight and compactness. I like the new safety feature where you cannot fill it while attached to the stove in the operating position; you must disconnect it to access the tank cap. One minor complaint is that the manual is not clear on how many turns it takes to "loosen" the primer pump. I struggled for a while until I figured out it takes about 6-10 turns of the primer knob to where air is "easily" pumped in. If it is difficult to pump the primer initially, turn the knob a few more times and it works smoothly and easily. I have read several reviews where users complained that the flame was yellow with no blue flame (a result of insufficient pressure in the tank) and they gave up giving the product a bad undeserved rating. I love mine. I rated the durability high due to the longevity of my in-law's Coleman which must be at least 40 years old and still going strong at home....
Was this review helpful?
Yes (11)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Stove for years of service
7/2/2011
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This Coleman stove is a classic. The dual fuel is a nice feature. I used the stove for a three day trip and did not use half of the stove's tank. I would image that a gallon of Coleman camp fuel will last me for a long time. The price is a bit high compared to a propane stove, but I think you will make back your money due to the high cost of propane. Make sure you read the instructions. It does take the stove about a min to get the fuel line heated up. This was explained in the instructions. Overall, a great stove for a campsite.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (14)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Colman Dual Fuel stove
10/30/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I purchased this stove for occassional out door use and for emergencys. It is amazeing how long it will go with just a small amount of fuel. It does cook fast, but I like that. I purchased a camp coffee perculator to try it out on the coleman stove. Works great. So far, i've only used coleman fuel, and will probably not use gasoline unless I have to. I also have a coleman 2 burner propane stove. I have had this for at least 20 years, and it still works good. I like the dual fuel better because it is easier and cheaper to operate. I would recommend this stove to anyone who is shopping for an outdoor/camping stove.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (13)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Good, practical camping stove
8/5/2009
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This product has met our expectations. Its dual fuel flexibility makes it a very practical choice. We have already tried the gasoline fuel option and it worked perfectly. The little gasoline I put in the tank seemed to last quite a long time. The only negative I found is that it is very difficult to drain any remaining fuel from the tank after the burners are turned off and the unit has cooled down.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (7)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
7/7/2008
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
had it for over four years and i couldn't ask for any thing better just toke it camping the other day and it still works just as good as when i first bout it
Was this review helpful?
Yes (30)No (6)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Excellent Stove
8/22/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This stove, with minor refinements, has been around forever. It served me well as a kid. It serves me well now. One minor problem. If you use this stove to heat the camping oven, the bottom of the stove gets very hot from the reflected heat, so you want to make sure the stove isn't resting on something that's flammable/meltable.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (7)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great product......
2/20/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
bot 2, one is for use at home as emergency cooking source. second is a direct replacement of the 40 year old Coleman stove at my "off the grid" desert place. these stoves are added to dual fuel Coleman lanterns equipment. being dual fuel adds flexibility, eliminates having several small propane cylinders on hand. Coleman has sold millions of these, have a 5 yr. warranty, replacement parts are available at Walmart, hardware stores, or Coleman factory service. Had these stoves for family camping and boy scouts continuously since the 1950s, given minimal care they'll last over 40 years.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (5)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
love to camp.
12/30/2008
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
i received my first coleman camp stove in 1964. I just purchased my second stove this year 2008. this one should last me the rest of my life.. my coleman stove is the best! jd
Was this review helpful?
Yes (7)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Excellent!
6/21/2010
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Totally terrific. Rather just like I remembered from long ago camping times. Maybe, though, the sides now have even stronger metal. Really looks great and works effortlessly. A wonderful Coleman product for camping ease and pleasure.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (6)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Perfect
9/2/2009
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
You gotta love Coleman products! This little stove worked wonderfully even in high wind conditions. Boils water in just a few minutes! I cooked with this and a small propane grill. I used 2 tanks (small ones) of propane and only a half gallon of Coleman Fuel and I used the stove more then the grill! Great buy!!! You need one of these stoves
Was this review helpful?
Yes (11)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
the best
2/26/2009
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
had a regular coleman fuel stove in past and loved it.Really like this one because of the duel fuel. I will use coleman fuel on a regular basis but nice to have the option at a reasonable price.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (5)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184642861, DC-prod-dal3, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-10.1.1, SHA-cd91c60c037ec69024941e99664518ad4edafe94, CID-