Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 631 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

3.5 stars

631 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

3.5 stars

631 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

69%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
298
4 stars
125
3 stars
33
2 stars
39
1 stars
136
1-20 of 468 total reviews
69%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 468 total reviews
1-20 of 468 reviews
SO FAR SO GOOD! HAVEN'T HAD IT LONG??
10/6/2010

Customer review by Maryah

5.0 stars 10/6/2010 by Maryah
by Maryah

I was iffy about buying this. I had a Magnavox for 14 years that quit, I ran out and got a cheap Philco, it only lasted 5 months?? This one looks similar to the Philco but is made a lot sturdier! I like Magnavox products. I was confused by "No Tuner"? I guess it doesn't matter with "Cable TV" because it works just fine. My day's are busy and I like to record Movies off LMN. I have tons of "Christmas" movies on VHS I watch non-stop in December. 8-) I hope it holds up!! Real easy to hook up, I didn't have to get one of my kids to do it! Ha!! If this one quits "I'll be back"! to re-review it!!

Was this review helpful? (71) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Maryah
MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
These are Hard to Find!
1/25/2010

Customer review by MrsWelker

5.0 stars 1/25/2010 by MrsWelker
by MrsWelker

These VCR-DVD combination players are very difficult to find nowadays. We have had no problems with ours whatsoever.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MrsWelker
Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
GREAT VALUE BECAUSE NO TUNER!
10/7/2010

Customer review by Cheddarhead

4.0 stars 10/7/2010 by Cheddarhead
by Cheddarhead

I was reading some of the negative reviews. These folks want to be able to record one program while watching another. YOU NEED A VCR WITH A TUNER TO DO THIS! There is NOTHING wrong with this machine. Don't give it one star because you bought the wrong product. A "tuner" is the section of your VCR and your TV that does just what it says... it "tunes-in" a particular channel. In order to be able to watch one program and record another, BOTH the TV and the VCR need to have tuners. You "tune in" one channel on the TV to watch, and a second channel on the VCR to record. Again, you obviously cannot do this if the VCR doesn't have a tuner! I hope this clears it up.

Was this review helpful? (443) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Cheddarhead
La Crosse, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
OK so far
5/6/2009

Customer review by ParkRangerKeith

4.0 stars 5/6/2009 by ParkRangerKeith
by ParkRangerKeith

Bought two of these at a Wal Mart store. Both worked fine so far. The DVD player has excellent audio and video quality. The VCR player works well, has two search speeds, will reverse or go to play almost instantly during search mode. Only bad thing is both VCR units have weak audio out (DVD audio is fine). You have to really crank the volume to hear properly, which causes continuous hiss and noise. Even video tapes recorded on a $170 Magnavox DVD recorder/VCR recorder with digital tuner have weak audio on these players. If you're looking for a player to watch your video tape collections on, don't buy this unit. For strictly DVD watching, you can't beat the price.

Was this review helpful? (380) (27)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ParkRangerKeith
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Very convenient to be able to watch video or dvd
6/16/2013

Customer review by PlainfieldShopper

3.0 stars 6/16/2013 by PlainfieldShopper
by PlainfieldShopper

We purchased this unit from Walmart 7 months ago. It has served very well and conveniently. We also have an LG Blu-Ray player which we rarely use since we only have a few blu-ray discs and we have to rearrange our cords every time we use it as it requires the same cords as other equipment. In the last couple of months we have been noticing an increase in skipping etc. from the Magnavox and today we decided to try the disc in our LG player. We were surprised by the vastly improved picture quality as well as the fact that the LG only hung up a few times, as opposed to MANY times on the Magnavox. I am going to purchase a cleaner for the disc reader (lens) and see if that improves the Magnavox performance, but I just thought I would give you a heads up on a potential quality issue. I will try to update this later. We are also investing in a disc cleaner to see if we can do anything about the scratches on some of our older discs.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PlainfieldShopper
Plainfield, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
HUNK O JUNK!
8/20/2009

Customer review by BlahDeeBlahBlahBlah

1.0 stars 8/20/2009 by BlahDeeBlahBlahBlah
by BlahDeeBlahBlahBlah

I got this set for christmas last year and two months later the DVD side quit working. Well, we had bought the replacement plan so I sent it back but I had to PAY the difference to replace what broke. So, finally, I got a new one and fresh out of the box, it didn't work. Took it back, got a third one, fresh out of the box, it didn't work. If you want to waste your time, money, and gas, then go ahead and buy the hunk of junk, otherwise, I wouldn't.

Was this review helpful? (82) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BlahDeeBlahBlahBlah
Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
No More Combos
1/1/2010

Customer review by chickiemama

2.0 stars 1/1/2010 by chickiemama
by chickiemama

The VCR portion of this unit went out right after the 90 day warranty period expired. I don't recall ever owning a product before that quit right after the warranty went out. Lucky? Maybe. I also own another combo unit in which the DVD player went out, although it took that unit over three years to break. Magnavox does not seem to be as good of quality as it may have been before. I wouldn't buy another.

Was this review helpful? (90) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
chickiemama
West Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
What I expected
3/15/2010

Customer review by MTBugger

4.0 stars 3/15/2010 by MTBugger
by MTBugger

This is a no-frills machine that allows the kids to still watch the old VCR tapes and dad doesn't need to worry about them breaking it in 6 months for the price. Hooked up easily and without any extras needed.

Was this review helpful? (212) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MTBugger
PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
This is not a great product
11/4/2010

Customer review by cat1227

3.0 stars 11/4/2010 by cat1227
by cat1227

I always liked Magnavox products so when I saw this combination VCR/DVD machine I decided to purchase it. The VCR is great for recording as well as playback -no complaints. However, the DVD side of this is not good. My biggest complaint is that the sound quality is terrible. Even turning the volume up as high as it could go didnt help. It was so low I could barely hear it. I thought at first I had a defective machine or I did something wrong when I connected it, so I called Magnavox and they walked me through set up just in case. I had everything wired correctly but still it was the same. I realized that it must be a defect in the machine when I found out another family member had the exact same machine with the same problem. So the best I can do is play my VHS tapes in it. I wont buy another combo machine from Magnavox again.

Was this review helpful? (12) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cat1227
Pennsylvania
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
A good deal for the money
12/2/2010

Customer review by QuinnandAnnaMom

5.0 stars 12/2/2010 by QuinnandAnnaMom
by QuinnandAnnaMom

Bought this VCR/DVD player when our old one from the early 1990s broke. It is used by my preschool daughter and has worked perfectly since we took it out of the box. One note though, if you are connecting it to a cable or satellite dish and TV setup you will need an Rf modulator box for about $20 (there is no video in video out coaxial cabling option). But at only $67.00 online, it works great as both a VCR and DVD player.

Was this review helpful? (36) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
QuinnandAnnaMom
Pullman, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Buyer beware-
12/31/2011

Customer review by JBCA

1.0 stars 12/31/2011 by JBCA
by JBCA

The notation on the box says "Tuner not Included: A cable box, satellite box, or other tuner source is required for recording live television". I have DirectTV, plus was not needing to record live TV (I do this with my DirectTV box), so thought it was good to go. Spent all day trying to play a DVD. Called the manufacuturer and DirectTV, and unless you have the red, yellow, white RCA connections on your TV, you won't be able to play DVDs. My old TV doesn't have these, just a coaxial connection (which worked fine with my Sony DVD/VHS), but the Magnavox does not have a coxial connetion so it could not be connected to my DirectTV box, and my TV does not have RCA connections. DirectTV is sending me a modulator (free of charge) so that I can hook this up to my TV. So, if your TV is old like mine, and doesn't have the red, white and yellow RCA connections do not buy this, because even if you have cable or satellite, it won't work.

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JBCA
Would recommend to a friend? No
3/13/2011

Customer review by Thursday

5.0 stars 3/13/2011 by Thursday
by Thursday

works well, easy to setup. My mom loves it.

Was this review helpful? (26) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Thursday
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Horrible at any price
9/14/2009

Customer review by DVDmate

1.0 stars 9/14/2009 by DVDmate
by DVDmate

Value is a meaningless word when a product offers none. Despite the attractive price, as consumers we have minimum expectations of quality and functionality. The Magnavox DV220MW9 appears to fail miserably in this regard by offering a product which is neither functional nor a good value. A lot has been said about the fact that this is a "tunerless" VCR. What that basically means is that unless you have a set-top cable box with RCA outputs, you cannot record television shows off the air with a standard coaxial antenna. You are dependent on the cable or satellite provider's set-top box to record television programming via the composite RCA connectors which strangely don't offer even stereo audio input. It lacks the standard coaxial RF connector that is standard equipment in virtually all VCRs produced since the 1970s. Given the fact that DVD, and now Blu-Ray, has fundamentally replaced the venerable VCR this may or may not be a deal-breaker. The most unfortunate failing of this unit is the inability to perform even the simplest task: reading a DVD. I purchased two of these units from two different stores and found to my dismay that both failed to playback DVDs without excessive jitter, digital block noise, or errors. Brand new, out of the box discs and older discs seemed to make little difference as neither would read acceptably. Apparently, I'm not the only one to discover this problem. Folks, don't let the price fool you. This is a terrible product at any price. Save your clams for a better model.

Was this review helpful? (388) (73)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DVDmate
Albuquerque, NM
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Just the Basics
12/21/2010

Customer review by redrosesue

5.0 stars 12/21/2010 by redrosesue
by redrosesue

If you're looking for a basic, affordable VCR/DVD player without ANY bells or whistles, this is the unit for you. Not even a digital readout, this machine does what it's suppose to: play VCRs or DVDs.

Was this review helpful? (22) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
redrosesue
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
limited usefulness
10/9/2008

Customer review by hosstoride

1.0 stars 10/9/2008 by hosstoride
by hosstoride

Bought one day and returned it the next. Will not connect via coax to tv. Must have composite, component or s-video inputs on tv to connect. Also, lack of a tuner means you need to have several extra pieces of equipment to use this set.

Was this review helpful? (156) (23)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
hosstoride
Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Worth the $
9/10/2010

Customer review by Suzanne444

5.0 stars 9/10/2010 by Suzanne444
by Suzanne444

We purchased two of these -- the first one worked great -- then my spouse used pliers to remove a DVD -- busted. Bought a 2nd one -- and it works great. It's worth the money and we can watch both DVD's and VCR tapes.

Was this review helpful? (33) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Suzanne444
Mid-Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
life spam: 2 years
11/8/2008

Customer review by sharedcdc

3.0 stars 11/8/2008 by sharedcdc
by sharedcdc

I purchased this product in 11/06. After 1 year I started having problems with the unit. In order to play either side (DVD or VCR), I would have to insert a DVD or VHS on the other side AND STOP IT!!!!!!!!! Strange. I dealt with this for 6 months and then one day, It was not working any more. I decided to contact customer service for assistance. I was told that I was lucky It worked for so long. I was advised to move on. The unit has served it's purpose. Unabelievable but true. Today, I think the unit is finally dead. I don't think I can get it to work, no matter what I try. SAD.

Was this review helpful? (32) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
sharedcdc
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Do not buy this
4/1/2010

Customer review by prettydisappointed

1.0 stars 4/1/2010 by prettydisappointed
by prettydisappointed

This VCR/DVD combo not worth the money. Wanted to record, found out I could not do that unless I buy other parts. Wanted to tape a TV show, stations 1 - 29 can't be received, then wanted to view tapes I recorded from TV. Looks like the tracking is having a nervous breakdown. No matter what I do it won't track right. All I can do is view DVD's on this unit. If the VCR won't play VCR's what good is it? I made 3 calls to Magnvox support, who were very nice to me, but they finally told me to return it.

Was this review helpful? (39) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
prettydisappointed
Oklahoma
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Going Strong!
5/5/2010

Customer review by Gypsyli

5.0 stars 5/5/2010 by Gypsyli
by Gypsyli

I use my DVD/VCR player every night to go to sleep by and it's still working great! Haven't had any problem since I bought it and have had it for two years or more. Couldn't sleep without it. Great product. I highly recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? (20) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Gypsyli
North Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
What a Deal!
4/6/2011

Customer review by MaggieRay

5.0 stars 4/6/2011 by MaggieRay
by MaggieRay

I needed a replacement DVD/VHS player & didn't want to spend a lot of $, didn't care if it had Blu-Ray etc. Wanted a simple to use product. This Magnavox player fit all my requirements. It used the same cables as my old one, but came with new cables. Installed & working in 2 minutes. The footprint is smaller than the old one, too and the remote is simple and easy to read. Highly recommended! Online order & in store pick-up was a breeze, too. Great service, Thanks Wal-Mart for another customer-service innovation.

Was this review helpful? (15) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MaggieRay
Chicago Metro
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 468 total reviews
1-20 of 468 reviews