Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 472 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

472 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

472 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

91%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
291
4 stars
103
3 stars
24
2 stars
22
1 stars
32
1-20 of 432 total reviews
91%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 432 total reviews
1-20 of 432 reviews
Save your money
2/11/2017

Customer review by Trav

1.0 stars 2/11/2017 by Trav
by Trav

I wanted to buy a spot bot but walmart no longer has it in store so I settled for this. I've used it 2 times and found it has very poor suction a squirt bottle and my shop vac does a better job

Comment from Rick - 2/15/2017

We're sorry to hear this, Trav - you should definitely have better suction that this. These steps will help to ensure you're getting the best suction possible: https://www.bissell.com/support/helpful-resources/faqs/faq-detail-page?id=ea419ebd-2492-4d19-91a4-a3c76c5eae9b&cid=ccsocial2107

Trav
Dayton ohio
Gender:Male
Leaks dirty water from bottom
2/4/2017

Customer review by Don

2.0 stars 2/4/2017 by Don
by Don

We've had this six months, it leaks dirty water out of the bottom ! Keep blaming the dog for accidents cause by poor design!

Comment from Nikki - 2/7/2017

Oh no! The gasket in the dirty water tank could be loose. Give these steps a try to stop any further leaking: https://www.bissell.com/support/helpful-resources/faqs/faq-detail-page?id=799df7ef-6573-4c71-88dd-2bde8b41b08e&cid=ccsocial2107

Don
Gender:Male
How do I get the fibers out of the inside of the clear cover of the cleaning tool?
1/25/2017

Customer review by Dottie

5.0 stars 1/25/2017 by Dottie
by Dottie

I love my Little Green Portable carpet cleaner!. It does an amazing job. My question is I can never seem to get the cleaning tool cleaned thoroughly after use. There are small dirty fibers stuck inside between the sides of the clear cover and the main body of the tool which cannot be rinsed out and there is no way to get even a tiny brush in to clean it. Can the clear plastic cover be removed for cleaning purposes?

Dottie
worked well at first
1/24/2017

Customer review by Gord

2.0 stars 1/24/2017 by Gord
by Gord

Worked for awhile but now sprays black water on the carpets.

Comment from Lisa - 1/24/2017

Oh no - your cleaner definitely should no be spraying black water. Please give us a call so we can help figure out what's wrong. 1-800-237-7691.

Gord
Janesville, WI, USA
Gender:Male
Does a good job spot cleaning, but, fur collects in the sprayer head and dirty solution bin
8/21/2016

Customer review by ElvisCat59

3.0 stars 8/21/2016 by ElvisCat59
by ElvisCat59

We've had this model for about five years, while it does spot clean very well when our kitties throw up hairballs, we think the design needs some tweaking, because the sprayer head gets filled with cat fur and hair from the carpet, and there's no real way to get it out of the sprayer head or the dirty solution bin too. We've tried rinsing it with a shower head, stream of water from the sink, using an old toothbrush to get inside to clean it better, but, the sprayer head needs to have a way to remove the plastic end cap in order to really get the collection of hair, fur out of it completely. Also, the dirty solution bin has a strange shape so it's ALSO very hard to remove any fur that collects after carpet cleanings, my husband had to take a garden hose outside and squirt it alot to get most of it out..The sprayer head is the most stubborn because nothing we've tried gets the fur and hair clumps out! Please redesign these issues!

Comment from Rick - 8/23/2016

Thanks so much for the feedback! We think you'll be happy to hear we have taken some of our suggestions and used them in our SpotClean model. This includes a removable clear nozzle on the tool and an easy to clean dirty water tank that can be disassembled! Check it out here: https://www.bissell.com/spotclean-proheat-portable-carpet-cleaner-5207f?cid=ccsocial2107

ElvisCat59
Carol Stream, IL
Gender:Female
Cleaned my old carpet
1/6/2017

Customer review by Houton User

5.0 stars 1/6/2017 by Houton User
by Houton User

Been over a decade since cleaning my wool carpet. The Little Green cleaned better than I expected. Dirt removal is a understatement. In my case it was more like mud. I cannot write enough of how pleased I am. I will clean my carpet more now, since it was so easy and even fun.

Houton User
HOUSTON, TX
Gender:Male
Excellent results
6/2/2014

Customer review by Cath921

5.0 stars 6/2/2014 by Cath921
by Cath921

I bought this Green Machine when I had taken on a stray dog at my last residence to clean up 'accidents' on carpet in the house. It worked excellent for that. Then I moved to a smaller house without the dog and thought about getting rid of it but, I purchased cushions for a day bed I bought that had a 'strange stain' on them. I got them for a good price. They were excellent quality in material. I took them to a professional cleaner thinking the 'green machine' couldn't do the job. They tried their best, even cleaning the cushions two times but this strange stain would not disappear. I think the stain was animal. I think, the previous owners had let animals sleep on these cushions. So having nothing to lose, I tried the 'green machine' on them. They came up beautiful. Whatever the stain was, this cleaning machine dislodged it! They are clean and soft to the touch, unlike before they had been cleaned. This machine gave me results above a professional cleaning!

Cath921
Maryville, TN, USA
Gender:Female
WOW, I get the idiot award for the last 3 years!!!!!
9/14/2015

Customer review by Crystal13

5.0 stars 9/14/2015 by Crystal13
by Crystal13

We've had our Bissell for about 3 years now, and I've never understood why I had to turn the sprayer over and use the other side upside down to suck up the extra moisture. After finally deciding to look online at the specs, low and behold, I'm missing the plastic attachment over the suction area!!!! Life could have been so much easier, couches cleaned in record time, dogs back to slumbering and slobbering upon them in hours not days!!! Just think of all the game shows I missed, all the facebook hours I have to make up, all the texting I am behind all because I didn't bother to read or look at the manual before cleaning.... and for shame, I am a woman. I hang my head. By the way, other than this, I loved using the unit. Scrubbing with the brush and using the unit to the best of it's limited ability really was great. SO I ask you, can I buy this part I need , or will I need to purchase the entire sprayer/extractor? Thank you o'wise and great ones!!!

Crystal13
Jackson, MS, USA
Gender:Female
Not impressed
12/13/2016

Customer review by Tgh

1.0 stars 12/13/2016 by Tgh
by Tgh

Bought the little green machine and it is always leaking water out of the bottom part of it.

Tgh
Columbia mo
upright extender
12/3/2016

Customer review by tC

4.0 stars 12/3/2016 by tC
by tC

I love it for the carpet I have on the stairs. I would like to be able to remove the fuzz that collects in the nozzle that got missed by the vaccuum and would also like to buy an extender so I can stand up to do the larger 4 x5 area rug though.

tC
Kelowna, BC, Canada
Gender:Female
Spray nozzle not working
11/28/2016

Customer review by Darcee

3.0 stars 11/28/2016 by Darcee
by Darcee

Had this machine for several years and recently the spray nozzle does not dispense water when I pull the trigger. I've tried cleaning the nozzle but it still does not work.

Darcee
Wisconsin
Gender:Female
Awesome
11/5/2016

Customer review by Raustlin

5.0 stars 11/5/2016 by Raustlin
by Raustlin

Just bought this little guy and used it on 2 stains that were both over 6 months old. Cleaned it up like a champ access really good suction as the carpet was barely damp afterwards.

Raustlin
Newark, OH
Gender:Male
Great results but parts should be cleanable
5/27/2013

Customer review by amanda42

3.0 stars 5/27/2013 by amanda42
by amanda42

I had an older model of the Little Green and loved it. It was the only appliance ever that I would go out of my way to tell my friends to get. I eventually needed to replace and bought the 1400B. It cleans just as wonderfully, but the area just under the clear window on the cleaning tool very quickly collected trapped pet fur and debris. You cannot remove the window, so the dirt must remain. The waste tank also does not allow you to open it for cleaning and can, even with rinsing after use, collect debris. It is hard to feel that the unit is doing a good job when I take it out to use and it looks dirty. It's unfortunate that such an amazing cleaning product should seem less fantastic than it is because you cannot keep it clean. Sadly, I would purchase a competitor's model if the parts were cleanable, even if it was less robust and I had to replace it more often. Regarding replies to similar posts recommending replacing dirty parts, I feel that replacement is a solution for parts that are broken. Parts that come into contact with dirt as part of their job should be cleanable.

Comment from Lisa - 5/29/2013

The cleaning tools can be cleaned by taking a bowl of water, and suction the water back into the collection tank to push the dirt through. By doing this will clean the upholstery hose also. If possible, dry vacuum before deep cleaning to reduce the dirt in the nozzle. We hope this helps!

amanda42
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Gender:Female
No suction
2/21/2014

Customer review by Octoson

1.0 stars 2/21/2014 by Octoson
by Octoson

My dog yakked on the couch. Took out my new Bissel Little Green machine. What a joke! I could have done a better job with a mop. It has next to zero suction. Sprays nicely heated hot water on, but doesn’t remove but about 10% of it. My couch is now soaked. Using the rest of the tank on some carpet spots, and then refilling the tank once, before the recovery tank was only half full. It has a useless venturi driven power brush that can be used as a brush, or an extraction head, but not both at the same time? Who thinks of this stuff? The spray nozzle puts out a beautiful even spray, about 4 inches wider on both sides than the extraction head, so you’re not able to control what gets wet or not. Like the arms of the sofa. You’re going to soak the cushions and the floor at the same time. Spending more time cleaning up after the machine than the machine does cleaning. This is the worst design ever.

Comment from Joe - 3/3/2014

Depending on the material of your couch, you may want to work in small areas spraying then immediately scrubbing and suctioning back up. This will help eliminate the formula from soaking into the couch making it tough to suction back out of the cushioning. I hope that helps.

Octoson
Simi Valley, CA, USA
Gender:Male
Loses suction, becomes disposable.
10/11/2016

Customer review by WetCarInterior

1.0 stars 10/11/2016 by WetCarInterior
by WetCarInterior

Followed all the suggestions in the FAQ, but still can't get enough suction to remove the water in carpet and upholstery. However, while cleaning the machine, I discovered that it will suction water from a bucket like a champ. It just won't do what it's designed to do. It's not worth the investment to take it for service.

Comment from Rick - 10/12/2016

Well that's odd - if the machine's able to suction water from a bucket that should mean it's working. Is the surface you're trying to clean rather porous? Give us a call and we'd be happy to check and see if anything's wrong! 1-800-237-7691.

WetCarInterior
Portland, OR, USA
Gender:Female
Not sure yet
6/11/2013

Customer review by Stacy

3.0 stars 6/11/2013 by Stacy
by Stacy

I am not sure what I think yet. I might just be using it incorrectly so these may be more questions than reviews. First the sideways spray seems to shoot quite far and hits my furniture near where I am cleaning the carpet? Is that suppose to happen? It seems to be hard to actually hit the stain? Second I have burbur carpets and it seems to be hard to get the water out since there is no give to the brush... Like it cannot suction down tight enough to get all the water out. My suction did not seem to be very strong at all compared to what other people are saying?? Could it be that I have a faulty unit? When I put my hand under it the suction is there but not strong at all.... I have to press really hard down on my carpet and I am worried I am going to ruin my carpet but I needed to get the water out. Plus it did not take out something as simple as spaghetti ?? Any ideas??

Comment from Lisa - 6/13/2013

Thank you for your review. The spray does spray out wide; try to position the tool more in the carpet then on top. This will help. For low suction, please click at the link for our troubleshooting steps. http://www.bissell.com/FAQDetail.aspx?id=1188

Stacy
Minnesota
Gender:Female
20 yr user of this SAME machine!
10/11/2012

Customer review by hkj324

5.0 stars 10/11/2012 by hkj324
by hkj324

This is is one of the BEST and handiest household machines I have ever had! I just finally had to ditch ours after 20 YEARS..YEP! I said TWENTY YEARS. I have used it for all kinds of stains from wine to foot traffic to blue raspberry drinks my son spilled as a toddler (he is now 21) and we also used it to detail both our vehicles! I made my own carpet cleaner concoction only because I am moneywise and know how to get anything but nail polish out of any surface...and do pretty good on nail polish often. I never needed a heating element in mine and figured it was just something else to break. I have tackled larger entry-ways, on my hands and knees, that greyed during winter traffic and snow melts and still got it clean. I did clean & dry out all parts after use so it was taken care of. The only part to ever break was the button that makes the water suck back up on the brush handle, and once that was gone I ditched it. I am here to buy another machine for me and one for my son for Christmas... probably the same Green Machines!! I wish you'd kept the Little Green or Little Black names...can't beat them! WooHoooo!

hkj324
Charlotte, NC, USA
Gender:Female
Best Little Green Yet
8/5/2012

Customer review by noopysma

5.0 stars 8/5/2012 by noopysma
by noopysma

I have owned a Little Green Machine in all it's forms, since it's inception. I could not imagine not having a Little Green in my cleaning arsenal. I use it for everything....carpets (especially track areas) & upholstery both inside my home & in my vehicles. I bought this current version because, after 14 years, my last one finally wore out. The new model I purchased is the one which does NOT heat the water. The hot water from my tap is hot enough to do the job & I feel the extra expense to get the version that heats the water just is not necessary. I find this design is a big improvement to the previous design with regard to the location of the liquid holding containers. A tip I would recommend: Going over the areas you cleaned with just the suction several times after the initial scrubbing & watch the fluid as it moves through the clear part of the cleaning brush until there is very little going through. Remember, the more moisture you extract, the quicker the dry time. I also speed up dry time by turning on my ceiling fans &/or using an ocelating fan. Once again, I would not be without one of these machines.

noopysma
Michigan, USA
Gender:Female
It will break and it's filthy.
11/24/2013

Customer review by Jen

1.0 stars 11/24/2013 by Jen
by Jen

I bought my first Little Green and thought it worked great for occasional spills and pet accidents. Just after a year, the Powered TurboBrush broke. I then had to resort to the smaller tool which lasted a few months. I was out of luck because the 1-year warranty just expired. I thought I may have received a lemon so I decided to buy a new Green Machine and the exact same thing happened. When I told my mom about my disappointment, she told me that her TurboBrush also broke. Aside from my TurboBrushes breaking, the Green Machine has other flaws. The dirty tank is impossible to get clean so it always seems like the machine is filthy. The tank also leaks at the bottom which makes the base get dirty and difficult to clean. It might seem like a good investment at first but based on my experience (times two) and my parents as well, it's a waste of your money.

Comment from Lisa - 11/25/2013

Thank you for your feedback; we're sorry for your disappointment. The tools can be ordered direct at this link: http://www.bissell.com/search.aspx?s=1400&t=Parts&icid=ccrr To loosen the debris in your tank, we recommend putting warm water in the tank and let sit to loosen the debris. To clean the hose, just take a bowl of tap water and suction the water back up. You may have to do this a few time before clean water comes back. We hope this helps you out!

Jen
Great little machine
9/7/2016

Customer review by Azaz

5.0 stars 9/7/2016 by Azaz
by Azaz

I just bought this machine to clean my couch which was covered in spots from the dog. I'm happy to say, it got out every stain & the couch looks like new. It was easy to assemble and use. I'm very happy I purchased this machine.

Azaz
Carbondale, PA
Gender:Female
1-20 of 432 total reviews
1-20 of 432 reviews