Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 148 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

148 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

148 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

94%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
114
4 stars
23
3 stars
4
2 stars
5
1 stars
2
1-20 of 129 total reviews
94%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 129 total reviews
1-20 of 129 reviews
accurate, durable & inexpensive!!
10/19/2009

Customer review by KoensMom

5.0 stars 10/19/2009 by KoensMom
by KoensMom

I've been through probably 4 thermometers since my son was born (now 4) & this one by far is the best!! It has lastest the longest (goin strong on 2 years) & it is the most accurate one I've bought!! I'm a nurse & its even more accurate than the ones we use at work! I even tried the new temporal scanner & it doesnt "slide" well across the forehead when your child has a fever & is sweating! The only thing I would add is dont forget to pull your infant/child's ear up & back to open the ear canal for a more accurate reading!

Was this review helpful? (104) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KoensMom
MP, Iowa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Great product
10/15/2010

Customer review by LovingWImommy

5.0 stars 10/15/2010 by LovingWImommy
by LovingWImommy

I did alot of research before I picked this thermometer. My daughter is a year old and the old rectal thermometer was a struggle. She wouldnt stay still for the ten seconds it needed, and I was afraid with all of her protesting I would hurt her. I looked at the reviews and I didnt know what to think. Half said it was junk, but the other half said it was perfect and accurate. For nearly 40$ I didnt want to pay for someting that others said was junk. I went ahead and bought it anyways because my dauaghter had a fever and I had no way to check it. I was so happy with this product. I read the instructions,(you cant use the ear that was resting on a pillow or blanket) and tested it on myself about a dozen times and in both ears, the readings were always within .2 of the previous temp. Pretty accurate. I was 98.7. So I went in my daughters room and checked it while she was sleeping. She didnt even wake up, the beep was queit enough not to wake her but loud enouth for me to hear. The indicator light was helpful in making sure it was inserted correctly and taken correctly. and in case you dont hear the beep you can just watch for when the green light goes out. It only takes about two seconds. I checked her ear three times and I got the same reading within .2 degrees. 102.7, 102.5, and 102.7. I absolutely love this product and recomend it to everyone. It works with adults and squirming toddlers. It was well worth the 40$. And if anyone is skeptical like i was the cashier told me if i didnt like it i could return it.

Was this review helpful? (61) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LovingWImommy
WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Still the best after 18 yrs
1/29/2011

Customer review by TheMom101

5.0 stars 1/29/2011 by TheMom101
by TheMom101

When my daughter was 1, she had ear infection after ear infection with her temp running as high as 104. The standard rectal, or axillary thermometers, weren't really a doable option when I had to check her temp so often. Then one day I came across a Braun Thermoscan HM-1. It was $75 dollars, which was a big investment then. I fell in love with it immediately. It was the one item that made taking her temp not the horrendous task that it had been. It always gave an accurate reading, batteries lasted forever, it was wonderful. Since it worked so well, I decided to try another brand of thermometer of this type. I put batteries in it, used it one time, put it in the drawer and went back to "old faithful". I was never able to get an actual reading with it. Last week, I decided to buy another one, but this time stuck with the Braun Thermoscan. I brought it home, it came with batteries already installed, turned it on and tried it out. Perfect, just like the HM-1. What did I do with my HM-1, it is still taking accurate readings, so, I sent it home with my, now almost 19yr old baby girl! If you want an electronic thermometer that is accurate, durable, over-all wonderful, you need to stick with Braun Thermoscan. Time is the best judge ever.

Was this review helpful? (15) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TheMom101
Arkansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Reply to last comment
4/25/2009

Customer review by RNmamma

5.0 stars 4/25/2009 by RNmamma
by RNmamma

This product is great. So everyone reading this knows, there is a difference in rectal, underarm, and oral temperatures. Rectal temps are usually higher, as they are internal, while underarm temps are lower, as they are external. Oral is the middle ground. This product is acurate, my opinion is that you maybe educate yourself about what normal temps for your age of child should be.

Was this review helpful? (41) (24)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RNmamma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Wonderful Product
6/10/2009

Customer review by MontanaMommy

5.0 stars 6/10/2009 by MontanaMommy
by MontanaMommy

This ear thermometer is so easy to use, even my husband figure it out, without having to look at the instructions. It is very accurate and my daughter doesn't scream anymore when I go to take her temperature!

Was this review helpful? (19) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MontanaMommy
Absarokee, MT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Great product
1/1/2012

Customer review by TexasHarleyMomma

5.0 stars 1/1/2012 by TexasHarleyMomma
by TexasHarleyMomma

Works well, easy to use, very accurate. However, for it to READ accurately, you MUST use it correctly. It MUST be put all the way INTO the ear canal as far as it will go without hurting - it is meant to take the temperature of the EAR DRUM, not the side of the ear canal. Being a nurse, I have found LOTS of people who can't do it properly, including some nurses and aides in the hospitals. When used properly, it is very accurate - way more so than oral thermometers. Most people don't realize (or care) that oral thermometers are NOT accurate if you have had anything to eat or drink in the past 30 minutes - OR if you breathe through your mouth, it will not be an accurate reading either. This is a must have, in my household - I even take it to the hospital when I have a family member admitted, because the oral temps they take there are NOT accurate!

Was this review helpful? (21) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TexasHarleyMomma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Very basic, but accurate.
11/7/2010

Customer review by Chickiechicky

4.0 stars 11/7/2010 by Chickiechicky
by Chickiechicky

This is a very accurate thermometer. I love that, but there are a few features that I have had in previous ones that I wish this had. It does not have a backlit screen, which means that you cannot read a temperature in the dark, and it does not have a fever alarm which alerts you if the temperature is elevated. Overall I think it is a great product, and much more accurate then the cheaper ear thermometer that I had before this one. I use this on my 2 year old son, as well as myself. It is great.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Chickiechicky
Butler, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Great thermometer
11/30/2010

Customer review by StraightTalkingReviewer

4.0 stars 11/30/2010 by StraightTalkingReviewer
by StraightTalkingReviewer

What I love best about this product is the fact that there is a visual indicator of the thermometer's readiness for use, as well as for when the temperature is taken. My husband is hard of hearing, and he would be unable to use this without those features because he cannot hear the beeps. And my kids love it. They like to play a game for which ear we're going to use for their temperature. I just wish the plastic sheaths that cover the tip were more reasonably priced. With two children (one of whom spikes high fevers when sick), it feels like I am constantly needing to buy more.

Was this review helpful? (8) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
StraightTalkingReviewer
Wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Fast
9/13/2010

Customer review by dkgeorgia

5.0 stars 9/13/2010 by dkgeorgia
by dkgeorgia

My 2 year old is so scared to get his temp checked under his arm. It is so hard to get a temp on him fighting me and trying to keep his arm down until the thermometer beeps. Also, I have some hearing loss and find it hard to hear the beeps on the other thermometers. This one is great because it is very fast, practically instant. It has a light that is easy to see when it is done, as well as a beep that sounds. And the best part is all of my children love to have their temp checked by this.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dkgeorgia
Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Braun provides the best quality and great accuracy
1/24/2014

Customer review by GentlemanlyMan

5.0 stars 1/24/2014 by GentlemanlyMan
by GentlemanlyMan

Raising 4 kids over the last 13 years we have used MANY medical devices. Our first "good" Thermometer was a similar Braun ThermoScan but back then it was like $70! It lasted about 6 years and was great. Our next Thermometer was an Exergen TemporalScanner Infrared Thermometer (also rated 5 Stars) but it only lasted about 3 years then started reading way off temp. So we all got the H1N1 Flu 2 days ago and needed a new Thermometer. Back to the Braun ThermoScan. This newer 1 is even better than the original and since technology has caught up to price it is under $40.00! The only thing that is a "pain" is the probe covers. I wish it had Bluetooth and an App to track readings. I have been getting a lot of the new iHealth Bluetooth integrated products like the Pulse Oximeter so it would be awesome to keep all the data in 1 place. But if you need a quality Thermometer the Braun is awesome and last a long time (quality product).

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GentlemanlyMan
Trophy Club, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Not accurate
4/14/2012

Customer review by AmbersLucky11

2.0 stars 4/14/2012 by AmbersLucky11
by AmbersLucky11

This was a wonderful thermometer...at first. After having it for about six months though the temperatures ended up being way off. The temperatures were not just a little off either they would be multiple degrees off & every parent knows that each degree is the difference between keeping your child comfortable at home or making an emergency trip to the hospital. I found this out the hard way. My son had been feeling pretty warm after his evening bath so I took his temp. It read 98.8. (So 99.8 with the difference between mouth & ear temps.) A little high but nothing to worry about, I chalked it up to a warm bath. About an hour later he still felt warm to me so I took his temp again & it was still 98.8. (Again really 99.8) He looked like he was feeling sicker though so I decided to take his temp with another thermometer before deciding on giving him some medication or not. I took his temp orally this time & I was shocked to see that it was almost 104!! I took him to the hospital where they confirmed his temp was almost 104. In the weeks following this ordeal I tried the thermometer out on myself, my son, & my husband & it was consistently was off. It worked one day & didn't the next. I don't know what happened to make it so off either. We always kept it safely in a cabinet so it would get beat up, cleaned it, & used it properly. Needless to say, I would not buy this thermometer again or would I recommend it to a friend. I'm just glad I had a back up thermometer & didn't trust this one's inaccurate reading.

Was this review helpful? (7) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AmbersLucky11
Redding, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
A very helpful product
1/27/2011

Customer review by wyonative

5.0 stars 1/27/2011 by wyonative
by wyonative

The Braun thermometer works very well for anyone not just baby's. My 4 month old is wiggly that it works well on her. I have actually used it when I was sick as well. Highly recommended for any age.

Was this review helpful? (4) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
wyonative
Gillette, WY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Accurate, quick, and easy
8/30/2012

Customer review by SHMR

5.0 stars 8/30/2012 by SHMR
by SHMR

Braun Thermoscan Ear Thermometer is so easy to use. Just a few seconds in the ear and you have an accurate temperature reading. It is a little expensive, however, anything that reduces stress and makes a sick child more comfortable has definate added value for me.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SHMR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
2/8/2013

Customer review by MomRepair

5.0 stars 2/8/2013 by MomRepair
by MomRepair

Works great. The time it takes to read the temperature takes a few seconds longer than my previous Braun. Also, my previous braun used Lithium batteries. this one uses AA Batteries.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MomRepair
Tonasket, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Works great
2/25/2014

Customer review by purplepickle

5.0 stars 2/25/2014 by purplepickle
by purplepickle

I have used many different thermometers and this one is the only one that seems to work well. It is quick and is accurate. It also take AA batteries which makes it much easier to keep it powered when needed.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
purplepickle
Mansfield, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Quick reading, great product
5/9/2009

Customer review by Violins

4.0 stars 5/9/2009 by Violins
by Violins

I am sure I am not the first parent who has had to try and keep a struggling child steady while waiting 2+ long minutes for the thermometer to register a reading. In this regard, the Braun ThermoScan is ideal. It takes an accurate ear reading in just a few seconds! The probe also does not feel cold to the touch, so my child actually seems to like having her temperature taken. The only drawback so far is that the LCD panel is not back-lit. It is impossible to see the reading in the semi-darkness, and one has to go to a light source to check the measurement. Otherwise, a great product, and Walmart beats everybody else on price.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Violins
Framingham, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
no back light!!
2/8/2015

Customer review by sunshinegirl333333

2.0 stars 2/8/2015 by sunshinegirl333333
by sunshinegirl333333

for $40 bucks, not having a back light really bothers me. Picture this.. It's the middle of the night, Your child is sick with RSV, and a burning fever. You give them medicine, and go in to check if it's gone down and you take their temperature but would have to turn on a bright light in the room just to be able to read it. Come on! What a huge oversight. The temp seems exact though.which is good... when you can read it.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sunshinegirl333333
Would recommend to a friend? No
2/22/2013

Customer review by lkmm789

2.0 stars 2/22/2013 by lkmm789
by lkmm789

I have owned this for a year. It worked perfectly. Now the last couple weeks the button you push to take the temperature sticks and then the it will not work. Off to the store to buy a new thermometer today and not buying this one. Our older ear thermometer lasted 8 years! This one last 1 year! Very disappointed.

Was this review helpful? (3) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Comment from ManufacturerTechSupport - 11/14/2013

I'm sorry to hear that you are having issues with our product. However, this unit l is backed with a limited warranty. Please contact one of our customer support agents and let them know about the issue you're having. You can reach us by calling 1-800-477-0457 (M-F, 8-7PM EST) or by e-mailing ConsumerRelations@kaz.com. Hope this helped!

lkmm789
NYS
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Umm...not waterproof!
6/27/2014

Customer review by Zephyr506

5.0 stars 6/27/2014 by Zephyr506
by Zephyr506

I purchased one of these from another store after my son spiked a temp around 102º and had a febrile seizure. I needed something more accurate than the Babies R Us brand to monitor him over the next couple days. It's one of the most expensive ones out there and for good reason. Very accurate and even stores past readings. Only problem I had with it was when my son tossed it in his very full laundry basket and I didn't find it until I was moving the load to the dryer. Ack! I went online and purchased it again within the hour.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Zephyr506
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Not Waterproof : )
1/30/2009

Customer review by EMSGIRL

5.0 stars 1/30/2009 by EMSGIRL
by EMSGIRL

This has lasted three years until today... my fiance is sick and he went in and wanted to check his temp... next thing you hear is a loud splash and well some interesting words... Does not float or is not waterproof when dropped in toilet by sick fiance... They should leave it to us when they are sick... Product is great in every way and will be heading back to Wal-Mart to pick a new one up... but then again who really wants to use something like this once the drop has been made in the toilet... Good Shopping

Was this review helpful? (4) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
EMSGIRL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
1-20 of 129 total reviews
1-20 of 129 reviews