Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 165 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

165 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

165 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

94%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
127
4 stars
26
3 stars
4
2 stars
5
1 stars
3
1-20 of 145 total reviews
94%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 145 total reviews
1-20 of 145 reviews
Braun provides the best quality and great accuracy
1/24/2014

Customer review by GentlemanlyMan

5.0 stars 1/24/2014 by GentlemanlyMan
by GentlemanlyMan

Raising 4 kids over the last 13 years we have used MANY medical devices. Our first "good" Thermometer was a similar Braun ThermoScan but back then it was like $70! It lasted about 6 years and was great. Our next Thermometer was an Exergen TemporalScanner Infrared Thermometer (also rated 5 Stars) but it only lasted about 3 years then started reading way off temp. So we all got the H1N1 Flu 2 days ago and needed a new Thermometer. Back to the Braun ThermoScan. This newer 1 is even better than the original and since technology has caught up to price it is under $40.00! The only thing that is a "pain" is the probe covers. I wish it had Bluetooth and an App to track readings. I have been getting a lot of the new iHealth Bluetooth integrated products like the Pulse Oximeter so it would be awesome to keep all the data in 1 place. But if you need a quality Thermometer the Braun is awesome and last a long time (quality product).

Was this review helpful? (12) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GentlemanlyMan
Trophy Club, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:A few times per month
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Age:35 - 44
Still the best after 18 yrs
1/29/2011

Customer review by TheMom101

5.0 stars 1/29/2011 by TheMom101
by TheMom101

When my daughter was 1, she had ear infection after ear infection with her temp running as high as 104. The standard rectal, or axillary thermometers, weren't really a doable option when I had to check her temp so often. Then one day I came across a Braun Thermoscan HM-1. It was $75 dollars, which was a big investment then. I fell in love with it immediately. It was the one item that made taking her temp not the horrendous task that it had been. It always gave an accurate reading, batteries lasted forever, it was wonderful. Since it worked so well, I decided to try another brand of thermometer of this type. I put batteries in it, used it one time, put it in the drawer and went back to "old faithful". I was never able to get an actual reading with it. Last week, I decided to buy another one, but this time stuck with the Braun Thermoscan. I brought it home, it came with batteries already installed, turned it on and tried it out. Perfect, just like the HM-1. What did I do with my HM-1, it is still taking accurate readings, so, I sent it home with my, now almost 19yr old baby girl! If you want an electronic thermometer that is accurate, durable, over-all wonderful, you need to stick with Braun Thermoscan. Time is the best judge ever.

Was this review helpful? (31) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TheMom101
Arkansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:45 - 54
Would definitely buy again!
2/25/2017

Customer review by Gotg

5.0 stars 2/25/2017 by Gotg
by Gotg

We love how quick this reads a temperature! Our 20-month-old doesn't fight us like before. We find it to be consistent and accurate. It also saves the last reading so when you go to check a temperature again, it's great to have a quick reminder of what it last was, in case you don't remember or weren't keeping track on your own.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Gotg
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
accurate, durable & inexpensive!!
10/19/2009

Customer review by KoensMom

5.0 stars 10/19/2009 by KoensMom
by KoensMom

I've been through probably 4 thermometers since my son was born (now 4) & this one by far is the best!! It has lastest the longest (goin strong on 2 years) & it is the most accurate one I've bought!! I'm a nurse & its even more accurate than the ones we use at work! I even tried the new temporal scanner & it doesnt "slide" well across the forehead when your child has a fever & is sweating! The only thing I would add is dont forget to pull your infant/child's ear up & back to open the ear canal for a more accurate reading!

Was this review helpful? (132) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KoensMom
MP, Iowa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:A few times per month
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Age:25 - 34
Great product
10/15/2010

Customer review by LovingWImommy

5.0 stars 10/15/2010 by LovingWImommy
by LovingWImommy

I did alot of research before I picked this thermometer. My daughter is a year old and the old rectal thermometer was a struggle. She wouldnt stay still for the ten seconds it needed, and I was afraid with all of her protesting I would hurt her. I looked at the reviews and I didnt know what to think. Half said it was junk, but the other half said it was perfect and accurate. For nearly 40$ I didnt want to pay for someting that others said was junk. I went ahead and bought it anyways because my dauaghter had a fever and I had no way to check it. I was so happy with this product. I read the instructions,(you cant use the ear that was resting on a pillow or blanket) and tested it on myself about a dozen times and in both ears, the readings were always within .2 of the previous temp. Pretty accurate. I was 98.7. So I went in my daughters room and checked it while she was sleeping. She didnt even wake up, the beep was queit enough not to wake her but loud enouth for me to hear. The indicator light was helpful in making sure it was inserted correctly and taken correctly. and in case you dont hear the beep you can just watch for when the green light goes out. It only takes about two seconds. I checked her ear three times and I got the same reading within .2 degrees. 102.7, 102.5, and 102.7. I absolutely love this product and recomend it to everyone. It works with adults and squirming toddlers. It was well worth the 40$. And if anyone is skeptical like i was the cashier told me if i didnt like it i could return it.

Was this review helpful? (75) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LovingWImommy
WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:A few times per month
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Age:18 - 24
Love this product
2/27/2017

Customer review by Mommy2016

5.0 stars 2/27/2017 by Mommy2016
by Mommy2016
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Very easy to use and quick. Great for baby's that can't hold still for too long. Very happy with my purchase

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mommy2016
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great product
1/1/2012

Customer review by TexasHarleyMomma

5.0 stars 1/1/2012 by TexasHarleyMomma
by TexasHarleyMomma

Works well, easy to use, very accurate. However, for it to READ accurately, you MUST use it correctly. It MUST be put all the way INTO the ear canal as far as it will go without hurting - it is meant to take the temperature of the EAR DRUM, not the side of the ear canal. Being a nurse, I have found LOTS of people who can't do it properly, including some nurses and aides in the hospitals. When used properly, it is very accurate - way more so than oral thermometers. Most people don't realize (or care) that oral thermometers are NOT accurate if you have had anything to eat or drink in the past 30 minutes - OR if you breathe through your mouth, it will not be an accurate reading either. This is a must have, in my household - I even take it to the hospital when I have a family member admitted, because the oral temps they take there are NOT accurate!

Was this review helpful? (32) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TexasHarleyMomma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:A few times per month
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Age:45 - 54
Disappointed by inconsistency w/reviews.
1/30/2012

Customer review by Mandaloo

3.0 stars 1/30/2012 by Mandaloo
by Mandaloo

I've researched so many different thermometers for my 20mo old. Rectal temperatures are just not convenient or comfortable for all included anymore. I found this one to have the highest reviews and the best price. However, when we got it home and began to use it, I was confused. It's not at all living up to the standards set by all the raves about it. It's averaging about two full degrees lower than the rectal temperature on my son and even low on my husband and self as controls. As one reviewer said, maybe we're just not getting it far enough into my son's ear to get an accurate reading, but he screams and thrashes more trying to get it into his ear than he does taking his rectal temperature that I'm not sure it was even worth the $40 we threw at it. I feel that maybe the canal mechanism is simply too large for his small ears and causes him pain. Maybe we should have tried investing in an "infant" sized ear thermometer first??

Was this review helpful? (9) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mandaloo
Would recommend to a friend? No
New model is good too
2/27/2015

Customer review by lilyruo

5.0 stars 2/27/2015 by lilyruo
by lilyruo

I have been using this product for two years and since bought several for my friend's kids. yhe unit is of high quality and very easy to use.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lilyruo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Every home needs one
1/25/2017

Customer review by WJSims

5.0 stars 1/25/2017 by WJSims
by WJSims

Could not be easier to use.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WJSims
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very basic, but accurate.
11/7/2010

Customer review by Chickiechicky

4.0 stars 11/7/2010 by Chickiechicky
by Chickiechicky

This is a very accurate thermometer. I love that, but there are a few features that I have had in previous ones that I wish this had. It does not have a backlit screen, which means that you cannot read a temperature in the dark, and it does not have a fever alarm which alerts you if the temperature is elevated. Overall I think it is a great product, and much more accurate then the cheaper ear thermometer that I had before this one. I use this on my 2 year old son, as well as myself. It is great.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Chickiechicky
Butler, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Once per week
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:18 - 24
ear thermometer
2/15/2017

Customer review by Grasshopper

4.0 stars 2/15/2017 by Grasshopper
by Grasshopper
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

works great. quick and accurate

Was this review helpful? (3) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Grasshopper
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great thermometer
11/30/2010

Customer review by StraightTalkingReviewer

4.0 stars 11/30/2010 by StraightTalkingReviewer
by StraightTalkingReviewer

What I love best about this product is the fact that there is a visual indicator of the thermometer's readiness for use, as well as for when the temperature is taken. My husband is hard of hearing, and he would be unable to use this without those features because he cannot hear the beeps. And my kids love it. They like to play a game for which ear we're going to use for their temperature. I just wish the plastic sheaths that cover the tip were more reasonably priced. With two children (one of whom spikes high fevers when sick), it feels like I am constantly needing to buy more.

Was this review helpful? (10) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
StraightTalkingReviewer
Wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:A few times per month
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Age:35 - 44
A must for every parent
2/8/2017

Customer review by flaggergirl

5.0 stars 2/8/2017 by flaggergirl
by flaggergirl
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Perfect for fast and accurate temperature determination. It beats using the old-school glass thermometers that need patience and a non-squirming patent.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
flaggergirl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Fast
9/13/2010

Customer review by dkgeorgia

5.0 stars 9/13/2010 by dkgeorgia
by dkgeorgia

My 2 year old is so scared to get his temp checked under his arm. It is so hard to get a temp on him fighting me and trying to keep his arm down until the thermometer beeps. Also, I have some hearing loss and find it hard to hear the beeps on the other thermometers. This one is great because it is very fast, practically instant. It has a light that is easy to see when it is done, as well as a beep that sounds. And the best part is all of my children love to have their temp checked by this.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dkgeorgia
Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:A few times per month
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:25 - 34
Love this thermometer
2/4/2017

Customer review by lenledahs

5.0 stars 2/4/2017 by lenledahs
by lenledahs
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Very easy to use. The part that goes in your ear is slim and can access the ear easily.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lenledahs
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Easy to operate.
2/11/2017

Customer review by Tammy

4.0 stars 2/11/2017 by Tammy
by Tammy
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Would be a better product if the temp display had a light. Hard to see.

Was this review helpful? (3) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Tammy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Perfect
2/25/2017

Customer review by Jols

5.0 stars 2/25/2017 by Jols
by Jols
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This thermometer is great. Very handy and worth the price!

Was this review helpful? (2) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jols
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
no back light!!
2/8/2015

Customer review by sunshinegirl333333

2.0 stars 2/8/2015 by sunshinegirl333333
by sunshinegirl333333

for $40 bucks, not having a back light really bothers me. Picture this.. It's the middle of the night, Your child is sick with RSV, and a burning fever. You give them medicine, and go in to check if it's gone down and you take their temperature but would have to turn on a bright light in the room just to be able to read it. Come on! What a huge oversight. The temp seems exact though.which is good... when you can read it.

Was this review helpful? (42) (21)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
sunshinegirl333333
Would recommend to a friend? No
I really like the product.
3/20/2017

Customer review by Kimber

5.0 stars 3/20/2017 by Kimber
by Kimber
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Very nice thermometer! Easy and quick to use!

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Kimber
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 145 total reviews
1-20 of 145 reviews