Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 404 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

404 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

404 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

73%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
230
4 stars
59
3 stars
21
2 stars
24
1 stars
70
1-20 of 343 total reviews
73%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 343 total reviews
1-20 of 343 reviews
Great buy!
12/2/2010

Customer review by donnakd

5.0 stars 12/2/2010 by donnakd
by donnakd

We purchased this after our previous microwave stopped working. Fixing it was going to be close to $100, so we just opted to buy a new one. Our previous was also a panasonic, which was the best I had owned, so wanted to go back with panasonic. After buying it, I got the consumer reports best buys book in the mail...checked it and sure enough, this exact microwave is ranked #2, and a cr best buy. Sure felt good to see that!! My favorite features of this microwave are the inverter defrost and sensor cook.

Was this review helpful? (355) (28)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
donnakd
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Big Microwave-Big price
1/28/2009

Customer review by bluechillies

4.0 stars 1/28/2009 by bluechillies
by bluechillies

We purchased this product about 1 year ago. Our old one had bitten the dust and we were in the market for a new one that was of similar size. This was the only model of the size we were looking for at out local Walmart so we ended up purchasing it because of that fact alone. We haven't been disappointed with it yet. The only problem we really have is the button to open the door is sticking from being poked so many times. Somethings to keep in mind before purchasing this item. 1. This guy has 1250 watts inside so watch what your cooking and make sure you adjust your recipes accordingly. Most microwave recipes are based on 990 watts. 2. Most popcorn cooks in under 3 minutes. Try 2 minutes and 30 seconds for this microwave. If my 4 year old can make it without burning it than anyone can. She uses the button and waits to hear the popping slow down. 3.The front is going to acquire fingerprints no matter how much you try to keep it clean if you have a multiple users. 4. The turbo defrost might actually cook your food if it's not frozen flat but this is something that I see with a lot of microwaves. 5. When you use the sensor reheat make use to stir it at some point other wise it will be steaming hot on the edges but the middle will be ice cold.

Was this review helpful? (203) (20)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bluechillies
Kansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Panasonic Panic
2/4/2010

Customer review by Beary60

2.0 stars 2/4/2010 by Beary60
by Beary60

I am like several of the reviewers. I bought my Panasonic Microwave in the summer of 2007. One year hadn't even gone by when it just stopped working. I took it to get it fixed and it seemed fine. Well, quess what? It is once again broken. It will go for 2 seconds and just stop. I am rather frustrated because now I have to get another microwave. What really bothers me is that I had a Panasonic microwave before this one and it lasted for about 15 years. I don't know about anyone else, but with the economy like it is I can't afford to go and buy a new one every year or two. I feel that we shouldn't have to. Previously I owned Panasonic because has always been a good product. I don't recommend this model to anyone and I won't buy it again either. I will still get Panasonic products, just not this model.

Was this review helpful? (143) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Beary60
Locust Grove, GA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
More Cheap "Goods"...More Goods "Cheap"
3/20/2010

Customer review by MadeFromScratch

3.0 stars 3/20/2010 by MadeFromScratch
by MadeFromScratch

The unit worked OK for about three years, but the same fate as other users. I'm an electronics tech and finally got around to pulling the cover to see if I could diagnose the fault. The oven was doing the same thing others described on this blog, ran briefly and shuts off. Turns out the HV inverter or, the high voltage power supply is arcing, smoking and failed. Panasonic's website shows the replacement board is about $85. Tried eBay for the part and as good as eBay often is for used or refurb'ed repair parts, knew that to be a really long shot... no luck there. My advice: this unit has a defective or marginal P/S board design and is waiting for a good opportunity to die. So, don't waste your money on this model. Open the pod bay doors HAL... I can't do that Dave.

Was this review helpful? (87) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MadeFromScratch
Arizona
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Beware!
5/25/2009

Customer review by munkigg

1.0 stars 5/25/2009 by munkigg
by munkigg

We bought this model in August 2007. It is now May 2009 (not even two years later!) and the microwave has "died". It works for about two seconds when you press start, then it just turns black and stops working. This seems to be a very common problem with this model. I would purchase a different model to avoid the headache.

Was this review helpful? (106) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
munkigg
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
The microwave that thought it could...
5/16/2011

Customer review by Slothman

1.0 stars 5/16/2011 by Slothman
by Slothman

With a family of six that doesn't order out we needed a large microwave... This microwave worked pretty good for six months... Then one afternoon I put in some burritos and hit start and within 30 seconds it shuts off and spits an error code on the LED of H98... After researching this on the net I find that due to an inefficient inverter design it is common for this to fail and make the magneto fail as well... So after a whopping six months of regular proper use, all the later model Panasonic with inverter technology have this flaw, it died... To replace the parts is out of the question since it would cost more then the $160 or so I spent on it... So please look elsewhere as the Panasonic may be value priced... The value of having a working microwave for 6months is lost on me The quality of the components that make up this unit is severely lacking... It even says so in the Panasonic repair training manual I found on the internet... I wouldn't recommend a Panasonic brand to my worst enemy now... If you have one, listen for arcing or popping noises coming from the back... It's a sign that you will be replacing it soon... Going back to Sharp brand now... May be more expensive but it is actually better quality and worth the extra money...

Was this review helpful? (69) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Slothman
Bristol, PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Panasonic H97 Alert!
10/25/2010

Customer review by lkr723

1.0 stars 10/25/2010 by lkr723
by lkr723

Bought this 14 months ago and it quit working with an H97 display. Very disappointed in this product, my previous Amana microwave lasted 15 years. It will cost me just as much to have it repaired as it will to purchase a new one. What a shame, is nothing built to last anymore. I will not be purchasing Panasonic again.

Was this review helpful? (44) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lkr723
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Eyes bigger than my counter
2/8/2011

Customer review by Rhodesy

4.0 stars 2/8/2011 by Rhodesy
by Rhodesy

This microwave does everything but whistle Dixie, although I'm sure if you looked, it would do that too. The features on this thing are phenominal. It's easy to carry (I'm a weakling and was able to lug it from counter to counter alone), really pretty, a stunning value, and HUGE. I wanted a microwave with a large interior, but when I got it home, it SWALLOWED my counter. It would be perfect for a family. You can put a 9x13 pan in there I think. Just measure your counter before you buy. Despite it's size, it was love at first reheat.

Was this review helpful? (39) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Rhodesy
Houston, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great while it lasted.
12/11/2008

Customer review by DiscoNfrno

2.0 stars 12/11/2008 by DiscoNfrno
by DiscoNfrno

I loved this microwave, but it just died. We owned it just over 2 years. Terrible durability since I just read that several others have experienced the same problem with this model.

Was this review helpful? (35) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DiscoNfrno
Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
IN LOVE
3/20/2010

Customer review by SMCD122

5.0 stars 3/20/2010 by SMCD122
by SMCD122

I love love love this product have had it for about 1 year and love it so much my I convinced my mom to buy it. So roomy inside. Overall great product no complaints.

Was this review helpful? (40) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SMCD122
Virginia Beach, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Short Lifespan
11/12/2011

Customer review by PilatesBabe

1.0 stars 11/12/2011 by PilatesBabe
by PilatesBabe

I have had 2 of these models. The first lasted about 1 week over the 1 year warranty. I thought it was a fluke since all our other microwaves lasted forever. It was a gorgeous little microwave that cooked like crazy and fit the hole in our cabinet!!! So... I bought another one. This one lasted 8 months and started giving me the H97 error code - which is a common complaint on other reviews all over the internet. It went in for service today. Don't buy it if you need longevity in your microwave.

Was this review helpful? (29) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PilatesBabe
charleston, SC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Broken beyond repair in less than a year
3/10/2013

Customer review by GracelivesinGeorgia

1.0 stars 3/10/2013 by GracelivesinGeorgia
by GracelivesinGeorgia

I purchased this microwave because it of it's size, the wattage, and because it tied into the looks of my remodeled kitchen (stainless/black). I cannot emphasize enough how poor the quality is of this product. With regular use, the opening / closing latch quit functioning in less than a year. My husband is a very handy guy and opened it up and repaired the latch several times, it was bent on the inside due to it being held in place by one screw and very thin metal. Eventually, he bought a replacement part and installed it. It also bent. This may not seem like a bad issue but keep in mind that when the microwave fails to shut (due to the bent latch on the inside) the oven will not start. Not only that, but when the latch fails to shut properly, the interior oven light stays on. This bugs me as I am a person who regularly turns out the lights when I leave a room. To see this microwave on for days at a time (not to mention nonfunctional) kills me. I go by and open and slam it shut to see if I can get it to shut, this method works every few days, then someone uses it again and the latch won't engage again. We have resorted to using a dorm room microwave (800 watts) that barely fits a plate of food, that is over 12 years old, which sits beneath this microwave. I have to admit, the cheapo dorm microwave is as reliable as they come, much better than this Panasonic.

Was this review helpful? (26) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GracelivesinGeorgia
Marietta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Excellent microwave - fast and effective
6/30/2011

Customer review by Bob48134

5.0 stars 6/30/2011 by Bob48134
by Bob48134

I purchased this microwave in the Taylor, Michigan, Walmart as an upgrade to a 600 watt "mini" microwave. This is the largest microwave I have owned. I found it to be very efficient. I recently cooked bacon for breakfast. I took a rock hard package of bacon out of my deep freezer. I pressed the turbo defrost button and entered the weight of the bacon package. Within four minutes the bacon was properly defrosted without any cooked edges or anything. I placed six thawed slices on a microwave bacon tray and it was fully cooked in four minutes. My old microwave would have taken forever. I reheated a large plastic dish full of burrito filling. I was about 3-4 cups worth of filling (beans, sauce, meat, etc. I used the sensor reheat. When I pulled the dish out the food was heated very evenly and I did not encounter any cold spots. So far, I am very impressed with the microwave. It runs well and seems to cook everything without cold spots. The defrost feature is great because I don't get any dry or cooked spots.

Was this review helpful? (48) (22)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Bob48134
Flat Rock, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
welcome to the future
10/18/2009

Customer review by teetzen

5.0 stars 10/18/2009 by teetzen
by teetzen

Me and my friend laughed when we first saw the price of this item in the store but my dad ended up buying it for me for my birthday because he liked it. I didn't understand why anyone needed this nice of a microwave. It's NOT just a microwave! It talks about this "Inverter" technology. This stuff really works. All my usual microwave foods taste noticeably better and cook in half the time. Everything is very evenly cooked. If the inside isn't done yet then the outside isn't done yet. No surprises. This is a huge step forward towards the microwave on the Movie Back To The Future where it takes three seconds to enlarge and cook a frozen pizza. I’ve only had it for 2 months so I can’t comment on reliability. Also I’ve never owned a microwave this nice so maybe they’re all this nice when you spend this much? Either way, I like it.

Was this review helpful? (24) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
teetzen
Fayetteville,AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Stopped latching closed after 1 year of use
7/26/2014

Customer review by ThisIsMyAngryReviewFace

1.0 stars 7/26/2014 by ThisIsMyAngryReviewFace
by ThisIsMyAngryReviewFace

The microwave works great—if we can get the door to latch properly. One of the other owners pointed me toward the problem: The catch mechanism on the inside of the microwave is screwed onto a very, very thin sheet of steel with no proper reinforcement or bracing. Over time, this sheet metal bends toward the right side of the unit, and eventually the door will fail to latch. When the door does not latch properly, the microwave will not operate—that part is a safety feature. With a set of special security bits, I was able to remove the stainless steel cover and verify that the only thing wrong with my unit was the bent sheet metal. It is easy enough to remove the interior catching mechanism (it is attached with 2 screws) and bend the sheet metal back into place. All of this goes to show how poorly the latch system was engineered. Bending the sheet mental back into place gets the latch back into working order, but it won't keep this from happening again in a few months. My advice: DO NOT BUY THIS MICROWAVE, OR ANY MODEL LIKE IT!

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ThisIsMyAngryReviewFace
Would recommend to a friend? No
Never Had A Problem
8/20/2009

Customer review by Sididdy

5.0 stars 8/20/2009 by Sididdy
by Sididdy

I've had this microwave for over three years and I've never had a problem. A few times the button has gotten stuck or I took its power for granted, but that was my fault. I honestly never appreciated this microwave until I just moved into a new place with a built in one. I actually came on here to see what I paid for it to sell it to a friend. I was a little surprised by how much I paid for it. It seemed like a lot, but then again... I never had one problem out of it. I'm upset to see it go, for now I'll be using a lousy buit in one. =/

Was this review helpful? (22) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Sididdy
Fayetteville, Ar
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Sorry I ever purchased it.
12/28/2010

Customer review by mswalmartshopper3

1.0 stars 12/28/2010 by mswalmartshopper3
by mswalmartshopper3

I purchased my Panasonic microwave a little over a year ago. Was very pleased until Christmas Eve this year it just stopped working with the error message of H97. When calling to see about getting it fixed was greatly disappointed to find out that it would cost more to repair than to replace. I only bought it because I had redone my kitchen in stainless and the GE brand that I had had didn't match. I gave it to my daughter and bought the Panasonic. One and a half year later the one I gave my daughter is still kicking my Panasonic is dead. $200.00 down the drain. Never another Panasonic.

Was this review helpful? (15) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mswalmartshopper3
FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
The Best
2/15/2011

Customer review by BelovedNana

5.0 stars 2/15/2011 by BelovedNana
by BelovedNana

I love this microwave oven. It looks good and will last forever as long as you don't try to add extra minutes while it is in use like I did. It has a stainless steel front and all the features you could want in a microwave. I would recommend this to family members and friends.

Was this review helpful? (17) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BelovedNana
Dixon, Ca.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
JUNK!
5/13/2009

Customer review by ballettwinmommy

1.0 stars 5/13/2009 by ballettwinmommy
by ballettwinmommy

This is the biggest piece of junk I have ever bought. I purchased two years ago and it has stopped working. The panasonic customer service is horrible. They will not stand by their product and told me to go get it fixed and they were not willing to pay for anything! I will never purchase a panasonic microwave again. I am now using my 30 year microwave and is a little lound, but works! Do not waster your time or money. It will not be replaced!

Was this review helpful? (16) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ballettwinmommy
Would recommend to a friend? No
Absolute Garbage
9/7/2014

Customer review by USMutti

1.0 stars 9/7/2014 by USMutti
by USMutti

We bought this microwave less than a year ago when our 7 year old Sharp died. I like the inverter technology and we were very happy with it. About 8 months after purchase, we started having problems with the door not closing properly. When you tried to close it, it wouldn't push the start button out so you couldn't start it. You would have to slam it to make it work. Once I searched the problem on line, I discovered that it is a huge problem with Panasonic microwaves and there are comments about it all over the internet. If you call their support line, they specifically ask you if it is a door opening and closing issue while still on the automated system so they are aware that it is a huge issue. Their answer for addressing it, find a box and pay to ship this huge microwave back to us. So, after purchasing a microwave that is still under the initial warranty, you want me to spend another $30-$40 to ship it back to you? Their answer was yes, that the warranty only covers carry in repairs so I have to pay 30-40% of the purchase cost in shipping for them to fix it. That is ridiculous. Panasonic knows that they have a problem and Panasonic expects the customer to bear most of the cost of the repair. Lesson learned: Always look at repair sites and buyer beware.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
USMutti
SC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 343 total reviews
1-20 of 343 reviews