Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 452 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

452 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

452 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

73%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
260
4 stars
62
3 stars
21
2 stars
25
1 stars
84
1-20 of 391 total reviews
73%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 391 total reviews
1-20 of 391 reviews
The microwave that thought it could...
5/16/2011

Customer review by Slothman

1.0 stars 5/16/2011 by Slothman
by Slothman

With a family of six that doesn't order out we needed a large microwave... This microwave worked pretty good for six months... Then one afternoon I put in some burritos and hit start and within 30 seconds it shuts off and spits an error code on the LED of H98... After researching this on the net I find that due to an inefficient inverter design it is common for this to fail and make the magneto fail as well... So after a whopping six months of regular proper use, all the later model Panasonic with inverter technology have this flaw, it died... To replace the parts is out of the question since it would cost more then the $160 or so I spent on it... So please look elsewhere as the Panasonic may be value priced... The value of having a working microwave for 6months is lost on me The quality of the components that make up this unit is severely lacking... It even says so in the Panasonic repair training manual I found on the internet... I wouldn't recommend a Panasonic brand to my worst enemy now... If you have one, listen for arcing or popping noises coming from the back... It's a sign that you will be replacing it soon... Going back to Sharp brand now... May be more expensive but it is actually better quality and worth the extra money...

Was this review helpful? (163) (21)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Slothman
Bristol, PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Broken beyond repair in less than a year
3/10/2013

Customer review by GracelivesinGeorgia

1.0 stars 3/10/2013 by GracelivesinGeorgia
by GracelivesinGeorgia

I purchased this microwave because it of it's size, the wattage, and because it tied into the looks of my remodeled kitchen (stainless/black). I cannot emphasize enough how poor the quality is of this product. With regular use, the opening / closing latch quit functioning in less than a year. My husband is a very handy guy and opened it up and repaired the latch several times, it was bent on the inside due to it being held in place by one screw and very thin metal. Eventually, he bought a replacement part and installed it. It also bent. This may not seem like a bad issue but keep in mind that when the microwave fails to shut (due to the bent latch on the inside) the oven will not start. Not only that, but when the latch fails to shut properly, the interior oven light stays on. This bugs me as I am a person who regularly turns out the lights when I leave a room. To see this microwave on for days at a time (not to mention nonfunctional) kills me. I go by and open and slam it shut to see if I can get it to shut, this method works every few days, then someone uses it again and the latch won't engage again. We have resorted to using a dorm room microwave (800 watts) that barely fits a plate of food, that is over 12 years old, which sits beneath this microwave. I have to admit, the cheapo dorm microwave is as reliable as they come, much better than this Panasonic.

Was this review helpful? (59) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GracelivesinGeorgia
Marietta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Perfect Size
9/24/2014

Customer review by Terita50

5.0 stars 9/24/2014 by Terita50
by Terita50
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I am more than thrilled with this purchase. It is a chic addition to the kitchen, stainless steel and glass. The 2.2 cu. ft. provides enough space to prepare a full meal for family and the 1250-watt makes it quick.

Was this review helpful? (14) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Terita50
Citrus Heights, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Buyer Beware
3/12/2016

Customer review by paul

1.0 stars 3/12/2016 by paul
by paul

So we bought this microwave oven on Jan. 30th. Was so excited to use it. Put it where it belonged and loved it. Then on Feb. 19th it just quit working. Checked circuits, plugged it in to another socket, still wouldn't come back on. Let it sit over night tried again thinking no way it broke after only 20 days. So, I returned it to Walmart on the 20th of Feb. Got the same microwave in exchange. Now yesterday on the 11th of March exactly 20 days later again it quit working. I will not get another Panasonic kitchen appliance ever. Extremely disappointed.

Was this review helpful? (10) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Comment from - 3/14/2016

We're very sorry to read that you had difficulties with our microwaves. We recommend you have your outlets tested to ensure proper grounding since both unit's failed in the exact same manner. -AM

paul
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great Value for the price
2/22/2016

Customer review by eakosch1

5.0 stars 2/22/2016 by eakosch1
by eakosch1

I saw a lot of negative reviews on this product that might sway you also. They made me think twice but they were ill founded and Ill tell you why. In looking through those it seems the most negative are 2-5 OR MORE years old! I must conclude they changed the build of this since then and fixed the flaws some others mentioned. This is not a top of the line $350 appliance. It's a Walmart special. For $159 it has amazing features and I think the expectations of the other reviewers is overblown for this entry level unit. It has a 5 year warranty on the magnetron (engine) so if your engine failed at years 2-5...ship it in for free service or get another one and stop complaining! I admit, this will not be the last microwave you ever purchase but its not trying to be that unit. The pros: Its huge, its full power at 1250 watts, it looks nice with its stainless finish and has features and options too numerous to list here and will fit every scenario you might want to use a microwave for. The cons: We are a moderate microwave use family. We don't cook dinner in it 7 days a week. We have a family of 3 that use it lightly 3-6 days a week for a multitude of purposes. If you are a heavy user or running a commercial kitchen out of your house you may not get to the end of the 5 year warranty without some problems. If you want that type of machine, open your wallet and get a more substantial unit. You really don't realize how weak your old micro is until one day it takes 12 minutes to cook 4 strips of bacon. This baby made it perfect/brown/crunchy in just 4! The inverter technology is new to me but it is a welcome addition as it is many items better than the old tech of just turning the engine on and off to achieve less than 100% power. The display is easy to read and the control panel is intuitive to use. I am very happy with this unit considering it got me back in the game for $159! You will only be disappointed if you have unrealistically high and misplaced expectations.

Was this review helpful? (22) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
eakosch1
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Stopped latching closed after 1 year of use
7/26/2014

Customer review by ThisIsMyAngryReviewFace

1.0 stars 7/26/2014 by ThisIsMyAngryReviewFace
by ThisIsMyAngryReviewFace

The microwave works great—if we can get the door to latch properly. One of the other owners pointed me toward the problem: The catch mechanism on the inside of the microwave is screwed onto a very, very thin sheet of steel with no proper reinforcement or bracing. Over time, this sheet metal bends toward the right side of the unit, and eventually the door will fail to latch. When the door does not latch properly, the microwave will not operate—that part is a safety feature. With a set of special security bits, I was able to remove the stainless steel cover and verify that the only thing wrong with my unit was the bent sheet metal. It is easy enough to remove the interior catching mechanism (it is attached with 2 screws) and bend the sheet metal back into place. All of this goes to show how poorly the latch system was engineered. Bending the sheet mental back into place gets the latch back into working order, but it won't keep this from happening again in a few months. My advice: DO NOT BUY THIS MICROWAVE, OR ANY MODEL LIKE IT!

Was this review helpful? (27) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ThisIsMyAngryReviewFace
Would recommend to a friend? No
Excellent microwave - fast and effective
6/30/2011

Customer review by Bob48134

5.0 stars 6/30/2011 by Bob48134
by Bob48134

I purchased this microwave in the Taylor, Michigan, Walmart as an upgrade to a 600 watt "mini" microwave. This is the largest microwave I have owned. I found it to be very efficient. I recently cooked bacon for breakfast. I took a rock hard package of bacon out of my deep freezer. I pressed the turbo defrost button and entered the weight of the bacon package. Within four minutes the bacon was properly defrosted without any cooked edges or anything. I placed six thawed slices on a microwave bacon tray and it was fully cooked in four minutes. My old microwave would have taken forever. I reheated a large plastic dish full of burrito filling. I was about 3-4 cups worth of filling (beans, sauce, meat, etc. I used the sensor reheat. When I pulled the dish out the food was heated very evenly and I did not encounter any cold spots. So far, I am very impressed with the microwave. It runs well and seems to cook everything without cold spots. The defrost feature is great because I don't get any dry or cooked spots.

Was this review helpful? (53) (35)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bob48134
Flat Rock, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Panasonic Panic
2/4/2010

Customer review by Beary60

2.0 stars 2/4/2010 by Beary60
by Beary60

I am like several of the reviewers. I bought my Panasonic Microwave in the summer of 2007. One year hadn't even gone by when it just stopped working. I took it to get it fixed and it seemed fine. Well, quess what? It is once again broken. It will go for 2 seconds and just stop. I am rather frustrated because now I have to get another microwave. What really bothers me is that I had a Panasonic microwave before this one and it lasted for about 15 years. I don't know about anyone else, but with the economy like it is I can't afford to go and buy a new one every year or two. I feel that we shouldn't have to. Previously I owned Panasonic because has always been a good product. I don't recommend this model to anyone and I won't buy it again either. I will still get Panasonic products, just not this model.

Was this review helpful? (179) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Beary60
Locust Grove, GA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Doesn't last long
4/24/2016

Customer review by Mushroom1951

1.0 stars 4/24/2016 by Mushroom1951
by Mushroom1951

I've had this microwave for about a year. A couple of months ago the door started having problems--not signaling when it was shut unless you slammed it shut and not always opening right away. It's been getting worse. Now sometimes even when I slam the door the light inside stays on so I have to open it and slam it shut again. Also now sometimes when I enter the cook time and start it the time counts down a couple of seconds and then it's lost and I have to reenter the cook time. I've never used any features other than power and cook time so they may or may not be wonderful. In any case I would have expected this microwave to have lasted much longer. There's only me in the house so it only gets used once or twice a day, if that.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Comment from - 4/26/2016

Thank you for providing your feedback on your experience with our microwave oven. Each model has a 1 year warranty. Please visit our website's support page for locating an authorized service center. -AM

Mushroom1951
Would recommend to a friend? No
More Cheap "Goods"...More Goods "Cheap"
3/20/2010

Customer review by MadeFromScratch

3.0 stars 3/20/2010 by MadeFromScratch
by MadeFromScratch

The unit worked OK for about three years, but the same fate as other users. I'm an electronics tech and finally got around to pulling the cover to see if I could diagnose the fault. The oven was doing the same thing others described on this blog, ran briefly and shuts off. Turns out the HV inverter or, the high voltage power supply is arcing, smoking and failed. Panasonic's website shows the replacement board is about $85. Tried eBay for the part and as good as eBay often is for used or refurb'ed repair parts, knew that to be a really long shot... no luck there. My advice: this unit has a defective or marginal P/S board design and is waiting for a good opportunity to die. So, don't waste your money on this model. Open the pod bay doors HAL... I can't do that Dave.

Was this review helpful? (126) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MadeFromScratch
Arizona
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Only lasted just over 2 years
1/3/2016

Customer review by camaroz28guy

1.0 stars 1/3/2016 by camaroz28guy
by camaroz28guy

Bought this model late in the fall of 2013, we were heating leftovers in it January 2nd 2016 & it stopped in the middle of the cycle, everything stopped, no power at all, interior light won't even come on. We spent a little more to get a good microwave & ended up with junk.

Was this review helpful? (15) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Comment from - 1/5/2016

We're very sorry to read about your microwave. Please test the device on a different power source to ensure its not your wall outlet. -AM

camaroz28guy
Would recommend to a friend? No
Big Microwave-Big price
1/28/2009

Customer review by bluechillies

4.0 stars 1/28/2009 by bluechillies
by bluechillies

We purchased this product about 1 year ago. Our old one had bitten the dust and we were in the market for a new one that was of similar size. This was the only model of the size we were looking for at out local Walmart so we ended up purchasing it because of that fact alone. We haven't been disappointed with it yet. The only problem we really have is the button to open the door is sticking from being poked so many times. Somethings to keep in mind before purchasing this item. 1. This guy has 1250 watts inside so watch what your cooking and make sure you adjust your recipes accordingly. Most microwave recipes are based on 990 watts. 2. Most popcorn cooks in under 3 minutes. Try 2 minutes and 30 seconds for this microwave. If my 4 year old can make it without burning it than anyone can. She uses the button and waits to hear the popping slow down. 3.The front is going to acquire fingerprints no matter how much you try to keep it clean if you have a multiple users. 4. The turbo defrost might actually cook your food if it's not frozen flat but this is something that I see with a lot of microwaves. 5. When you use the sensor reheat make use to stir it at some point other wise it will be steaming hot on the edges but the middle will be ice cold.

Was this review helpful? (242) (28)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bluechillies
Kansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
i am loving this microwave!
1/25/2011

Customer review by jubileedebbie

5.0 stars 1/25/2011 by jubileedebbie
by jubileedebbie

Our experiences with microwaves are this...we had the first one for over 25 years, and the only reason we replaced it was for a broken glass cover that fit across the inside bottom. A year ago we bought a new one, but found it didn't cook things evenly and always burned the popcorn! In just over a year it broke...just quit working. After research we found this microwave. I was looking at another Panasonic, but was in Walmart and saw this one with similiar style. I researched peoples comments about it and found it was favorable. We purchased online and had it delivered to our home (no shipping charges and the price was about $30 less than in store). It is very large, quite roomy...inside and out... and you need to make sure you have the space for it. We had the perfect spot for it and have been extremely happy with it. It is very easy to read the controls on front, cooks evenly, and makes perfect popcorn!

Was this review helpful? (11) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jubileedebbie
Marietta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great buy!
12/2/2010

Customer review by donnakd

5.0 stars 12/2/2010 by donnakd
by donnakd

We purchased this after our previous microwave stopped working. Fixing it was going to be close to $100, so we just opted to buy a new one. Our previous was also a panasonic, which was the best I had owned, so wanted to go back with panasonic. After buying it, I got the consumer reports best buys book in the mail...checked it and sure enough, this exact microwave is ranked #2, and a cr best buy. Sure felt good to see that!! My favorite features of this microwave are the inverter defrost and sensor cook.

Was this review helpful? (424) (36)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
donnakd
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good microwave so far.
4/24/2016

Customer review by TJSDSS

5.0 stars 4/24/2016 by TJSDSS
by TJSDSS

This microwave replaced an identical Panasonic microwave. We use the unit everyday to help bake as well as warm things up. We hope it lasts as long as the first one did which was 11 years.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TJSDSS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
lasts two years then time for a new one
1/24/2016

Customer review by Disappointed

1.0 stars 1/24/2016 by Disappointed
by Disappointed

I bought this microwave in the fall of 2013 the same time as another review on here and mine died on January 22 2016 just like the other person who wrote a review I find it odd that 2 people bought the same microwave both in the fall of 2013 and they both died the same exact way the same month. It just stopped working like no electric was getting to it and yes I tried other outlets and it would not work no lights no nothing like no electric was getting to the microwave. So this microwave lasted me 2 years and 3 months. I now have to buy a new one since it will cost the same to get it fixed why bother. You would think paying a little more for a microwave would at least last ten years but not this one and is there a defect with it since I and another person who wrote a review bought our microwaves at the same time same year and they both died the same month with the same exact problem that sure is a big coincidence. Sounds like that year they built all defects. Panasonic should replace the microwave of everyone who has this same problem because it isn't the users its the product. I will never buy another product with the panasonic name. They build defective microwaves and charge top dollar. I am disgusted I really liked my microwave until it died that was bad enough buy then I get on here and read that so many other people are having the same exact problem definitely not a coincidence.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Disappointed
Would recommend to a friend? No
Horrible, broke in less than 6 months.
9/12/2013

Customer review by nobodysprfct

1.0 stars 9/12/2013 by nobodysprfct
by nobodysprfct

I purchased the item in Feb 2013. In August 2013 I receieved an H98 error. Which according to Panasonic means the units "brain" needs replaced. The item is under warranty, but Panasonic has been impossible to deal with. They referred me to a service center over 2 hours away. I refused to drive 2 hrs to repair a microwave under warranty. I have made at least 6 calls to their warranty department to be told I would be contacted back within 24-48 hours with a resolution. I have NEVER received a call. I have sent in all necessary information including the receipt, label with serial #, model #, etc and they have done nothing and it is a month later. I regret not continuing to use my $60 cheap microwave that had lasted for over 10 years. This item may look like a top quality item, but it is a piece of junk.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
nobodysprfct
Charleston, WV
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Panasonic Model NN-T9458FX 1250 Watt Microwave
10/14/2010

Customer review by BKbuyer

4.0 stars 10/14/2010 by BKbuyer
by BKbuyer

I purchased this microwave oven to replace a similar (1300 watt, 2.2 cu. ft.) Panasonic I purchased 7 years ago. This former oven malfunctioned in that it would start up when the door was opened! Nevertheless, I wanted another Panasonic owing to the inverter technology which Panasonic pioneered. (With some microwaves when you set the power level at, say, 50%, the microwave operates at 100% power but turns on and off, being on 50% of the time. With inverter technology, when you set the power level at 50% the oven operates at 50% power continuously.) The inverter technology results in more uniform "doneness." This oven is Model NN-T9458FX and shares a manual with NN-P794/SN747/SN757/SN797/SN789/T945/SN947/SN957/SN977, available on-line. It seems to work well. Since I've had it for only a few days I cannot evaluate its durability. Pros: large, 2.2 cu. ft.; powerful, 1250 watts; Inverter Technology. Nits: the fan is quite loud and if the oven is at waist level and one stands close to it the tops of the numbers on the countdown digital timer are cut off from view; thus, a 7 appears to be a 1.

Was this review helpful? (11) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BKbuyer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
It works nicely
3/19/2016

Customer review by Topgun

5.0 stars 3/19/2016 by Topgun
by Topgun

The best

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Topgun
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Short Lifespan
11/12/2011

Customer review by PilatesBabe

1.0 stars 11/12/2011 by PilatesBabe
by PilatesBabe

I have had 2 of these models. The first lasted about 1 week over the 1 year warranty. I thought it was a fluke since all our other microwaves lasted forever. It was a gorgeous little microwave that cooked like crazy and fit the hole in our cabinet!!! So... I bought another one. This one lasted 8 months and started giving me the H97 error code - which is a common complaint on other reviews all over the internet. It went in for service today. Don't buy it if you need longevity in your microwave.

Was this review helpful? (36) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PilatesBabe
charleston, SC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 391 total reviews
1-20 of 391 reviews