Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 518 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

518 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

518 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

73%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
300
4 stars
67
3 stars
22
2 stars
27
1 stars
102
1-20 of 457 total reviews
73%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 457 total reviews
1-20 of 457 reviews
The microwave that thought it could...
5/16/2011

Customer review by Slothman

1.0 stars 5/16/2011 by Slothman
by Slothman

With a family of six that doesn't order out we needed a large microwave... This microwave worked pretty good for six months... Then one afternoon I put in some burritos and hit start and within 30 seconds it shuts off and spits an error code on the LED of H98... After researching this on the net I find that due to an inefficient inverter design it is common for this to fail and make the magneto fail as well... So after a whopping six months of regular proper use, all the later model Panasonic with inverter technology have this flaw, it died... To replace the parts is out of the question since it would cost more then the $160 or so I spent on it... So please look elsewhere as the Panasonic may be value priced... The value of having a working microwave for 6months is lost on me The quality of the components that make up this unit is severely lacking... It even says so in the Panasonic repair training manual I found on the internet... I wouldn't recommend a Panasonic brand to my worst enemy now... If you have one, listen for arcing or popping noises coming from the back... It's a sign that you will be replacing it soon... Going back to Sharp brand now... May be more expensive but it is actually better quality and worth the extra money...

Was this review helpful? (247) (31)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Slothman
Bristol, PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
It's H-U-G-E!!! Powerful too!
12/5/2016

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 12/5/2016 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I've only had this microwave oven for a little over a month so I will see if there are issues with quality in the future, however, it appears to be a well designed quality product. I spent the twenty bucks on the 4 year warranty (just in case) and still took this unit home for well under 200 bucks. I love the inverter design for its efficiency and power. This unit heats food up evenly and almost twice as fast as my Kenmore did. The tirntable is about 30% larger than my last oven as well...you could probably heat up a 20 lb. turkey in this beast. If there's a downside, it's that this unit will take up a lot of counter space. Per the manual you need to keep the area clear 3" on either side of the oven for proper ventilation. All in all, I am very happy with this purchase and I hope I enjoy this baby for many years.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
works great when it works
8/26/2016

Customer review by Tzar66

1.0 stars 8/26/2016 by Tzar66
by Tzar66

The unit looks nice and worked well until the latch started failing about a year after I bought it. I have security Torx bits and opened it up to bend the metal tongue that is part of the mechanism back into position. This worked only for a short time as the metal is cheap and weak, finally after the 4th time opening it up I put a crimp into the metal and that solved it once and for all. Now the keypad has failed. I opened it up and checked for loose connections because it would sometimes work if you gave it a bop but found the the board with the keypad and display has failed and cant really be repaired the way it's designed. When it works it works great and still would if only better parts were used as was still functioning beautifully until the board failed. For the price it should have been better. never buying a Panasonic again.

Was this review helpful? (26) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Comment from - 8/30/2016

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on the microwave. We will use your review in future product development. -AM

Tzar66
Would recommend to a friend? No
Broken beyond repair in less than a year
3/10/2013

Customer review by GracelivesinGeorgia

1.0 stars 3/10/2013 by GracelivesinGeorgia
by GracelivesinGeorgia

I purchased this microwave because it of it's size, the wattage, and because it tied into the looks of my remodeled kitchen (stainless/black). I cannot emphasize enough how poor the quality is of this product. With regular use, the opening / closing latch quit functioning in less than a year. My husband is a very handy guy and opened it up and repaired the latch several times, it was bent on the inside due to it being held in place by one screw and very thin metal. Eventually, he bought a replacement part and installed it. It also bent. This may not seem like a bad issue but keep in mind that when the microwave fails to shut (due to the bent latch on the inside) the oven will not start. Not only that, but when the latch fails to shut properly, the interior oven light stays on. This bugs me as I am a person who regularly turns out the lights when I leave a room. To see this microwave on for days at a time (not to mention nonfunctional) kills me. I go by and open and slam it shut to see if I can get it to shut, this method works every few days, then someone uses it again and the latch won't engage again. We have resorted to using a dorm room microwave (800 watts) that barely fits a plate of food, that is over 12 years old, which sits beneath this microwave. I have to admit, the cheapo dorm microwave is as reliable as they come, much better than this Panasonic.

Was this review helpful? (99) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GracelivesinGeorgia
Marietta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Perfect Size
9/24/2014

Customer review by Terita50

5.0 stars 9/24/2014 by Terita50
by Terita50
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I am more than thrilled with this purchase. It is a chic addition to the kitchen, stainless steel and glass. The 2.2 cu. ft. provides enough space to prepare a full meal for family and the 1250-watt makes it quick.

Was this review helpful? (31) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Terita50
Citrus Heights, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Disconnects Wi-Fi and overcooks food!
10/27/2016

Customer review by Compliantsoncertainthings

1.0 stars 10/27/2016 by Compliantsoncertainthings
by Compliantsoncertainthings

Wish I had seen articles of Panasonic Inverter Microwaves killing Internet before buying. Waste of money! It sometimes overcooks my food, but most importantly, it stops all Wi-Fi whenever this is used. One night it almost destroyed my Wi-Fi completely from Panasonic Inverter Microwave usage. Also people everywhere have been complaining about Door latch problems (hasn't happened to me yet but I can tell it will happen) and H97/H98 error codes happening. This has to be worse then any other Microwave out there, Samsung, Emerson, GE, you name it! I will never purchase a Panasonic Inverter microwave ever again and will never purchase any inverter Microwaves period. I have had this Microwave for 6 months now and fed up with Wi-Fi Interference and want to get rid of this microwave ASAP. I have had many Microwave that did not cut off the internet whenever they were used, this is the first microwave I ever had that cuts off the internet and better be the only one. DO NOT BUY ANY INVERTER MICROWAVE!

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Compliantsoncertainthings
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great product, Great price
10/6/2016

Customer review by JustMyOpinion62

5.0 stars 10/6/2016 by JustMyOpinion62
by JustMyOpinion62
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I just bought it a couple weeks ago, and so far it works amazingly. Heats items quickly and accurately. I have two sons who love the frozen pocket sandwiches and they like the frozen snack button, they say the pocket sandwiches are perfect, same temp inside and out. No wasteful oozing out of the cheese. The defrost button is a wonderful feature, just enter the weight and ta daaa. No weird browning of the edges or graying color, just perfectly defrosted pork chops. I did researched a lot of microwaves before my purchase and this one said it had some inverter heat thing to create even temperature. I read the reviews prior to my purchase and was a little worried so I knew I wanted to invest in a warranty just in case. I researched a lot of other stores for the price of the Microwave, which they all were about the same, the difference was in the cost of the warranty. Since it's a recent purchase, for now I say we love love love it and if something does go wrong at a later time, I relieve my worries with the 3 year warranty for $15 that was offered.

Was this review helpful? (7) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JustMyOpinion62
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Stopped latching closed after 1 year of use
7/26/2014

Customer review by ThisIsMyAngryReviewFace

1.0 stars 7/26/2014 by ThisIsMyAngryReviewFace
by ThisIsMyAngryReviewFace

The microwave works great—if we can get the door to latch properly. One of the other owners pointed me toward the problem: The catch mechanism on the inside of the microwave is screwed onto a very, very thin sheet of steel with no proper reinforcement or bracing. Over time, this sheet metal bends toward the right side of the unit, and eventually the door will fail to latch. When the door does not latch properly, the microwave will not operate—that part is a safety feature. With a set of special security bits, I was able to remove the stainless steel cover and verify that the only thing wrong with my unit was the bent sheet metal. It is easy enough to remove the interior catching mechanism (it is attached with 2 screws) and bend the sheet metal back into place. All of this goes to show how poorly the latch system was engineered. Bending the sheet mental back into place gets the latch back into working order, but it won't keep this from happening again in a few months. My advice: DO NOT BUY THIS MICROWAVE, OR ANY MODEL LIKE IT!

Was this review helpful? (55) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ThisIsMyAngryReviewFace
Would recommend to a friend? No
Broke after about a year...junk!
10/8/2016

Customer review by NS16

1.0 stars 10/8/2016 by NS16
by NS16

After few months of use, it broke. The fix was covered part of the warranty. It worked for about a year then the door began to be difficult to latch, had to shut it harder to make it work...that worked for a little while, but now it won't work at all. Stay way from this junk!

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NS16
Would recommend to a friend? No
Excellent microwave - fast and effective
6/30/2011

Customer review by Bob48134

5.0 stars 6/30/2011 by Bob48134
by Bob48134

I purchased this microwave in the Taylor, Michigan, Walmart as an upgrade to a 600 watt "mini" microwave. This is the largest microwave I have owned. I found it to be very efficient. I recently cooked bacon for breakfast. I took a rock hard package of bacon out of my deep freezer. I pressed the turbo defrost button and entered the weight of the bacon package. Within four minutes the bacon was properly defrosted without any cooked edges or anything. I placed six thawed slices on a microwave bacon tray and it was fully cooked in four minutes. My old microwave would have taken forever. I reheated a large plastic dish full of burrito filling. I was about 3-4 cups worth of filling (beans, sauce, meat, etc. I used the sensor reheat. When I pulled the dish out the food was heated very evenly and I did not encounter any cold spots. So far, I am very impressed with the microwave. It runs well and seems to cook everything without cold spots. The defrost feature is great because I don't get any dry or cooked spots.

Was this review helpful? (64) (38)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bob48134
Flat Rock, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Very displeased
10/29/2016

Customer review by GroovyUnicorn

1.0 stars 10/29/2016 by GroovyUnicorn
by GroovyUnicorn

If this microwave worked well, it would be great. It is huge, so you can fit a whole 9x13" dish in it, more than one plate, etc. I also like the feature where you can put potatoes in, just hit side dish, and it automatically cooks them, I guess depending on the weight, there's a sensor or something. BUT... within less than a year the lightbulb burnt out, and I did not leave the door open all the time. And you cannot get to the lightbulb. Maybe if you took the outer casing off or something, but that is ridiculous that they can't put a light in it that's going to last longer than a year. About two years after owning it, the door became harder to close. It seemed closed, but the display tells you to close the door. You would have to bang it to get it to close. Eventually this got worse (like within 2 months) where if you didn't have it shut just right, the microwave wouldn't work. You might try for two minutes to get it closed just so, and couldn't even use it. I called Panasonic and they gave me a repair location over an hour away where I could drop it off, pay a $75 dollar cost just to have it looked at, plus whatever repairs might need to be done, or it might not be fixable. And then drive over an hour away and back home to pick it up IF they could fix it. I WILL NEVER BUY A PANASONIC MICROWAVE AGAIN!!!

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Comment from - 11/3/2016

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback concerning your experience with our Microwave Oven. We will share this information with our product engineering team.

GroovyUnicorn
Would recommend to a friend? No
The Absolute Killer Worst Microwave Ever!
11/22/2016

Customer review by harsherreviews

1.0 stars 11/22/2016 by harsherreviews
by harsherreviews

First, this microwave kills my internet every time this is used, the Inverter technology is the 100% cause. You already need to avoid this microwave because of how much it kills Internet, Here is another reason but #1 reason why you need to avoid this microwave at all costs, this incident happened on the night of 11/19/16: As I was getting ready for bed that night (or Should I say I put on my sleep clothes), I was hungry and decided to eat something before bedtime (I went to bed at 12:00 A.M.) , so I decided to use the microwave to cook Pizza, I read the instructions and everything, but this incident happened: This microwave burned my pizza. My Pizza turned black in some spots, fortunately I was in the kitchen and looked at what was going on, Like I said, the pizza got burnt and turned black in some spots. This could've burned down my entire house, my clothes, etc. if I wasn't home even though I wasn't home most of the day that day but luckily the microwave wasn't on by itself. Even my old Emerson microwave that broke down in April 2016, was slightly better then this, this Panasonic Inverter is the worst microwave I have ever had in my life! Not to mention, I can't return this microwave to the store I bought it from, Bought this microwave on April 16, 2016, no return to the store after 7/16/16, If this microwave broke down before 7/16/16, I would return this microwave and get a refund for it. EXTREMELY BIG MISTAKE! The Next problem I will probably have is Door Latch problems or even H97/H98 error codes, Panasonic is very well known for it's door Latch problems and H97/H98 error codes, since this microwave was made in china. My next microwave better not be a Panasonic inverter microwave! BIG TIME waste of $159. DO NOT EVER BUY ANY PANASONIC MICROWAVES ESPECIALLY INVERTER MICROWAVES! IF YOUR MICROWAVE BREAKS DOWN, DON'T MAKE THE MISTAKE I DID! I will never ever buy a Panasonic Inverter microwave ever again when this microwave is gone from my house. It will be onto a different brand (NOT A PANASONIC OR ANY INVERTER MICROWAVES) when this microwave is gone. I REPEAT, YOU MUST 100% AVOID THIS MICROWAVE AT ALL COSTS! THIS WILL BURN AND OVERCOOK YOUR FOOD AND WILL KILL YOUR INTERNET!!! DO NOT WASTE $159 ON THIS MICROWAVE. YOU WILL REGRET YOURSELF BIG TIME IF YOU BUY THIS MICROWAVE AND HAVE THE SAME PROBLEMS I HAVE BEEN HAVING! THIS MICROWAVE MUST BE RECALLED ASAP!!! ABSOLUTE KILLER WORST MICROWAVE EVER!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
harsherreviews
Would recommend to a friend? No
Panasonic 2.2 cu ft Microwave Oven
11/30/2016

Customer review by Marycrane

5.0 stars 11/30/2016 by Marycrane
by Marycrane
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Very Quiet! This replaced my 11 year old microwave that was the same make/style/size that I used multiple times daily. Very happy with purchase

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Marycrane
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
only worked for a little over 1 year.
6/21/2016

Customer review by tltarvin

1.0 stars 6/21/2016 by tltarvin
by tltarvin

We liked this microwave when we originally purchased it. After just over 1 year of normal use the door began to be difficult to latch so the microwave would work. If we shut the door harder it would work for a little while, but now the microwave will not work at all. I have read so many different accounts of the door latches on these and other Panasonic microwaves causing problems. I will switch brands for my next microwave.

Was this review helpful? (17) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tltarvin
Would recommend to a friend? No
Don't bother
11/29/2016

Customer review by Horselady

1.0 stars 11/29/2016 by Horselady
by Horselady

Worked for 6 months then just quit.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Horselady
Would recommend to a friend? No
i am loving this microwave!
1/25/2011

Customer review by jubileedebbie

5.0 stars 1/25/2011 by jubileedebbie
by jubileedebbie

Our experiences with microwaves are this...we had the first one for over 25 years, and the only reason we replaced it was for a broken glass cover that fit across the inside bottom. A year ago we bought a new one, but found it didn't cook things evenly and always burned the popcorn! In just over a year it broke...just quit working. After research we found this microwave. I was looking at another Panasonic, but was in Walmart and saw this one with similiar style. I researched peoples comments about it and found it was favorable. We purchased online and had it delivered to our home (no shipping charges and the price was about $30 less than in store). It is very large, quite roomy...inside and out... and you need to make sure you have the space for it. We had the perfect spot for it and have been extremely happy with it. It is very easy to read the controls on front, cooks evenly, and makes perfect popcorn!

Was this review helpful? (16) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jubileedebbie
Marietta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Panasonic Panic
2/4/2010

Customer review by Beary60

2.0 stars 2/4/2010 by Beary60
by Beary60

I am like several of the reviewers. I bought my Panasonic Microwave in the summer of 2007. One year hadn't even gone by when it just stopped working. I took it to get it fixed and it seemed fine. Well, quess what? It is once again broken. It will go for 2 seconds and just stop. I am rather frustrated because now I have to get another microwave. What really bothers me is that I had a Panasonic microwave before this one and it lasted for about 15 years. I don't know about anyone else, but with the economy like it is I can't afford to go and buy a new one every year or two. I feel that we shouldn't have to. Previously I owned Panasonic because has always been a good product. I don't recommend this model to anyone and I won't buy it again either. I will still get Panasonic products, just not this model.

Was this review helpful? (194) (19)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Beary60
Locust Grove, GA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
More Cheap "Goods"...More Goods "Cheap"
3/20/2010

Customer review by MadeFromScratch

3.0 stars 3/20/2010 by MadeFromScratch
by MadeFromScratch

The unit worked OK for about three years, but the same fate as other users. I'm an electronics tech and finally got around to pulling the cover to see if I could diagnose the fault. The oven was doing the same thing others described on this blog, ran briefly and shuts off. Turns out the HV inverter or, the high voltage power supply is arcing, smoking and failed. Panasonic's website shows the replacement board is about $85. Tried eBay for the part and as good as eBay often is for used or refurb'ed repair parts, knew that to be a really long shot... no luck there. My advice: this unit has a defective or marginal P/S board design and is waiting for a good opportunity to die. So, don't waste your money on this model. Open the pod bay doors HAL... I can't do that Dave.

Was this review helpful? (142) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MadeFromScratch
Arizona
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Horrible, broke in less than 6 months.
9/12/2013

Customer review by nobodysprfct

1.0 stars 9/12/2013 by nobodysprfct
by nobodysprfct

I purchased the item in Feb 2013. In August 2013 I receieved an H98 error. Which according to Panasonic means the units "brain" needs replaced. The item is under warranty, but Panasonic has been impossible to deal with. They referred me to a service center over 2 hours away. I refused to drive 2 hrs to repair a microwave under warranty. I have made at least 6 calls to their warranty department to be told I would be contacted back within 24-48 hours with a resolution. I have NEVER received a call. I have sent in all necessary information including the receipt, label with serial #, model #, etc and they have done nothing and it is a month later. I regret not continuing to use my $60 cheap microwave that had lasted for over 10 years. This item may look like a top quality item, but it is a piece of junk.

Was this review helpful? (15) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
nobodysprfct
Charleston, WV
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Lasted 3-1/2 years
11/8/2016

Customer review by DeeDee4909

5.0 stars 11/8/2016 by DeeDee4909
by DeeDee4909

We have been happy with this microwave, and thought it was the best buy for the size, wattage, and being an inverter oven. We haven't had any issues with it until after 3-1/2 years, the latch started sticking. The door has to be slammed shut to get it to work. Although, we would have preferred it to last longer, we like the features so much that we're considering buying another one. If we get 3-4 years use out of it as well, we'll be satisfied.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DeeDee4909
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 457 total reviews
1-20 of 457 reviews