Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 315 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

315 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

315 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

90%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
189
4 stars
86
3 stars
16
2 stars
8
1 stars
16
1-20 of 277 total reviews
90%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 277 total reviews
1-20 of 277 reviews
Loving It!!!!
5/31/2009

Customer review by LuLu90

5.0 stars 5/31/2009 by LuLu90
by LuLu90

I use this product every signal day and I love it. This was the first home theater that I bought and I have to say that it works great. The sound coming out sounds loud, clear and not messy like others that i've heard in the pass. For a 1000 watts system and for its price point I know its a steal. This system comes packed with goodies!!! A upconverting dvd player, an ipod dock, radio, 5 speakers and 1 woofer. its a great product and you should buy it!!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LuLu90
East Hartford, CT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Incredible 1080p Dolby Digital & More!
12/15/2008

Customer review by MINDSCI

5.0 stars 12/15/2008 by MINDSCI
by MINDSCI

Don't let the small size of the speakers fool you... The Theater Surround from this system is Excellent! 1,000 watts of max output & Dolby Digital is incredible. 8" Subwoofer puts out strong solid Bass. Front, center, and rear speakers sound awesome too. Plenty of onscreen menus for adjusting each speakers output individually. There is also a delay time adjustment so that one can maximize the surround sound experience. 1080p picture upscaling is high quality. If you pause a DVD and don't come back till later the unit shuts itself off, but just hit Play or Power and the movie picks back up exactly where you left it- very nice feature. The Phillips has a Digital Coaxial Audio Input, so you can run the sound from a Blu-ray player, HDTV, and/or other receivers into it & get true Dolby Digital 5.1 output. There are also 2 additional Aux Audio inputs (Analog RCA Phono) for additional functionality. Setup is a breeze with the color coded connectors. However, the wires for the rear speakers are a little on the short side at about 25 feet. Remote works well and is intuitive, but backlit or white buttons would make for easier use in the dark. This Phillips Home Theater is an Excellent Buy! I have it hooked up to my Walmart Phillips 47" 5ms 1080p LCD HDTV and my Walmart JVC Dolby Digital Receivers for a 15 speaker surround setup. As such, it rivals any Movie Theater in town. This Phillips HTS3565D replaces a 3 year old similar- but not Dolby Digital- Walmart Phillips home theater system. That Phillips is still working great and is now hooked up to my bedroom 1080i LCD HDTV. Walmart.com showed my store had the item in stock... A very helpful Walmart Associate searched diligently for 20 minutes till she found them stacked above merchandise in the laundry soap isle! Thanks to her for her persistence! Definitely recommended! See Photos!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MINDSCI
Bozeman, MT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Intermittent operations
1/17/2009

Customer review by 4CManGo

3.0 stars 1/17/2009 by 4CManGo
by 4CManGo

Pros: Great power, good sound, easy to connect with HDMI Cable plus a Digital Audio Coax Cable to your HD TV. Cons: Sounds drops out during Movies. Must key through Remote Control 'Surround Sound' selector button to get sound to pop back-in. Dishnetwork Remote Control doesn't have a code to match the operation of the HTS. And, Philips' Support agrees that is a problem. So, to use the HTS with SAT. TV watching, you must have two Remote Controls in front of you. One to change TV channels, and the other to make the sound pop back-in whenever it drops out. I called Philips' Reps. 4 times, but they are not any help with any of the problems. After 2 months of trying to get the problems resolved, I return the HTS to Walmart, under the 90 days return policy. Maybe you will have better luck than I did.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
4CManGo
Would recommend to a friend? No
Not Included
11/17/2008

Customer review by ValueForTheMoney

3.0 stars 11/17/2008 by ValueForTheMoney
by ValueForTheMoney

I purchased this system for my family room to accent my 42" Philips tv and PS3 no problems with the speaker length. I dont have a ipod so the dock is useless. I do have a MP3 player that can be connected with a 3.5mm stereo adapter (not included Cost $15) works great. Other AV cables are need (not included Cost $15 +). Trying to connect your PS3 or Blueray Player . . . No can do! You need a Digitial Optical Cable connection for audio (not a feature). There is a Digital Coaxial connection. In order to convert you will need a Optical to Coaxial converter (not included Cost $20 -$59 and Digitail Optical Cable not included $20 + and a Digital Coaxial Cable not included $20). Once all the extras are said and done . . . You may want to buy the more expensive option. Sounds great despite the obstacle. You Decide!

Was this review helpful? (15) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ValueForTheMoney
Detroit, Mi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Does the Job - Simple to use
8/10/2009

Customer review by RicardoInPoconos

4.0 stars 8/10/2009 by RicardoInPoconos
by RicardoInPoconos

I purchased this system as a replacement for a sophiticated Home Theater system that was too complicated for guests at my Vacation Rental. The system is sleek and simple to use, and the IPod docking station is great for guests who want their own music. Because the system I am replacing was a 500 W mega system, this one has far fewer of the features, but that is a good thing. The one thing I must say is that if you are an acoustic phanatic, this system will not deliver the sharp sounds and rich bass you are accustomed to, but it is adequate for most people. The antenna for FM is a shame - if the unit had a coaxial connection instead of the 3 foot wire, I would have been able to connect to my attic antenna. Since the house is in the mountains, now I only get 3 stations when my old unit was able to pick up NYC and Philly stations from attic antenna. Hope the guests like country and religious music. Otherwise a great system that prevents your kids or guests from re-programming everything.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RicardoInPoconos
Philadelphia, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Awesome product for an even better price
4/29/2008

Customer review by fishstix

5.0 stars 4/29/2008 by fishstix
by fishstix

Had to get something that would hook up to the ipod and this thing is a snap....it took all of 5 minutes to hook up in the living room to our new hd tv....only downside is the rear speaker cords are a little short...imma gonna splice into them and extend them,,,other wise this thing has a bunch of different options to hook up to nething...i love it!!!

Was this review helpful? (18) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
fishstix
dover,de
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
OK for a Kid's Room
4/3/2009

Customer review by ShopsAtArnoldWalmart

1.0 stars 4/3/2009 by ShopsAtArnoldWalmart
by ShopsAtArnoldWalmart

This system has good sound, and is easy to set up. HOWEVER, it does NOT have normal speaker wire connections. DO NOT buy this for a living room, unless your space is very, very small. The speaker wires come pre-wired, in pre-set lengths, with "easy-click" connections. That means your rear speakers will likely NOT reach the back of the room. Cutting and splicing the wires voids the manufacturer's warranty, and could damage the surround-sound balance, creating distortion in the sound. Additionally, the backs of the speakers do not accept speaker mount screws. The backs are only the "hang on nail" kind. So you can forget aiming these speakers at the sweet-spot if you hang them. We bought this system because it looked like a good deal, and because we wanted to upgrade from our old system. In some ways, we did. It is newer technology with HDMI connection and up-converting DVD play. In some ways we went in reverse. So, this set is fine for the teen-ager, not fine for Dad.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ShopsAtArnoldWalmart
Arnold, MO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Budget Home Theater unit!
12/11/2008

Customer review by morfinman

5.0 stars 12/11/2008 by morfinman
by morfinman

Excellent Product! Set up was easy and the manual clear and in English! Excellent budget home theater unit with extra features. The unit works great! DVD part is excellent and plays all dvds regular and copies. It can play foreign (PAL) DVDs with code found on the internet. The best part is the USB connection. I can connect either a USB flash drive or an adapter plus memory card and have most media files from my computer play on this unit. With an 8 GB card I have over 200 songs and 100 videos plus thousands of photos. I'm going to try an external Hard Drive as I have read they work too. Sound quality is great as is video quality. The unit has a HDMI connection, so only one cable to my Digital TV. My only problem was a unique situation as my home was pre-wired so I had to splice the speaker wire that was connected to the speakers. Also the length of the speaker wire is rather short wish one could have a choice between the included wire and a do it yourself wire installation.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
morfinman
Springfield, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Works Great, Yes you can hook this to your TV
3/12/2009

Customer review by Mike3ZX

5.0 stars 3/12/2009 by Mike3ZX
by Mike3ZX

This is an amazing system for $200. You CAN connect this to your TV and it will simply amplify your TV's sound, you do not have to hook anything extra to the system other than a single Digital Coaxial Audio Cable from TV to System. Read the owner's manual to find out which setting you need to be on for it to work and you're done. Took me 10 minutes to figure out, very simple. Anything you hook into your TV (PS3,360,BLURAY,etc) will be in surround sound so no need for system selectors.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mike3ZX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
OUTSTANDING SOUND FOR THE MONEY!!!
3/26/2009

Customer review by ToeThumb

5.0 stars 3/26/2009 by ToeThumb
by ToeThumb

If you are looking for professional sound...go pay for it. It you are looking for a great sound/dvd system that is HUGE bang for a little buck....this is it! I looked at this system for a VERY long time, not spend any money in this economy....but I bought it...and I am glad I did. I got a Samsung 50' plasma for the holidays (2008) mounted it over my fireplace (that I no longer use) and when this Phillips system came in (I got it the next day after ordering...believe it or not)...I ran the cables along my ceiling and plugged everything in. BANG! POW! BOOM! POP!....this system is AWESOME especially for the price. I have only had it a week...but it really takes the movie experience to a new level. I love all the features...and the FM gets a fantastic signal. I can hear my favorite radio station and my ipod all over my (3600 sq. ft.) home! Its cheap, its easy, and it works! Im happy! I also ordered the 9ft. RCA HDMI Cable at the same time...as recommended by Walmart. Still have not gotten it. Just FYI.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ToeThumb
Carmel, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Choice
6/27/2009

Customer review by jvcover

5.0 stars 6/27/2009 by jvcover
by jvcover

I have a 42 inch plasma TV and the sound died on it. The cost of a new television was much higher than a home theater so I shopped around for a great bargain. I found this one as a floor model at Wal-Mart, and I paid a great price for it. The sound quality is fantastic. The ease of installation, and the length of the wires for the speakers made it very easy to place them where I wanted. This would be a great choice for anyone that is looking for "bose like" sound quality for half the cost. You will not be disappointed with this product. I highly recommend this system for those on a budget, and want high quality sound. Good luck!

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jvcover
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Philips Home theater kit
12/30/2008

Customer review by jeffe

5.0 stars 12/30/2008 by jeffe
by jeffe

I recently purchased both the Philips 47" LCD and Home theater, details below. Philips 47" Class Full-HD 1080p LCD HDTV, 47PFL3603D/F7 Philips Home Theater Audio System w/ Upconverting DVD Player & iPod Dock, HTS3565D/37 I was replacing a 9 year old JVC TV, technics Dolby, and toshiba 4800N DVD, plus speakers. All that my wife and I can say is WOW!! The sound systems is fantastic, the ease of installation was amazing, and the color coded wires worked perfectly. Installing the base on the LCD (included) was a little tricky, but two people can manage in 5 mins. Installation of the home theater was a snap, as it took longer to sort out the location and length of the speakers than anything else. I had to purchase an HDMI cable, and will need a second to install my HD DVR from direct tv. The automatic mode is very nice for TV, and the adjustments/preferences only took 5 mins. Removing my old gear took the longest, then unpacking the new gear and laying out, then "snapping" together. All in all, i was about 1.5 hours, from start to finish, for my removal and installation I did purchase the extended warranty for both, and a high end surge suppressor.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jeffe
Porter, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
This thing is awesome!
12/31/2008

Customer review by Starpower

4.0 stars 12/31/2008 by Starpower
by Starpower

I'm so glad I went with the 1000W but I have to say - it's almost too much. I had my whole place rumbling watching the Dark Knight last night. You hear every detail JUST like at the movie - which, is the point, I know. I bought it last night after work and had it all set up in about 30 mins. Maybe less - and I'm slow at that stuff. I do read the directions. Hey folks - IMPORTANT! If you want to use to watch t.v. you are going to need an HDMI cable for an HD t.v. Or if a plain t.v. then you just need the red and white audio cables. They are not included. I have to go back to a store and get me an HDMI today. So - it's only been one evening with it. I haven't tried my Ipod with it yet but I have no doubt it'll be fine. The FM stereo basically sets itself up. The dvd player itself is just great. And it all looks nice too. I think you will be pleasantly surprised for $178. DON'T FORGET YOUR EXTRA CABLE! Enjoy. I'll write back if anything negative happens.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Starpower
Austin, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
product with great sound
12/28/2008

Customer review by Iluvwalmart55

5.0 stars 12/28/2008 by Iluvwalmart55
by Iluvwalmart55

I hesitated to buy this product because I wasn't sure it would be what I wanted. I read all the reviews available and they were helpful. Next I checked everyone's prices compared to wal-mart, wal-mart beat everyone which didn't surprise me. I purchased the Philips Home Theater system and my husband installed it in about an hour, it took us more time deciding where to put the speakers than the whole installation. We connected it to our 50 inch Philips big screen. We didn't have to buy any extras. The sound is magnificent. The room size is 12x20ft. Like most of the reviews say you can't turn the volume up to even half way it will blow your windows out and the neighbors. I am really happy with the whole system and the price. It sounds as good or better than most I've listened to for half the money. The surround sound works with regular programing and with dvd's. The quality of the picture of the dvd's is great also. I just can't recommend this enough.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Iluvwalmart55
Cayuga, Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Best Value For The Money
6/21/2009

Customer review by NewWebBuyer

5.0 stars 6/21/2009 by NewWebBuyer
by NewWebBuyer

After purchasing a new HDTV, I wanted a good home theater system. I researched on the internet and decided on the Philips based on custer reviews verus other brands and the price for the system. I listen to the system almost daily and have been very happy with the system. I would have no problem recommending this system to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NewWebBuyer
Owensboro, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Very good system at a GREAT price!!
1/6/2009

Customer review by Lne1999j

4.0 stars 1/6/2009 by Lne1999j
by Lne1999j

I have had this system since Dec 26th and hooked it up in a few minutes. Make sure you have the correct cables to hookup correctly. I have this system hooked to a Magnavox 42 Plasma. It is great. There are three drawbacks about this system. 1. There needs to be an audio out if you are connecting the player to the TV through a HDMI-DVI cable (I have no TV sound when I watch a movie). 2. I cannot find a universal remote that will work with the system. 3. If you have burned movies, they will most likely not function on this system unless the disk is a good quality. Overall, this system is a steal at under $200 and works perfect in my living room. The sound is crisp and clean. Like I said before, don't be stingy in the cables as well as the speaker stands/wall mounts. It will make it look nice and contain no rattling sounds that others complain about. I will update if there are any future problems.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Lne1999j
Fort Collins, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Serves its purpose.
12/2/2008

Customer review by mj2mrx

4.0 stars 12/2/2008 by mj2mrx
by mj2mrx

I have had this system for a couple of weeks. It was easy to install all my devices to. LCD TV, XBox, and Cable. The sound is sufficient. I have yet to hook up the rear speakers. I want to run the wires under the rug first. Only draw back is getting my Cable Universal Remote to work with the system. I haven't found the right code. Looks good. Picks up FM stations well.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mj2mrx
Spring City, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Excellent
1/5/2009

Customer review by gza95

5.0 stars 1/5/2009 by gza95
by gza95

OK first off I NEVER in a million years would consider myself an expert when it comes to home theatre systems. After reading the reviews below I have no idea what a coaxial cable is and all that jazz but I will say that I know what I like and I absolutely enjoy this product. I have a 42 inch Philips LCD set and wanted another Philips sound system to supplement it. It was a little bit of a hassle to set up with all of the chords but once I got everything situated the way I liked it I must say I was blown away. It sounded great in the store and sounds even better in my home. Not even taking it close to capacity it is loud enough for me and the sound fills the room. The bass is suprisingly loud and the speakers look great next to the TV. A great buy for someone who isnt looking for something so loud that itll blow a hole through the wall...or so pricey itll leave a hole in your wallet.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
gza95
Kailua, HI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Is far from perfect.
10/28/2008

Customer review by Authority

3.0 stars 10/28/2008 by Authority
by Authority

After owning and using this product for a month, I have encountered at least two problems. First, the DVD player will pause at least one time during a chapter change during play.....usually going from chapters 1 to 2. Second, the audio will not always come on when switching from disc to aux 2. You have to turn the unit off, and then back on for it to work properly. The preset EQ's are generic and not very good. "Rock" setting adds more bass than the little speakers can handle and just breaks up at normal listening volumes. Almost all of the speaker wires are too short, unless you live in a tent. The speaker wires also have color coded connectors so that children and grandparents can figure out how to hook them up. Otherwise, they are an annoyance when having to add more wire to the existing wires. "Audio sync" feature is useless. This unit is great if you don't want to spend a lot of money, and don't care about the things I mentioned above. On a side note, this unit is NOT the same unit that Best Buy, Circuit City, etc. sells for $50+ more. The model number is different.....i.e....it's lower quality.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Authority
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Something that's worth the money
3/16/2009

Customer review by STPeteLawnGuy

5.0 stars 3/16/2009 by STPeteLawnGuy
by STPeteLawnGuy

I bought this product to use with my 32" RCA LCD HDTV and also to connect to my LCD projector and as a stereo and to hook in my computer to play MP3's through it. I am very pleased with this product, The sound is Great! I almost bought the Sony, because I like Sony, but I am very Impressed with this Philips System. it set up easy, speakers have a hole on the back for hanging on the wall (which was one of the things I was concerned about, I didn't want to have to buy wall mount stands for the speakers which some systems you do) These hung right up. the system is slim, the remote slim but well designed! It fits in your hand nicely, buttons well placed and the font on the remote for which buttons what, is large enough to read without your reading glasses or contacts in. you can plug your usb thumb drive in and the remote controls it as well as the Ipod Dock.Sound is deep and full, it's awesome! I'm very happy and haven't really turned it off since I bought it and set it up. I hope if you're considering this product, you purchase it, you'll be very happy, especially with the quality of the sound it produces. Best Luck!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
STPeteLawnGuy
St. Pete, Fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 277 total reviews
1-20 of 277 reviews