Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 315 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

315 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

315 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

90%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
189
4 stars
86
3 stars
16
2 stars
8
1 stars
16
1-20 of 277 total reviews
90%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 277 total reviews
1-20 of 277 reviews
Awesome product for an even better price
4/29/2008

Customer review by fishstix

5.0 stars 4/29/2008 by fishstix
by fishstix

Had to get something that would hook up to the ipod and this thing is a snap....it took all of 5 minutes to hook up in the living room to our new hd tv....only downside is the rear speaker cords are a little short...imma gonna splice into them and extend them,,,other wise this thing has a bunch of different options to hook up to nething...i love it!!!

Was this review helpful? (18) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
fishstix
dover,de
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Not Included
11/17/2008

Customer review by ValueForTheMoney

3.0 stars 11/17/2008 by ValueForTheMoney
by ValueForTheMoney

I purchased this system for my family room to accent my 42" Philips tv and PS3 no problems with the speaker length. I dont have a ipod so the dock is useless. I do have a MP3 player that can be connected with a 3.5mm stereo adapter (not included Cost $15) works great. Other AV cables are need (not included Cost $15 +). Trying to connect your PS3 or Blueray Player . . . No can do! You need a Digitial Optical Cable connection for audio (not a feature). There is a Digital Coaxial connection. In order to convert you will need a Optical to Coaxial converter (not included Cost $20 -$59 and Digitail Optical Cable not included $20 + and a Digital Coaxial Cable not included $20). Once all the extras are said and done . . . You may want to buy the more expensive option. Sounds great despite the obstacle. You Decide!

Was this review helpful? (15) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ValueForTheMoney
Detroit, Mi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Works Great, Yes you can hook this to your TV
3/12/2009

Customer review by Mike3ZX

5.0 stars 3/12/2009 by Mike3ZX
by Mike3ZX

This is an amazing system for $200. You CAN connect this to your TV and it will simply amplify your TV's sound, you do not have to hook anything extra to the system other than a single Digital Coaxial Audio Cable from TV to System. Read the owner's manual to find out which setting you need to be on for it to work and you're done. Took me 10 minutes to figure out, very simple. Anything you hook into your TV (PS3,360,BLURAY,etc) will be in surround sound so no need for system selectors.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Mike3ZX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Choice
6/27/2009

Customer review by jvcover

5.0 stars 6/27/2009 by jvcover
by jvcover

I have a 42 inch plasma TV and the sound died on it. The cost of a new television was much higher than a home theater so I shopped around for a great bargain. I found this one as a floor model at Wal-Mart, and I paid a great price for it. The sound quality is fantastic. The ease of installation, and the length of the wires for the speakers made it very easy to place them where I wanted. This would be a great choice for anyone that is looking for "bose like" sound quality for half the cost. You will not be disappointed with this product. I highly recommend this system for those on a budget, and want high quality sound. Good luck!

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jvcover
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Best Value For The Money
6/21/2009

Customer review by NewWebBuyer

5.0 stars 6/21/2009 by NewWebBuyer
by NewWebBuyer

After purchasing a new HDTV, I wanted a good home theater system. I researched on the internet and decided on the Philips based on custer reviews verus other brands and the price for the system. I listen to the system almost daily and have been very happy with the system. I would have no problem recommending this system to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NewWebBuyer
Owensboro, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Philips Home theater kit
12/30/2008

Customer review by jeffe

5.0 stars 12/30/2008 by jeffe
by jeffe

I recently purchased both the Philips 47" LCD and Home theater, details below. Philips 47" Class Full-HD 1080p LCD HDTV, 47PFL3603D/F7 Philips Home Theater Audio System w/ Upconverting DVD Player & iPod Dock, HTS3565D/37 I was replacing a 9 year old JVC TV, technics Dolby, and toshiba 4800N DVD, plus speakers. All that my wife and I can say is WOW!! The sound systems is fantastic, the ease of installation was amazing, and the color coded wires worked perfectly. Installing the base on the LCD (included) was a little tricky, but two people can manage in 5 mins. Installation of the home theater was a snap, as it took longer to sort out the location and length of the speakers than anything else. I had to purchase an HDMI cable, and will need a second to install my HD DVR from direct tv. The automatic mode is very nice for TV, and the adjustments/preferences only took 5 mins. Removing my old gear took the longest, then unpacking the new gear and laying out, then "snapping" together. All in all, i was about 1.5 hours, from start to finish, for my removal and installation I did purchase the extended warranty for both, and a high end surge suppressor.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jeffe
Porter, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Serves its purpose.
12/2/2008

Customer review by mj2mrx

4.0 stars 12/2/2008 by mj2mrx
by mj2mrx

I have had this system for a couple of weeks. It was easy to install all my devices to. LCD TV, XBox, and Cable. The sound is sufficient. I have yet to hook up the rear speakers. I want to run the wires under the rug first. Only draw back is getting my Cable Universal Remote to work with the system. I haven't found the right code. Looks good. Picks up FM stations well.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mj2mrx
Spring City, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
6/21/2009

Customer review by UINF

5.0 stars 6/21/2009 by UINF
by UINF

it is a good product i like it but the only thing i dont like that when i biught it says that it has a AM tuner too but no.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
UINF
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
good product
11/12/2008

Customer review by skipsdad

4.0 stars 11/12/2008 by skipsdad
by skipsdad

A little disappointed but overall a great product. no optical input for satellite reciever but the coaxial input works fine. going to buy second one for daughters room this christmas.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
skipsdad
arkansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
5/15/2008

Customer review by RysDad

3.0 stars 5/15/2008 by RysDad
by RysDad

if your just wanting to watch a DVD with a clear picture with great sound, than this is it. While watching tv channels the system seemed to cut out while watching non HD channels which became very annoying when watching your favorite show. It was returned

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RysDad
Charleston, WV
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
No Good
3/10/2009

Customer review by jaboy

1.0 stars 3/10/2009 by jaboy
by jaboy

Had player for two weeks when it just stopped working. Still plays IPOD, but not DVD's. The surround sound is really nice, but you cant turn the bass down. Overall not impressed at all.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jaboy
SLC, UT
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
OK for a Kid's Room
4/3/2009

Customer review by ShopsAtArnoldWalmart

1.0 stars 4/3/2009 by ShopsAtArnoldWalmart
by ShopsAtArnoldWalmart

This system has good sound, and is easy to set up. HOWEVER, it does NOT have normal speaker wire connections. DO NOT buy this for a living room, unless your space is very, very small. The speaker wires come pre-wired, in pre-set lengths, with "easy-click" connections. That means your rear speakers will likely NOT reach the back of the room. Cutting and splicing the wires voids the manufacturer's warranty, and could damage the surround-sound balance, creating distortion in the sound. Additionally, the backs of the speakers do not accept speaker mount screws. The backs are only the "hang on nail" kind. So you can forget aiming these speakers at the sweet-spot if you hang them. We bought this system because it looked like a good deal, and because we wanted to upgrade from our old system. In some ways, we did. It is newer technology with HDMI connection and up-converting DVD play. In some ways we went in reverse. So, this set is fine for the teen-ager, not fine for Dad.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ShopsAtArnoldWalmart
Arnold, MO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
all but the best
6/9/2009

Customer review by lovemyputer

5.0 stars 6/9/2009 by lovemyputer
by lovemyputer

when reading further I saw this does not use an optical toslink cable, it uses the rca jack style. I have a new LG tv and this only has optical audio. So, I picked it up at the site to store and took it right to the returns desk. Ended up buying the Samsung system and I really like that one.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lovemyputer
St. Louis, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Out of date.
12/17/2008

Customer review by cojo1

3.0 stars 12/17/2008 by cojo1
by cojo1

The problem with the product is,it out of date. The DVD player is not Blue Ray, the audio input interface is digital coax and not Fiber.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cojo1
Broken Arrow OK
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
5/2/2008

Customer review by pucho

1.0 stars 5/2/2008 by pucho
by pucho

not happy with this home theater,easy set up but thats it.does not play mp3 like aregular cd would do,you have to play each one of the song seperetly.the sub woofer slides across the floor when its set at 17also the radio is very poor sound.im taking it back today after work

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
pucho
orlando fl
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
BROKE after 10 minutes...
6/19/2009

Customer review by DisappointedShopper1911

1.0 stars 6/19/2009 by DisappointedShopper1911
by DisappointedShopper1911

Stopped working after 10 minutes of use!? What gives? I bought this in store and made sure the box was dent free and still I get a lemon right out of the box. Very disappointed and now I got to look around again for something else. I really had my sights on this one. So I have no clue which direction to go now. Sounds was alright though. I guess your either lucky or not when it comes to this. Or maybe my Sony HDTV broke it?

Was this review helpful? (0) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DisappointedShopper1911
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Great
8/5/2008

Customer review by walt001

5.0 stars 8/5/2008 by walt001
by walt001

Everything is perfect. easy to use. More than I even imagined. Only issue is that I cannot use my Universal remote to turn it off . . .Its own remote works well. Price was great.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
walt001
Boston MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great for the price
1/5/2009

Customer review by WalmartRocks12

5.0 stars 1/5/2009 by WalmartRocks12
by WalmartRocks12

Ordered this product for a Christmas present for my husband. He absolutely loved it. He's not a technical guru, yet he set it up himself in less then 30 minutes. It sounds great in our basement. We can't even turn the sound up all the way it's so loud, especially the subwoofer. Dolby Digital is awesome, sounds just like in the theatre. I'm sure there are more powerful systems out there, but this one is just fine for us, even in our large basement.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WalmartRocks12
Atlanta, Ga.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
great home theatre system
12/9/2008

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 12/9/2008 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I purchased this about 2 months ago and it is wonderful. It has a great picture and great sound. The FM tuner comes in crystal clear. i haven't used the ipod dock but cd's do sounds great. A lot of power. I'll sit my daughter up against the subwoofer and i love the look on her face... only 2 months old.. ha.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
tulsa, ok
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Awesome
6/14/2008

Customer review by jasonk

5.0 stars 6/14/2008 by jasonk
by jasonk

I Simply love this system it's the best home theater system I have ever owned, the sound is so crisp and clear,and my mp3 player sounds awesome.I highly recomend this product if you are looking for the best surround sound system out there this one is it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jasonk
illinois
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 277 total reviews
1-20 of 277 reviews