Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 9 reviews | 2.6 out of 5

2.5 stars

9 reviews | 2.6 out of 5

2.5 stars

9 reviews | 2.6 out of 5

56%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
1
4 stars
0
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 stars
2
1-8 of 8 total reviews
56%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

Do some homework fisrt
5/30/2010

Customer review by Blackcaps

5.0 stars 5/30/2010 by Blackcaps
by Blackcaps

Search dimmable CFLs first. The dimmable CFL works the way they are supposed to. You need a CFL that is designed to work with a dimmer switch and because CFLs operate differently than incadescent bulbs they only dim to a point before cutting off. That is the way they are designed to work. One should never install a CFL in a dimmer switch that is not labeled as a dimmable CFL as there is a risk of fire. Read beforehand.

Was this review helpful? (34) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Blackcaps
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Not quite right
4/1/2012

Customer review by theonlyjeff

3.0 stars 4/1/2012 by theonlyjeff
by theonlyjeff

With a poor description offered, I bought these to replace incandescent bulbs that are hooked to dimmer switches. While these do sort of dim down, it is very little and IF you dim them down more than at at the same settings as your incandescent bulbs, they turn off at about the 80% level...so buyer beware. These are the only CFL bulbs you can use with a dimmer circuit, so in that venue, they sort of work, but IF you want to dim them down to some romantic level, forget it. Since these are a transitional light source in between incandescent and LED bulbs, I am waiting for LED bulbs to come down drastically in price to replace these CFL bulbs which aren't environmentally friendly and which require special care in recycling them. At about $4 per bulb, these are too spendy, so consider temporarily replacing your dimmer switch with a standard 'on/off' variety, and get the regular CFL bulbs for under $2 each...until the LED bulbs that you can dim are at a price of around $1 to $2 each! I don't know even IF these will last anywhere close to the manufacturer's hype, but that may add to or diminish my ratings depending on how long these last. Stay tuned!

Was this review helpful? (7) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
theonlyjeff
Portland, Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Disappointed
4/29/2009

Customer review by 4AZDUDE

2.0 stars 4/29/2009 by 4AZDUDE
by 4AZDUDE

I was somewhat disappointed with this CFL because I could only adjust the brightness with my dimmer to about a medium setting. If I turned it up to max or also min brightness it would flicker on and off continuously. To be fair, I must say my tabletop dimmer is quite old so maybe that contributed to the problem..... but with an incandescent bulb the dimmer works fine.

Was this review helpful? (10) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
4AZDUDE
Arizona
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Not what you think
7/26/2009

Customer review by twomikea

3.0 stars 7/26/2009 by twomikea
by twomikea

The first reviewer is right - it will only dim down to around 60% of full output - but it does work great on a switch that dims. My main complaint is how expensive it is.

Was this review helpful? (9) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
twomikea
Arlington, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Sent me the wrong thing
8/7/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 8/7/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I ordered the 2 of the 3 packs and I just received 2 light bulbs only. I would like them to look at what they are picking for the customers, it was 15.44 for a 3 pack and I just ended up with 2 light bulbs for 30.88

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Alaska
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
not so dimmable
11/13/2012

Customer review by solo2

3.0 stars 11/13/2012 by solo2
by solo2

These CFL dim but not to the extent of a halogen or incandescent bulb. On a standard 15 amp switch wall dimmer, the lever can be moved to three quarters dimmed (1/4 power) and the bulb diminishes to about half luminosity. I do not know what it means electrically, the bulb can be dimmed 3/4 and the light down to 1/2. At less then 3/4 dimmed, the bulb extinguishes. To rejuvenate the light again, the lever must be stationed at 100 percent on to re-activate the bulb. What this means in energy savings remains unknown. These bulbs replaced LED dimmable bulbs that are not intense enough for the overhead track lighting eight feet up. I will note the difference on the electric bill next month.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
solo2
Stockton, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Top 1000 contributor
Dimmable but not like incandescents
12/18/2012

Customer review by sborsher

2.0 stars 12/18/2012 by sborsher
by sborsher

Most people complain that CFLs don't dim much. My complaint is that you have to turn the dimmer to max brightness every time you want to turn the bulb on, making these useless for three way circuits. I finally got the time to do an investigation into switching over to CFLs and LEDs, but neither are ready for prime time, except in the basement.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sborsher
Coastal RI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Does not lower electricity bill
1/27/2012

Customer review by candtce

1.0 stars 1/27/2012 by candtce
by candtce

This product increased my electricity bill by $50.00 per month, also when I purchased my first pack of these bulbs I bought a 4 pack and one of the bulbs did not even work.

Was this review helpful? (1) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
candtce
Scottsboro
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month