Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 151 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

151 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

151 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

74%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
56
4 stars
43
3 stars
20
2 stars
9
1 stars
23
1-20 of 128 total reviews
74%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 128 total reviews
1-20 of 128 reviews
Nice 4 Da Price
4/1/2009

Customer review by JadorraDaBoss

4.0 stars 4/1/2009 by JadorraDaBoss
by JadorraDaBoss

I was very heavy, I will agree. It was clearly labeled and fairly easy to put together. I think for the price its a good deadl. I just hate all the dust it attracts but its black so you really cant expect it not to. I does not fit my 22" moniter but I didnt exspect it to.

Was this review helpful? (25) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JadorraDaBoss
Kansas City, KS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Not happy with purchase
4/28/2011

Customer review by nonu83

1.0 stars 4/28/2011 by nonu83
by nonu83

This desk is made up of cheap material that resembles wood from outside, but inside is as soft as paper. A chip broke off as soon as I tried to erect it, and I could never install the keyboard rack for the same reason due to one stand being far away from the other in addition to the desk being unstable. I will not recommend this to a friend.

Was this review helpful? (10) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
nonu83
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Great desk
5/29/2009

Customer review by jlf4287

5.0 stars 5/29/2009 by jlf4287
by jlf4287

this desk is exactly as pictured. it is VERY sturdy! it fits my 19 in moniter in the cubby & still has room for another 3 in's or so. i ordered on 5/7/09 & received site to store on 5/22/09. box was extremely heavy so you will need help to pick it up! i highly recommend a power drill when putting together. i dont have one, therefore my hand was sore from all turning! i am 22 yr old girl, and i was able to put it together by myself. it took me 3 hours to put together (mainly bcz of having to use a manual screwdriver) the directions were simple & pieces clearly labeled. the desk looks very nice & has plenty of shelves for storage. the only thing i wish it had was a drawer over the CPU area. this is a very nice, sturdy, roomy desk. you cant beat the price for this nice of a desk. i definately recommend to buy! actual measurements are: desk top is 29 in from floor & 41 in from side to side & 24 in from front to back. top of hutch stands 53 in high.

Was this review helpful? (160) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jlf4287
Metter, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great desk for the price
12/29/2008

Customer review by simihorn

4.0 stars 12/29/2008 by simihorn
by simihorn

Bought two of these via site-to-store. They arrived on-time at a local store and pickup was easy and pretty quick, considering it was 3 days before Christmas. I was a little concerned about the condition they would be in from some of the on-line reviews, but Wal-Mart seems to have figured out these issues and reinforced the shipping box with extra cardboard on the edges. The boxes were in excellent condition and none of the desk components had any crushing or damage to the edges or corners. Building the desks was easy and quick. Less than 45 mins for the first and about 20 mins for the second. None of the pieces had any noticeable scratches and fit together well. Construction consisted of 2 cam type connectors and a bunch of screws, some wooden dowels and a few nails. I would recommend a cordless drill/driver to make it much faster. My boys are very happy with the desks and they look nice. Not heirloom quality furniture, but great value. The site-to-store option makes Wal-Mart a winning option for purchases like this.

Was this review helpful? (9) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
simihorn
Spring, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great price for a great desk
7/29/2010

Customer review by HABI7A7

5.0 stars 7/29/2010 by HABI7A7
by HABI7A7

After reading several reviews on this desk, I was somewhat worried about the stability and ease of assembly. I ended up getting it anyways, as it had basically everything I was looking for. It arrived just 2 days after I ordered it with (free) standard shipping via FedEx. It took a few hours to put together, but that's mostly because I was watching Sportscenter while I was doing it, so I got distracted fairly often. In any case, the directions were certainly easy enough to follow, and I had no issues with assembly. It's very sturdy, much more so than other reviews would lead you to believe. Obviously it's not as solid as a corner desk, but as long as you're not deliberately trying to shake it, there are no issues. It would be nice to have a drawer above the area where the computer goes, as there is a lot of space. I have a fairly large tower, and I still have about 8 or 9 inches between the top and the desktop. Although they may have done that to improve airflow. In any case, this desk looks very nice, as pictured. It has plenty of space on both the desktop and shelves, and is rather stable. For this price point, I would highly recommend it.

Was this review helpful? (22) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HABI7A7
Willowick, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Fine for a young student
8/18/2016

Customer review by stevemax

4.0 stars 8/18/2016 by stevemax
by stevemax
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

For the price of the desk it was a good value. We purchased it for my son and he was very happy with the fit and finish of the product. I would think that if you have a spot, in mind, for the desk and don't move it around, very much, that would be best-I don't think it will handle to many moves unless you are very careful.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
stevemax
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
cheap in every sense of the word
7/13/2010

Customer review by abyluv

2.0 stars 7/13/2010 by abyluv
by abyluv

Pretty much you get what you pay for with this desk. It's not the best, but it is really cheap. If you sit at the desk to play games, surf facebook or write a paper for any length of time, the sharp edges will leave red lines on your arm, leading to the desk gaining the nickname in my apartment as "the wrist cutter desk." It's also made out of a cheap particle board and the hutch is attached by tiny wooden dowels so it is not the sturdiest thing. I would never put something like a TV on this thing, but it would probably hold a normal sized printer. Also, if any water gets on the "wood" it scars and bubbles immediately. I solved this by putting placemats down as the bubbling is very ugly to look at. This is a good starter desk for when you have no money. If you do have money, however, put it towards something better (desk in photo is much nicer looking than one you will assemble). You get what you pay for. Oh, and by the second day it had large dents/scratches either from shipping or assembly. Not very durable or cleanable. Overall, a bit disappointing.

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
abyluv
Brooklyn, NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
exactly how it looks
4/9/2010

Customer review by re10071

4.0 stars 4/9/2010 by re10071
by re10071

when i ordered this desk on 3-17, the site said it wouldn't be at the store until 4-6 but it arrived on 3-29. other reviews are right, it was alot of screws but its not that big of a deal. it looks exactly how its pictured, holds my 20'' widescreen monitor and the adjustable shelf is a nice feature. needs a drawer in the tower area but overall an excellent desk for the price!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
re10071
atlanta, ga
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Only because it looks okay
10/20/2013

Customer review by aboz87

1.0 stars 10/20/2013 by aboz87
by aboz87

Well...you get what you pay for; lesson learned. Spend a few extra dollars and buy something of quality. It was put together according to directions, which was the first mistake. The slightest movement caused the first board to tilt, which ripped the screws out. Tried to move it and a piece broke off. You need a PhD to read and figure out the directions. About half of the pieces weren't labeled and most of the assembly time was spent trying to figure out which way the pieces actually went and then taking it apart to put it back together the correct way. Stuff didn't line up right and it was near impossible to sit up right to finish assembly without it falling apart. The finished product is very wobbly with no real back support to keep it steady. It looks nice but it was beyond a pain in the butt to put together.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
aboz87
MN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Smaller than what was expected
4/4/2016

Customer review by me1989

4.0 stars 4/4/2016 by me1989
by me1989

Easy to put together all the holes matched up unlike usual cheaper products

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
me1989
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very nice for the price
6/22/2011

Customer review by themacgirlsmom

5.0 stars 6/22/2011 by themacgirlsmom
by themacgirlsmom

Looks nicer in person than online. Good quality for the money.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
themacgirlsmom
Fruitland, Id
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
A pain to put together
7/26/2013

Customer review by Annova

2.0 stars 7/26/2013 by Annova
by Annova
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought this desk because I needed a new desk, My other one was sagging. I liked the fact that it had the hutch that came with it. I have put together many pieces of this type of furniture, so I was not going in blind. Half the parts were not labeled, I had to look at the picture to try to figure out which part was what. The directions were vague. It did not tell you where the finished edge went. I ended up putting parts on upside down and had to take it apart and start over. It also has you putting the 3 legs on first. and there was nothing to hold it in place while you worked on the other side. The first side kept falling, I ended up with dowel pins that broke and pin that just pulled out of it. It was somewhat of a disaster. Now it is very wobbly, and I am going to buy a couple of boards to put on the back to hold it square.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Annova
Akron, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Problems from the step one. Literally.
11/10/2009

Customer review by MLnook

1.0 stars 11/10/2009 by MLnook
by MLnook

I looked around at a lot of desks for awhile before finally deciding that this one would be the best for my needs. I had it shipped site to store and it came in a lot earlier than expected. I got all of my tools out and ready and emptied the box. When I read the first step, I opened the parts bag to get out the 2 little screws I needed, unfortunately, there was only one. I am boxing this desk up and returning it asap. There is no way I'm going to wait around with 10 pieces of a useless desk laying around my room while I wait for one little screw to arrive at my door. Definitely won't be ordering anything online anytime soon.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MLnook
Would recommend to a friend? No
Just what I needed
4/4/2011

Customer review by sethro1993

5.0 stars 4/4/2011 by sethro1993
by sethro1993

This computer desk is perfect for what I needed. Holds the books I need and use pretty much every day. Love the adjustable shelf, I put smaller accessories on that one. My monitor is 18 & 1/2" widescreen and fits really good with about an inch and a 1/2 left on each side. The top self, I used the top for the little what-nots and keepsakes. Keep in mind the top self may not hold a printer since it's only about 9 & 1/2 wide. My printers all ready had a place & I didn't need the top shelf for that when I ordered it. My nephew put it together for me with very little help from me. Just keep this in mind, if you are limited to what you can do, get help.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
sethro1993
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Do Noy Buy This
1/28/2010

Customer review by OhioJoe1

1.0 stars 1/28/2010 by OhioJoe1
by OhioJoe1

The only good thing was this came via FedEx in a timely manner. 1). Assembly directions are unclear and the pictures for assembly were designed by someone who has never done any assembly; 2). Pre-drilled holes and etc... do not line up; 3). Screws provided and etc... are extremely poor quality; 3). Pre-fab surfaces had chips in the sides. The whole thing is cheaply made. You can not expect a much for this price. Although this is the third time I have bought a Mainstay product and all were cheaply made. I will never buy this brand name again. I am returning this product immediately.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
OhioJoe1
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
6/8/2011

Customer review by Kaylabg

5.0 stars 6/8/2011 by Kaylabg
by Kaylabg

My husband and I turned it into a project. Really fun and not extremely time consuming.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Kaylabg
Springfield, mo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Nice desk for the price
3/5/2009

Customer review by momgreene

5.0 stars 3/5/2009 by momgreene
by momgreene

We had a small computer cart previously that was falling apart and we needed an upgrade and didnt want to spend a lot. This fit the bill!! It is very nice looking when complete we have a new computer that is all black and it looks like it all goes together it actually looks even nicer in person than the picture shows. I took a bit of time to put together and there were some slight issuses with the keyboard slide out thing but it worked out. The only part that was that I wish was better would to be to have a storage compartment underneath but I bought a plastic (black) storage shelf container to put underneath and it goes perfectly. I have a 20" flat panel monitor and it fits in the window just fine. I liked this it serves it purpose perfectly and it was a good price

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
momgreene
Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Need professional to put together
10/25/2009

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 10/25/2009 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

There's a reason the price is so good. There is nothing but boards and screws. I finally had to call a professional over to put it together, and it still took the two of us 2 1/2 hours to put it together, and then it wasn't stable--it moves from side to side when you touch it---nothing to stabilize it. OH, mine came with a big chip on the desk part as well. It looks just like the picture, it's put together right. But you have to have a lot of tools and time to put it together, and then treat it like the fragile piece of furniture it is.

Was this review helpful? (4) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Nashville
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Do not buy this!
4/15/2010

Customer review by Walmart256

1.0 stars 4/15/2010 by Walmart256
by Walmart256

Put it togather, then put the printer on it when it fell down snapping my printer tray. The pressed wood is not well made and pulled apart. Pass on this item

Was this review helpful? (6) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Walmart256
91387
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Fell apart while I was making it
7/19/2010

Customer review by smyj

1.0 stars 7/19/2010 by smyj
by smyj

Yep, as I was putting the desk together, the side collapsed and the bolt ripped through the wood, rendering the desk unusable. I've never seen such a shoddy piece of junk in my life.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
smyj
Would recommend to a friend? No
1-20 of 128 total reviews
1-20 of 128 reviews