Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 110 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

110 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

110 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

96%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
67
4 stars
36
3 stars
4
2 stars
0
1 stars
3
1-20 of 90 total reviews
96%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 90 total reviews
1-20 of 90 reviews
The BH Tracker IV is excellent thus far
7/28/2014

Customer review by Ernielein

4.0 stars 7/28/2014 by Ernielein
by Ernielein
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

In about a week of possession I've only used my Tracker IV in our yards and one park. At the park, yesterday, for a half hour, I believe I discovered how the tones and discrimination work. I dug only five times total. All five times were coins. Four pennies and one quarter. I possibly missed one or two, but the identification seemed so good that I personally don't think I missed any. (At the chosen sensitivity.) Our local earth, at this time, is "so" hard, that I set the sensitivity at about 9 o'clock. All of the coins were at 2 to 3 inches or less, which I was able to dig okay. Years ago I did metal detecting with a BFO detector. This Tracker IV is like a PHD and the BFO was like a kindergartener. - The only con is that I wish it "did" read deeper. For when the soil is soft again. Ha!

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Ernielein
Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Product
11/29/2013

Customer review by 106Glory

5.0 stars 11/29/2013 by 106Glory
by 106Glory

After reading several reviews of many different detectors, I decided on this one. First of all, it came over a week sooner than expected, which was a pleasant surprise, and I did not upgrade shipping. I also took another reviewers' advice and got the headphones as well, which were worth the extra costs. And finally, I put it together and went hunting for my wedding band that had been lost for about 8 months or so out near our trampoline (easy to figure out how I lost it...). It wasn't 45 minutes later I had found a missing wrench (used to put together the trampoline) and my wedding band! Not a week earlier we had priced out what it would cost to get a new band, pretty much giving up on finding the original. We will use this on the beach this coming summer down in Wildwood Crest. Again, great product, money well spent.

Was this review helpful? (85) (22)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
106Glory
Bucks County, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per year
Good for coin shooting, not for finding gold rings
8/17/2013

Customer review by markfix68

4.0 stars 8/17/2013 by markfix68
by markfix68

Pretty good. It does a good job of finding coins. But, finding gold rings when pull tabs are around is almost impossible. Gold rings sound the same as a pulltab. The knobs can come off and be put back on at any position, so don't get too dependent on the orientation of the knob. The high tone gradually blends into the low tone, so it is hard to differentiate. One of the settings lets you filter out most iron objects, nice if you are in a trashy area. But there is no good way to filter out pull tabs. I think this may be a common problem with most metal detectors. Love the open coil. Works well in areas that don't have a lot of trash. Works well at the beach if you set the sensitivity way down when near the wet sand. If I had to buy a detector today, I would try to find one that could differentiate gold from pull tabs, if that exist.

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
markfix68
Cocoa, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Non-Recreational Use
12/10/2010

Customer review by CoffeeFox

5.0 stars 12/10/2010 by CoffeeFox
by CoffeeFox

I purchased this product to find screws, nails, etc. left on the ground by the builders who had put up a new roof. I own livestock which had access to the yard where the roof was built. I also wanted to check a driveway as well. I cannot comment on its ability to discern between junk and valuable items. I had the sensitivity set high to catch all metal. It was light and easy to use. It found over 5 pounds of screws and small pieces of metal in an area where the naked eye saw none. Though they did not advertise it for this purpose, I was also able to locate and map a propane line which was buried about 2' down.

Was this review helpful? (212) (39)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CoffeeFox
Swanton, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Great Metal Detector!!
12/28/2015

Customer review by jaye

5.0 stars 12/28/2015 by jaye
by jaye

This metal detector was a GREAT Christmas gift for my 10 year old son. He's already put it to good use! What wasn't so great is the fact that Walmart shipped it in it's original box (no outside box to hide the contents)! When we pulled in the driveway there sat his metal detector for all to see (including HIM). Maybe Walmart should consider wrapping items in an outer box or be a bit more discrete at least this time of year!! Again...totally happy with the metal detector...just beware of shipping methods if it's a gift!!

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jaye
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
GOLD
1/6/2016

Customer review by ACFrancis

5.0 stars 1/6/2016 by ACFrancis
by ACFrancis

THIS UNIT IS VERY GOOD FOR THE MONEY YOU SPEND ON IT. I HAVE FOUND GOLD RINGS FEW OLD COINS AND OTHER THINGS I MADE MY MONEY BACK IN THE FIRST MONTH OF OWNING THIS. WELL WORTH THE BUY.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ACFrancis
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
best on the web
5/12/2010

Customer review by rrdffjkl

4.0 stars 5/12/2010 by rrdffjkl
by rrdffjkl

purchased for 8 year old, researched all reviews before i bought. For the money this is the best metal detector out there. If you learn how to fine tune it - it will not register junk and hits only what you want. We tuned it to find only gold (have to test the settings with a piece of your own) Wow it was spot on ignoring wire, nails, copper and just finds gold.

Was this review helpful? (238) (30)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
rrdffjkl
new jersey
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Found My Wedding Ring! Hooray!
10/10/2012

Customer review by Sass521

4.0 stars 10/10/2012 by Sass521
by Sass521

After losing my wedding ring in my front lawn and looking for it endlessly in a sea of grass, my husband and I finally broke down and bought the Bounty Hunter metal detector to try and find it. Using it without headphones made it a bit difficult because it seemed it wasn't distinguishing between different types of metals, and sources of general beepery but once my husband plugged a pair of headphones into that bad boy, and tested it on a few coins before searching, my ring was found within 5 minutes! Would I buy it again? You bet your hairy pea knuckle - if I were into buying duplicate items. Amen.

Was this review helpful? (69) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sass521
Maine
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per year
9/22/2012

Customer review by sandmanadream

5.0 stars 9/22/2012 by sandmanadream
by sandmanadream

Bounty Hunter IV is a great metal detector for a new person getting in the hobby, I"m having fun and getting hooked on metal detecting. First time I used it I found metal the first 2 feet I started. After learning how to set the bounty Hunter I started finding money and metal all over the playground and schools.I know It was a good decision to start off with this machine and very easy to use and I"m very happy with my new toy and when I get better I"ll step to something more to expand my skills but for now I"m having FUN !!

Was this review helpful? (24) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
sandmanadream
suffolk va
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
So far so good
9/6/2014

Customer review by KathiCR

5.0 stars 9/6/2014 by KathiCR
by KathiCR
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I haven't really had the time to take this out to look for treasure since I just received it a couple days ago, but I have tested it on different metals. It works just fine. Very easy to assemble for an old lady like me, in fact when my son saw it he said "did you put that together" lol... I really like how easy and light it is to hold, I love the arm rest on it too. The price is amazing, and I hope to find many treasures. I've wanted a metal detector since I first saw a man using one on the beach when I was a little kid. Now I have one, one bucket list checked off....

Was this review helpful? (14) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KathiCR
Fullerton, Calif.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Just what I was looking for!
1/30/2010

Customer review by CritterMan

5.0 stars 1/30/2010 by CritterMan
by CritterMan

I had been looking for a metal detector for a while with no luck. Then I found this model at Walmart.com. It was exactly what I wanted; very lightweight and easy to use, and it even has a headphone jack. Perfect for someone who just wants to “treasure hunt” for fun. Great for young and old alike.

Was this review helpful? (145) (30)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CritterMan
Rock, WV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Bounty search
4/25/2014

Customer review by Delgado209

5.0 stars 4/25/2014 by Delgado209
by Delgado209
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This came to my home two days earlier than planned. That was a surprise it works very well and found more coins and objects than expected.

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Delgado209
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Bounty Hunter Tracker IV
1/28/2011

Customer review by CPOUSNRet

5.0 stars 1/28/2011 by CPOUSNRet
by CPOUSNRet

Within 5 minutes of my first use, I found a quarter! I'm on my way to making back my investment!! HA! I am pleased with how simple the instructions are and they actually work! Someone listened to the customer!

Was this review helpful? (157) (39)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CPOUSNRet
Oceanside, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
User friendly, great price and light weight.
2/3/2013

Customer review by buriedmetalX

5.0 stars 2/3/2013 by buriedmetalX
by buriedmetalX
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I ordered the metal detector for my wife's January birthday. After reviewing several models I decided on Bounty Hunter Tracker IV. I called several sporting goods and department stores only to find out it was the one detector they stocked but were out of. I ordered it through Walmart, whose price was ten dollars less and received it three days sooner than expected. My wife was very anxious to try it out on a thirty degree day in Pennsylvania with a wind chill of 12. We walked no further than fifteen feet from the car when we got a signal for either nickel or gold. We'll be back this spring. Great product!

Was this review helpful? (13) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
buriedmetalX
Pittsburgh, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Does what I needed
12/13/2010

Customer review by FredsRabbit

4.0 stars 12/13/2010 by FredsRabbit
by FredsRabbit

I ordered this product for one reason - to locate the property stakes for our lot. We had located them 5 years ago, but after dirt work etc., could no longer find them. It took about 30 minutes (lots of trash in the soil) for us to find just what we were looking for. Since this was our first time using a metal detector, we felt this was quite good.

Was this review helpful? (44) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FredsRabbit
Richmond, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Great detector
10/15/2011

Customer review by SilverBull

5.0 stars 10/15/2011 by SilverBull
by SilverBull

I read the directions and set the controls for what I wanted to find, and it works. Excellent value for the money.

Was this review helpful? (27) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SilverBull
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
American Made Enyty Level Hobby Gem!
10/26/2013

Customer review by 12AX7vs5532

5.0 stars 10/26/2013 by 12AX7vs5532
by 12AX7vs5532
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Proof we can still do something right. For less than $100 (product, tax and free shipping) you get a decent entry level metal detector w/adequate discrimination, ground nulling, water proof coil, adjustable shaft, light and easy to carry, Fun! Packaged well (some real work went into the layout/support for shipping.) The meter is fairly useless (but again 'fun' for a newbie.) As far as performance vs. price point, HIGHLY recommended, you'd have to spend maybe 3X more to effectively expect much more. If you want digital display, bells and whistles, get something else...

Was this review helpful? (29) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
12AX7vs5532
Eastern Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Saved me hundreds!!!
10/17/2012

Customer review by Angelam1

5.0 stars 10/17/2012 by Angelam1
by Angelam1

We found my husbands ring within 10 minutes after getting this. We had looked for days before ordering this and can't believe how well this worked.

Was this review helpful? (12) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Angelam1
Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Overall a great performer
7/8/2012

Customer review by pleasedwiththisone

5.0 stars 7/8/2012 by pleasedwiththisone
by pleasedwiththisone

Nice detector which is very sensitive. You'll find yourself turning the sensitivity way down or else you'll be digging constantly. The discrimination isn't bad you just have to learn it's characteristics. It's surely not going to tell you - hey there's 2 silver quarters and a gold ring right here. It's easy on batteries, super light weight and very adjustable for your comfort. Well made for the price.

Was this review helpful? (40) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
pleasedwiththisone
Noblesville Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great Intermediate Metal Detector
11/18/2013

Customer review by CactusJacksBrother

5.0 stars 11/18/2013 by CactusJacksBrother
by CactusJacksBrother
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Easy to follow instructions on switch settings enabled me to find a lost ring in four inch tall grass. Headphones really are a big help. The audible beeps were driving a family dog crazy. Any headphone with a 1/4 inch plugin jack will work and they really are helpful. Coins, bottle caps and tab pulls were fun to find but getting the ring back was worth the price of this metal detector. This Tracker IV has all of the necessary functions without the costly bells and whistles.

Was this review helpful? (16) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CactusJacksBrother
Phoenix, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 90 total reviews
1-20 of 90 reviews