Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 4.5out of 5 stars
4.5 out of 5 | 204 reviews
5 stars
132
4 stars
61
3 stars
5
2 stars
1
1 stars
5
Sort by: 
1-20 of 184 reviews
1-20 of 184 reviews
Wanted to find loose nails in my yard.
7/7/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I specifically ordered this to find loose nails and screws in my yard. I have 3 kids and since we had a new fence put up and other things done in the back yard, I would regularly find a nail or screw laying on the ground. I worried that one might find its way through a foot one day. So the day I received it we all went outside and took turns looking for nails and screws. Each kid found 3 or 4 things. (Some old and rusty and some new. We found a penny too.) The beeping reminds me of a grocery checkout scanner. There is a definite, but very subtle jolt that you can feel when the needle jumps that can help pinpoint the spot. A few times I was unable to locate anything where the beep was. I am guessing it was deeper than the 3 inches I bothered to dig up. I was only on the hunt for surface debris. I can't wait to try it at the beach or ranch. My older kids are 4 and 6 and I needed to help them wave the detector (especially the 4 year old) bc of the awkward angle the length makes for her. They love it. Here is a picture of some of my first day finds.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great Starter Metal Detector
9/3/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I took this detector along with my family on vacation. We left it on the easiest mode to use and it picked up all kinds of stuff. I made detecting on the beach really fun. To give an example of how good it was it detected a safety seal from an orange juice about a foot in the sand. Here is a video I made of all the fun we had using the detector. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aLPfq9QmDmY
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great Product
11/29/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
After reading several reviews of many different detectors, I decided on this one. First of all, it came over a week sooner than expected, which was a pleasant surprise, and I did not upgrade shipping. I also took another reviewers' advice and got the headphones as well, which were worth the extra costs. And finally, I put it together and went hunting for my wedding band that had been lost for about 8 months or so out near our trampoline (easy to figure out how I lost it...). It wasn't 45 minutes later I had found a missing wrench (used to put together the trampoline) and my wedding band! Not a week earlier we had priced out what it would cost to get a new band, pretty much giving up on finding the original. We will use this on the beach this coming summer down in Wildwood Crest. Again, great product, money well spent.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (168)No (46)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Good for coin shooting, not for finding gold rings
8/17/2013
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Pretty good. It does a good job of finding coins. But, finding gold rings when pull tabs are around is almost impossible. Gold rings sound the same as a pulltab. The knobs can come off and be put back on at any position, so don't get too dependent on the orientation of the knob. The high tone gradually blends into the low tone, so it is hard to differentiate. One of the settings lets you filter out most iron objects, nice if you are in a trashy area. But there is no good way to filter out pull tabs. I think this may be a common problem with most metal detectors. Love the open coil. Works well in areas that don't have a lot of trash. Works well at the beach if you set the sensitivity way down when near the wet sand. If I had to buy a detector today, I would try to find one that could differentiate gold from pull tabs, if that exist.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (28)No (7)
Report
Was this review helpful?
The BH Tracker IV is excellent thus far
7/28/2014
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
In about a week of possession I've only used my Tracker IV in our yards and one park. At the park, yesterday, for a half hour, I believe I discovered how the tones and discrimination work. I dug only five times total. All five times were coins. Four pennies and one quarter. I possibly missed one or two, but the identification seemed so good that I personally don't think I missed any. (At the chosen sensitivity.) Our local earth, at this time, is "so" hard, that I set the sensitivity at about 9 o'clock. All of the coins were at 2 to 3 inches or less, which I was able to dig okay. Years ago I did metal detecting with a BFO detector. This Tracker IV is like a PHD and the BFO was like a kindergartener. - The only con is that I wish it "did" read deeper. For when the soil is soft again. Ha!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (39)No (9)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Non-Recreational Use
12/10/2010
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I purchased this product to find screws, nails, etc. left on the ground by the builders who had put up a new roof. I own livestock which had access to the yard where the roof was built. I also wanted to check a driveway as well. I cannot comment on its ability to discern between junk and valuable items. I had the sensitivity set high to catch all metal. It was light and easy to use. It found over 5 pounds of screws and small pieces of metal in an area where the naked eye saw none. Though they did not advertise it for this purpose, I was also able to locate and map a propane line which was buried about 2' down.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (270)No (54)
Report
Was this review helpful?
best on the web
5/12/2010
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
purchased for 8 year old, researched all reviews before i bought. For the money this is the best metal detector out there. If you learn how to fine tune it - it will not register junk and hits only what you want. We tuned it to find only gold (have to test the settings with a piece of your own) Wow it was spot on ignoring wire, nails, copper and just finds gold.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (281)No (35)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Found My Wedding Ring! Hooray!
10/10/2012
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
After losing my wedding ring in my front lawn and looking for it endlessly in a sea of grass, my husband and I finally broke down and bought the Bounty Hunter metal detector to try and find it. Using it without headphones made it a bit difficult because it seemed it wasn't distinguishing between different types of metals, and sources of general beepery but once my husband plugged a pair of headphones into that bad boy, and tested it on a few coins before searching, my ring was found within 5 minutes! Would I buy it again? You bet your hairy pea knuckle - if I were into buying duplicate items. Amen.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (97)No (22)
Report
Was this review helpful?
So far so good
9/6/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I haven't really had the time to take this out to look for treasure since I just received it a couple days ago, but I have tested it on different metals. It works just fine. Very easy to assemble for an old lady like me, in fact when my son saw it he said "did you put that together" lol... I really like how easy and light it is to hold, I love the arm rest on it too. The price is amazing, and I hope to find many treasures. I've wanted a metal detector since I first saw a man using one on the beach when I was a little kid. Now I have one, one bucket list checked off....
Was this review helpful?
Yes (23)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Just what I was looking for!
1/30/2010
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I had been looking for a metal detector for a while with no luck. Then I found this model at Walmart.com. It was exactly what I wanted; very lightweight and easy to use, and it even has a headphone jack. Perfect for someone who just wants to “treasure hunt” for fun. Great for young and old alike.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (162)No (37)
Report
Was this review helpful?
9/22/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Bounty Hunter IV is a great metal detector for a new person getting in the hobby, I"m having fun and getting hooked on metal detecting. First time I used it I found metal the first 2 feet I started. After learning how to set the bounty Hunter I started finding money and metal all over the playground and schools.I know It was a good decision to start off with this machine and very easy to use and I"m very happy with my new toy and when I get better I"ll step to something more to expand my skills but for now I"m having FUN !!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (46)No (10)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Bounty Hunter Tracker IV
1/28/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Within 5 minutes of my first use, I found a quarter! I'm on my way to making back my investment!! HA! I am pleased with how simple the instructions are and they actually work! Someone listened to the customer!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (170)No (41)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great value....Great product
10/25/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Found some very "small" objects....still looking for one in particular...very satisfied...easy to operate...highly recommended
Was this review helpful?
Yes (20)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Does what I needed
12/13/2010
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I ordered this product for one reason - to locate the property stakes for our lot. We had located them 5 years ago, but after dirt work etc., could no longer find them. It took about 30 minutes (lots of trash in the soil) for us to find just what we were looking for. Since this was our first time using a metal detector, we felt this was quite good.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (54)No (14)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great detector
10/15/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I read the directions and set the controls for what I wanted to find, and it works. Excellent value for the money.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (33)No (6)
Report
Was this review helpful?
American Made Enyty Level Hobby Gem!
10/26/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Proof we can still do something right. For less than $100 (product, tax and free shipping) you get a decent entry level metal detector w/adequate discrimination, ground nulling, water proof coil, adjustable shaft, light and easy to carry, Fun! Packaged well (some real work went into the layout/support for shipping.) The meter is fairly useless (but again 'fun' for a newbie.) As far as performance vs. price point, HIGHLY recommended, you'd have to spend maybe 3X more to effectively expect much more. If you want digital display, bells and whistles, get something else...
Was this review helpful?
Yes (36)No (12)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Overall a great performer
7/8/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Nice detector which is very sensitive. You'll find yourself turning the sensitivity way down or else you'll be digging constantly. The discrimination isn't bad you just have to learn it's characteristics. It's surely not going to tell you - hey there's 2 silver quarters and a gold ring right here. It's easy on batteries, super light weight and very adjustable for your comfort. Well made for the price.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (50)No (15)
Report
Was this review helpful?
User friendly, great price and light weight.
2/3/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I ordered the metal detector for my wife's January birthday. After reviewing several models I decided on Bounty Hunter Tracker IV. I called several sporting goods and department stores only to find out it was the one detector they stocked but were out of. I ordered it through Walmart, whose price was ten dollars less and received it three days sooner than expected. My wife was very anxious to try it out on a thirty degree day in Pennsylvania with a wind chill of 12. We walked no further than fifteen feet from the car when we got a signal for either nickel or gold. We'll be back this spring. Great product!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (16)No (4)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great Intermediate Metal Detector
11/18/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Easy to follow instructions on switch settings enabled me to find a lost ring in four inch tall grass. Headphones really are a big help. The audible beeps were driving a family dog crazy. Any headphone with a 1/4 inch plugin jack will work and they really are helpful. Coins, bottle caps and tab pulls were fun to find but getting the ring back was worth the price of this metal detector. This Tracker IV has all of the necessary functions without the costly bells and whistles.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (21)No (5)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Bounty search
4/25/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
This came to my home two days earlier than planned. That was a surprise it works very well and found more coins and objects than expected.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (12)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184642834, DC-prod-dal3, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-