Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 54 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

54 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

54 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

94%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
41
4 stars
10
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 stars
1
1-20 of 45 total reviews
94%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 45 total reviews
1-20 of 45 reviews
Not Worth the Money
4/6/2011

Customer review by Luvs2ShopWM

1.0 stars 4/6/2011 by Luvs2ShopWM
by Luvs2ShopWM

This is my 2nd LaCie drive. The first lasted a few months, when the blue light began to fade. After phone calls to tech support (their headquarters are not far away), I was asked to send it back - at my expense, which did not make me happy. After investigation, I was informed there was a problem with a circuit board. They returned a new, larger drive in its place. First I thought that was a cool gesture, until I realized I paid out of my pocket to ship it back, had lost all the data on the drive, and had to be without the drive for the time it took them to realize they couldn't repair it. The 2nd drive lasted a few days past the 2 year warranty period. It just died, with no advance warning. Even though it had a 2 yr warranty, I tried to prevail upon management to replace the drive, as a goodwill gesture, since it was just days out of warranty. They refused, in spite of the problems they knew I'd had with the 1st drive. While this may seem like an attractive price, I would never take a chance on this brand ever again.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Luvs2ShopWM
Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
Excellent Buy
11/29/2008

Customer review by LaMonstre

5.0 stars 11/29/2008 by LaMonstre
by LaMonstre

Typical of all LaCie products for the Mac. I literally took it out of the box, plugged everything in and turned it on. No fuss, no muss. After researching the price over the internet, found it here at Walmart.com for the best price. Ordered it online over a weekend, it was there in 2 days. Can't be beat.

Was this review helpful? (15) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LaMonstre
Oakland, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
great value, good drive
10/13/2009

Customer review by wallyshopper22

5.0 stars 10/13/2009 by wallyshopper22
by wallyshopper22

This drive was a great value -- especially for mac users as it is one of the few that includes software (such as for backups) for mac. It's quiet and small and quick. It "sleeps" automatically when the computer sleeps. The only downside is that the computer will "wake" before the drive and if you have left programs open (like final cut), the files can show as offline and you have to reconnect them. Solution: quit all programs first and let it have it's brief moment to wake up. I can live with that. As for getting it through Wal-Mart - I'm sold! I did store-to-site and was told something like 7-10 days; it was there in 3!! I love that I have access to seeing the product before purchase and of course WMart's return policy if needed. And, since the price beat everyone's, I've pretty much dumped all my other online shopping. (No, I really don't work there; I just had a great shopping experience -- a novelty these days!)

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
wallyshopper22
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
One Bad Thing
8/1/2009

Customer review by abfmdan

4.0 stars 8/1/2009 by abfmdan
by abfmdan

The software that came with the drive, on installation claimed it was a hacked registration number. Upon contacting the company they offered a solution that worked. Overall product is good.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
abfmdan
Southern California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great Value! Excellent HDD
4/28/2011

Customer review by SmoothAK

5.0 stars 4/28/2011 by SmoothAK
by SmoothAK

Just purchased this LaCie Hard Drive from Walmart.com and have been very happy with the whole process. The HDD was at a great price and I ended up receiving it in 2 days even though I chose ground shipping. Gotta love that. The drive was easy to setup and even has a utility to format and partition the drive. It even supports Mac and Linux. Definitely recommend the hard drive and would buy again with Walmart.com

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SmoothAK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
What a deal
4/26/2011

Customer review by FDWLAW

5.0 stars 4/26/2011 by FDWLAW
by FDWLAW

I got this drive on sale from Wal-Mart for only $57.00 plus tax. What a dea! Although this drive is only USB it's plenty fast enough for my intended purpose. You can't find a drive of this quality for the same price point I purchased it for.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FDWLAW
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
LaCie 1TB Hard Drive, Design by Neil Poulton, USB
6/15/2010

Customer review by kevonsax

5.0 stars 6/15/2010 by kevonsax
by kevonsax

Very nice hardrive with plenty of storage. Great sleek look with blue light shining fron from the bottom. The USB cord was very short so I purchased a longer one.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kevonsax
Tulare Ca.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
FAST SHIPPING
9/16/2008

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 9/16/2008 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

The actual hard drive is great. NICE PRICE...160 plus shipping for a terabyte drive....nice...I paid 5 bucks for 5-10 day shipping and received it in 3 days.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Memphis, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Awesome
1/20/2009

Customer review by BooyaBoy

5.0 stars 1/20/2009 by BooyaBoy
by BooyaBoy

It works great. Just got it out of the box, plugged it in, and its all set to go. Great for my macbook. Super glad I got it before the price raised $30.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BooyaBoy
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
great unit
7/29/2009

Customer review by robert2

4.0 stars 7/29/2009 by robert2
by robert2

I'd say that it was a great buy, really affordable, and I like the way it sits with its weight balanced the larger part of the machine. My old one stood on the narrow length with no resistance pads (which my new one also has) and was probably what contributed to its death because it slid out so easily. The only thing I was a little disappointed with was that 70gigs went missing. Now I understand that there is a certain amount of space that goes for the kernel operating system, however my laptop didn't take up that much on its hard drive! I'd recommend reformatting it first to see if it gets rid of the problem. I was just too impatient to do mine! :)

robert2
Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
It does the job
9/9/2009

Customer review by jojpaul

4.0 stars 9/9/2009 by jojpaul
by jojpaul

Pros: +Looks nice +Speed booster actually works +No fan Cons: - Not a solid case - Power switch would be nicer to have on the front - Larger than most external hard drives including models with fans Overall: This is a typical hard drive with a little bit more speed than I've seen in others. It looks really nice and doesn't look like a hard drive but it's pretty big. Works great on Mac OSX Snow Leopard.

jojpaul
Calgary, AB
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
i love my new Terrabite
6/6/2011

Customer review by Iliketofish

5.0 stars 6/6/2011 by Iliketofish
by Iliketofish

my only regret with this is that i didn't get one sooner. i am a student and have lots of files that are lost when my computer crashes. not any more. my wife and i put all our home videos, pics, word docs., and music and still have 850 gb of memory left. this thing is great. i plan on using this for a long time. i couldn't be happier. you have to plug it in which can be a pane, but i guess it makes it faster when it has it's own power source. great tool to have.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Iliketofish
Logan, Ut
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Does the Job, too loud
4/20/2011

Customer review by bostonboy1345

3.0 stars 4/20/2011 by bostonboy1345
by bostonboy1345

I got the exact same deal from Walmart two weeks ago. Pros : Very stylish looking, The blue LED looks great, compact enough, Fast read/write. Cons: Just too loud, read/write constant click. It becomes very bothersome after sometime if you are in a quiet room and have it right next to you. Does the job of a 1 TB hardrive. I will rather pay 20$ more and get a better quieter product next time.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bostonboy1345
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great Product--Great Service
7/27/2009

Customer review by WatchManInMich

5.0 stars 7/27/2009 by WatchManInMich
by WatchManInMich

I ordered this LaCie 1 TB hard drive in the evening and in less than 24 hours, it arrived at my home half way across the country. The service was outstanding, as is this product. It takes up very little room, installed in mere minutes and is now storing a great bulk of my pictures. Thank you Walmart for great service and thank you Neil Poulton and LaCie for a great product.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WatchManInMich
Marne, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Lacie 1Terabyte
4/30/2011

Customer review by heyyyitsanna

5.0 stars 4/30/2011 by heyyyitsanna
by heyyyitsanna

Absolutely wonderful product. Arrived within 4 days. Meets all expectations. Hooks straight up to my laptop (PC) without any software and is ready immediately for use. Very quick process to load all of my photos onto it. The price is amazing, and coming from a person who can be skeptical about low prices equating to good quality, you will not be disappointed!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
heyyyitsanna
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
EASY TO USE PRODUCT
11/5/2009

Customer review by GOLF4U

5.0 stars 11/5/2009 by GOLF4U
by GOLF4U

PURCHASED THE LACIE 1TB DRIVE 6 - 7 WEEKS AGO AND IT DOES A FANTASTIC JOB. LOADED OVER 16000 PICS AND VIDEOS OF FAMILY (80 GB) AND NOW HAVE A WEALTH OF STORAGE FOR FUTURE USE. JUST HIGHLIGHTED AND SELECTED THE MAIN FILE FOLDER AND HIT COPY. DID NOT USE THE SOFTWARE THAT CAME WITH THIS PRODUCT. GREAT TO HAVE A SIMPLE AND MASS STORAGE FOR OUR FAMILY PHOTOS.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GOLF4U
GROTON CT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
5/11/2011

Customer review by EasyBob

5.0 stars 5/11/2011 by EasyBob
by EasyBob

1st of all, PRODUCT is GREAT!! 2ndly, I was not able to implement (probably due to my own lack of experience) the on board LaCie '1-Click' Backup Software program. I chose to use my tried & tested & true Backup Software. It worked fine with this LaCie 1TB Neil Poulton External USB HDD. I will order again from LaCie. 1st & LAST of all, PRODUCT is GREAT!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
EasyBob
WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Rocks!
5/31/2011

Customer review by Ahabiam

5.0 stars 5/31/2011 by Ahabiam
by Ahabiam

I was looking for an external hard drive with large storage for a home network backup. While looking at the usual suspects, I came across this Lacie drive for an excellant price. Shipping was prompt, the price was right, and the unit functioned perfectly right out of the box. The elegant look as well as the functionality fit my network perfectly.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Ahabiam
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
LaCie 1 TB Drive
12/21/2009

Customer review by DragonRider98851

4.0 stars 12/21/2009 by DragonRider98851
by DragonRider98851

This is an excellent product for both Mac & PC users. It has backup software for both platforms. It is also compatible with Apples Macintosh Time Machine software It may not the fastest since it only uses USB but it is very reliable and the price is excellent. I have been using computers since the 1970's, the stone age.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DragonRider98851
Soap Lake, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
very good product!
4/29/2011

Customer review by heyitsdebbz

5.0 stars 4/29/2011 by heyitsdebbz
by heyitsdebbz

i thought this hard drive would be EXTREMELY large, but it's actually not. it's sleek, thin, and compact. of course, it's not a portable hard drive so it isn't that small, but I really like it. (only thing is you would have to connect it to the wall as it's not wireless, and has a long somewhat long cord)

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
heyitsdebbz
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
1-20 of 45 total reviews
1-20 of 45 reviews