Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 64 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

64 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

64 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

92%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
39
4 stars
15
3 stars
6
2 stars
2
1 stars
2
1-20 of 53 total reviews
92%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 53 total reviews
1-20 of 53 reviews
Good value - limited range
4/14/2010

Customer review by PawPADs2

4.0 stars 4/14/2010 by PawPADs2
by PawPADs2

Pros: This is a great value for the price. We use it around our 7 acre service dog training facility, especially around the main campus bldg as an intercom. The "emergency" button is a great idea that our trainers may use if a dog gets away from them or they are involved in an emergency that takes both hands and all their focus. The "knob" on/off switch works much better than buttons with so many people of different radio knowledge using them. We simply put in the settings we want and lock it. It's nearly fool-proof...not "darn fool" proof though. Neg: The supplied belt clip isn't very useful. We have replaced it with a "zip tie" and small carribeaner clip to give it endless variations ond configuartions for keeping it with you. The range is a BIG dissapointment. Even with the basic terrain we have around here (trees , houses), it comes nowhere near reaching even 2 miles, much less 20. Over all, for the price it's a great unit.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PawPADs2
Savage, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Awesome!
5/13/2009

Customer review by cowgomoo

5.0 stars 5/13/2009 by cowgomoo
by cowgomoo

Very nice product, the flashlight is a good addition too! The batterie lasts longer than I expected.

Was this review helpful? (16) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cowgomoo
Seattle, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Nice little radio
8/21/2009

Customer review by asimplemom

5.0 stars 8/21/2009 by asimplemom
by asimplemom

I work in a warehouse that is pretty big, one of the biggest in the north eastern united states. Our building is a half mile long outside corner to outside corner! Over 1.5 million sq feet! We have a couple of these radios floating around in our building for work related usage. (you try tracking somebody down in a building that size with no P.A. system). They work great. They are durable and the rechargable battery packs work for our 10 hour shifts (if charged and cycled properly). The flashlight is an awesome addition if we have to check out trailers out in the yard for paperwork and what not. NOTE: The lights will drain the batteries quick. I am planning on buying a couple of sets for personal usage for me and my kids to use when they roam the neighborhood on their bikes with their little friends and "forget" to charge their cell phones and when we go to the campsite that gets no cell reception. All in all good product, no complaints.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
asimplemom
Lockbourne, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Staying Connected
5/4/2009

Customer review by harmonicat

4.0 stars 5/4/2009 by harmonicat
by harmonicat

The Motorola EM1000R Two-Way Radio is a "must have" item in order to stay in touch with one another. I use my Two-Way Radio to communicate with my spouse whenever I am either outside or in another room in my home. The Motorola EM1000R always keeps us in touch with each other. I will taking my Two-Way Radios on vacation with me in the event that we get separated from one another. This device is also excellent when you need to communicate in separate vehicles when you no longer have a signal available for your cell phone. I highly recommend this item to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
harmonicat
Pelham AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good item
9/26/2009

Customer review by Trumpster

5.0 stars 9/26/2009 by Trumpster
by Trumpster

These two-way radios worked better than expected on our recent cruise. We were able to communicate with our daughter and another family who brought radios. We did not encounter any areas on the ship where we were not able to communicate.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Trumpster
Atlanta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
So far so good...
5/27/2008

Customer review by PortraitureByMelanie

5.0 stars 5/27/2008 by PortraitureByMelanie
by PortraitureByMelanie

My wife and I are wedding photographers who usually have assistants that work with us at the events. Sometimes we can get a bit scattered being in the church, outside, at the reception site, or whatever. These radios have helped us greatly in keeping track of each other and coordinating covering the event well. We haven't done any testing of the extreme end of the range, but have had no trouble reaching each other in large buildings and around the grounds. We use these in conjunction with the over-the-ear boom mics from Motorola for hands free communication. This radio has plenty of options like turning off the beep when you press buttons or when you're done talking. This lets us whisper to each other from across a large room even during the ceremony without being a distraction. I also like the addition of the LED flashlight. All in all, great buy!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PortraitureByMelanie
Kinston, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great Radios for Camping
7/7/2009

Customer review by Smf45

4.0 stars 7/7/2009 by Smf45
by Smf45

These radios work well for camping and fishing! Easy to hear and talk on. Belt clips are a bit stiff, but great otherwise! Nice to have the light on them too.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Smf45
Grand Junction, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Keepin' in touch!
1/5/2009

Customer review by MsPrissTheQueen

5.0 stars 1/5/2009 by MsPrissTheQueen
by MsPrissTheQueen

I bought these two-way walkie talkies for my 6 yr. old son for X-Mas. He absolutely loves them. They have a lot of cool features that intrigue the youngsters; the end light, different ring tones, iVOX. Battery life is excellent. Having a rechargeable battery mount and not needing to purchase batteries is super cost effective. I am excited to try them out on our next trip to one of the major theme parks. This is a very useful product my family will get tons of use out of.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MsPrissTheQueen
Tampa, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Dissapointed
9/2/2009

Customer review by 0011Nope

2.0 stars 9/2/2009 by 0011Nope
by 0011Nope

The two way radio set does not even come close to the distance it says it can. 20 miles! What a joke. Maybe the radio went 2 miles out but around 1 mile we could only hear the other persons voice but was not able to make out what they were saying. VERY dissapointed, could not use product the entire trip.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
0011Nope
Would recommend to a friend? No
Nice but not 100% satisfactory
7/6/2010

Customer review by bajaexcursions

1.0 stars 7/6/2010 by bajaexcursions
by bajaexcursions

Just have two complains, 1) I know these are not waterproof, but even the mist of a cold night will take them down. Anyways we find a way of protect them against weather 2) But the main problem is the clip... it falls so easy, we use to put adhesive tape to it because it fells so easy, this weekend we forget the tape and we decided that we will use it the way it was and guess what... just drop one of the radios into a river while doing rapel, it was well attached to the camelback as it should be, no tapes, just the clip, and when moving a bit faster from one side to another to avoid a rock it jumped out falling down, so now I have only one left, this was not the first time the clip fails, just that we managed to add some black tape and it worked for a while.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bajaexcursions
San Diego, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Poor audio
9/21/2010

Customer review by WCILFarmer

3.0 stars 9/21/2010 by WCILFarmer
by WCILFarmer

I bought these radios for the price, which is cheap. They are well-built, rugged and easy to use. Setup is also easy. I use only channel one and did not change codes. I live in a rural area where there is no other competing radio traffic, but it's very simple to change channels or codes if I need to. The problem is, the audio is noisy and garbled. It comes out sounding like the other person is using an electric blender while taking a shower. Not clear at all and difficult to understand. Makes us repeat messages a lot. May work better in a quiet area, but I use them where it's already noisy and have to turn the volume up all the way. The more you turn it up, the worse it gets.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WCILFarmer
West Central Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Walkie-Talkies
8/13/2010

Customer review by agizzle

4.0 stars 8/13/2010 by agizzle
by agizzle

I have been fairly impressed with these walkie-talkies. I must say that they do not really pick up past 1 2/3 miles. Of course, I was in my vehicle and the other person was inside their apartment. They did go about a mile in those conditions. I am assuming that out in the field they would work at a greater range. I am an avid mountain biker and it is good in case of emergency. You have an emergency button that will contact the local authorities. I looked at this one and several others, but this model has everything and the light is very powerful for being as tiny as it is. Good product and Wal-Mart had the best online price.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
agizzle
Kansas City
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great for purpose intended
1/4/2011

Customer review by brlister

5.0 stars 1/4/2011 by brlister
by brlister

I researched a number of options for communication between a group of about 70 families living in a four mile range of each other if there was to be an emergency and normal communication was down. I chose these because of the ease of use (I tried other brands) the alternatives for power (either AAA, or a normal mini USB--many have mini usb for their phones so they could be charged from a car), emergency broadcast channels and cost. Depending on terrain, I get from 1 to 3 miles, which allows a relay across the range I need. The flashlight is a cute plus, although I wouldn't choose a radio for a flashlight.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
brlister
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great for family and survival kit use.
10/30/2009

Customer review by K4JDR

5.0 stars 10/30/2009 by K4JDR
by K4JDR

Product works as a two-way radio should at its 1.5 watt output. You get 1 to 2 miles between them outside, open terrain as a typical UHF radio on GMRS simplex channels do. Great for shopping malls, camping, traveling on the road within a mile radius of one another. Also great to use in survival kit or if involved in a Community Emergency Response Team. I use many different two-way radios and this radio works well. Disregard the 20 mile advertizement, if you are on a moutaintop and are in line of site of the other radio you can talk that far, but not if you are both at the same grade level.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
K4JDR
Raleigh, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
no good
7/7/2009

Customer review by cruise2go

1.0 stars 7/7/2009 by cruise2go
by cruise2go

this product said the range of 20 miles and my kid rode 2 mile away and could not here him.will return soon

Was this review helpful? (4) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cruise2go
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per year
Motorloa Walkie talkie
3/8/2010

Customer review by photocamera

5.0 stars 3/8/2010 by photocamera
by photocamera

Had an older pair, one went bad..not worth expence to fix. Now have three(3) working on same bandwith. The 2 new units look very similar to old one. We take alot of cruises, need commun. aboard ship and shore trex's. The old ones worked well and when I read a review of the new ones working "all" over the ship...good. The new ones cost around $47. and use bigger batteries...good! When we are not traveling use in shopping malls. Well satisfied, don't need a cadillac when a chevy will do ! ordered on line, no shipp. cst to the str, they e-mailed me when ready. TB

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
photocamera
Charlotte, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
A very helpful product
3/22/2011

Customer review by RellsMoM

5.0 stars 3/22/2011 by RellsMoM
by RellsMoM

I bought this for my 6 yr old son. I had previously bought the little kiddie ones and they are truly toys, useless for communicating. These are perfect for us! We use them through out the house and they are rechargeable, that makes it worth the money alone vs. the alternative battery replacement cost. Not sure about the distance but I have communicated with him via the product alteast a mile away while I was at the local Kroger and he was at the house with his Dad. He loves it (especially the flashlight), and so do I.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RellsMoM
Goodlettsville, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great as a toy-and otherwise
1/5/2011

Customer review by elise1234

5.0 stars 1/5/2011 by elise1234
by elise1234

We purchased this radio set as a durable toy for our 6 year old son for Christmas. So far, so good. He loves the flashlight feature (which can be used with the radio on or off), thinks the radio is very easy to use and has been very happy with the recharging station. We tested it for distance (we live in the woods) and it only made it about a mile or so. But we would recommend it as a toy for its great value and think it would work great for short distance use for adults also.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
elise1234
Maryland
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Work Great
2/9/2009

Customer review by decforever

4.0 stars 2/9/2009 by decforever
by decforever

I live in a very rural area and I use these two way radios as an inexpensive form of communication with my neighbor who lives approximately half a mile away from me threw wooded terrain. I have had these radios for about a month and use them almost on a daily basis and I have not had one problems with them battery and reception wise. I would defiantly recommend them for any looking to have good communication within a two mile radius.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
decforever
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
great radios
8/27/2010

Customer review by farmgirlIN

5.0 stars 8/27/2010 by farmgirlIN
by farmgirlIN

Very easy to use, holds charge for ample time. Bought them so my kids could be outside and out on the farm but I coud keep tabs on them. My four year old figured out how to use them in about thirty seconds (he's not out on the farm by himself though :) ). Very clear transmission, and though we haven't tested any great distances yet, had absolutely no static at about half a mile.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
farmgirlIN
Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
1-20 of 53 total reviews
1-20 of 53 reviews