Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 219 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

219 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

219 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

95%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
153
4 stars
54
3 stars
8
2 stars
1
1 stars
3
1-20 of 167 total reviews
95%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 167 total reviews
1-20 of 167 reviews
Good Lens/Great Price
6/29/2010

Customer review by katmandu47

4.0 stars 6/29/2010 by katmandu47
by katmandu47

Bought it and gave it a workout the next day. I took over 300 photos. Shot indoors and outdoors and it performed well in both situations. IS works great, auto focus works great, overall I would say good lens at a great price. A little fuzzy at the 250mm end but for the price you can't beat it. I took some portraits of my neice that turned out beautiful. This lens on the Rebel XTi is a great pair for photography at a reasonable price.

Was this review helpful? (16) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
katmandu47
Williamsburg, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
A quality product
7/1/2009

Customer review by GalleryVisits

5.0 stars 7/1/2009 by GalleryVisits
by GalleryVisits

The image stabizer on this lens works well. Great color and details.

Was this review helpful? (61) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GalleryVisits
Olympia WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
8/7/2009

Customer review by WildBillM

5.0 stars 8/7/2009 by WildBillM
by WildBillM

I've only used this lens a few times, but it is a great lens. Stays very clear at full zoom. Here are two pictues that I took at full zoom (250).

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WildBillM
Fresno, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Amazing lens for the money!!! Love it!!
7/6/2012

Customer review by kabloo20

5.0 stars 7/6/2012 by kabloo20
by kabloo20

This is my new favorite lens. I have been using it for everything! Weddings, babies, pets (see examples). Highly recommended!!!

Was this review helpful? (3) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kabloo20
Portland, OR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
3/25/2012

Customer review by WantabPhotographer2

5.0 stars 3/25/2012 by WantabPhotographer2
by WantabPhotographer2

This is a nice lens for when you are ready to "go one step above" the lens that comes with your camera. You will definitely be able to tell the difference weight-wise. It's a little heavy. It also drains your camera battery life a little faster. By faster I mean instead of having 8 hours of battery life, you might get 6.5 hours when using the bigger lens. Not so bad that I would not purchase this lens again. I have two batteries so it's not a big deal. Unlike the lens that comes with your camera, when you hold the button half way down prior to taking the picture, you will hear a noise. At first I thought there was something wrong with the lens but I contacted Canon and was assured that this was normal. Having said all that, it takes great, sharp, up close pictures. I am just an average person who enjoys taking pictures of family, friends and anything that moves. Not even close to a professional. But the lens makes my pictures look close enough to professional for me. :-) I would definitely recommend this lens.

Was this review helpful? (11) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WantabPhotographer2
Springfield, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Wonderful
9/15/2010

Customer review by raccoonlady

5.0 stars 9/15/2010 by raccoonlady
by raccoonlady

I just love this lens! I have got some GREAT shots. No complaints here! In the picture, I am a little more than 1/2 a mile away. (wish it would show a little bigger so you could see better) Just took it this morning.

Was this review helpful? (37) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
raccoonlady
Luther, OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Canon EF-S 55-250mm f/4-5.6 IS Optical Image Stabi
2/19/2011

Customer review by HoneyBunnyBoo

5.0 stars 2/19/2011 by HoneyBunnyBoo
by HoneyBunnyBoo

This product does meet my expections and then some. I love that I am able to take close-ups of the birds in flight. I actually can see the wing span of the bird. This is quite important to me, as I am an artist and I need to see detail.

Was this review helpful? (24) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HoneyBunnyBoo
Onancock, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great Lens, Great Photos, Great Value
7/3/2010

Customer review by CrazyPhotoLady

5.0 stars 7/3/2010 by CrazyPhotoLady
by CrazyPhotoLady

After a ton of research and nail-biting, I chose this lens as my first upgrade from the 18-55mm kit lens, that came with my new Canon Rebel XS. I love it. For the price, I don't think I could have purchased a better lens.

Was this review helpful? (11) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CrazyPhotoLady
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
well worth the price
2/17/2011

Customer review by mullins1723

5.0 stars 2/17/2011 by mullins1723
by mullins1723

This was a replacement lens for me. I bought this lens not wanting to spend too awful much as I am not a professional just like taking photos of my children and family. And this lens works wonderful for that !! It takes wonderful clear pictures and 10x's better lens than what came with my camera !

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mullins1723
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
9/26/2012

Customer review by JHartman

4.0 stars 9/26/2012 by JHartman
by JHartman

I love this lens! As a beginner to slr photography I think this lens is a great accessory.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JHartman
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
A great 'kit' lens
7/14/2010

Customer review by 1975FJ55

4.0 stars 7/14/2010 by 1975FJ55
by 1975FJ55

I recieved this lens as part of my Canon T2i kit. It actually takes pretty great pictures. So far, I haven't needed more telephoto than this offers, but I don't take wildlife shots (yet) either. The IS system does it's job well, and I don't have any problems with the lens focus speed either. Very clear, bright, sharp photos with this lens. I'm no professional however- so but I doubt that if you are a pro you're buying anything buy L glass anyway.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
1975FJ55
Utah
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Great lens for a great price!!
8/18/2011

Customer review by HersheyIvory

5.0 stars 8/18/2011 by HersheyIvory
by HersheyIvory

I bought this lens for zoom purposes, as an upgrade from the kit lens. I am very pleased, it does exactly what I want it to, and I didn't have to pay a huge price. I use it for amateur photography, but I get some awesome pictures. I would recommend this to anyone who wants a nice lens, but not an expensive one!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HersheyIvory
West Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
A good second lens for more distant shots
10/10/2012

Customer review by Foamer

5.0 stars 10/10/2012 by Foamer
by Foamer

The basic Canon DSLR's (T3, T3i) come with what is called the EF-S 18-55mm IS "kit lens". A good lens for general purpose use, it's zoom capabilities run out a couple hundred feet away. That's where this lens takes over, with the ability to zoom in on smaller objects in the near distance and larger objects in the much further distance than the 18-55mm lens. With image stabilization built-in, I got good photographs with it off the deck of a cruise ship in mildly rolling seas without any difficulty. Professional reviews with the specifications of the lens can be found at multiple locations online. The price of the lens at Wal-Mart is middle of the road - it's $50 off retail, but it can be gotten for cheaper online. However, there is a certain comfort in knowing that if there are problems it can be returned to Wal-Mart, and I also was able to pick it up at my local Wal-Mart the day after ordering it online, which I couldn't have done with an online-only retailer.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Foamer
Stayton, OR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great lens, for the price.
4/29/2011

Customer review by ChuckS

5.0 stars 4/29/2011 by ChuckS
by ChuckS

Photography is my hobby not my profession. As such when I decided to upgrade to better equipment I chose Canon due to a lot of recommendations from friends who do shoot professionally. Once I got some of the basics down I wanted a decent telephoto lens with IS but did not want to spend a fortune on it. I came across this lens and bought it at a local retailer with a good return policy. Needles to say since I am taking time to write this I would not dream of returning this lens as it is now my most used of all my lenses. I use it for taking photos of everything from family portraits to events such as air shows. The images are crisp and clear and everything I hoped they would be. The only two cons I found are the same as a few others have mentioned. Autofocus is a bit slow, especially in the 200 to 250MM zoom range. And the moving focus ring which is common it seems on Canon’s low end lenses makes using filters a pain. But for the price you can’t beat the value and performance of this lens.

ChuckS
Daytona Beach, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
There's better
12/14/2008

Customer review by ElGordo

3.0 stars 12/14/2008 by ElGordo
by ElGordo
Top 25 contributor

Pros: It has a long zoom range. It has Image Stabilization. Beginner Portraits for cheap Cons: Slow lens, especially at the long end (f/5.6). IS helps, but you don't get the really nice out of focus background. It isn't really sharp. Its acceptable, if you're only doing 4x6 photos and some 8x10s. Given the cons, I'd skip it. I like really sharp optics. Buy this lens if: This is your first canon DSLR and you're used to point and shoots. If you don't plan on doing big enlargements. If you want a lens good for doing amateur portraits (the slight un-sharpness of this lens makes it so you don't see so many skin imperfections).

Was this review helpful? (92) (19)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ElGordo
Would recommend to a friend? No
Top 25 contributor
Great telephoto lens to complement your kit lens
9/1/2010

Customer review by PTNDSLR

5.0 stars 9/1/2010 by PTNDSLR
by PTNDSLR
Top 25 contributor

his is the first lens that I've purchased and kept outside my kit lens (18-55). I mentioned kept because believe it or not, I bought the 70-200 F4L non-IS. I won't be giving any technical review about this lens as that is pretty much covered by the other reviewers here. I'll just share my story to help out other beginners who are having a hard time as well contemplating on what lens to get to complement their kit lens. At first, I definitely wanted to buy a telephoto lens so I can shoot objects from a distance and I really like to try the lens out in a zoo. I then narrowed my choices between EF 70-300 IS USM and 70-200 F4L non-IS (didn't want 55-250 then because I didn't like the plastic mount). Since the latter would end up costing almost the same or even less (comes with hood and pouch plus the free filter amazon offers), I went for it without even thinking. Before the package arrived, I already had second thoughts and tried to cancel the item. Since I tried out the amazon prime 2 day shipping, the package came really fast so I wasn't able to cancel but returned it as soon as I got it. So why did I return the 70-200 F4L and settled for an EF-S 55-250? - I don't get paid taking pictures, it's just a hobby. - No one will really sit down and scrutinize the pictures I take. All Canon lenses take great shots compared to other brands. It's not like I'm posting the pictures I take in the net for public view. - The beige color of the L lens is somewhat too loud for me. I don't want people to think I have that much cash or evern comment that I only have an XS body. - No IS, I realized that I really need IS because I don't have any plans of getting a tripod soon and my hands are really shaky. - Cost! - Weight. - Performance of 55-250 that I was able to research over the net. Of course it's nothing comapred to the L lens, no doubt about that. But if the pictures are viewed alone, without comparing to L lens, they are great. - Max range is only at 200, I get an extra 50mm with 55-250. - Missing the 56-69 mm. Ok, the last 2 are just for my piece of mind because I opted with 55-250 but they don't really matter if you have the L lens. If you do become a pro in the future, you'd definitely get something better than the 70-200 F4L. Bottom line, this lens is no where in the league of L lenses. As one of the reviewers mentioned, it does the job. For value of money, I really love this lens. About the plastic mount, I realized that I wouldn't be using my camera that hard anyway. Plus, it'll be lighter. I'm going to steal one of the reviews I read, it basically says that if you like the performance of your kit lens (18-55), you'll defintely like this as well. I totally agree, fast AF, sharp pictures, longer range version of 18-55. Note that this is NOT a comparison between L lens and 55-250, or even 70-300. Just a decision experience that I wanted to share with a number of beginners out there.

Was this review helpful? (111) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PTNDSLR
NC, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Top 25 contributor
i love this lens
2/25/2011

Customer review by photonovice1

5.0 stars 2/25/2011 by photonovice1
by photonovice1

I was so sick of taking my kid to get his pics done at a studio and only getting okay looking pics. So i decided that i could do it myself, or at least try. I was so surprised that a lens at this price would be so great and the pics I'm getting of my kid now are wonderful.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
photonovice1
indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Excellent value
8/11/2010

Customer review by An anonymous customer

3.0 stars 8/11/2010 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

The 55-250 is not the most expensive of lenses, and the build quality reflects that price point. With significant use of lightweight plastic it is easy to tell the difference in quality between this lens and, say, a 15-85. With that said, the 55-250 is an excellent bargain - the optics are very good and there is no noticeable wobble even when fully zoomed, so if you can pick it up for a price you are comfortable with (right around $200 would be right) then you definitely should.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Boston, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Works Well
9/16/2010

Customer review by mechanik1

4.0 stars 9/16/2010 by mechanik1
by mechanik1

While the lens seems to work just fine and it acts exactly how I had expected it to, it seems just a little cheaply made to me. I am used to Nikon products and bought this lens to go with my new Canon EOS Rebel T2i. I wanted a DSLR that could shoot 1080p video, and its hard to argue with Canon's 18 megapixels. So far the camera has been awesome, and this lens has done what I expected.

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mechanik1
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Once upon a time
5/3/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 5/3/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I have used the lens extensively in the past two weeks. From stills to motion indoors and out. If you have done any review on this lens you will have read this isn't a Canon L series lens. The value is that a $250 lens with image stabilization works. The images are sharp (better than the kit lenses). The Image Stabilization (IS) lets you step down a few F stops but not 4 like Canon advertises. The IS can stop some of the photographers shake. This lens has a plastic mount (not good if you are rough on lenses), is fairly light and has a plastic feel to it. For $250 you get a decent telephoto lens that works. If you want more reviews research it.

Was this review helpful? (10) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 167 total reviews
1-20 of 167 reviews