Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 214 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

214 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

214 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

96%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
150
4 stars
53
3 stars
8
2 stars
1
1 stars
2
1-20 of 162 total reviews
96%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 162 total reviews
1-20 of 162 reviews
Great telephoto lens to complement your kit lens
9/1/2010

Customer review by PTNDSLR

5.0 stars 9/1/2010 by PTNDSLR
by PTNDSLR

his is the first lens that I've purchased and kept outside my kit lens (18-55). I mentioned kept because believe it or not, I bought the 70-200 F4L non-IS. I won't be giving any technical review about this lens as that is pretty much covered by the other reviewers here. I'll just share my story to help out other beginners who are having a hard time as well contemplating on what lens to get to complement their kit lens. At first, I definitely wanted to buy a telephoto lens so I can shoot objects from a distance and I really like to try the lens out in a zoo. I then narrowed my choices between EF 70-300 IS USM and 70-200 F4L non-IS (didn't want 55-250 then because I didn't like the plastic mount). Since the latter would end up costing almost the same or even less (comes with hood and pouch plus the free filter amazon offers), I went for it without even thinking. Before the package arrived, I already had second thoughts and tried to cancel the item. Since I tried out the amazon prime 2 day shipping, the package came really fast so I wasn't able to cancel but returned it as soon as I got it. So why did I return the 70-200 F4L and settled for an EF-S 55-250? - I don't get paid taking pictures, it's just a hobby. - No one will really sit down and scrutinize the pictures I take. All Canon lenses take great shots compared to other brands. It's not like I'm posting the pictures I take in the net for public view. - The beige color of the L lens is somewhat too loud for me. I don't want people to think I have that much cash or evern comment that I only have an XS body. - No IS, I realized that I really need IS because I don't have any plans of getting a tripod soon and my hands are really shaky. - Cost! - Weight. - Performance of 55-250 that I was able to research over the net. Of course it's nothing comapred to the L lens, no doubt about that. But if the pictures are viewed alone, without comparing to L lens, they are great. - Max range is only at 200, I get an extra 50mm with 55-250. - Missing the 56-69 mm. Ok, the last 2 are just for my piece of mind because I opted with 55-250 but they don't really matter if you have the L lens. If you do become a pro in the future, you'd definitely get something better than the 70-200 F4L. Bottom line, this lens is no where in the league of L lenses. As one of the reviewers mentioned, it does the job. For value of money, I really love this lens. About the plastic mount, I realized that I wouldn't be using my camera that hard anyway. Plus, it'll be lighter. I'm going to steal one of the reviews I read, it basically says that if you like the performance of your kit lens (18-55), you'll defintely like this as well. I totally agree, fast AF, sharp pictures, longer range version of 18-55. Note that this is NOT a comparison between L lens and 55-250, or even 70-300. Just a decision experience that I wanted to share with a number of beginners out there.

Was this review helpful? (111) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PTNDSLR
NC, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Top 25 contributor
There's better
12/14/2008

Customer review by ElGordo

3.0 stars 12/14/2008 by ElGordo
by ElGordo

Pros: It has a long zoom range. It has Image Stabilization. Beginner Portraits for cheap Cons: Slow lens, especially at the long end (f/5.6). IS helps, but you don't get the really nice out of focus background. It isn't really sharp. Its acceptable, if you're only doing 4x6 photos and some 8x10s. Given the cons, I'd skip it. I like really sharp optics. Buy this lens if: This is your first canon DSLR and you're used to point and shoots. If you don't plan on doing big enlargements. If you want a lens good for doing amateur portraits (the slight un-sharpness of this lens makes it so you don't see so many skin imperfections).

Was this review helpful? (92) (19)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ElGordo
Would recommend to a friend? No
Top 25 contributor
A quality product
7/1/2009

Customer review by GalleryVisits

5.0 stars 7/1/2009 by GalleryVisits
by GalleryVisits

The image stabizer on this lens works well. Great color and details.

Was this review helpful? (60) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GalleryVisits
Olympia WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Wonderful
9/15/2010

Customer review by raccoonlady

5.0 stars 9/15/2010 by raccoonlady
by raccoonlady

I just love this lens! I have got some GREAT shots. No complaints here! In the picture, I am a little more than 1/2 a mile away. (wish it would show a little bigger so you could see better) Just took it this morning.

Was this review helpful? (36) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
raccoonlady
Luther, OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Canon EF-S 55-250mm f/4-5.6 IS Optical Image Stabi
2/19/2011

Customer review by HoneyBunnyBoo

5.0 stars 2/19/2011 by HoneyBunnyBoo
by HoneyBunnyBoo

This product does meet my expections and then some. I love that I am able to take close-ups of the birds in flight. I actually can see the wing span of the bird. This is quite important to me, as I am an artist and I need to see detail.

Was this review helpful? (23) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HoneyBunnyBoo
Onancock, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Good Lens/Great Price
6/29/2010

Customer review by katmandu47

4.0 stars 6/29/2010 by katmandu47
by katmandu47

Bought it and gave it a workout the next day. I took over 300 photos. Shot indoors and outdoors and it performed well in both situations. IS works great, auto focus works great, overall I would say good lens at a great price. A little fuzzy at the 250mm end but for the price you can't beat it. I took some portraits of my neice that turned out beautiful. This lens on the Rebel XTi is a great pair for photography at a reasonable price.

Was this review helpful? (15) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
katmandu47
Williamsburg, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great lens for money
9/3/2008

Customer review by photopro

5.0 stars 9/3/2008 by photopro
by photopro

I purchased this lens for my mother-in-law for her birthday, after reading several good reviews in photo magazines, and was not dissapointed. The Image stabilizer works very well, and its a very sharp lens for the money. Its much clearer than my comparably priced Sigma 28-300mm, and I'm planning on picking one up for myself. Great Value!

Was this review helpful? (13) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
photopro
Falmouth, Maine
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Walmart associate
Great long distance lens
12/17/2010

Customer review by LeahJoJo

5.0 stars 12/17/2010 by LeahJoJo
by LeahJoJo

This is a great "within the room" lens as well as a "long distance" scenery shot lens. I can be miles away from the lake and get a great sunset shot! Or I can be inside the armery and catch my little brother's National Guard "firm face" amongst 100s of other guard members from the civilian seats.

Was this review helpful? (12) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LeahJoJo
Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
i love this lens
2/25/2011

Customer review by photonovice1

5.0 stars 2/25/2011 by photonovice1
by photonovice1

I was so sick of taking my kid to get his pics done at a studio and only getting okay looking pics. So i decided that i could do it myself, or at least try. I was so surprised that a lens at this price would be so great and the pics I'm getting of my kid now are wonderful.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
photonovice1
indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Works Well
9/16/2010

Customer review by mechanik1

4.0 stars 9/16/2010 by mechanik1
by mechanik1

While the lens seems to work just fine and it acts exactly how I had expected it to, it seems just a little cheaply made to me. I am used to Nikon products and bought this lens to go with my new Canon EOS Rebel T2i. I wanted a DSLR that could shoot 1080p video, and its hard to argue with Canon's 18 megapixels. So far the camera has been awesome, and this lens has done what I expected.

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mechanik1
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Lens
6/5/2009

Customer review by PhotoFinatic

5.0 stars 6/5/2009 by PhotoFinatic
by PhotoFinatic

Great lens that is easy to use. 250mm zoom is great for the price especially with IS. Also good with macro/close up shots. Pictures are crisp. (Used with Canon Rebel XTi and XS.

Was this review helpful? (11) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PhotoFinatic
Roseville, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Great Lens, Great Photos, Great Value
7/3/2010

Customer review by CrazyPhotoLady

5.0 stars 7/3/2010 by CrazyPhotoLady
by CrazyPhotoLady

After a ton of research and nail-biting, I chose this lens as my first upgrade from the 18-55mm kit lens, that came with my new Canon Rebel XS. I love it. For the price, I don't think I could have purchased a better lens.

Was this review helpful? (11) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CrazyPhotoLady
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
3/25/2012

Customer review by WantabPhotographer2

5.0 stars 3/25/2012 by WantabPhotographer2
by WantabPhotographer2

This is a nice lens for when you are ready to "go one step above" the lens that comes with your camera. You will definitely be able to tell the difference weight-wise. It's a little heavy. It also drains your camera battery life a little faster. By faster I mean instead of having 8 hours of battery life, you might get 6.5 hours when using the bigger lens. Not so bad that I would not purchase this lens again. I have two batteries so it's not a big deal. Unlike the lens that comes with your camera, when you hold the button half way down prior to taking the picture, you will hear a noise. At first I thought there was something wrong with the lens but I contacted Canon and was assured that this was normal. Having said all that, it takes great, sharp, up close pictures. I am just an average person who enjoys taking pictures of family, friends and anything that moves. Not even close to a professional. But the lens makes my pictures look close enough to professional for me. :-) I would definitely recommend this lens.

Was this review helpful? (10) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WantabPhotographer2
Springfield, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Once upon a time
5/3/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 5/3/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I have used the lens extensively in the past two weeks. From stills to motion indoors and out. If you have done any review on this lens you will have read this isn't a Canon L series lens. The value is that a $250 lens with image stabilization works. The images are sharp (better than the kit lenses). The Image Stabilization (IS) lets you step down a few F stops but not 4 like Canon advertises. The IS can stop some of the photographers shake. This lens has a plastic mount (not good if you are rough on lenses), is fairly light and has a plastic feel to it. For $250 you get a decent telephoto lens that works. If you want more reviews research it.

Was this review helpful? (10) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Excellent value
8/11/2010

Customer review by An anonymous customer

3.0 stars 8/11/2010 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

The 55-250 is not the most expensive of lenses, and the build quality reflects that price point. With significant use of lightweight plastic it is easy to tell the difference in quality between this lens and, say, a 15-85. With that said, the 55-250 is an excellent bargain - the optics are very good and there is no noticeable wobble even when fully zoomed, so if you can pick it up for a price you are comfortable with (right around $200 would be right) then you definitely should.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Boston, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Nice telephoto.
11/11/2010

Customer review by FacelessXGrave

5.0 stars 11/11/2010 by FacelessXGrave
by FacelessXGrave

Bought this with the bundle of the Canon XS EOS DSLR. This has given me pretty nice shots, it has a good zoom range. I decided to go with this lens because it has the Image Stabilizer. I have shakey hands and I haven't had a blurry shot due to shaking, so the IS works nicely. Great price with the bundle. I highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FacelessXGrave
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
GREAT LENS
6/1/2010

Customer review by JOHNV45

5.0 stars 6/1/2010 by JOHNV45
by JOHNV45

GREAT FOR GETTING CLOSE-UPS OF MY GRAND KIDS OUTSIDE EVEN AT A DISTANCE. ALSO USED IT INDOORS AT AN AWARDS CEREMONY. ALTHOUGH SEATED AT THE REAR I GOT GREAT CLOSE-UPS OF THE SPEAKER. THIS LENS HAS STABLIZER & I HAD VERY FEW BLURRED SHOTS. I WISH I BOUGHT IT SOONER THAN I DID.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JOHNV45
CRANSTON, RI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great Value
7/24/2010

Customer review by KarenCS

4.0 stars 7/24/2010 by KarenCS
by KarenCS

I purchased this lens just to have an inexpensive all-around lens -one I didn't have to worry about getting weather damage and also light weight. I have a full line-up of Canon lenses including several L lenses and comparison shots expose the 55-250 mm lens' weakness, BUT only when viewed on screen and zoomed in. At typical size, the difference is marginal and only someone looking hard would be able to tell the difference. It's biggest weakness is in the area of capturing fast action as it take time to hunt for focus and the image stabilization is just okay for this venue. Overall, you can't beat the price for an everyday, who-cares-what happens to it lens and very good image quality.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KarenCS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
Ok lens for the money
7/8/2011

Customer review by Photoguy12345

3.0 stars 7/8/2011 by Photoguy12345
by Photoguy12345

I bought this lens just for the zoom. It is a beginners lens. Good lens for day shots. Aperture is too high for low light shots. It cost $199 online and $299 in the store... I would definitely purchase again from website but not in store.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Photoguy12345
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
8/7/2009

Customer review by WildBillM

5.0 stars 8/7/2009 by WildBillM
by WildBillM

I've only used this lens a few times, but it is a great lens. Stays very clear at full zoom. Here are two pictues that I took at full zoom (250).

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WildBillM
Fresno, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
1-20 of 162 total reviews
1-20 of 162 reviews