Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 14 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

14 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

14 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

93%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
6
4 stars
8
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 stars
0
1-8 of 8 total reviews
93%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

Fun starter kit with everything
8/31/2009

Customer review by MadChathis

4.0 stars 8/31/2009 by MadChathis
by MadChathis

The kit comes with everything to make your first 3.7% alc/vol beer. It makes 2 gallons (~8 liters) and takes 4 weeks. The sales pitch always says ready in 2 weeks, but that's rushing it. Normally fermentation takes 2 weeks in the keg they give you and carbonation takes another 2 weeks in the bottles they also give you. The “gotcha” for most people is during both fermenting and carbonation, you need to keep the keg/bottles in a dark place at about 70 degrees. Not doing this contaminates the process, messes with the yeast, and causes the skunky taste. I actually ended up buying a small fridge and a Johnson Control thermostat to regulate the environment better after my first batch. Buying the refill kits from walmart instead of mr. beer also saves a ton on shipping alone.

Was this review helpful? (43) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MadChathis
Montgomery, AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Good Hobby
3/17/2010

Customer review by SteelOnTarget

4.0 stars 3/17/2010 by SteelOnTarget
by SteelOnTarget

Makes good beer the first time with easy to follow instructions.Not as time consuming as I thought and really very simple.I had everything I needed with this kit and common kitchen utensils.Read the brewing book in addition to the instructions before you get started.There is more helpful info in the book.The website Mrbeer.com is very good also.

Was this review helpful? (12) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SteelOnTarget
Tennessee
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
PERFECT for beginner brewing!
11/29/2011

Customer review by jaw001

5.0 stars 11/29/2011 by jaw001
by jaw001

I have brewed a couple batches of beer with other equipment before, when I stumbled onto a Mr. Beer kit. I went ahead and bought it. The Mr. Beer kit is ABSOLUTELY PERFECT for beginner home brewing! The brews I have done in the past were more complex and took quite a long time to do. Mr. Beer, as their website says, is about as easy as it can get. Honestly, when I first got into brewing, I was very intimidated because I was scared of completely screwing it up - it came with directions but it was a pretty involved process. I wish I had started with something as simple as the Mr. Beer kit. I STRONGLY recommend this to anyone wanting to learn about brewing, is clueless about the whole process like I was, and wants to dip their foot in to test the waters. The process is fun and easy, you get a good example of what is involved in brewing, and the cost per bottle is comparable to cheap party beer but tastes a whole lot better. Also, Wal Mart online offers the 3-pack refills for thirty bucks, plus free shipping to your local store. GET IT. It's the best deal on refills anywhere, period. The only downside is Wal Mart doesn't carry more variety on refills!

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jaw001
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
G.O.#1
2/25/2010

Customer review by MaximusTidus

4.0 stars 2/25/2010 by MaximusTidus
by MaximusTidus

when deployed over seas beer is not allowed. So if your willing to bend the rules...this little gem is a god send. perfect for that hush hush relaxing late night. note: wal mart is NOT responsable for your actions.

Was this review helpful? (13) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MaximusTidus
Tikrit, IQ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Mr Beer - Great Gift
3/16/2009

Customer review by AmyK479

5.0 stars 3/16/2009 by AmyK479
by AmyK479

I bought this as a gift for my husband. He just loves it. It's easy to use and he was very happy with the results.

Was this review helpful? (11) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AmyK479
WV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1/3/2010

Customer review by lildragonfly

5.0 stars 1/3/2010 by lildragonfly
by lildragonfly

I purchased Mr. Beer, for a christmas present to my brother, and he loved it. He has his first batch already aging. I thought it was an awesome gift, now other members of my family requested it as a gift for them also, in the future.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lildragonfly
Aransas Pass,tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
home brewery
1/8/2013

Customer review by sjohnssy

4.0 stars 1/8/2013 by sjohnssy
by sjohnssy

This is a good home brewery. At first, you have all the stuff you need to bew 2 gallons of beer. If you do it the way they say it, it comes really good. The only problem is: where can I find the refills at ? I got the entire pack 2 weeks ago, i brewed it and now that i want to do it again, I can't find any place where I could buy more malt extract. I tried Theisen's, WalMart... The only option is to buy it on MrBeer's website but it doesn't work if you don't have a credit card (like me). Anybody got a solution ?

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sjohnssy
Maquoketa
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
9/22/2009

Customer review by Tomm

4.0 stars 9/22/2009 by Tomm
by Tomm

It is exactly what I wanted to get started with this hobby. The end result is about the same price as buying from the store except this is fun to do. I like showing off to people what I have done.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Tomm
Maine
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month