Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 4.9out of 5 stars
4.9 out of 5 | 63 reviews
5 stars
54
4 stars
9
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 stars
0
Sort by: 
1-20 of 58 reviews
1-20 of 58 reviews
Performed flawlessly first outing
2/8/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
We were fortunate enough to catch two bull reds on our first fishing trip with two Okuma 65's. One was 35 inches long and the other was 44 inches long. The drag performed smoothly with no suggestion of grabbing or irregular chatter. It was smooth as butter. One of the best features of these reels is the "fish finder". After you cast out, you engage the fish finder lever and now the line can be taken out by the fish at an adjustable drag tension so the fish does not feel the rod until you start cranking the reel handle. Then the main drag takes over without any adjustment at all.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (5)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
6/15/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This is an amazing reel for a paylake catfishermen i love this reel so much i have only caught 1 fish but it held up prefectly i love this reel the baitfeeder is really nice and it i got in a 21lb cat with it i would say this is a great reel for beginers because i am only 14 and so it fits prefect for me but also a good reel for more expericed people because my dad also uses this reel on his rod to go cat fishing and when i get enough money i am going to buy another one of these reels also
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
works great
8/6/2009
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
the reel performed flawlessly, caught 3 carp in the 25-30 pound range and it worked great, the bait feeder option is the way to go. the reel is actually a little bigger than i thought it would be, now looking at the ABF 50 to replace my aging Penn Good luck fishing and dont forget to take a kid with you :)
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Readey for Bubba
4/21/2010
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This is the second reel of this type that I have bought from Walmart. It is quite similar to my Avenger Reel.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
8/9/2009
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Excellent Saltwater reel. I use it with 12 foot surf rod and 30 pound Spiderwire (8 lb diameter) casts very well and bait feeder drag tells you when a fish is on. Will probably buy a second for my other rod.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (45)No (6)
Report
Was this review helpful?
one of a kind price to quality ratio
11/9/2009
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
okuma makes great reels at very affordable prices with high built quality and this is one of their best. for 44$ you get so much quality that you will not get even with reels costing more than 300$ (e.g. my $350 Daiwa Infinity X5000BR). this reel works so smooth, it's a pleasure to use. i own two of these and would recommend these to anyone who needs an affordable big pit bait feeder reel of high quality. the only thing that i don't like the reel is the golder paint on some of its bolt heads and spool rim. if these were the same color as the rest of the reel (gray) the reel would have been a lot more stylish. that's not a big drawback though...
Was this review helpful?
Yes (24)No (5)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Excellent Reel For the Price
11/20/2009
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
My brother bought this reel from Cabella's for $65. Wal-mart pricing $20 cheaper. You can't go wrong. Suggested to anyone wanting to try big-game fishing. I use this reel with 40lb braided line and a 7ft. Ugly Stik Tiger rod. Surf and Pier fishing in ocean and catfishing in the everglades. It can handle anything you throw at it. Performance really smooth. Although you can't tell from the picture, this reel is rather bulky, and is not suggested for your normal everyday fisherman. Haven't really used the baitfeeder function, but it is a nice option of the reel. Casts smooth as silk. Really smooth reeling in, you always feel in control of the fish. Can't say enough good things about the reel.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (5)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
9/26/2009
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Great reel for the surf. Lots of line capacity, especially if using braid. Very smooth.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (8)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Okuma ABF65
4/14/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
First of all, it was a fantastic price! Lower than Cabela's. Second, FREE shipping "site to store"! And third, a great product. I have a Penn Slammer760 live liner and quality wise, this Okuma is close. Plus you get an extra spool and the benefit of having a lever to shut off the anti-reverse! My Penn doesn't have that feature. And finally, Walmart service was excellent!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (15)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great Catfish Reel
2/19/2010
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This is a great channel cat reel, I don't fish for blues or flathead. The ABF65 will handle fish up to 25 pounds (accidentally caught a flathead). Used in conjunction with an Eagle Claw Cat Claw 8' rod and trilene XT 20 lb line. The bait feeder option works very well for finicky cats, when they hit you will hear it.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (6)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Watch out Shimano
3/20/2009
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have never owned anything but Shimano reels...so when it came time to replace one of my baitrunner reels, I happened to run across this reel at walmart...I decided to get it simply because the price was so good...I was blown away by how well built this reel is...It gives Shimano a run for its money...I am going to order two more, and give my older baitrunners to a friend...
Was this review helpful?
Yes (5)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great Reel
2/26/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Bought 2 and put them on a 10' Berkley Glow Sticks for catfish'n and it's a great setup. Reel works great and the bait clicker really helps while fishing at night. Walmart's price couldn't be beat and got them in 4 days!!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (5)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great Reel
6/2/2010
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I bought this reel for the intent of big game fish.I'm here to tell you this reel is as good as the name thats on it.I have used this reel twice since I've purchased it just a couple of weeks ago and its as smooth as any Phluegher or Penn that I own.You want be disappointed with this reel and for the price you want beat it!!!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (5)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
7/26/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Very durable. Great set hook feature that allows the fish to run with your line instead of pulling it in the water. With one switch you set the hook. If you're wanting to go fishing for the big ones this is the reel for you. I would buy this again! Plus its a great price.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Best bang for you buck!!
7/8/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Doubt if you can find a better reel for the money. I own quite a few [7] different Okuma reels & have never had any problems with any of them. Use to be a die-hard Shimano fan till Okuma came along. This is a hefty saltwater spinner that is great for free-lining live bait to kingfish,dolphin,& most fast moving fish. You will not be disappointed!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
A great reel
12/4/2008
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I've used this product only twice but it meets all my expectations as far as performance goes. The bail and handle are very smooth and it's a good weight for surf casting.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
solid reel
8/11/2010
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
It's no Penn Slammer, but if you dont want to spend $140 +, this reel is a good deal, solid construction, nice features, good purchase.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
4/18/2009
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
excellent reel for the price truly a great value, hope to try it out soon
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
First Time Buyer
11/8/2009
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have heard of Okuma products for a few years and decided to give this reel a try. I shopped around online and this was also the cheapest price! I purchased 2 of them. I was extrememly pleased with the look and feel of the reel. The extra spool is a big Plus! I have used it at least 10 times since September and am pleased with the way it hangles overall. It casts really far and the retrieve is Fast and smooth! The BaitFeeder feature is a joy to use. I love to hear that drag when a fish picks up the bait and runs with it. I have caught only small blues so far with it but will be going for Stripers soon! Highly recommended!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
A very good reel for the money
9/25/2009
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This is a very good reel but I had to return it and order another one because this one had a bad drag. It sticks with every revolution so it was a lemon.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (6)No (4)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184640694, DC-prod-dfw3, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-