Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 32 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

5.0 stars

32 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

5.0 stars

32 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

97%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
28
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 stars
0
1-20 of 25 total reviews
97%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 25 total reviews
1-20 of 25 reviews
worth checking out
2/22/2010

Customer review by psychguy

5.0 stars 2/22/2010 by psychguy
by psychguy

My brother turned me on to these reels 2 yrs ago and this is my sixth one. I gave one to my fishing buddy and he loves his as well. Handles saltwater as advertised, without corrosion or rust. Each reel comes with a spare spool a sturdy bail and easy to reel handle. I especially like the lightweight construction for casting lures.

Was this review helpful? (28) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
psychguy
florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Excellent Product
7/10/2010

Customer review by INATB

5.0 stars 7/10/2010 by INATB
by INATB

I have purchased 10 of the Okuma Avengers. I have several of the ABF 65's and several of the ABF 40's. I use the 65's for monster catfish and I use the 40's for carp mostly. These reels stand up to the most harsh environment you can imagine. If you are looking for a bait feeding reel that meets all expectations for an amazing value, THIS IS THE ONE!!! Attached is a 35lb 10oz flathead catfish that I caught easily with these reels.

Was this review helpful? (15) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
INATB
Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Sweet!!!
6/5/2010

Customer review by Lodifish

5.0 stars 6/5/2010 by Lodifish
by Lodifish

Bought this Reel for striper and catfish fishing out in the California delta. It worked out perfectly. I spooled it with 15# maxima line and put it on a 10' ugly stick... It's the perfect size for this setup. I strongly recommend anyone looking for a reel that's made for bait fishing to pick one of these up..

Was this review helpful? (13) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Lodifish
Lodi ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
wonderful Value
11/11/2009

Customer review by ds1929

5.0 stars 11/11/2009 by ds1929
by ds1929

My husband had been looking for a replacement reel for the one he had lost in Mexico and finally found this one. It is an excellent value and every bit as nice or nicer than the Shimano that he had preciously owned ( and a lot less expensive also). He is very happy with the quality of the product.

Was this review helpful? (14) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ds1929
Brainerd, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
great all around reel
6/28/2012

Customer review by FishesDaily

5.0 stars 6/28/2012 by FishesDaily
by FishesDaily

What can be said about Okuma's that their owners don't already know. Best drag on a reel in the business, saltwater proof means it is, they cast great, bait feeder never fails to trip, or ingauge. Okuma is the best reel for the money, no matter what price range you buy in, all the way up to their Makia series saltwater open top. I own several Okuma's, from the 40's,50, 65, all in ABF series, two Classic's, and the Makia. Absolutely the best bang for the buck !!

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FishesDaily
Homestead FL.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Reel
8/11/2012

Customer review by Carpdough

5.0 stars 8/11/2012 by Carpdough
by Carpdough

My son landed a 24.2 pound carp last night and he is just 11 years old with this reel. It put up a great fight but the reel did not flinch. The drag is so smooth and a pleasure to use. We have not had the reels but a couple of months but have already caught maybe a hundred carp on four of these reels. They seem to handle the pressure well and are still going strong. After fishing I just hose them down and wipe them off. I added some hotsauce to them, dont know if it needed it but I figured it would not hurt.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Carpdough
NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
3/24/2009

Customer review by flyfishr

5.0 stars 3/24/2009 by flyfishr
by flyfishr

Great reel, well balanced. Good for larger freshwater fish (Carp,Catfish) and light saltwater. Smooth baitfeeder drag.

Was this review helpful? (7) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
flyfishr
Hamilton,NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Just plain great for the money
2/5/2013

Customer review by DollarBill21

5.0 stars 2/5/2013 by DollarBill21
by DollarBill21

If you want a good all-around reel that you plan to use once a week, once a month, twice a year, get this one and put it on the lightest Ugly Stik you can find, and you you have (1) great baitfeeder capability for live bait, (2) very good casting and retrieval of lures, and (3) the ability to land the big ones with no problemo. It will take 12-lb mono, or 50-lb braid with no issues. Rinse it off gently after each use and it should last years. I have two Okumas (a big 65-series Coronado and this one), fish several times a week, and use the Okumas as much as or more than my Shimanos and Daiwas (I don't have any Penns, but the Fierce reels seem nice for the price -- and I'm all about value).

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DollarBill21
Spacecost
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great reel!!!!!
7/24/2011

Customer review by RLB62

5.0 stars 7/24/2011 by RLB62
by RLB62

Used this reel on a 7' MH ugly stick. Caught a flounder first time out. Has become one of my favorite reels.Love the bait feeding feature.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RLB62
Charleston, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Okuma Avenger 40 Reel
8/9/2013

Customer review by skoalbandit

5.0 stars 8/9/2013 by skoalbandit
by skoalbandit

Excellent price, better than the sport outlets. This reel is a great reel, I use it for strippers and salmon.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
skoalbandit
CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Surf Casting Reel!!
10/13/2013

Customer review by Surffisher60

5.0 stars 10/13/2013 by Surffisher60
by Surffisher60

I have owned an Okuma Avenger 50 on a 10 ft surf rod for about 4 years with no problems - it's been a great reel - so when I needed to replace an Epixor on a 9 ft surf rod, this was a no brainer. You really can't beat these reels for the money. Smooth casting and the bait feeder light drag system works flawlessly. One quick turn of the handle and the main drag engages for the hook set and working that fish to the beach. Low maintenence, reliable and fun to fish with - no down side to an Okuma Avenger 40 or 50 Bait Feeder.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Surffisher60
Topsail Beach, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
smooth as advertised plus some
5/9/2014

Customer review by John691

5.0 stars 5/9/2014 by John691
by John691

I just got this reel last week and am very happy with the fit and finish. I have given it a few casts but have not broken the virginity on it but will this weekend. I loaded 125 yards of 20# braid on top of 120 yards of 30# mono. The reel capacity's stated by Okuma must be all braid. The bait feeder feature looks like a good winner especially for me since I do a lot of salt water night fishing from my boat. Follow up review in a few months and many pounds of fish later.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
John691
florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Great Cat fish reel
5/13/2012

Customer review by Abbagoochi

5.0 stars 5/13/2012 by Abbagoochi
by Abbagoochi

I bought this reel mainly for cat fishing at night. The bait feeding system works great

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Abbagoochi
Eastern panhandle of WV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Great reel
8/31/2011

Customer review by FishinBear1

5.0 stars 8/31/2011 by FishinBear1
by FishinBear1

Love it got the 40 and will be getting the 50 later good feel I have had other brands a at 2 - 3 times the price, and this is just as good. The wife also loves it.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FishinBear1
Calif.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
great product!
4/26/2013

Customer review by Fishinfool47

5.0 stars 4/26/2013 by Fishinfool47
by Fishinfool47

I own two Okuma Coronada series reels and couldn't be more happy. When I saw the Avenger 40 series was available for less than 50$, I had to have it. I bought two and will use it for light to medium saltwater action, and if they perform anything like thier larger cousins I'm sure to be very pleased! The 2 year replacement plan was also too good to pass up. Happy fishing!

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Fishinfool47
Savannah. Ga.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
ehh...
6/7/2010

Customer review by yeeee

3.0 stars 6/7/2010 by yeeee
by yeeee

i had the 6500 and liked it enough to get a smaller one... this one however broke on my first cast... walmart has replaced it so I will try again...

Was this review helpful? (1) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
yeeee
Would recommend to a friend? No
Usage:Every few days
First bait feeder reel
3/18/2014

Customer review by roofingrr

5.0 stars 3/18/2014 by roofingrr
by roofingrr

This is first bait feeder reel for me. I have used so far just off our dock for catfish and reel is exactly what i needed and expected. When weather warms, will use in the intercoastal and creeks around Southport and Oak Island. Spooled it with Ande 12# high vis green line and so far so good, nothing large so far but reel works very well on a 7 foot MH Shimano spinning rod, very well balanced. Will report later this spring after some salt water fishing results.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
roofingrr
Southport, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Love this reel
4/8/2013

Customer review by Trout4dinner

5.0 stars 4/8/2013 by Trout4dinner
by Trout4dinner

Caught 4 brook trout today with the reel, this is my third Okuma and they are a very good value. I usually go after large lakers and browns. The reel performs well every time. It's the only reel I use.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Trout4dinner
Hyde Park NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent Reel for the money!
12/30/2009

Customer review by TQSOH2

5.0 stars 12/30/2009 by TQSOH2
by TQSOH2

I love these reels. I first got introduced to them on a Chesapeake Bay stripped bass charter boat last spring where it was the only kind of reel the skipper had on board. I was pretty impressed with them and decided to get a couple for myself. I don't think there is another reel on the market that can compete with the value of these reels. They're super smooth, have plenty of drag power, and are very inexpensive.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TQSOH2
Baltimore Maryland
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Catch the big one
12/1/2009

Customer review by lovetofishandcamp

5.0 stars 12/1/2009 by lovetofishandcamp
by lovetofishandcamp

I like the way you can release the tension for live bait for better action. It's easy to set the tension on the line to hopefull reduce loosing less fish from too tight line.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lovetofishandcamp
Ravenna, Oh
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
1-20 of 25 total reviews
1-20 of 25 reviews