Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 57 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

57 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

57 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

88%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
35
4 stars
13
3 stars
5
2 stars
4
1 stars
0
1-20 of 51 total reviews
88%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 51 total reviews
1-20 of 51 reviews
Panasonic SC-PT960
10/23/2008

Customer review by HouseOfTheRisingSun

5.0 stars 10/23/2008 by HouseOfTheRisingSun
by HouseOfTheRisingSun

Great product, big full sound without needing BIG speakers & expensive speaker wiring. Really like rear (satellite) speakers not requiring dedicated wiring all the way out from the main console. PS, ship to store feature is great, everyone at store very helpful and accommodating.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HouseOfTheRisingSun
Los Angeles, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
Constant humming/buzzing from speakers
9/15/2008

Customer review by lcds

2.0 stars 9/15/2008 by lcds
by lcds

At first I did't notice it but after a short will of listening to it I noticed the speakers constantly buzzed. It is very very annoying, its not very loud rather faint but it makes just enough noise to annoy the heck out of you. I've read just about every article on the net about this problem tried all the solutions that they recomened but non have worked. I have two other far less expensive souround sound systems that have never had this problem. I've tried everything from expensive surge protectors, new speaker wires, different speakers, new wall outlet, moving speakers farther apart ect. At this point there is only one part it can be and that is the reciever itsself. Totally disapointing. If it was not for this constant humming/buzzing I would rate this system a perfect score. The sound is clear, crisp and sharp.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lcds
jacksonville fl
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Wonderful Value
11/1/2008

Customer review by Luvmypunkin

5.0 stars 11/1/2008 by Luvmypunkin
by Luvmypunkin

We priced this same product at several different retail stores and we were blew away by Walmarts price, it is an outstanding sound system and we are very pleased.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Luvmypunkin
Midland, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
7/26/2008

Customer review by demonstang

5.0 stars 7/26/2008 by demonstang
by demonstang

Awesome surround sound system for the price. At first I was a bit skeptical about getting this system from panosonic, but not a bad choice at all. setting the system up was pretty easy some assembly with the speakers. Rear surround is wireless, a very nice feature being that you don't have to drill any holes for wire routing. The wireless speakers sound just as good as the hard wired speakers. I love the Ipod feature on this. I can play the music from my Ipod using panosonics menu designed especially for the Ipod, makes entertaining much easier. The user manual is a bit technical and somewhat difficult to understand but in use got the hang of it. I would recommend this product to anyone looking for a good home theater solution but does not want to spend thousands.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
demonstang
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
cactusbob
11/23/2008

Customer review by cactusbob

5.0 stars 11/23/2008 by cactusbob
by cactusbob

Hooked up to Panasonic HD TV. Sounds great. Looks great.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cactusbob
MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Panasonic
1/12/2009

Customer review by fdathewizard

3.0 stars 1/12/2009 by fdathewizard
by fdathewizard

Usually Panasonic products are pretty dependable and generally speaking the system works OK. The problem is with the optical connection does not work. After replacing the optical cable 3 times, it is still not working. The connection worked fine with the Samsung I had, that also broke down by shutting itself off every 10 or 15 minutes. In additon, I tried to get technical support from the toll free number, it was useless. First time, the lady had no idea what I was talking about and was asking me to un-hook the FM antenna. The second time a little better, but did not fix it. They gave me two numbers for warranty repair locally, and both no longer repair home theater systems. Thank God for Wal-marts return policy - back to the store it goes.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
fdathewizard
Las Vegas, NV
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Inferior product
9/18/2008

Customer review by NoJodas

2.0 stars 9/18/2008 by NoJodas
by NoJodas

This is going back to the store. It states the rear speakers are wireless but that's not true! The wireless rear speakers is a joke. The rear speakers still have to be wired to the rear receiver, so what's the point? I still have to route the two wires for the rear speakers in the wall. Also, it's rated at 1250 watts, but when turned all the way up, it does not feel very loud, it's more like 500 watts. Maybe the UNPOWERED sub eats up the other 750 watts. DVD player and functions are average. Sound adjustments is very poor, not much you can adjust to suit your taste. Has only a couple of preset settings, does not even have an equalizer adjustment available. Overall: not worth the money for a whimpy "wired" (not wireless) unit!

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NoJodas
Chicago, IL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Overall Happy
1/28/2009

Customer review by HpnotiqCrunk

4.0 stars 1/28/2009 by HpnotiqCrunk
by HpnotiqCrunk

I began searching months ago for a surround-sound theater, and at first was against the HTIB idea. However, the installation for this unit was extremely easy. The setup took me about 35min from start to finish given that you have the tools ready. I love the wireless rear speakers (although not 'true wireless'), you can hide the wireless unit under the couch and still have the freedom of placing the side speakers nearby. The rear speakers aren't preset to be powerful, you'll need to spend the time in the setup to adjust the rear speakers to +5DB or +6DB and reduce the center speaker to about -3DB or -4DB. The center is almost too powerful off the initial run through. Overall I'm satisfied with it's performance - I'm a huge gamer, and I just ran an optical cable from my 360 into the unit and it sounds great playing Madden 09 or Call of Duty. I've only watched one movie and it looked like it up-coverted perfectly - mostly use a blu-ray and optical cable in as well. I would recommend this product - go to a local electronic store and listen to a few samples. Clean and clear sounds, however, if you run wireless internet, you'll most likely need to adjust the channel it's running on to something like 1 or 7 so it doesn't interfere with the wireless rear speaker frequency.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HpnotiqCrunk
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
2/19/2009

Customer review by chkucky

2.0 stars 2/19/2009 by chkucky
by chkucky

bought this and thought it was a great deal. the rear speakers are not wireless. YOU GET A TRANSMITER RECIVER then the wires from that go to the rear speakers. Now then you have to find a place not only for the speakers but the reciver that has to be in front of the unit. The sound from the rear speakers is very low. The front speakers however preform very well. As far as setup was pretty simple following the instructions was very easy. If you want surrond sound this is not the one to purchase. We gave it a 2 week test and returned it to Walmart. Which with very few questions gave us a full refund with the exception of the shipping charge of 97 cents. THANKYOU WALMART

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
chkucky
illinois
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Very good value
12/12/2008

Customer review by bartb666

4.0 stars 12/12/2008 by bartb666
by bartb666

We have had the home theater for about 2 weeks. Walmart had the best price, bar none. Saw the same exact system recently in an ad for Best Buy and they were $100 more than Walmart and that was after $115 savings so there normal price was $225 more than Walmart. Set up was very easy. The only complaints I have is that the rear speakers are not truly wirless as one is lead to believe. There is a wireless receiver you place in back of room and then run speaker wire to it. The rear speakers could also be a bit louder than they are (even when turned all the way up). The CD/DVD changer takes some getting used to as far as loading and unloading the discs. I haven't gotten the part down yet where you can load and unload discs while another is playing. I thought I was following all the correct steps in manual but every time I try to do this, all trays open including one playing. Kind of frustrating but maybe I just need to reread manual and practice. Subwoofer puts out some serious bass! Has 3 different levels as well as a boost. We have it in a pretty small room so not sure if a large family room would make it seem a little lacking or not. All in all we have been very happy with this product but this is our first home theater so I really have nothing to compare it to. I would recommend it to anyone especially for the Walmart price!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bartb666
Blair, NE
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Value
11/29/2008

Customer review by IslandDodger

3.0 stars 11/29/2008 by IslandDodger
by IslandDodger

Easy setup. Able to connect with iPhone 3G; however if you have an Incase slider cover, you will need to remove the case which is kind of a hassle. Could use one extra audio input. Display menu is horrible and not very user friendly (neither is the instruction manual), but once you have your audio/video settings set there isn't much need to go back and reset anything. The humming/buzzing sound is hardly noticeable unless you are right up on the speakers. The FM antenna provided is garbage, might want to pick up another one if radio is important to you. Good sound, decent video output, for the price it's a great value.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
IslandDodger
Everett, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good Money
11/14/2008

Customer review by BRITEPHI

5.0 stars 11/14/2008 by BRITEPHI
by BRITEPHI

I was comparing this site and bestbuy. I went with bestbuy because the only way of recieving this product from walmart was through delivery, but I was upset about bestbuys price. I went to bestbuy their price was Reg. Price:$514.99 You Save:$51.50 Sale:$463.49,which is still higher. But then I saw an openbox special for 299.99. Myself and the rep looked at the insides. Everything was there. Infact still brand new! It also had another price for 469.99. I like the product alot. I use it with my 360. Definitely get hdmi cables! Not bad for walmarts price!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BRITEPHI
PHILA, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
good deal
10/10/2008

Customer review by momo1775

4.0 stars 10/10/2008 by momo1775
by momo1775

product is overall good, easy to set up, and not a bad price for a 1250 watt system. Though I was a little dissapointed to find out that the wireless rear speakers aren't exactly "wireless". You have to connect them to a wireless receiver which has to plug into a wall. I think their definition of wireless meant separate from the base, not "zero" wires. Sound is good, easy to understand, adjustable bass and the tower speakers make it easier to put them at ear level. It would've been a 5 star rating if it wasnt for the rear speakers.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
momo1775
Dumfries, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great Deal
1/25/2009

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 1/25/2009 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Very happy with the system. Very easy to set up. Just make sure there is no interferance with other wireless products. I had to move my wireless cell phone 6 feet away from the wireless box. The rear speakers could be a little louder other wise excellent. No hiss or hum from rear wireless box or speakers. The sound is great, just like the other reviews mention. The picture with my samsung LCD is great. I would recommend to get the correct cables to complements your system. Picture and sound will be much improved. VERY HAPPY!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
A nice product
12/29/2008

Customer review by ebabe13

4.0 stars 12/29/2008 by ebabe13
by ebabe13

Love this product, however I cannot understand why they do not include an audio cable! The video cable included was too short, I had to purchase a longer one. The sound quality is great and I love the wireless rear speaker feature. Connecting everything was pretty basic, however the instructions are not entirely clear. Their diagram only shows the audio being connected to the TV, however, if you connect the audio cable to your cable box instead, you can enjoy surround sound all the time not just when watching movies.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ebabe13
Blissfield, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
11/14/2008

Customer review by Georgio

4.0 stars 11/14/2008 by Georgio
by Georgio

Good By Best Buy, hello Walmart The Panasonic Home Theater was definitely a good buy, wireless rear speakers work great, but needs to be within the recommended 30 ft from receiver with no interference between the wireless unit and receiver. Rear speakers do not need to be loud and only activate when programmed properly (balancing sound levels) They are for background noise from the TV program or DVD. I hope this helps the other person that seemed to have concerns about the wireless speakers

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Georgio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Nice for the price
10/27/2008

Customer review by ChiCity

4.0 stars 10/27/2008 by ChiCity
by ChiCity

This system is nice, sounds pretty good but the wireless speakers are OVER RATED. They are not loud at all, and there is some light static at times but overall its a nice system. The look is so awesome, I have a flat screen mounted over the fire place and the system looks great but I cannot figure out how to use my ps3 and hd receiver from the system without unplugging the audio cables and plugging in the one I want to use. I know its a way to control everything from the receiver.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ChiCity
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
alittle disapointed
1/23/2009

Customer review by Tomcat74

2.0 stars 1/23/2009 by Tomcat74
by Tomcat74

It just seems like Panasonic dont make'em like they use too, I bought this system to replace my 5 yr old 1000 watt Panasonic theater system and as far as volume my old one would blow this 1250 watt away. It sounds good other wise but i just like it loud, It will get up there but not like the old system did, This will most likely be my last Panasonic system i'll ever buy.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Tomcat74
Land Of Lincoln
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
BIG BASS
8/18/2008

Customer review by GREATSOUND

5.0 stars 8/18/2008 by GREATSOUND
by GREATSOUND

This is a great product!! I highly recommend it. The speakers were easy to assemble and everything works great!! The sound that this unit puts out is good and clear. The upconverting feature makes regular dvd's look and sound 10x's better than before. The site to store was very convienient. Who don't need to go to Walmart for something anyway?

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GREATSOUND
mesquite,tx.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
great product at a low cost
12/4/2008

Customer review by realplaya

4.0 stars 12/4/2008 by realplaya
by realplaya

This product is everything that it claims to be except that the wireless surround is not truly wireless but it sounds great especially when coupled with a panasonic tv. The viera link is very usefull and really add space to your room when you replace the much larger speakers with this product. I would give it a four and one half star rating.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
realplaya
brockton ma.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 51 total reviews
1-20 of 51 reviews