Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 98 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

98 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

98 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

98%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
72
4 stars
20
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 stars
1
1-20 of 90 total reviews
98%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 90 total reviews
1-20 of 90 reviews
Great tool
4/4/2009

Customer review by Luap321

5.0 stars 4/4/2009 by Luap321
by Luap321

I work as a welder during the day, When it comes to my hobby of carving the Black & Decker RTX three speed has been a tool I would tell anyone "It's worth buying" As well as the good price!

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Luap321
Walnut California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Good for most general projects.
1/20/2012

Customer review by dittybopp

5.0 stars 1/20/2012 by dittybopp
by dittybopp

First of all, this is NOT a Dremel so don't expect it to perform exactly like one. On that note, this is an exceptional value for the price and for what it does. It has 3 speeds (low, medium, high) so you have versatility when it comes to the task at hand. You only get a few accessories with the tool--so you will most likely have to purchase more--but the ones that do come with the tool are sufficient to get you started on the most basic projects. I have used the tool now for a few weeks and it performs exactly as needed. I have also used a Dremel tool of similar design that costs twice the price--and this tool was just as reliable and easy to use. You don't get the big brand name of the Dremel--and the Dremel does have many more accessories that you can use with their tool--but for general projects, this will work just fine for you. I certainly feel comfortable in recommending this to anyone on a budget that wants a dependable rotary tool with not a lot of frills--and without a big price tag.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dittybopp
Hattiesburg, Mississippi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
I wish they would have thought it out a little
10/4/2009

Customer review by ILurveGadgets

4.0 stars 10/4/2009 by ILurveGadgets
by ILurveGadgets

While this was a smashing deal, considering an equivalent Dremel tool is twice the price, I wish they would have thought it out a bit. About half of the attachments need the smaller collet nuts (3/32"). Not too big a deal, but a little irritating. I've used Dremel rotary tools for about 15 years now. This by far beats my expectations for a rotary tool. High torque, no bog down. Even the low setting is all that's needed for most jobs. And quiet too. The collet is easy to get stuck though. I'm always having to tap the bit out. Dremels, seems the bits come right out. The tool gets a bit warm though after about an hour of use. But, B&D tools are known for that for some reason. Doesn't kill it's life expectancy, AFAIK. I'd recommend it, hands down. And, it's from Black and Decker, so you know it's a quality power tool.

Was this review helpful? (43) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ILurveGadgets
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Buy it!
12/5/2010

Customer review by seagull369

5.0 stars 12/5/2010 by seagull369
by seagull369

Excellent tool. Didn't think I'd be saying that about a B&D product these days with some of the garbage they have out there, but they've hit a home run on this one. At 2 amps, this thing has gobs of torque for it's size. Don't have to spin it up nearly as high as my Dremel (1.2A) to get the work done. Threads up top are same as Dremel's so a lot of their attachments will fit. Tool does heat up during hard work, as others have said, so once it starts getting uncomfortable to hold you must shut it off otherwise you'll fry it (I toss mine in the freezer for a while which speeds cooling time). Bits/wheels/etc. that come bundled are cheapo, so be forewarned. Though I never thought I'd care, the cord is soft and pliable even at cold temps. Collet lock is superior to Dremel's (very easy to accidentally engage its button lock while you're running it in tight areas).

Was this review helpful? (29) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
seagull369
12511
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
a good value
12/19/2008

Customer review by loveroftools

4.0 stars 12/19/2008 by loveroftools
by loveroftools

The Black & Decker rotary tool was half the price as the Dremel with the same 5 year warranty--a great value. The other review was very helpful because another purchaser said it didn't come with very many accessories, so I bought the Dremel 150 piece accessory kit for about half of what I saw it for elsewhere. Together, they both cost less than a comparable Dremel that included only 20 accessories. Very happy with that. I am using it to trim my dog's nails. I bought one of those nail trimmers being advertised on TV and discovered that it was just a cheap, battery operated rotary tool. The B & D tool was about the same price with no batteries to replace and much better grinding heads. Now I'll use it for a lot of other tasks too with that 150 piece accessory kit.

Was this review helpful? (68) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
loveroftools
Bellingham WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Great Value!
4/26/2009

Customer review by OkieHiker

5.0 stars 4/26/2009 by OkieHiker
by OkieHiker

After purchasing a PediPaws trimmer for my dogs nails, I realized I had made a HUGE mistake. This battery-powered, cheap Dremel knock-off couldn't even stay powered through one nail. It would bog down as you applied pressure. Plus, it couldn't be used for anything else. I wondered if I could have gotten more value with a REAL Dremel (or, any rotary tool). I did with the Black & Decker. For just $5 more than a PediPaws, I got the B&D Rotary tool, then bought a 31-piece Dremel accessory kit (because the B&D didn't include very many attachments) for just 10 additional dollars. It worked beautifully on my dog's nails. At the lowest setting, it's quiet enough that it doesn't startle her, and because it's AC-powered it never bogs down. Plus, I have the flexibility of using it as the tool it was designed to be. Highly recommend it! Especially, if you're a dog owner looking for an alternative to nail clippers.

Was this review helpful? (13) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
OkieHiker
Colorado Springs, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Pleasantly surprised
9/18/2010

Customer review by DocJimB

5.0 stars 9/18/2010 by DocJimB
by DocJimB

When a previous tool broke at a time I knew I was going to have more need for it I went shopping for a replacement. I saw the Black & Decker RTX-B which was considerably less expensive than the Dremel model similar to the one that I had. The on-line reviews were excellent, and it had some nice features that my former tool's replacement model did not have even at almost twice the price. I decided to take a chance. I really wanted to pick up one at a store, but none of the stores near me had it in stock. I ordered it on-line for shipment to the store. It came in in about half the estimated time, and worked perfectly. By having the 3 different speeds, that was nice and changing attachments was a breeze. The included storage bag not only stored the tool, but also a full set of attachments that were from my old Dremel unit and which fit this unit. I was very pleasantly surprised and recommend the unit.

Was this review helpful? (18) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DocJimB
Broomfield, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
GOOD TOOL NO TOOL ASSESORIES
1/11/2009

Customer review by CURRENTRIVERJOCK

5.0 stars 1/11/2009 by CURRENTRIVERJOCK
by CURRENTRIVERJOCK

VERY NICE ROTARY TOOL,BETTER THAN MOST,BUT NEEDS SOME ASSESORIES TO GO WITH IT,THE ONE,S YOU GET WITH IT ARE A DOWN GRADE FOR A GREAT TOOL BUT I BOUGHT IT AND WILL HAVE TO BUY A TOOL KIT , A GOOD KIT THAT IS.

Was this review helpful? (21) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CURRENTRIVERJOCK
MO.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Good for a cheap tool
6/9/2009

Customer review by rundive4kicks

3.0 stars 6/9/2009 by rundive4kicks
by rundive4kicks

My only complaint is that the Dremel attachments don't screw onto the top flush, so it is not useful when using it with the cutting tool or with the jigsaw attachment. It is great to use as a mini drill or with the cut-off wheel attachment and for sanding. The sanding wheels that came with the tool were too big to fit tightly on the piece that they were supose to go on. Luckily I had Dremel sanding wheels and was able to use those.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
rundive4kicks
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great Product!
5/3/2009

Customer review by SARGE04

5.0 stars 5/3/2009 by SARGE04
by SARGE04

I bought one of these 2 years ago for work. I was an electronics mechanic in the ARMY. I used to it to drill and cut swrews out of equpiment that was damaged, or was stuck in place. This thing never seems to die. I liked it so much that I bought a second one for home use. It is worth every penny I spent on it.

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SARGE04
New Lisbon, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Re: Great Device
7/20/2011

Customer review by DJLakerfan

4.0 stars 7/20/2011 by DJLakerfan
by DJLakerfan

Before purchasing this device, I almost bought the new Dremel 4000. I needed a tool which would allow me to cut rusted bolts from my car. Since most stores only carry Dremel oscilating tools, I almost fell for it. Because I prefer to hold a device in my hand before making the purchase, I was a bit hesitant. What sealed it for me were the recommendations from Dremel users to go with this product. For those of you on the fence as I was, this device does everything the Dremel does, but without the headaches of erratic speeds, noisy motor and high cost (Dremel is at least $50 more). I used it right out the box and absolutely love it! The best part is Dremel's accessories work on it.

Was this review helpful? (7) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DJLakerfan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Very awesome multi tool
9/3/2011

Customer review by kxt8981022

5.0 stars 9/3/2011 by kxt8981022
by kxt8981022

I love this tool. I will never go back to Dremel again. More power, quieter, better parts and the locking system is so much better. All around tons better than Dremel

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kxt8981022
Greenville
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
11/1/2010

Customer review by pigrescue

5.0 stars 11/1/2010 by pigrescue
by pigrescue

Have tried many rotary tools - like this one the best

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
pigrescue
Azusa, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
cheap alternative
12/21/2008

Customer review by cheatshopper

4.0 stars 12/21/2008 by cheatshopper
by cheatshopper

great cheap alternative to the dremel tool. works just as well, works with most of the dremel accessories.

Was this review helpful? (10) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cheatshopper
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Can't do without this tool
8/5/2010

Customer review by computerfreak207

5.0 stars 8/5/2010 by computerfreak207
by computerfreak207

I now have three of these and am thinking of buying another. It's a great tool for woodworking and metal working. Keep two in the shed and one in the house.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
computerfreak207
Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Very well-made rotary tool
8/5/2010

Customer review by Vinnie20

5.0 stars 8/5/2010 by Vinnie20
by Vinnie20

I use this tool to power carve. This tool is powerful enough to do the job easily.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Vinnie20
South Dakota
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
As good as any Dremel
7/7/2010

Customer review by Gokartracer

5.0 stars 7/7/2010 by Gokartracer
by Gokartracer

For the price you can't beat it. It will perform as good as any Dremel tool. I have owned 3 Dremels and so far this one performs just as good. Highly recommend that everyone buy this tool.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Gokartracer
Las Vegas, NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Beats Dremel!
8/21/2011

Customer review by TVJoJo

5.0 stars 8/21/2011 by TVJoJo
by TVJoJo

Strong little unit, feels good in the hand and spins like a banshee. Inexpensive and made very well - a rare combination.

Was this review helpful? (8) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TVJoJo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1/21/2012

Customer review by LtStone

4.0 stars 1/21/2012 by LtStone
by LtStone

This what I wanted. Can't beat the price for a 3 speed drill. I've gone through 1 dremel, 1 sears brand dremel and that's with light work. So I decided to give this a try, figured for $30 which was much cheaper than a real 3 speed dremel drill. From the reviews I've read most have been positive and the negative reviews most complained about the 6 accessories that come with the unit. If you need a dremel type tool, I would give this a try.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LtStone
Palmyra, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Great Tool!!
2/26/2009

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 2/26/2009 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

This is a powerful and helpful tool. I've always wanted a Dremel type tool but never wanted to pay the high cost. The RTX is comparable to Dremels costing three times or more as much. I started using it the day it arrived and it has already found its way to the top of the list of tools I grab when I don't know what I need to get something done. Love it!!! As always shipping was fast and the price on Walmart.com cannot be beat.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Pierce City, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 90 total reviews
1-20 of 90 reviews