Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 57 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

57 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

57 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

86%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
32
4 stars
15
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 stars
6
1-20 of 50 total reviews
86%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 50 total reviews
1-20 of 50 reviews
Worked great!
5/31/2009

Customer review by ComparisonShopper24

5.0 stars 5/31/2009 by ComparisonShopper24
by ComparisonShopper24

We bought the cooler to store our son's insulin for a 1700 mile road trip. The cooler worked great without any problems. We got the converter to plug in the cooler at the hotel and that worked great too! I checked many other websites for prices on the cooler and converter and Walmart had the best price. I had it shipped to our local Walmart so shipping was free. The cooler noise was minimal. We couldn't hear it at all when we were driving. The cooler was large enough for my son's medication, a half gallon of milk and several bottles of water.

Was this review helpful? (37) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ComparisonShopper24
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Of limited use. Koolatron P25 is much better
7/19/2009

Customer review by 2LoveWalMart

2.0 stars 7/19/2009 by 2LoveWalMart
by 2LoveWalMart

The P20 has inner walls that slope inward sothat the base WxL is smaller than the lid opening WxL. It is so small at the base that you cannot seat the all too popular ZipLock square storage containers. It is primarily intended to fit between the front driver and passenger captain chairs in a minivan that has no center console. Additionally, the cooling element protrudes inside the front wall, further reducing the inner space. Cleaning would be difficult since the cooling element and fan must never get wet. I tried the Coleman 16-Quart thermo-electric cooler. The base is a hair too small to seat two of the square ZipLock containers side by side. The cooling element is built in the hinged lid, which leaves more space for storage. However the fan is noisy. Finally, I tried and loved the Koolatron P25. It has a very roomy interior, has superior insulation, has the cooling element built into a detachable lid, which makes rinsing the container much easier, and finally has a very quiet fan. The only small negative is the absence of a red LED from the cigarette lighter plug to confirm that cooler is running.

Was this review helpful? (38) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
2LoveWalMart
CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
great find!
4/12/2009

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 4/12/2009 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

We just used this cooler on a multi day road trip from San Francisco to San Diego - kept it plugged in while driving and then at night, brought it into the hotel rooms and plugged it in with the adapter (purchased separately) The only downside is that I noticed some of the stuff froze in it, not sure why - but I'd rather the stuff freeze than melt and need to be thrown away! What a great product!

Was this review helpful? (19) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
San Francisco, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
great soda cooler
4/9/2009

Customer review by sumo1

5.0 stars 4/9/2009 by sumo1
by sumo1

I keep this cooler running 18hr days 6days a week in my dump truck and never had problem !

Was this review helpful? (17) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sumo1
St.Clair,Mo.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great for on the road!
1/15/2011

Customer review by ILHAWK

5.0 stars 1/15/2011 by ILHAWK
by ILHAWK

I purchased this cooler for my Bf who is an OTR trucker. He loves it. Fits nicely in the cubbie hole in his cab. He says that it's the perfect size for him. He is out on the road for 6 days--but says if he was out for a couple of weeks he would need a bigger one. But fits his needs well. It is light weight and easy to get into. He uses this with his lunchbox heater--so he can have meals anywhere. Keeps food very cold. I would definitely reccomend this product.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ILHAWK
Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
I'm Happy With It!
9/14/2009

Customer review by Steve21

5.0 stars 9/14/2009 by Steve21
by Steve21

I bought this product to keep things cold while traveling, insulin being not the least of which. I have a hatchback type vehicle but I didn't want to take all my luggage space up with a cooler. This cooler is a very good size as I can keep several sodas or like items in it without taking up the whole luggage area. Since it stands in vertical dimension it fits neatly to one side leaving plenty of room for whatever else I may want to stow. My vehicle has a DC plug in the hatch area, but the power cord that came with it seems long enough to reach forward of most other vehicles. I've taken a couple trips of 700 plus miles and it did a wonderful job of keeping my stuff cold without freezing. It also kept my items cold after I drove for a couple hours and left if parked in direct sun for several more hours without power. I would recommend a user not leave it powered while parked as it would run off car battery the entire time, although this wasn't an issue to me. It also has the ability to heat as well as cool, but I don't think I will use that function; it is an added feature however. In summary: Good size and dimension for practical use with good cooling function. I am happy with the purchase and I would recommend the product.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Steve21
Salt Lake City, Utah
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Great for Trips
6/29/2011

Customer review by JackSparrow87

4.0 stars 6/29/2011 by JackSparrow87
by JackSparrow87

I purchsed the Koolatron because I was taking my family on our first long road trip. I wanted to have the ability to have cold items without the mess and fuss of ice. Our trip took 10 days and over 3500 miles going through 9 states. The trip went great in part because of the Koolatron. It kept everything cold and in the colder states (in June the northern states are still in the 60's) it froze the food a bit. I have not had it running in the hot weather (one exception mentioned below), but in an a/c cooled Expedition and hotel rooms it work great. I wish it had some type of thermostat that could turn it off when the interior temp gets too cold or the outside temp is higher than the unit can cool to the current interior temp. Once we stopped for an extended period and the car temp warmed up pretty hot. The Koolatron continued running. It raised the temp in the chamber rather than shutting off to keep a cooler temp. I am not an engineer but I do not think that would be too hard. Overall a great purchase. It worked as advertised. I kept a thermometer in it at all times and found it does exactly what they claim- it is not a refrigerator - it cools the interior to about 40 degrees cooler than the outside temp. Hope this helps.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JackSparrow87
Bryan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per year
Ideal for truck drivers
1/8/2009

Customer review by EggsActly33

5.0 stars 1/8/2009 by EggsActly33
by EggsActly33

This product is an ideal size for truck drivers because of the limited space inside the cab. Works great!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
EggsActly33
Chatsworth, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Walmart associate
7/25/2011

Customer review by PMcClure

5.0 stars 7/25/2011 by PMcClure
by PMcClure

Holds tall bottles and cans, also holds larger gatorade bottles.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PMcClure
Bellevue, NE
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Something is missing
8/21/2010

Customer review by Lobolito

4.0 stars 8/21/2010 by Lobolito
by Lobolito

We bought this cooler to replace one that we used on the road daily (full time RVers). It does an excellent job of cooling but does not have a thermostat to regulated it. Consequently it ices up after about three days and has to be de-frosted. The size and ability to store tall drinks still makes it a great little cooler.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Lobolito
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Good option for travelers
7/19/2009

Customer review by NYActor

5.0 stars 7/19/2009 by NYActor
by NYActor

I use this cooler both while driving and while staying in hotels (the latter using the optional adapter). For the most part, it does a good job of keeping food quite cold. Although it will hold quite a bit, it works best when it is not packed full, allowing air to circulate around its contents. It is relatively quiet, and only occasionally does the cooling unit itself freeze up (i.e., cover up with ice, requiring defrosting). Overall this is a definite improvement over a previous cooler I had purchased from Coleman. NOTE: By reversing the plug, the unit can also be used to keep foods warm; but I have not used it in that manner.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NYActor
New York NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
A very handy item for road trips
9/30/2011

Customer review by TravelerT

5.0 stars 9/30/2011 by TravelerT
by TravelerT

The Koolatron P20 Compact 12 volt Cooler easily fits behind the driver's seat in our car so it can be easily accessed by the passenger, and keeps sodas, snacks, fruits and vegetables, and other items at a good temperature. It is also easily transported and can be brought into a motel room and plugged in if you have a 12-volt adapter so you don't have to load and unload items into a motel refrigerator. The only drawback is the configuration makes it difficult to reach items on the bottom, but careful packing can overcome this. I've thought about perhaps a small rack that would fit into the cooler to make it easier, but haven't found anything yet. The Walmart price was the best by far when I looked for the cooler on the Internet. The cooler can also be used as a heater, but I have not used it in that mode. You have to be careful in plugging in the power cord because if you plug it in the wrong way it heats instead of cools!

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TravelerT
Cincinnati, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great little cooler
12/2/2011

Customer review by Getahonda

4.0 stars 12/2/2011 by Getahonda
by Getahonda

This thing is a beast ! It will cool drinks down to a much colder temp than most gas station coolers. I drive over the road and this thing runs 24/7 with no trouble at all. I would give it five stars but it took too long to get to me via FedEx ( my number one competitor ). The price was a little steep considering that TA truckstops sell the same one for $89.00.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Getahonda
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
First Use and A Problem
7/19/2009

Customer review by ashfire

2.0 stars 7/19/2009 by ashfire
by ashfire

I just used the cooler this weekend and I had a problem with it. The cord was hot to the touch and it blew two fuses. I now want to contact the company that made this cooler to find out waht to do about the problem

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ashfire
Fort Washington, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Love it!
11/3/2010

Customer review by KeokiK

5.0 stars 11/3/2010 by KeokiK
by KeokiK

We bought this cooler because we had a plug in one in the past but it was big and bulky so I was looking for something smaller that would fit in the backseat on the floor of the car and didn't want to mess with ice. This cooler is perfect - fits great and is easy to access from the front seat while on the road. We also find that it is great to take with you into the hotel / motel room (get the adapter) to keep your things cold since most rooms do not come with a fridge, this is very handy. It is so compact yet holds a lot, I don't know what I would do without it now. We love it and would recommend to anyone looking for a compact cooler you don't have to put ice in to keep things cold. Kay

Was this review helpful? (3) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KeokiK
Chandler, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Cooler Left Me Hot
7/13/2009

Customer review by GardenChickie

1.0 stars 7/13/2009 by GardenChickie
by GardenChickie

The cooler stopped working within 3 hours of our drive to Washington, DC. It was never left in an over-heated car or subjected to any other extreme temps. I will be returning the cooler this week to the store.

Was this review helpful? (3) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GardenChickie
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Great Cooler
9/30/2011

Customer review by harrysqueen

5.0 stars 9/30/2011 by harrysqueen
by harrysqueen

We purchased a Coleman cooler initially and brought it back to the store within a week. It barely kept things cool. Not worth the high price tag. We were hesitant to try another cooler, but we opted to try this one. Although it's smaller than the Coleman, it was like night and day and it was almost half the price of the other cooler. Everything inside the cooler is COLD! We are very happy with our purchase. It fits nicely behind the seat for long trips. If we ever had to replace it, we'd buy this one again.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
harrysqueen
bay area california
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
11/5/2011

Customer review by gmartinsen

5.0 stars 11/5/2011 by gmartinsen
by gmartinsen

VERY HAPPY with this product. Used on 5 trip x-country without a hitch. Used AC adapter in hotel.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
gmartinsen
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
A great value.
4/3/2009

Customer review by SailingGuy

4.0 stars 4/3/2009 by SailingGuy
by SailingGuy

The cooler performs comparibly to other thermoelectric coolers I have previously owned and the overall quality of construction - particularly lid design and seal - appears to be quite good. Noise level is relatively low. Overall a very good value for the cost.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SailingGuy
San Diego, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Good for short jaunts.
10/8/2011

Customer review by drmicro

4.0 stars 10/8/2011 by drmicro
by drmicro

Purchased because we were taking a fairly long trip & needed to take food on both legs of the trip & didn't want to be bothered by having to buy ice. The return trip also meant bringing some fresh frozen fish. The unit fit in the car where wanted. However, while the bottom of the cooler maintained a reasonable temperature, the upper half did not keep items cool, so that items were spoiled and others had shortened retention times.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
drmicro
New Milford CT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
1-20 of 50 total reviews
1-20 of 50 reviews