Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 152 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

152 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

5 stars
64
4 stars
47
3 stars
15
2 stars
11
1 stars
15
79%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 132 total reviews
I've had this house almost 4 years
2/27/2011

Customer review by tuckychicken

4.0 stars by tuckychicken

I would recommend setting it on top of a pallet or a course of bricks to keep it off the ground. The threshold of the door could allow water in if it is sitting directly on the ground. Otherwise it is fine. We take the door flaps off in the summer and put them on in the winter. I think it is important to face the door in a direction where the dog can see the house, gate or other entrance. Our dogs also use them in our garage when it is too cold for them to be outside. Our 95lb Foxhound fits in the both size houses. The large size is intended for him. Our 65lb foxhound is comfortable in the average size house. They seem not to notice any difference in the size as they alternate using both. We have used cedar chips outdoors and a kennel mat indoors.

Was this review helpful? (63) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
tuckychicken
Kernersville, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
A Happy Home For Dogs!
3/13/2011

Customer review by ASilkyScorp

5.0 stars by ASilkyScorp

I have 3 dogs. The largest is a St. Bernard/Pitbull mix named Sam. Sam lowers his tolerance on sharing space when they all have to be kept indoors for longer periods of time due to bad weather. I decided to purchase two of these dog houses as a possible solution. It is perfect! Sam can stretch out comfortably without any half of himself hanging out of the house. The house is attractive and spacious. The walls provide additional ventilation through vents. The door flaps help keep out icy winds while providing easy entry for your pet. The interlocking panels for the sloping roof are a great deterrent for rain/snow storms. It is easy to assemble and just as easy to remove parts for cleaning or to install pet heaters or insulation. (My dogs prefer a few blankets to snuggle with on frostier eves or I attach fleece blankets with velcro strips along the inside of the walls for easy removal and cleaning) Sammy gets to reign from his own domain and when he is told to "go home" he rushes right into his new house and flops down with a contented stretch. The other two med sized dogs(Labrador/Chow Chow mixes) share the 2nd home together comfortably. Hey, even our cats drop into "The Mansion" for lazy undisturbed naps! My recommendation...BUY it! you'll be so glad you did.

Was this review helpful? (41) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
ASilkyScorp
Bronx, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Does the job but very cheap
6/18/2009

Customer review by bugsinlove

3.0 stars by bugsinlove

I bought this dog house for our new Golden Retiever puppy. It is a fairly large house but pretty flimsy. If we had a male dog, I don't think this product would last too long. Females are a little calmer so I'm not sure if it will hold up in the future. This house was quick and easy to put together but for better quality, it might be better to build your own. It is a good looking house but probably won't last more than a couple years if we're lucky.

Was this review helpful? (52) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
bugsinlove
Portersville, PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Sturdy, Roomy and Cost-Effective!
7/18/2011

Customer review by Zhora

5.0 stars by Zhora

I have a large, elderly disabled dog who sometimes urinates and defecates before he can get up. I needed a dog house I could rinse out, leave outside to the elements and have maneuverability for my Dalmation. He has difficulty lowering his hips. I researched the size of dog house I needed. I priced at major retail chains, smaller Mom&Pop stores and I looked on Craigslist. Everyone wanted over $250, new OR used for a vinyl house. I found exactly what I needed on WalMart.com. I read the reviews where many people reported the item as flimsy. I did not find this to be the case. Once it is assembled, it is very sturdy. My 85 pound, BIG-boned Dalmation can turn around in it. The assembly is easy with 2 people. One person may have trouble tackling this alone. You really need a second set of hands to place the 4th side on top of the 2 sides standing upright. You cannot beat the price!

Was this review helpful? (28) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Zhora
Topanga, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
5/30/2011

Customer review by Maddog3030

5.0 stars by Maddog3030

Product was easy to put together and stands up well to storms.My German Shepherd loves it !

Was this review helpful? (21) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Maddog3030
Stuart, Va.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Large dog house
5/7/2009

Customer review by walmartnanna

5.0 stars by walmartnanna

Was easy to put together and very attrative. We have a large Collie and she loves her house.

Was this review helpful? (16) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
walmartnanna
Williamsburg, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
great purchase!!
1/4/2010

Customer review by loverboytx05

5.0 stars by loverboytx05

I shopped around and walmart had the best price around period!!.. we have a English Springer Spanier (medium size dog now. He is 7 months oldnow) and he is absolutely nuts about it. everytime we are looking for the dog he's in there. We bought it a couple of weeks ago, we couldn't had the dog making a mess in the garage anymore and we were a little afraid it may not keep him warm with this cold temperatures outside but what a surprise when I see the dog before I go to work at 6:00 am he comes out of the dog house and he is so warm! So i would strongly recomend this to anybody.

Was this review helpful? (16) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
loverboytx05
houston texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Easy set up, little flimsy
8/20/2009

Customer review by KillerRayne

4.0 stars by KillerRayne

I bought this to protect my overactive 65 pound puppy from Florida rain she HATES it and will only go inside if she is about to drown. The floor is very uncomfortable and i dont see whats smart about putting a bed down in the rain. All in all its ok though I doubt it'll last more than 2 or 3 years

Was this review helpful? (19) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
KillerRayne
Orlando, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Loved It!!
4/27/2011

Customer review by LovesToShop27

5.0 stars by LovesToShop27

First of all, the product arrived in 2 days without express shipping! Then, my husband assembled it, said it took a few "manly" touches of his screws to sturdy the frame, but otherwise we both fell in love with it! Excellent product, excellent shipping, excellent results!

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
LovesToShop27
Pennsylvania
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
quality matches price
4/29/2013

Customer review by SleeperCell

4.0 stars by SleeperCell

I needed a cheap temporary dog house that was relatively easy to setup. This one fit the bill perfectly. If you are looking for great quality or a dog house that will last you a long time, then this one is not for you. This is the cheapest dog house Walmart offers in large. Keep in mind it is plastic and flimsy. When putting it together, I accidentally broke one of the plastic notches that holds together the sides. It was not a big deal, the dog house still came together fine. I have a 1 1/2 year old female short hair german shepherd and she fits inside well. It said it would ship in 7 days, it only came in 3 days. Overall I was satisfied. It met all my expectations.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
SleeperCell
Charlotte, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Not helpful
6/16/2009

Customer review by BudgetMaster

2.0 stars by BudgetMaster

This product was not helpful at all. My dog first started chewing on the house; within two weeks the house was demolished.

Was this review helpful? (29) (22)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
BudgetMaster
Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Flimsiest doghouse I ever saw.
10/4/2011

Customer review by Rectangle

1.0 stars by Rectangle

I bought this doghouse as a temporary shelter for my dog while he is being kept by someone else for a few days. Fortunately, it is just to allow him to lie on his bed during the day, sheltered from wind, in mild weather. This is not satisfactory shelter for an animal in most climates. And it needs to be fastened to the ground or heavily weighted to keep it from blowing away. Really, really poor quality. It will go out with the trash when I get back from my trip.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Rectangle
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per year
Perfect Dog House for my Boxer! Easy to assemble!
9/8/2011

Customer review by jtdancer123

5.0 stars by jtdancer123

I have a three year old Boxer, and I am so glad that I purchased this dog house! It was really easy to set up and only took me about a half hour. It just snaps together very easily. I didn't even need my husbands help in doing it! It is much bigger than I thought it would be. I could easily fit a second boxer inside it. My dog has plenty of room to move around inside it. It has 2 vents for circulation, and the vinyl flaps are easy to put on and take off. I do recommend staking it to the ground if you live in a windy place however because it is very light. Also, it came with letters to personalize it with your dog's name. I love this dog house and so does my dog. I would totally recommend this to a friend!

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
jtdancer123
Las Cruces, NM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Plastic is too flimsy for large dogs!
8/19/2014

Customer review by CMG27

1.0 stars by CMG27

I just returned this item. Poor quality, plastic is not thick or rigid enough to hold up to large dogs. Also very difficult to put together, constantly had to keep snapping pieces back together after you get one part done another part would come loose while working to get it all together!!! Very dissapointed!

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
CMG27
Warrenton, Va
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Perfect for my German Shepard
10/12/2012

Customer review by magualo

5.0 stars by magualo

I had no problem putting this dog house together. My grand kids even help me snap the side and roof on. Its what my dog needed and with the up coming winter and the cold air. He will be comfortable and warm. Price was great for its value . I still need to get his bedding which will put the icing on his new house. I rate this high, because it easy, no hassle to assemble and every light to lift. It fit in a 10 x 10 kennel along with second dog house for my son dog. I got both dog house and they enjoy it. My shepard is still getting use to his house so if he's warm he sleeps out side his house and if colder in the late evening he moves into house. I had to coach both dog into their house with treats. Once they walk into their house they loved it, because they would just stick their head out the door. Enjoy building the dog house and most of all your dog will too...Oceanside Ca.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
magualo
Oceanside CA.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Worth the Price
12/1/2008

Customer review by RockysMomma

4.0 stars by RockysMomma

A lot thinner walls and construction than I expected but it does the job. It was worth the price (I was looking for a relatively cheap dog house mostly just to keep the pooch out of the weather) and I'm pretty sure it will last a long time if Rock-head, a Lab, doesn't chew it to pieces. The dog absolutely loves it and has plenty of room to lay down (he's ~ 85 pounds); overall I'm very pleased with the purchase.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
RockysMomma
Salt Lake City
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Nice looking house; easy setup...but
5/22/2013

Customer review by Antwon281

3.0 stars by Antwon281

I purchased this dog house because I didn't have time to build one on my own. The dog house is easy to setup. In fact, I don't remember using any tools...maybe a screwdriver for the plastic film for the front doorway. The materials are all plastic, so one piece snaps into the other easily. It was built in less than 30 minutes. It has the look of a doll house. However, there are drawbacks. I live in Texas and since all the materials are plastic, the house can draw a lot of heat while sitting in the sun. If you purchase this house, I recommend placing it in a shady spot, especially if your summer days are brutal (like mine). Also, there is not much support for the base of the house. The base is simply two thin plastic pieces snapped together. In fact, because of the overall light weight, I'm skeptical about the durability of the house especially if a strong storm passes thru. Lastly, there is no ventilation through the back and sidewalls of the house. The picture gives the impression that there are side windows...not so, and not a good look when it's hot outside. Bottom line: it's an inexpensive solution if you just want a basic shelter for your dog. However, if you're handy, have a little extra time on your hands, and have access to building materials and tools, you might be better off making your own.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Antwon281
Houston, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
home sweet home
4/29/2009

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars by An anonymous customer

I love the house I bought for my pup.He loves it too.My daughter thinks its a doll house and sit in it herself while my pup barks for her to get out.They are so cute together.

Was this review helpful? (4) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
not for a dog that chews
9/30/2011

Customer review by fishgal69

4.0 stars by fishgal69

I put this house together in a few minutes, my dog got right in. it is make with THIN plastic,I can see it wont last a rough dog long.my german shepherd fits nice inside.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
fishgal69
conway ar.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Dog house
6/13/2014

Customer review by Chjchj

1.0 stars by Chjchj

Had this product for a week the wind blew it apart and broke where it Can not be put back together. Very disappointed

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Chjchj
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 132 total reviews