Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 299 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

299 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

299 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

90%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
199
4 stars
58
3 stars
16
2 stars
6
1 stars
20
1-20 of 247 total reviews
90%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 247 total reviews
1-20 of 247 reviews
Very durable
11/27/2009

Customer review by SpcJDavis21

5.0 stars 11/27/2009 by SpcJDavis21
by SpcJDavis21

It isn't very often that I review a product, but I just had to share my experience with my son's Leapster. I accidentally left his leapster on top of the van roof. We were heading down the highway going around 65mph when we heard a loud thud sounding like something fell off the car. We circled back devastated to find out it was his leapster. It was covered in scratches but when I pushed the power button, it fired right up without a problem and works to this day. If this thing can survive a fall going 65mph, It should be fine for a toddler to use.

Was this review helpful? (223) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SpcJDavis21
Central, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Almost Great
12/29/2009

Customer review by nateandsuzi

4.0 stars 12/29/2009 by nateandsuzi
by nateandsuzi

Santa brought the Leapster 2 for our almost-6 year old this year. He loves it, but as a lefty, it's a little difficult for him to use because of the cord on the stylus. It's attached on the bottom right-hand side of the console and when stretched over for a left-handed user, there is absolutely no slack. I contacted LeapFrog voicing my concern and was blown off by them because apparently their designers think that there isn't an issue. My 5 year old & I respectfully disagree. Overall, the system is great. There's a big variety of games, and the player does actually use his little brain!

Was this review helpful? (115) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
nateandsuzi
Baton Rouge, LA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
great product!!
5/1/2009

Customer review by tinytina43

5.0 stars 5/1/2009 by tinytina43
by tinytina43

We absolutly love this leapster! My 2 1/2 year old son can play it. I was excited to see they had thomas the train game because my son is a thomas fanatic!! I would recommend this to EVERYONE!!! Love it Love it Love it!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (97) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tinytina43
ksmo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
AWESOME
10/21/2008

Customer review by MyThreeKiddos

5.0 stars 10/21/2008 by MyThreeKiddos
by MyThreeKiddos

I have been more than satisfied with this product. It has met and exceeded my expectations. I have 5 year old twin boys and they are in love with their Leapster. My mother and I also take time out and play. Fun for all ages.

Was this review helpful? (71) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MyThreeKiddos
Gulfport, MS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great product
9/20/2009

Customer review by Princess8223

5.0 stars 9/20/2009 by Princess8223
by Princess8223

i bought this for my 3 yr old son and he just loves it. he plays with it everyday and just keeps him busy for hours. the only thing i say to buy with this is the ac adapter or rechargeable batteries because if your kids are like mine the batteries will die in no time. but overall i think this is a great product and would def. buy it again.

Was this review helpful? (32) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Princess8223
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Kids love it!
1/8/2010

Customer review by CGEG

4.0 stars 1/8/2010 by CGEG
by CGEG

I am happy with the Leapster 2 overall. My kids are having a great time with them, we purchased one for our daughter who is 5yo and one for our son who is 3yo. I thought our 3yo would be too young but he is able to turn it on and get his game started all on his own. The one compliant I have is that the screen scratches really easy, so my husband but self adhesive covers on them like you would use on a cell phone.

Was this review helpful? (24) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CGEG
Oregon, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Product!
12/4/2010

Customer review by ptomomoftwo

5.0 stars 12/4/2010 by ptomomoftwo
by ptomomoftwo

We bought 2 leapsters last year for Christmas for our kids 5 & 6. After reading the reviews between leap frog and vtech I knew we had to buy the leapsters. I must say we have been very impressed with them. We have since purchased many games. The kids are always excited about new games. All games are packed full of educational content. My only complaints about this system would be 1. The price point, by the time you buy the system, games $20-25/each and the power supply it gets pretty expensive. It is worth it for the educational benefits, but they could price it better or at least give you a break on the games. We decided to go with rechargeable batteries, at the time we just couldnt spend another $40 to buy two battery packs! The rechargeables work good but we have to charge often! We have found that most 12v home chargers will play the system (ie the plug in to our battery charger is the perfect size) and we got a cheap universal car charger at a local hardware supply. 2. We had 2 speakers go completely out on our systems, if you blew into the speaker it would come back on for a second, so we were able to exchange them at walmart for a new one but for the price Ive paid thats a pretty big problem. However it was working with earphones! Overall I would highly recommend this product to anyone, I would suggest buying this product as young as possible, 3 or 4. My daughter is about to turn 7 and she is ready for a DS. She has mastered all of her games! There are several games that a 3 or 4 yo could do, and having it for a longer period of time would not only offer educational benefits early but you would also get more bang for your buck, we have probably $300 invested in ours and our daughter only really got a year out of hers, my son however is still very interested!

Was this review helpful? (22) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ptomomoftwo
IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Love it! Had it for Years!!
3/10/2009

Customer review by KAQL5421

5.0 stars 3/10/2009 by KAQL5421
by KAQL5421

I bought a Leapster for my now six and five year old three years ago for Christmas. They still work, even after being dropped into a dog bowl full of water. I just recently bought a Leapster 2 for my three year old and he loves it just as much as his brothers love theirs. The six and five year old still play with them.We moved to NM from Alaska last year and these kept my two oldest busy for hours. I am planning on getting my two year old one for his birthday this month. We are thrilled with this product. It will literally last for years. It is well worth any price.

Was this review helpful? (20) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KAQL5421
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Not recommended
2/20/2010

Customer review by ezm4613

1.0 stars 2/20/2010 by ezm4613
by ezm4613

My parents bought the Leapster 2 for my boys 3 and 4. They loved it played for about 3 or 4 months and then they stopped working. I went out to get a second one. The same thing happened with the second set. I would not recommend this to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ezm4613
Harrisburg, PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Buy the extended warranty
11/10/2010

Customer review by mhens

5.0 stars 11/10/2010 by mhens
by mhens

I love this product because the kids learn as they play. i recommend other people to get the additional warranty, our leapster just stop working for no reason.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mhens
reno nv
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
An entertaining learning tool
9/26/2008

Customer review by Nanaisdefinitelybetter

5.0 stars 9/26/2008 by Nanaisdefinitelybetter
by Nanaisdefinitelybetter

I purchased the Leapster 2 for my grandson's 3rd birthday. He is graduating from the Leapster and loves his new computer. The games are interchangeable and can travel with him in the carseat for entertaining and occupying him while giving Mom & Dad a pleasant trip as well.

Was this review helpful? (9) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Nanaisdefinitelybetter
Lancaster, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Best $ I ever spent!!!
4/11/2010

Customer review by QuakerMom

5.0 stars 4/11/2010 by QuakerMom
by QuakerMom

This is going to be a long review because we are just so thrilled with this product. We bought two leapsters for the kids for xmas. My son then 4 and my daughter 6. We also bought them two games each. It was their favorite present on xmas day, they wouldnt put them down. We debated getting them DS's but when we saw how they did with these we know we made the right decision. The games are set up where they teach you many different lessons inside of having interactive games. A DS is more just for entertainment. We have just about every game that leapster makes and my kids still play them every chance she gets. My daughter literally wakes up in the morning and walks out with her leapster under her arm. We did have to return both of their initial leapsters because the speaker stopped working. I believe we just got a couple of lemons, because that happened right away and our new ones have been fine. Walmart gave us no problems returning them! Secondly I would recommend getting either the rechargable battery pack, the plug in or rechargeable batteries. Because the best reg. batteries only last about 2 days. So it will be a money pit if you dont find a cheaper solution. My only other complaint would be that the price point could be a little better on these. If you watch sometimes the games go on sale..We have to buy two every time so we spend about $50 every ime we get new games. Despite my critiques, these are invaluable to us, the kids have learned so much from them, it gives them a creative outlet, and sneaks in a lot of learning. 5 stars all the way!

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
QuakerMom
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
leapster
1/1/2010

Customer review by hug13

3.0 stars 1/1/2010 by hug13
by hug13

my son loves the leapster but, I was not happy with the fact that leapster is advertised that it comes with 35 games. nowhere in the ad did it say it comes with only one downloadable game and you have to buy the other 34. honestly i would'nt have bought the leapster for $50 if I knew it only had one game. so now its going to cost $850 for the other 24 games. no I'm not impressed!

Was this review helpful? (8) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
hug13
sheffield, vt
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
$60 for a game
1/20/2010

Customer review by mom3721

1.0 stars 1/20/2010 by mom3721
by mom3721

The total is between $50- 60 (including tax) and there is only one free game (you can choose one out of 4 free games online). This free game is boring. My 3 year old son got bored with it after 10 minutes. So $60 for 10 minutes. He does not like it. You have to buy other games to load on the machine. Their games are from 10 to 20 something. The images on the screen are blurred. The only thing good is that you can carry it with you anywhere. But if the game is not fun to kids, they won't want to carry it.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mom3721
Would recommend to a friend? No
Disappointed
1/10/2013

Customer review by Shwmae

1.0 stars 1/10/2013 by Shwmae
by Shwmae

I was very disappointed. I purchased the Leapster 2 for my niece for Christmas and it seems the company no longer supports the Leapster 2 so it is basically useless. I don't understand why Walmart would sell an item that is not supported by the company. We will be returning this item.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Shwmae
St. Augustine
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Not thrilled with Leapster2
12/30/2011

Customer review by RagingPink

2.0 stars 12/30/2011 by RagingPink
by RagingPink

If you're thinking of purchasing the Leapster2 - buy the Leapster Explorer instead! My husband and I purchased the Leapster2 for our (4) year old and the Leapster Explorer for our (8) year old and the Leapster 2 doesn't get touched - they both LOVE the Leapster Explorer! The screen isn't clear or bright like advertised and the startup screen is hard for the kids to navigate because two of the options (out of four showing) are for parents to use, not kids. My four year old got frustrated with it and when I tried it out for myself, I figured out why. We should have went with two Leapster Explorers for them to begin with. The Explorer has so many more options, a bright and clear screen and fun apps (already included) none of us want to bother with the Leapster2. I'm taking it back and exchanging it for another Leapster Explorer :)

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RagingPink
SC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Leapfrog Connect Never works
6/22/2012

Customer review by Steve125

2.0 stars 6/22/2012 by Steve125
by Steve125

Device is a great toy. Just don't bother trying to connect to your PC. It never works right. Software 101 is having the app let the user know the progress of any update. The window just blinks, after 10 min have to assume its hung up. Waste of time, they need to hire a better development team.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Steve125
RI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Wonderful Learning tool
10/13/2008

Customer review by Espower

5.0 stars 10/13/2008 by Espower
by Espower

I purchased this for my 2 1/2 year old son because his 5 year old cousin had a video game of some sort and they were always wanting to both play it. The first day I gave it to my son he was speaking spanish and knew how to work it better than his cousin! It keeps him entertained and helps him learn. I love it he loves it!

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Espower
Northfield, VT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Ours is Junk!!! :(
2/15/2010

Customer review by mom2cayden

1.0 stars 2/15/2010 by mom2cayden
by mom2cayden

Just bought this. My son opened it for his b-day. Put batteries in and did the online things. He has 6 games. Every games freezes up/locks up after 1 to 2 minutes of play. The screen also blacks out and locks up. I have never ever had issues with leapfrog products. This has been very disappointing to say the least. I'm returning it back to Walmart today. Also, glad I bought the extended warranty that was offered. I will buy the extended warranty again on the replacement one that we buy. I'm hesitant to get another one from the same store as I am afraid the whole shipment that the store got might be a bad shipment.

Was this review helpful? (8) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mom2cayden
kansas city
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
not sure if this is true learning toy
12/9/2012

Customer review by karensf

3.0 stars 12/9/2012 by karensf
by karensf

i haven't given this to my 4 yr old yet. the dragon game i downloaded free doesn't do very much except bump into numbers. i really hope there are games that help my son learn numbers letters and other things. i will need to try them.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
karensf
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 247 total reviews
1-20 of 247 reviews