Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 224 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

224 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

224 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

92%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
159
4 stars
41
3 stars
11
2 stars
5
1 stars
8
1-20 of 178 total reviews
92%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 178 total reviews
1-20 of 178 reviews
Great Buy
7/6/2009

Customer review by Nicksnini

5.0 stars 7/6/2009 by Nicksnini
by Nicksnini

We recently purchased this for my daughter's 4th birthday and she loves it! She seems to have figured out the games and buttons better than I can and loves showing me how she can 'play'. I plan to buy another one for her sister when she is a little older.

Was this review helpful? (98) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Nicksnini
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Leapster 2
10/19/2009

Customer review by Crystalyn

5.0 stars 10/19/2009 by Crystalyn
by Crystalyn

I bought this game for my 3 year for Christmas last year and she absolutely loves it. Recently we turned it on and every time she hit the icon for the cartridge it would automatically turn off and restart. Needless to say she was quite upset because she loves it, so I called Leapster to see if maybe there was a quick fix for it. I explained how old the item was and what was wrong and they are shipping me a new one!!!!! I only have to pay to ship the defective item to them (which I don't think is bad because on there site its says only a 3 month warranty). I was sooooo relieved because my daughter was almost in tears when I told her I couldn't get it to work. I am so happy to find a company that was easy to work with and was willing to except the fact that it was there product at fault and not the consumers and at how easy and nice they were to deal with. I would definitely recommend this product because not only is it wonderful for the kids but they have awesome customer service too.

Was this review helpful? (55) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Crystalyn
Eau Claire, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Love it!!
11/24/2008

Customer review by Kiyah

5.0 stars 11/24/2008 by Kiyah
by Kiyah

I purchased this for my 5 yr old daughter. She already had the Leapster 1 in green and I read the description for the Leapster 2 and saw that the features were really worth the upgrade. It's light weight and my daughter really feels like a big girl when she plays it since her aunt has the Nintendo DS. I haven't purchased a memory card for it just yet but she really enjoys hooking it up to the computer with the USB cord and going online to view her progress with the games and completing the online activities. I also recomend the adapter, the charging station, or rechargable batteries b/c the system sucks the life out of batteries

Was this review helpful? (39) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Kiyah
Raleigh, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Cool...very cool...
11/4/2009

Customer review by JessConsumer

5.0 stars 11/4/2009 by JessConsumer
by JessConsumer

I bought this for my 4 y/o daughter b/c she wanted a Game Boy but I couldn't even see buying one second hand and it getting broke from everyday use. She is still so young and I really want her to have more knowledge than get obsessed with games. She has so much fun with this that we now have to take it everywhere we go. The games are a bit pricey but they seem to get more challenging as they play so it keeps her interested. I suggest that you also buy the case that is around 14.99 but worth every penny you can put 3 carts in it for travel...one in the game and two will fit inside. Also RECHARGEABLE batts will save you a fortune. THIS IS A WONDERFUL TOY! F.Y.I - I also bought the Tag Reading system and it is absolutely wonderful...It is also compatible with the TagJr books. So wonderful buy there...and tag jr system is NOT compatible with the regular tag books.

Was this review helpful? (34) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JessConsumer
Atlanta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
we love the leapster2
2/18/2011

Customer review by leighsmommy

5.0 stars 2/18/2011 by leighsmommy
by leighsmommy

We Love the Leapster2. My daughter plays with it all the time and is rough with it and it takes a beating. The thought of getting her a Nintendo DS has crossed my mind but she would have broken it several times over! If you are going to buy one... do not forget to get the charge pack and charger sold separately. Or you will be out of batteries ALL THE TIME.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
leighsmommy
Blaine, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
GREAT PRODUCT!
12/26/2010

Customer review by mommyzGirlz

5.0 stars 12/26/2010 by mommyzGirlz
by mommyzGirlz

This game system is a great educational tool for toddlers and preschoolers. My 2 year old daughter LOVES It!

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mommyzGirlz
Miami, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Read if your child is left-handed
12/30/2009

Customer review by tl2005

3.0 stars 12/30/2009 by tl2005
by tl2005

I recently bought this product for my 4 yr old daughter for Christmas. So far she really enjoys the games, and they seem very educational. The problem...the attached pen is not functional for a child that is left-handed. The pen is located on the right side of the unit and the attached string is not long enough to allow her to hold the pen correctly in her left hand. Shes hold the pen akwardly, and often touches thing on the screen that she does not want to.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tl2005
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
7/22/2011

Customer review by MightyT

5.0 stars 7/22/2011 by MightyT
by MightyT

My three year old loves her new Leapster!It keeps her occupied and the best part is that she is learning. She loves to play the Nemo game and I was so impressed that she is learning her colors and numbers thru just this little game.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MightyT
St. Louis, Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Not A Great Value
12/29/2008

Customer review by Phemer

3.0 stars 12/29/2008 by Phemer
by Phemer

My 5 yr old is in love with my Nintendo DS. I have purchased several games for her on it, so when I saw this, I thought it would be a great thing to get. A little more kid friendly and tougher. The graphics were not very good, kinda fuzzy and hard to see. The games were a bit on the difficult side as well. There was game that was a bit like "Zuma" but you had to match up letters and but you have to use the arrow pad to turn the letter shooter around. She still can not quite do it. I would have to say, by the time you spend the money on this, and the games, you might as well have bought a better system like the Nin. DS.

Was this review helpful? (7) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Phemer
Mineral Wells, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Worthless piece of you know what!
12/12/2011

Customer review by Christopher77

1.0 stars 12/12/2011 by Christopher77
by Christopher77

I bought one of these last year for my daughter for Christmas after about 2 or 3 months the touch feature on the screan would no longer work. Without being able to touch the screan you can't get past the sign in screan. Over the last year my daughter would ocasionaly find it and want to play with it. I deided to buy another one a couple months ago and guess what happened again! The same exact issue only a couple months after I bought it. I can't immagine that I would be the only one with this issue especialy since it happened twice. When I wrote the company I recieved a generic e-mail about the warranty. Thanks for the wonderful product and great customer serice. I will not spend a penny on any Leapfrog product again. Do not spend the rediculous amount of money for this poorly buil pile of junk you will just end up with a sad child that has a broken toy they want to play with.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Christopher77
Would recommend to a friend? No
a good learning product, but....
12/27/2008

Customer review by 1supermomme

3.0 stars 12/27/2008 by 1supermomme
by 1supermomme

I was a little annoyed to find out it's another product that nickels and dimes us. It does not come with an AC adapter or a charger. It all has to be bought seperately., and they're not cheap. We want our kids to have fun while learning, but does it have to be so expensive to do so !?! It's a very smart learning toy but be prepared to be hit in the pocket.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
1supermomme
PHILLY PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
A great toy!!!
12/7/2009

Customer review by LoveMyChildren1978

5.0 stars 12/7/2009 by LoveMyChildren1978
by LoveMyChildren1978

I love this game! I brought it for my 3 year old daughter for Christmas so she has not gotten to play with it yet, but I have! My only problem with it is having to buy batteries. My daughter is very active and is not going to be one of those children to sit still and play while it is plugged in. I wish it would have came with a battery pack.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LoveMyChildren1978
Austell, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Not REALLY for 4 year olds...
12/13/2010

Customer review by Bargainista12

4.0 stars 12/13/2010 by Bargainista12
by Bargainista12

It's a cool game, and my niece (who is 4) loves it, but she can't play it by herself. She JUST turned 4, so maybe as she plays it a little more, she will get the hang of it, but right now, she isn't coordinated enough to maneuver the characters around with the arrows AND make them jump or breath fire or whatever with the A and B buttons. She doesn't get that you have to perform certain tasks. She just wants to watch it like a movie, which would be fine, except that it turns itself off if she doesn't move the buttons for a few minutes. Don't get me wrong, she LOVES it, but she just doesn't have the skills, coordination, and the ability to understand how it works yet. It may be that she hasn't ever played any kind of video game before, so she just doesn't have any experience.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Bargainista12
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
My Daughter Loves It
1/8/2010

Customer review by Startover171

4.0 stars 1/8/2010 by Startover171
by Startover171

Though we've only had the Leapster 2 for a couple of weeks now, my three year old daughter loves playing with it. She does require help on quite a few of the games though. I would recommend it to other parents with no problem, other than to advise them to be near-bye for help when the little ones start calling for it.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Startover171
Seattle, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
12/29/2008

Customer review by Marg23

4.0 stars 12/29/2008 by Marg23
by Marg23

I was excited to give my daughter (5) the Leapster 2. I was a bit disappointed that you could not use the stylist for more of the games - instead you have to use the arrows, which is more difficult for the younger children to do. Otherwise she seems to like it.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Marg23
MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Stopped reading cartridge in less than 6 mo.
12/17/2009

Customer review by PONCE

2.0 stars 12/17/2009 by PONCE
by PONCE

Got my attention all the wonderful 5 stars reviews on this item while doing some shopping. Just needed to comment that my daughter received this game as a gift last Christmas and it stopped reading the cartridges within 6 months of (weekends only) use... and I have other two friends that had the same experience.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PONCE
FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Terrible Customer Support & Warrany from Leap Frog
4/23/2012

Customer review by nicknamesaretoopicky

1.0 stars 4/23/2012 by nicknamesaretoopicky
by nicknamesaretoopicky

Never buy ANYTHING from Leap Frog!!! I bought a Leapster 2 for daughter's birthday less than three months ago. She was using one of the cartridge games, and the part that goes inside the unit snapped off. The unit won't work. It's not her fault, she was sitting quietly on the couch and didn't try to take the game out or put it in on her own. It's very obviously a defective game cartridge. But Leap Frog is refusing to replace it. WOW! Anything you buy from Fisher Price, they guarantee for a year (Leap Frog only three months# and they don't care how it got broken. I know who'll have my business from now on! So a $100 wasted #I bought a case and a/c adapter for the unit, too).

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
nicknamesaretoopicky
Salt Lake City, UT
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
2/11/2009

Customer review by karbear11727

5.0 stars 2/11/2009 by karbear11727
by karbear11727

My daughter loves her leapster2. She recieved it for christmas. SHe plays with it constantly. I love the fact that news games are installed when you hook it to the computer.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
karbear11727
mohawk ny
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
A TEMPORARY USEFUL PRODUCT
1/21/2010

Customer review by Ienjoyshoppingformykids

2.0 stars 1/21/2010 by Ienjoyshoppingformykids
by Ienjoyshoppingformykids

I purchased this game for my 3 year old daughter for christmas. I thought it would help her learn easier. She did not have the device a year before it broke. She very seldom played it the first few months. Never abused it, but one day the stylus stopped workin. The LeapFrog website had instructions for resetting the touch callibration. However, it was unsuccessful. I called the customer service department to see if there was any way I could have the game sent to a service department to fixed. The info I got was worthless, they don't have a service or trouble shooting department and was told to go out and purchase another game while it was on sale. I was extremely disappointed. I had purchaed many games for my daughter to play on the leapster 2. Had I known what I know now, I would have left the game in the store.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Ienjoyshoppingformykids
Greenwood, SC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
awful
7/6/2010

Customer review by sierranlevimom

1.0 stars 7/6/2010 by sierranlevimom
by sierranlevimom

I have had two of these products now. The first one lasted a month and the pen stopped working. The batteries also die after a very short amount of time. I exchanged it thinking i may have gotten a bad one, but now after having the second one a couple months, it is now broken as well. My daughter does not play with it much, and is not being rough with it. She just sits on her bed and plays it, so it is not something we did. It is just not good quality.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sierranlevimom
Gastonia, NC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
1-20 of 178 total reviews
1-20 of 178 reviews