Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 193 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

193 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

193 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

90%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
140
4 stars
28
3 stars
8
2 stars
7
1 stars
10
1-20 of 167 total reviews
90%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 167 total reviews
1-20 of 167 reviews
♥ love it
11/9/2008

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 11/9/2008 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I am amazed. I'm 14 with thick, wavy, dried out hair. The straightner i had took an hour and a half for it to kind of work. This product took me 15-20 minutes and made my hair stick straight. My friend has a chi straightner and up until now that is the only straightner that has ever worked on my hair. The andis straightner actually works better that the chi i think. I ♥ this staightner. Not only does it striaghten hair but it can curl it too. I give it five stars but my computer is being stupid and won't let me.

Was this review helpful? (94) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
the lost city of atlantis
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great product!!!
1/28/2009

Customer review by atotheworld

5.0 stars 1/28/2009 by atotheworld
by atotheworld

It was just what I was looking for. I previously owned a very weak iron and it would never straighten my hair. I have coarse hair and I wanted something that would straighten without frizzing back up in a couple hours. I've found it. It straightens well and it's not messing my hair up. It's not burning my hair up either. I was also loving the price. Glad I didn't have to pay $200 to get and acceptable flat iron. I'm going to add my pic to show what my natural hair looks like, if it straightens my hair it should work for just about anyone. I do not like putting much heat on my real hair, so I decided to get a weave for straight hair. But I needed a great iron to straighten what I left out in the front. I don't even have to use it everyday! I'm so excited! Great product andis!

Was this review helpful? (67) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
atotheworld
S.Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Better than my Chi
10/15/2009

Customer review by kg1867

5.0 stars 10/15/2009 by kg1867
by kg1867

I originally bought this straightener to hold me over until i got my Chi fixed. And i usually don't write reviews on stuff i buy but oh my gosh this straightener works so much better then my chi ever did even my sister thinks the same. It gets way hotter and straightens better the curls are even tighter and i love that you can change the temperature so you can have looser or tighter curls !!! BUY it you won't be disappointed!

Was this review helpful? (59) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kg1867
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
$15 GOLD!
8/9/2009

Customer review by youngbargainhunter

5.0 stars 8/9/2009 by youngbargainhunter
by youngbargainhunter

this is AMAZING! for $15, i could not have asked for anything better. i just got it today actually, and i love it. it is a little hard to grip but im sure itll become easier the more i use it. it straightens better than my $35 one from conair, except that it does leave a crease, but im sure if you held it lightly or practiced that would go away. i used it to curl my hair and i loveeee how it turned out. it is small, so easy to store and it has a lock too, also a plus. gets hottt, straightens my thick and wavy hair. makes your hair look smooth and soft, without even using any product. what else can i say? i cant think of anyhting else, but BUY THIS! its such a bargain and works wonders. :)

Was this review helpful? (44) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
youngbargainhunter
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
A Great Buy!
3/24/2010

Customer review by HomeIsBest

5.0 stars 3/24/2010 by HomeIsBest
by HomeIsBest

I bought this iron just a few days ago, and so far it has worked great. It is easy to use. This is the first time I have used a flat iron and have not had any problems at all with using this iron. From reading reviews of other flat irons, I have learned that sometimes flat irons can pull or snag you hair. I have not experienced any situation like this with this iron. Since I have fine hair, I just use the lowest setting. and it does the job. Again I have read how some flat irons can get very hot and this flat iron may as well, but I was impressed with how I was able to use the lowest setting which doesn't produce any steam from extensive high heat, and yet my hair was straightened very well. I was concerned about using such high heat on my hair. Because of the low setting option my concerns have been eliminated. The only negative I can find is that the box said it heats up in 60 seconds or some such little amount of time. Even at the lowest setting I am using, it takes at least 5-10 minutes. This is not a problem in my mind, but since it is a departure from the company's claim I thought I'd note the difference. Overall this is a great product at a great price. I bought it at the store for approximately $15.

Was this review helpful? (17) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HomeIsBest
Pittsburgh, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Awesome!
10/30/2010

Customer review by triscuit88

5.0 stars 10/30/2010 by triscuit88
by triscuit88

I have been using this andis for over 5 years now, It hasn't had any problems and has never broken on me. I love to curl my hair with it, it is better than my curling iron. I straighten my hair every day and I always have this with me. I promise you'll love this product!

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
triscuit88
Kaysvill, UT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
3 years and counting
1/16/2009

Customer review by hitthewall

5.0 stars 1/16/2009 by hitthewall
by hitthewall

Love, love, love this iron. I've had one for two three years and would not dare by another. Was bummed because I didn't know that Walmart offered $10 less than the andis website. Only bought a new one because the old one was dirty. It still worked perfectly. So so glad I did not spend my money on a Chi which is also good for find hair. Best way to flat iron for me is to part hair into 4 section do back first working from left side to right,side parting small sections. So, so so glad I did not buy an expensive iron.

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
hitthewall
sac, ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Very happy
4/30/2010

Customer review by tamratoo

4.0 stars 4/30/2010 by tamratoo
by tamratoo

I have had this product for 3 weeks and use it at least 4 times a week. It works very well on lower heat setting resulting in less damage. My last straightener severely damamged my hair, but with this one my hair looks much better. My only complaint is the dial that holds the unit in the closed position. The slightest bump will turn it, so I find the unit in the closed position during the middle of use. It gets annoying having to stop and turn the dial AGAIN. Other than that I am very happy with the product.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tamratoo
Dallas, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Amazing- The Best Flat Iron Experience...
4/8/2013

Customer review by CurlySimone

5.0 stars 4/8/2013 by CurlySimone
by CurlySimone

This review is well over-due because I've been using this flat iron (the same one) since 2009 and it's now 2013. When I say that this flat iron heats up extremely fast, it really does. You can literally see the heat coming from plates like steam. I used to use level 8, but with my 3B/3C thick, curly hair, I've increased the level to the max of 20 which gets my hair bone straight. On days I need to just touch up my hair I'll use level 15, but 20 makes my hair look like I have a relaxer. No matter what level you use (1-20) this flat iron will suit your straightening needs because it will commence giving off heat within 30 seconds of turning it on. It also does not strip or pull hair strands- just a smooth, flat ironing experience. I will never use an expensive flat iron and will continue using the Andis line. I use Fructis Flat Heat Protectant Flat Iron Spray which gives my hair great shine when using it with this flat iron.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CurlySimone
Orlando, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great Flat Iron for the price
3/11/2013

Customer review by SwishD

5.0 stars 3/11/2013 by SwishD
by SwishD

I have been using this flat iron for about 6 years now. I have had to replace it every so often because I use it daily. I have tried other irons (most cost more too) only to find that they just don't work like this one. It heats up quick and stays hot. This is a great flat iron for price and I don't mind having to replace it every year or two. It used to be sold in stores, but now I can only find it online. Wish they would bring it back to the store! Definitely worth a try...I'm pretty sure you won't be disappointed. However, don't expect it to last forever if you use it often/daily, as the coating on the plates will start to wear off and it does start to emit a "hot" smell when it's had it's share of use #typically around a year old#. But for the price it's cheap enough to replace every year. I say give it a try!

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SwishD
PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Cheap but not as good as i had thought
7/10/2009

Customer review by mzzz

2.0 stars 7/10/2009 by mzzz
by mzzz

I had the original CHI flat iron which didn't have the different temperature adjustment so I was looking for another flat iron that allowed me to lower the temperature. I didn't want to spend that much money on another CHI and a friend of mine said she liked her $20 flat iron that she bought at Walmart so I thought I would give it a try. I thought CHI was expensive because of its brandname. I thought all ceramic flat irons are the same. However this Andis flat iron pulled on my hair. It hurt and I lost my hair too! I was curious how it could be different from a CHI, it was only a flat iron, couldn't be that complicated. How could the CHI ran so smooth on my hair but not this one. I looked and realized the ceramic plates on the CHI were flexible so they could turn in the direction of them going down your hair. The Andis' ceremic plates were rigid, they don't move at all so they pulls on your hair. That's the $90 difference! I had to go back to my orignal CHI and need to save money for the CHI Turbo which has the temperature adjustment.

Was this review helpful? (10) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mzzz
Bellevue, WA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Not as great as everyone says.
11/30/2011

Customer review by patvik

1.0 stars 11/30/2011 by patvik
by patvik

If you have super thick hair, this is not the one for you! My hair is thick, wavy, frizzy, this just did not work well on my hair at all! i am very surprised at the good reviews, maybe for thinner hair it would be fine.

Was this review helpful? (8) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
patvik
ga
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Does what its suppose to!
10/2/2012

Customer review by mizlady0605

4.0 stars 10/2/2012 by mizlady0605
by mizlady0605

I'm black/indian/creo with frizzy hair that doesn't stay straight very long after a flat iron.The product works pretty well definitely better than my last flat iron. Its been about 4 hours and my hair is still considerably straight. Best to use any flat iron with heat protection.I paired this product with Ultra Sheen Flat Iron Spray and my hair has bounce and straightens basically the first time through. I used the setting of 5 and below. Don't need a lot of heat on my hair but just enough to do the job anything above that's really kinda hot so be careful and know its not really necessary. I love how i have body, bounce and straight hair. For us ethnic women you can give it a try but pair it with heat protection and it should do just fine. Of course its not the best around but i like it. If your not of colored ethnicity you should be very satisfied with this product.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mizlady0605
surrounding atl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
bad
8/4/2009

Customer review by sum1

1.0 stars 8/4/2009 by sum1
by sum1

it was great for like a week but then the ceramic coating started to come off and it smells like its on fire everytime i use it.

Was this review helpful? (7) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sum1
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Awful!!!!
8/15/2012

Customer review by hellolover

1.0 stars 8/15/2012 by hellolover
by hellolover

I bought this straightener because it had good reviews and was relatively cheap. I was going out of town and did not want to take my nice straightener so I decided to buy this Andis flat iron. This flat iron snagged my hair like crazy and was pretty uncomfortable to straighten my hair. Not only that, your hair smells like burnt hair and my boyfriend noticed that the iron gave off an awful burning plastic smell. This is by far the worst cheap flat iron I have ever encountered!

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
hellolover
miami
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Best Flat Iron Ever Used
7/8/2010

Customer review by gadiantonroberts

5.0 stars 7/8/2010 by gadiantonroberts
by gadiantonroberts

I've used a variety of flat irons, and this is, by far, the best. I have naturally curly, very thick, very coarse hair, and other flat irons did not get hot enough to straighten my hair. This sucker gets hot enough to straighten my hair with one quick pass. It doesn't burn the hair, makes it soft and shiny. The smaller plate gets right up close to the scalp, so there aren't any waves in that area. The iron also works great for flipping the hair up on the ends. With one pass, I can make my hair lay flat and straight. It's wonderful! My whole family uses this brand only!

Was this review helpful? (6) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
gadiantonroberts
Blackfoot, ID
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
over four years!!!
12/16/2010

Customer review by lovetoshopinLA

5.0 stars 12/16/2010 by lovetoshopinLA
by lovetoshopinLA

have had this product over fours years now and iv loved it the whole time works great, best 15 bucks every spent . but i will say its starting to not heat up as well..but come on .its over 4YEARS old. but i will be buying one again if and when i need too also I've had a chi , conair & vidal sassoon and on a scale from 1-10 , 10 being the best CHI = 10 ANDIS=9****** VIDAL SASSOON=6 CONAIR =4 SO ANDIS IS A GREAT DEAL WHICH NOT MANY PEOPLE KNOW ABOUT

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lovetoshopinLA
LOS ANGELES ,CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
DONT BUY!
1/13/2011

Customer review by Locks2Adore

2.0 stars 1/13/2011 by Locks2Adore
by Locks2Adore

Unless you have baby fine, thin hair that is cut short, this straightener will not work. trust me. i have no idea why these other reviews say it works better than a chi. my hair isn't even that long or thick (and it's basically straight already) and it takes me over an hour to use this straightener... and STILL leaves my hair with kinks. It's not worth it.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Locks2Adore
hubert, nc
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Lousy quality
9/26/2009

Customer review by misscurly

2.0 stars 9/26/2009 by misscurly
by misscurly

Thought this was a GREAT product when I bought it. Good price and included the features I was looking for. After one week, the covering on the plates started wearing off, causing damage to my hair. Needless to say, back to the store it went!

Was this review helpful? (5) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
misscurly
Lisle, IL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
The best $16 bucks ever spent!!!
6/15/2009

Customer review by Faucet

5.0 stars 6/15/2009 by Faucet
by Faucet

OMG! I'd been needing my own straightner for the longest time and I'd done some shopping around, ya know? Anyways, I went into WalMart and saw this deal and I couldn't pass it up.....I used it that day and it is WONDERFUL!!!!!! My hair is pretty thick and I wasn't sure if this product would fry it into dry, brittle split-ends---but it didn't! BUY THIS ASAP IF YOU'RE LOOKING FOR A GREAT STRAIGHTNER!!!

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Faucet
Alabama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
1-20 of 167 total reviews
1-20 of 167 reviews