Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 44 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

44 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

44 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

91%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
35
4 stars
4
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 stars
2
1-20 of 41 total reviews
91%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 41 total reviews
1-20 of 41 reviews
10/26/2012

Customer review by foreversewing

5.0 stars 10/26/2012 by foreversewing
by foreversewing
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I love my Brother 420 Runway Sewing Machine. It is so easy to operate and the feature of the threading and cutting your thread is the most wonderful invention ever made. Beginners in sewing should have no problems with this machine. There is one thing which my husband did for me and that is in one of the brushes I have in my other Brother machine, he drilled a small hole so I could hold the needle I wanted to replace without using my fingers which were slippery at times and now it is so nice an easy to do. I suggest Brother should do this to all of their brushes. I have had other expensive well known machines and nothing beats the Brother's. If your looking for a machine that does it all, then be sure you select a Brother above all others. I love love love this machine...I'm 71 years of age and I feel like a kid with s brand new toy....Thanks Brother..Sincerely, foreversewing

Was this review helpful? (16) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
foreversewing
Goldendale, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Did I just get a lemon?
5/7/2012

Customer review by anibobannie

1.0 stars 5/7/2012 by anibobannie
by anibobannie

After reading positive reviews for this machine here, on Amazon.com and PatternReview.com I decided to purchase the PC-420PRW. I am a veteran sewer of 40+ yrs and was looking for a 2nd machine, one to use for classes and for when I was embroidering on my other machine I'd have something to continue to sew with. This machine had the two main features I was looking for in a 2nd machine: thread cutter and knee lifter. Other than the thread cutter and knee lifter I was very disappointed in this machine. It's decorative stitches were all out of line, just horrible. The tension was iffy as well on all the stitches. It made a funny whiny noise when sewing, not sure if this is normal for this machine or not. I changed the needle/ rewound bobbins with different threads, tried various fabrics with the machine and the stitch quality was so bad no matter what I tried. Did I just get the proverbial 'lemon'? I returned this machine after two days. I almost ordered another to just to see if it would stitch better but decided on a Singer Quantum 9960 instead.

Was this review helpful? (31) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
anibobannie
SE N.C.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Feed dog problem. Clues??
6/10/2012

Customer review by thriftydabbler

3.0 stars 6/10/2012 by thriftydabbler
by thriftydabbler

Today after stopping free-motion (FM) work and removing the FM foot, the FEED DOGS will not raise up again. Bummer ! I tried the switch many times after checking the instruction manual. I turned the machine on and off and tried again. I rotated the wheel to engage the needle. I tried everything I could think of. Even got my hubby in to give it a try. NO LUCK ! This was my 2nd time with FM work so the feed dogs did return to up position the last time. But not this time. I rate this machine as 'average' since it does what a sewing machine should do. It is likely I will never use all the stitches. I bought it because the FEED DOGS dropped and it seemed like a value machine. And I would recommend it since it seems to run and sew fine. But I am disappointed by this problem already. I have had the PC 420 for only 3 weeks :( Any help or ideas for a fix would be a great help. Thanks.

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
thriftydabbler
USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
A great machine for the money!
6/2/2009

Customer review by sssffff

4.0 stars 6/2/2009 by sssffff
by sssffff

I bought this machine after seeing the Brother Innovis I-80 at a dealer. I didn't want to work with dealers anymore and I didn't want to trade in my trusty singer which, while it doesn't have fancy stitches, is still a great machine. The auto- threader is great! The directions are written well which is a plus and I'm very happy with the machine. I did a lot of research before buying a machine (consumer reports, dealers, epinions, brother website) and brother seemed to offer the most features for a good value. A good example is the automatic one step buttonholer. I would have had to spend at least a 1000 dollars (plus tradein) to get this feature in a pfaff. No thanks! The only question I have (the 3 star) is on durability because I don't know how long will it last but it was rated high in consumer reports and so I'm thinking it won't be an issue. Also, I've looked at other machines in the same price range and I'm just not sure any of the brands are making machines like they used to with steel parts etc. FYI on appearance- I told the dealer I was interviewing that even the $600 Innovis seemed very "plasticky" which gave me the impression that "it was a beginner machine and he said that is just what it looks like- it is a good machine". And, I've experienced it first hand- It does everything I currently do very well and I can grow with it with the newer features I haven't had in my past machines.

Was this review helpful? (100) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
sssffff
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Who knew? I can SEW!!!!
11/12/2012

Customer review by Stitch4me

5.0 stars 11/12/2012 by Stitch4me
by Stitch4me
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I purchased this product to make santa bags for my children and grandchildren for Christmas. I knew that, since I had chosen very difficult fabrics and have not done any sewing for over 40 years, I would need a machine that was extremely versatile and, hopefully, user-friendly. I was not disappointed on either count. The instructions are very well written; the machine itself has the threading and bobbin sequence numbered and, for most people, would be foolproof. My sister and I have had a lot of laughs over my novice attempts but the machine itself is a true pro. My daughter can't wait to get her hands on it. I would recommend this machine to anyone who sews, regardless of their expertise, without hesitation. The number of features and ease of use are just short of miraculous. Happy Sewing!!!

Was this review helpful? (15) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Stitch4me
Muscle Shoals, AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
I cannot believe this perfect machine!
8/11/2008

Customer review by lizbarefoot

5.0 stars 8/11/2008 by lizbarefoot
by lizbarefoot

I have owned at least 100 sewing machines over the last 30 to 40 years. Most of them were top of the line. I haven't bought a TOL for a number of years now, but NEEDED a good basic machine. When I saw this one had Needle up/down, thread cutter, AND a knee lift, I flipped. For about $600 I thought I was getting just that. However, when I got it I was even MORE enthusiastic. I like to sew straight with 3.0 stitch length setting. On this machine you can actually set it permanently, EVEN THE ZIGZAG! I am still discovering things about it that 'love' doesn't describe. If you are a new sew-er, this is the most perfect machine invented. THANK YOU BROTHER!

Was this review helpful? (89) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lizbarefoot
Albany, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Machine for all sewers!
9/26/2011

Customer review by pdoughty

4.0 stars 9/26/2011 by pdoughty
by pdoughty

I have had my machine for over a year. It does a great job of everything, except a satin stitch. It skipps stitches. I have learned to do almost everything with this machine including several quilts. I have one problem with the machine and it is my fault. You should NEVER oil the machine. I have always had to oil the machine and thought this one should be oiled as well. Now the computer is no longer working on the machine. I love it so much that I ordered a new machine.

Was this review helpful? (39) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
pdoughty
Frisco, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
better than expected
3/2/2009

Customer review by sewingperfectionist

5.0 stars 3/2/2009 by sewingperfectionist
by sewingperfectionist

I bought this machine because I wanted to make a good keyhole buttonhole without spending thousands of dollars. This machine makes an excellent one and much more. The stitch selection is extensive-more than I will ever need. It has a nice feel while sewing. It is easy to use, although you will need to reference the manual for a while. I cannot attest to its durability, having had it only a couple of weeks, but overall I am very pleased with its performance.

Was this review helpful? (47) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
sewingperfectionist
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Brother sewing machine
6/23/2016

Customer review by Neeliehari

5.0 stars 6/23/2016 by Neeliehari
by Neeliehari
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I've always thought Singer was the best in sewing machines. I was wrong, especially in later years of the product. I don't know if Brother is the best, can't possibly know. But, it is much better than my Singer, which died a sudden death. I would definitely recommend the Brother PC420. Hope this helps if you're trying to decide between a Singer and a Brother. E. Mann

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Neeliehari
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
very smooth machine
6/1/2009

Customer review by amogirl

5.0 stars 6/1/2009 by amogirl
by amogirl

I have been looking for a good sewing machine for several months ( did lots of research) I wanted the best machine for the money, and this is it! Easy to use, very smooth operation. I am having fun exploring all of the functions!

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
amogirl
Lake of he Ozarks, Mo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Wonderful Machine
12/26/2008

Customer review by HanDzIne

5.0 stars 12/26/2008 by HanDzIne
by HanDzIne

I bought this machine for the embroidery patterns and because I thought I could download more designes from the internet, but that's the only thing I can't do with it. It does come with some graph cards to make your own designs and then you have to program them into the machine yourself (which looks really too technical for me), but maybe in a few months, I'll feel comfortable enough to try. I tried every design it makes when I first used it and I've been sewing with it ever since. I had my husband put my old brother machine up in the closet. I'm wanting a serger now, but I don't know if I'll really need one, becausae this machine comes with a cutting foot also. I love this machine.

Was this review helpful? (14) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HanDzIne
Oklahoma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Sewing Machine
3/15/2010

Customer review by SoybeanQueen1

5.0 stars 3/15/2010 by SoybeanQueen1
by SoybeanQueen1

I did a lot of research before I purchased this machine. I even went to dealers - found that I could do the purchase online more reasonable. The machine is a great machine. Especially when it threads itself, easy to learn how to use, and I am still in the process of learning all the new stitches. The Brother Sewing Machine 294 stitch is all that they advertise it to be. I highly recommed anyone who wants to get a nice sewing machine to get this one. I love this machine, wish I would have purchased it sooner.

Was this review helpful? (21) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SoybeanQueen1
Cincinnati, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great Buy and Excellent Quality
3/22/2013

Customer review by SewingMama5

5.0 stars 3/22/2013 by SewingMama5
by SewingMama5

I purchased this model after ALOT of research. I truthfully didn't want a Brother's machine. I currently own a White, but they are no longer in business. I also purchased and returned a Singer Superb. I felt the singer was cheaply made. The reviews on this machine are what convinced me. I also read reviews from HSN network for this machine, and it was customer pick of their machines. This machine is $100.00 cheaper through Walmart than anywhere else, yet you still get all 13 feet, leg lift, and a hard case to protect it. If you would like to upgrade to a better sewing machine with more features, this one is it!

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SewingMama5
Northwest Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Fantastic Machine!
10/30/2011

Customer review by cindy402

5.0 stars 10/30/2011 by cindy402
by cindy402

Great sewing machine - Have serveral Brother machines including a serger - and all work great! But this one is the best so far! Have been eyeing this one for long time now and finally decided to purchase and glad I did. Has all the bells and whistles of higher priced machines at a much more affordable price! Thank you Brother!

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cindy402
juniata nebraska
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
10/31/2011

Customer review by Granynan

5.0 stars 10/31/2011 by Granynan
by Granynan

I love this machine, I have several other Brother machines, embroidery and sewing and embroidery machines, and will only buy Brother. This is a real heavyweight machine and sews like a dream.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Granynan
Mabank, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
AWESOME!
7/10/2008

Customer review by SewsAlot

5.0 stars 7/10/2008 by SewsAlot
by SewsAlot

I have sewed my entire life and just love this machine. It does everything that the expensive machines do without the price. I just love all the freatures, the quality of the machine, all the stitches, the knee lift, the ease of use, everything! I spent hours just stitching the 294 different stitches and loving every minute of it. I will own this machine the rest of my life.

Was this review helpful? (50) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SewsAlot
Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great Machine
4/5/2016

Customer review by Photobug

5.0 stars 4/5/2016 by Photobug
by Photobug

I wanted a machine that had all the functions I use as a quilter yet I could carry to classes. This machine seems to be perfect for that use. I could have gotten a less expensive machine but it did not have a knee lift like this machine did. As an added bonus Brother is made by Baby Lock and my main machine is a Baby Lock, all the bobbins and feet from the Baby Lock fit this machine.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Photobug
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
12/22/2012

Customer review by Magsg

4.0 stars 12/22/2012 by Magsg
by Magsg
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Wife was using an ancient Singer, she loves this new Brother and all it does for her! It cuts the thread, threads the needle and more with a push of a button. The stitches are amazing and she can even design her own stitches.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Magsg
San Antonio, Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
OMG - What a machine!!!
3/5/2013

Customer review by FrankieJoy

5.0 stars 3/5/2013 by FrankieJoy
by FrankieJoy

I am so completely thrilled with this machine. Comparable machines would have cost double what this one cost. The attachments included alone is worth half the cost. I love it and am so glad I purchased it. It came with so many feet and complete instructions on how to use each. I have had 2 other Brother machines and this one tops the list.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FrankieJoy
Lawrenceville, G
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Work horse
3/28/2016

Customer review by Grandmajanet

5.0 stars 3/28/2016 by Grandmajanet
by Grandmajanet

This sewing machine is my work horse, I've put it through faux fur on several occasions, slinky knits, chiffon you name it. I love it's versatility and durability. I do use pipe cleaners and machine vacuums, to keep it clean at all times, every time. It provides me with perfect stitches. The only thing I wish I could figure out is how do I find all 294 stitches, I've discover many. I wish there were more in-depth videos for all brother machines. I own the Quattro 6000 all in one embroidery machine also.I love all brother's sewing machines. I always use my PR420 for my materials that leave lint within my machines. You will not be disappointed.

Grandmajanet
Upstate finger lake region of new york
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 41 total reviews
1-20 of 41 reviews