Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 1337 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

1337 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

1337 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

86%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
778
4 stars
344
3 stars
55
2 stars
50
1 stars
110
1-20 of 1026 total reviews
86%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 1026 total reviews
1-20 of 1026 reviews
Don't waste your $!!!
12/6/2010

Customer review by Mommy2boys0710

1.0 stars 12/6/2010 by Mommy2boys0710
by Mommy2boys0710

I got this microwave 9 months ago and was thrilled at first. Now I am so disgusted with GE I will NEVER buy another microwave by them. The paint has worn off where the turntable turns exposing the metal underneath. My microwave is now unusable and GE won't help. This is the second one to have done this to me. I HIGHLY suggest picking another brand. Don't waste your money like I did!!!

Was this review helpful? (20) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mommy2boys0710
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good Value Plus G.E. Stands Behind It's Products
8/17/2011

Customer review by jazzfan19605

4.0 stars 8/17/2011 by jazzfan19605
by jazzfan19605

Ordered it on Monday August 1 and it was by my door Wednesday August 3. This unit is an identical replacement of a unit that was purchased in March 2008. There was an issue with that unit and I contacted General Electric. To make a long story short GE stands behind it's products and I bought this for a replacement. As for Walmart, the service is excellent! FEDEX delivered the unit in excellent shape. I kept the glass plate from the old unit just in case of an accident. The only thing I never liked about this model is that it sits too low on the counter. There are no "feet" on the bottom and I was concerned about scratching the counter top when moving it out to clean. I removed the feet from my old Emerson microwave and put them on the GE back in 2008 using screws. This time not wanting to void the warranty on my new unit I unscrewed the feet from the 2008 GE and installed them on the new one using heavy-duty two-sided tape instead of drilling holes. Works great. I added pictures to show you what I'm talking about. These feet can be found at any hardware department or store. You might want to consider adding those to the bottom of yours.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jazzfan19605
Muhlenberg Township, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Love having it...
9/12/2008

Customer review by mrgardon

4.0 stars 9/12/2008 by mrgardon
by mrgardon

Love having a nuker after saving up for 10 years for it. Hate the key pad.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mrgardon
Austin, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Inside Paint Peeling Off
2/14/2011

Customer review by VAMom2011

1.0 stars 2/14/2011 by VAMom2011
by VAMom2011

I purchased this GE Microwave oven from Walmart in Feb 2010. Less than a year later, the paint on the inside starts peeling off. I will NEVER buy GE again.

Was this review helpful? (18) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
VAMom2011
Would recommend to a friend? No
Perfecto!
7/28/2010

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 7/28/2010 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

So I decided to to buy this microwave after reading the reviews on this site and other websites, it was worth it!! I got my microwave in one day which was a big surprise top me so the shipping was very very very fast. Took it home plugged it in and puff the microwave works great and its pretty quiet. It also seem to cook or heat up fast and evenly. Although I don't do much cooking its perfect for me to heat up ordered out food. I don't have a big kitchen so its fit just right and its not big, its a nice compact size. I haven't programmed anything yet but the light stays on when cooking and when the door opens. The center glass plate turns, one touch cooking, it has pretty much everything you need even for a chef, the microwave look is great, modern and advanced. So far so good....... Trust me buy it the price aint bad although the technology is old so I would think the cost of a microwave would be cheaper but its worth the price, I know this will last me for a long time.....................

Was this review helpful? (128) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Los Angeles, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Just what I was looking for
1/29/2010

Customer review by cubist

5.0 stars 1/29/2010 by cubist
by cubist

I wanted a low cost m/w, and bought another one but the features were not right for me. Bought this one and had everything I wanted so returned the first one. Love the one-touch cooking, as well as the plus-30 button. The timer can be used to time other things, even while cooking. Great design. Only had it two weeks, hope durability is good too.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cubist
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good for the money
6/3/2010

Customer review by Vermont1

5.0 stars 6/3/2010 by Vermont1
by Vermont1

I always heavily research things I buy with Consumer Reports and customer reviews. Surprisingly, I didn't see Brand ratings, just individual microwaves. Consumer reports rated the Kenmore really well, but I was hesitant since my second Kenmore in 2-3 years died suddenly. After reading customer reviews, I chose this GE microwave because it cost about half as much, had about the same power and was about the same size. It seems like microwaves in general aren't made as good as they used to be. I have high hopes for this GE after reading the reviews, and decided that if it dies in 2 years like my last two, I at least had equally as good a microwave for half the price. This microwave is thus far performing well, and I don't notice a difference between it and a more expensive microwave.

Was this review helpful? (111) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Vermont1
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Excellent Deal
6/6/2008

Customer review by Fillus

5.0 stars 6/6/2008 by Fillus
by Fillus

This is an excellent product for the price, appearance and operation. It runs very quietly and heats your food excellently. I purchased this product for our department at work and I will probably purchase another one for our church kitchen. I recommend this product to anyone looking for a great deal that is not expensive.

Was this review helpful? (414) (24)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Fillus
Detroit, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
5/12/2008

Customer review by gasr

5.0 stars 5/12/2008 by gasr
by gasr

Very easy to understand/set up. I like the fact that the timer keeps beeping letting you know that you need to take item(s) out. A little smaller than my 1000 watt older microwave and fits conveniently on my countertop with excess room.

Was this review helpful? (108) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
gasr
PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
GREAT MICROWAVE..EXCEPT...
1/2/2010

Customer review by bubbaboy123

5.0 stars 1/2/2010 by bubbaboy123
by bubbaboy123

I BOUGHT THIS BASED ON ALL THE POSITIVE REVIEWS AND HAVE NOT BEEN DISAPPOINTED..THIS BABY REALLY COOKS! SUPER VALU FOR THE PRICE..ONE THING REALLY KINDA STICKS IN MY CRAW ABOUT THIS THING THOUGH WHICH I NEVER NOTED IN THE REVIEWS..THE BUTTON TO OPEN THE DOOR ONLY WORKS ON THE SIDE..ALL THE OTHER MICROWAVES I LOOKED AT, THE BUTTON PUSHES IN FROM BOTH SIDES OR MIDDLE..THIS ONE OPERATES LIKE A HINGE I GUESS IS THE BEST DESCRIPTION..WHY DOES THAT MATTER YOU ASK? WELL, I'M LEFT HANED, SO WHEN I GO TO OPEN THE DOOR ,I HAVE THE ITEM IN MY RIGHT HAND..THE BUTTON ONLY WORKS ON THE RIGHT SIDE AND IT'S AWKWARD FROM THE OTHERS THAT OPEN THE FULL LENGTH OF THE BUTTON..I KNOW, THIS SOUNDS PETTY, BUT HEY IT'S STILL NOT THE BEST DESIGHN I'VE EVER SEEN FOR SOMETHING YOU USE EVERYDAY.

Was this review helpful? (13) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bubbaboy123
IOWA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Looks good/ not good
12/8/2010

Customer review by shopperLD

1.0 stars 12/8/2010 by shopperLD
by shopperLD

I purchased this producet for the office in April 2010. I'm writing today Dec. 2010 becaues I'm online trying to buy another one. This product looks good, has excellent features, but the life span is very short. I guess when U pay less than 100 bucks what more should I expect? We don't use it that often. Not quite sure why it just died. This is the second purchase of the particular microwave. I bought one for my home, it at least work 18 months. I would not recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? (40) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
shopperLD
Dallas, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good value for the price
12/13/2010

Customer review by CheapassGamer

4.0 stars 12/13/2010 by CheapassGamer
by CheapassGamer

Good value for the price (4 stars) but not quite perfect. Side panels feel a little thin/cheap, and front panel feels a little loose, but the door is sturdy and opens/closes well. The express buttons may be love/hate relationship. My previous microwave required pressing start even after selecting one of the fast cook buttons, but this one starts instantly upon pressing any of the express buttons. So I try to keep a cup of water in it just in case one of the express buttons accidently gets pushed so it doesn't start without something in it. When setting the clock you also have to be really fast or it will cancel in middle of doing it (and if you hit one of the numbers that are labelled as express it will instantly turn on). So you probably want to have the door open or have something inside just in case when setting the clock so it doesn't accidently turn on without something in it. Other than the above mentioned, it cooks really well, and for the size/price its definately worth it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CheapassGamer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Very pleased, great deal!
5/13/2009

Customer review by PinkSpark

5.0 stars 5/13/2009 by PinkSpark
by PinkSpark

We did not want a microwave for the counter but when we figured we weren't going to easily be able to get one to go above the stove, I found this microwave after looking around several places. I did the site to store pick up. They told me my delivery date to the store was going to be like two weeks later...that was awful! Well, fortunately for us it came in almost a week sooner then expected and right before our company came in to town. Though I should have just had it shipped to my house, in the end it did not matter. The microwave is exactly what I wanted, with the 30 second button, etc. It came in great condition and we have had no problems with it so far. We have already had it a week. This is a great buy and I recommend it! It is nice looking on our granite counter top as well! The only thing is I wish it had a door handle and I think that would make it perfect. But that's no biggie. If you are really pondering this deal...ponder no more! Buy it!!!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PinkSpark
Lithia, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
it almost blew up
4/21/2009

Customer review by brownd379

3.0 stars 4/21/2009 by brownd379
by brownd379

We moved from a home with a built in microwave, also a GE and we used that oven for over five years with no problems. That's why we purchased this one. I must admit that we use our oven an awful lot but It should last much longer than it did. Today I put in some pop corn and suddenly the oven started making a very loud noise and a flashing light was coming from the side of the oven. At first I thought it was the light but it was coming from behind a panel on the side of the oven. I'm just glad I was in the kitchen when it happened. I don't know if a fire could have broken out or not but I'm not willing to take a chance.

Was this review helpful? (25) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
brownd379
Beaver, WV
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Didn't even last through the warranty period
8/6/2011

Customer review by PamInWI

1.0 stars 8/6/2011 by PamInWI
by PamInWI

I purchased this GE microwave in Dec. 2010 as a replacement for a GE that I had nearly 10 years. Since my old one was so reliable for so long, I though a GE replacement would be the best option. Apparently not, as this one is already not working. The power will not stay on unless you press hard on the top of the cabinet, and in no certain area, a different place every time. I have to reset the clock every time I walk into the kitchen. I'm a little afraid that being it's an electrical problem to leave it plugged in. Anyway, I contacted GE to see what my warranty options were and they said to return to Wal-Mart. The only problem I see that might happen is I don't have any of the original packaging materials since it's been 7 months since I purchased it. I do have all documentation, receipts, shipping confirmation, and reply from GE instructing me to return for refund or exchange. Crossing my fingers I can return the thing. All-in-all, I will not buy the same model, or maybe not even a GE. Be informed that this microwave did not make it through 1 year of moderate use.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PamInWI
Shell Lake, WI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
great so far!
8/5/2009

Customer review by vginric

5.0 stars 8/5/2009 by vginric
by vginric

I can't comment on durability since I've only had this microwave for a couple of weeks. But so far, everything else has been great and just what I was looking for. I was willing to pay more for a new microwave when my old one died to make sure I got a good one. But I was definitely happy that for $69 I found one that met all my requirements: it doesn't have too many buttons that go unusued and crowd the touchpad (like all the ones to heat up or defrost specific types of food), it doesn't show dirt or fingerprints like the stainless models I was considering, it has 6 express cook buttons which I use all the time (1-6 minutes) plus the "add 30 sec." button, it's just the right size and it's conservatively attractive without trying to hard to look modern or cool. I also like that the beeping stops once you open the door and that it gives you a short reminder beep if you forget to take something out after a couple of minutes. The door is not particularly quiet or loud when shut.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
vginric
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Just what I wanted
2/11/2011

Customer review by fefe65

5.0 stars 2/11/2011 by fefe65
by fefe65

I love the micro. It has all the functions I wanted. The auto and manual defrost is the best. The wattage is great for the size of the appliance. The volume on the inside suits my needs.

Was this review helpful? (21) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
fefe65
Saugerties NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great budget microwave
3/9/2010

Customer review by MackT4

5.0 stars 3/9/2010 by MackT4
by MackT4

We bought this microwave because we had to have one, not because of its features. I was pleasantly surprised at its cooking power. It seems to cook quickly and evenly and has more features than most people will ever use. If you are looking for a good cheap one, try this one.

Was this review helpful? (17) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MackT4
TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Passed the quick Ramen Test
12/11/2008

Customer review by RamenFTW

5.0 stars 12/11/2008 by RamenFTW
by RamenFTW

Dude, this oven rules. As a recession stricken, no-kitchen skills, instant soup-consuming single male, I give this oven a 4.5/5 ramen soups review. Ramen cup soup of Spicy Beef takes 1 minute to be perfectly edible and I tested this with 3 soups. I also made microdogs (hot dog sausage inside the bun) at level medium for 2 minutes: excellent results. Operation noise is not above normal and the “I am done” bell is just about right; it rings 4 times and then once every 30 seconds to remind you of the forgotten instant feast. Light is bright above normal so it will force me to keep it clean as splatter details will be easily magnified. Setup? Don’t know, I just set the clock (3 clicks). The rest is standard options for an oven. I did have to chew my thumb nail to push the buttons so fancy ladies may find it hard to operate with long nails. The .5 point taken out of the ramen soup review scale is directly related with the shortness of power cord (NOT 4’ for sure). That’s it, oven’s good. Get yours, for that price this is a very, very good deal.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RamenFTW
NY Blackwall street
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
GE microwave
4/23/2011

Customer review by RB3899

5.0 stars 4/23/2011 by RB3899
by RB3899

This is a great microwave, I couldn't believe the power with cooking in this, gets things done very fast. Use some caution with the time in this one, seems to get things done quicker than others that I have owned. I would highly reccomend this for some looking for an inexpensive microwave that definately does the job.

Was this review helpful? (14) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RB3899
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 1026 total reviews
1-20 of 1026 reviews