Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 45 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

45 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

45 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

82%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
22
4 stars
12
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 stars
8
1-20 of 43 total reviews
82%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 43 total reviews
1-20 of 43 reviews
Don't Bother
8/11/2008

Customer review by Lookin4Sales

1.0 stars 8/11/2008 by Lookin4Sales
by Lookin4Sales

I purchased this product and was VERY UPSET by the results. Soon after we started using it, we realized the cooling unit just wasn't working. It was pretty much stuck on fan mode and was not cooling at all. I didn't purchase a $400 fan, so I tried the troubleshooting and even called the manufacturer for help. After they couldn't help they did offer someone to come over and service the air conditioner. Well to make a long story short. . . After five days of dealing with the manufacturer and the servicer they were supposed to have contacted to visit my home. . . NOTHING WAS DONE and I was told to return it to the store because no one in my area could work on this newer machine. WHAT A HASSLE! I had to box it all back up and return it to my local store. Walmart was good about the purchase and return. The problem was with the manufacturer, Haier, and them being able to fix their own product in a timely manner. Since it was brand new, it shouldn't have even needed to be fixed!

Was this review helpful? (4) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Lookin4Sales
McArthur, OH
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Haier 12000 BTU
6/15/2009

Customer review by KICKNCKN

5.0 stars 6/15/2009 by KICKNCKN
by KICKNCKN

This machine cools a room down quick...very user friendly and rolls easy. We've looked at alot of portables, this is the best by far.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KICKNCKN
Melbourne, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Love it!
6/12/2009

Customer review by Sweetpea09

5.0 stars 6/12/2009 by Sweetpea09
by Sweetpea09

We absolutely love this product! We had a minor problem of the screws not gripping when assembling the screen to the expandable window panel, we used a bit of Gorilla Glue to adhere the screws. The unit is not as loud as our window unit was, if you like the sound of a fan at night to fall asleep, you will love this. The hoses going to the window are an eye sore if you like neatness. It cooled down our place last night with ease, it was 77 in our place. We will see when it hits 90 or above. Our place is 1300 sq feet with Cathedral ceilings.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sweetpea09
Plattsburgh, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Wonderful
7/29/2008

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 7/29/2008 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

My husbnd and I chose this AC Unit because we had been suffering 100degree temps INSIDE the house since the beginning of June. It has met all of our expectations and keeps our home 20-25 degrees cooler then outside. Our home is 700 s.ft. so if your home is about the size of mine then you'll LOVE this AC unit, if your home is much bigger then you're going to need more then one. It is fairly loud an dthe exhaust/intake tubes are HUGE (way bigger then I expected) but that's okay because we're no longer suffering heat exhaustion! lol

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
save your money and time
8/7/2009

Customer review by EagleIII

1.0 stars 8/7/2009 by EagleIII
by EagleIII

had this a/c for 4 days...took it back to walmart got my money back...a/c cools about 5 degrees lower than outside temp....recommend frigidaire window a/c unit 12,000 btu energy star.....this unit will do the job for almost half the price of the haier unit...

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
EagleIII
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Size doesn't matter
6/18/2008

Customer review by PracticalConsumer

1.0 stars 6/18/2008 by PracticalConsumer
by PracticalConsumer

Despite it's 12,000 BTU power it had difficulty even cooling an average size bedroom(10 x 12) on really hot days. I kept the unit on the highest fan speed with the temperature set to 65 but it could not get the room below 79 degrees. Our house is only 5 years old with 2 x 6 construction and R-19 insulation in the walls. I was really disappointed with this unit: it is big & loud. We have 5,200 BTU rated air conditioners that do as good if not better than this bohemeth. I took the unit back and bought 5 - Haier 5200 btu units and spread them throughout my home for about the same price as this unit alone. Just because this unit wasn't good for me doesn't mean there aren't good ones out there. Like I said, the other Haier a/c's that I own work pretty well especially for the price that I paid: $96 bucks each.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PracticalConsumer
Lehighton, Pa
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Works, but stinks at first
7/23/2009

Customer review by CarefulBuyer99

4.0 stars 7/23/2009 by CarefulBuyer99
by CarefulBuyer99

I was able to order this air conditioner online and pick it up at a local Walmart. That worked well. The price was extremely good: a fairly equivalent dual-hose portable A/C at Home Depot was $300 more! This air conditioner is somewhat larger than I expected, but thats OK. The hoses are also quite thick at about 6" across. It rolls easily on it's built-in casters. It has dual hoses which is good for efficiency (don't ever get a single hose portable A/C). Setup was easy enough: Screw the large adapter ends onto the hoses. Screw some more adapters onto the window plate. Plug the hoses into the plate and the air conditioner. Open the window part way and put the plate into the opening. The power plug goes into a standard outlet. I had to wait 24 hrs after bringing it home to turn the cooling on, as I had set the box on it's side in the car (any A/C will die an early death if you run it soon after it has been on it's side). My chief complaint about it is the VERY strong plastic/oil smell it gave off for the first week. I noticed the smell as soon as I opened the plastic bag it was in (my wife was NOT happy). I had to close that room off and open a window. I pointed it at the window and let the fan run for hours to get the smell out. After about a week I don't notice the smell anymore. I gave it only 4 stars because of the initial smell. It cools the room quite well. I would not describe it as "quiet", but it is OK. It brings an 87 degree room down to 77 in about 25 minutes, which is a great relief! It could cool the room more than that if I wanted it to. You just set the thermostat to what you want. I have not had to empty the condensation water tank. It is supposed to inject the condensation water into the outgoing hot air, and that does work!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CarefulBuyer99
Southern California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
A non-working product
6/19/2009

Customer review by Marylg

1.0 stars 6/19/2009 by Marylg
by Marylg

I purchased this product and within 2 days of setting it up, it stopped working. I've written to the company twice, but haven't heard anything back from them. Including the purchase price, the shipping, and the tax, I paid over $400 for a product I can't use. Everyone told me I was paying too much for this item, but it was supposed to be a good product and I was willing to pay the price. I'm no longer as willing and I plan to write to the company once more and then report them if they don't respond.

Was this review helpful? (2) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Marylg
Rochester, NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Great Overall
9/2/2009

Customer review by SingleLady02

4.0 stars 9/2/2009 by SingleLady02
by SingleLady02

As a single woman in NYC I was not in a position to walk into a store and walk out with an air conditioner. Who's carring it home, and up to the third floor, and putting it in the window? My answer was UPS. This unit is great for the price. I can feel an instant temp drop in my living room when I crank it up. It is a bit large, can be a bit loud, and it doesn't really compliment the room design wise but it does the job. Not sure of my living room square footage but it's kinda large for single NYC living. It does not cool the other rooms of the apartment, but by positioning a fan in the living room and directing it towards the bedroom I can feel a temp change in there as well. Cool enough to sleep comfortably. The remote works well, as does the timer. Overall good buy.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SingleLady02
New York, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Haier 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
9/2/2009

Customer review by PuppyRescuer

1.0 stars 9/2/2009 by PuppyRescuer
by PuppyRescuer

Too much power for my electrical system. I turned it on twice and it blew every circuit. I need a unit with fewer BTUs.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PuppyRescuer
Dallas, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Blow cold air,
8/14/2009

Customer review by crnaman

5.0 stars 8/14/2009 by crnaman
by crnaman

Straight out of the box and installed in about 10 minutes. It's a dual hose design, but there's a big "but" here. But, the condenser air intake also has side vents in the plastic. This means it will also draw air from inside the room just like the single hose design air conditioners, and create somewhat of a negative air flow in the room, even if both hoses are installed in the window. It behooves me as to why they would do this. Not many people would catch on to this, but for me I just taped up the extra vents and force the intake to come entirely from the hose, problem solved. I suppose in an air tight room this wouldn't be a problem, but not many rooms are air tight. Otherwise it blows very cold air and lots of it. For what I bought it for it does the job.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
crnaman
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
8/21/2008

Customer review by dfarmer

1.0 stars 8/21/2008 by dfarmer
by dfarmer

Very very disappointed in this product. The 12,000 BTU does not peform the same as a 12,000 BTU window unit. It is not as "portable" as it seems. It is heavy and very bulky. The 2 exhaust tubes that attach to the window will only reach 5 feet, and that is when it is fully extended straight out from the window and will not bend or rotate easily. I have this in a 9x11' breakfast nook, and it barely lowers the temp. The shipping on this product is expensive as well. You cannot repack this product easily if you have to return it, as it sits on a styro platform with a box sliding over the AC to meet the styro held together by plastic bands. Also weighs ALOT! Hate to leave a negative review, but also hate for someone else to be stuck with this monster!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dfarmer
Natchez, MS
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Does the Job!
8/19/2009

Customer review by kbowie

5.0 stars 8/19/2009 by kbowie
by kbowie

I couldn't find a portable ac unit anywhere during our last heat wave, so I just ordered this online. It took longer than I would have liked to receive. I set it up yesterday and it works great. The house was 81 and it cooled it down to 78 with no issues. Today we started it prior to the house getting hot and it's maintained a nice temp. all day throughout the downstairs. Although it's not hard to set up and all the directions leave something to be desired. I did have to get creative to make the window installation work, but nothing too major. The kit just wasn't long enough for the size of our window. Overall, I'm glad I chose this one!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kbowie
Puyallup, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Exceded expectations
8/11/2008

Customer review by HelloItsMeHomer

5.0 stars 8/11/2008 by HelloItsMeHomer
by HelloItsMeHomer

This a/c unit did excede my expectations. It is a bit pricey, but it is worth it in my opinion. I got it to supplement the central air in my house for use in the hottest room (its normally 12 degrees hotter in this room). The room being my master bedroom. Anyhow it's powerful, cools down the room quickly and keeps it cool all night. I like the fact that you can set the thermostat at a specific temperature. It's about as noisy as a window unit. It says that it's portable, but it's only as portable as far as the exhaust tubes will stretch from the window. The only negative (which is insignificant in my opinion) is with the remote control. If you change the temperature on the main unit - the remote control does not recognize the change. For example you change the main unit to 70 degrees, the remote does not know that and will still say 72 or whatever it was set at previously. I'm just being nit-picky about it. The remote control does work well except for that. Also, the part that goes into the window is not all that great. I am going to get some insulation to put over it because there is quite a bit of air loss. I chose a portable unit because the window is on the front of the house and I didn't want a window unit sticking out making my house look ugly. With this unit, you can hardly tell that it's even there when looking at my house from the street. That's it, I hope that helped.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HelloItsMeHomer
Dallas, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
a great buy
8/19/2009

Customer review by ariel2007

4.0 stars 8/19/2009 by ariel2007
by ariel2007

This portable ac unit does the job. It is a little unsightly with the two air hoses venting out the window, but it is worth it. The unit cools off our whole downstairs living area. The timer function is also nice. I can turn the unit off at night and set the timer for it to come on before I wake up in the mornings. It turns the compressor off when the room it is in reaches the desired temperature, but keeps the fan going. It has a clean design to it and it's white, which will go with just about any decor. Overall, this is a great product and my husband and I are very pleased with our purchase!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ariel2007
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Received Damaged
9/3/2009

Customer review by Frankmama

1.0 stars 9/3/2009 by Frankmama
by Frankmama

Although the packaging & outer casing looked intact and undamaged, the air conditioner never put out cold air. Called service number and they sent out technitian in timely manner. Upon opening the unit, discovered MAJOR damage that was un-repairable. Tried to call Haier Customer Service but neither the technitian nor I could reach for 2 days. Called local Wal-Mart about returning without the original packing box...Manager at Wal-Mart was VERY accomodating and understanding ~ processed refund in a matter of minutes. I replaced unit with another brand/type so, I cannot recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Frankmama
James Island, SC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
A much cooler room for baby!
8/20/2009

Customer review by webgrl

4.0 stars 8/20/2009 by webgrl
by webgrl

We're very happy with this portable AC unit. It was easy to set-up and does a great job cooling off our newborn's room so we don't have to worry about her overheating in 90 degree weather. I like that it has a thermostat so I can just set it and keep the room at the desired temperature - no more wrapping and unwrapping the baby due to temp. changes. Two small downsides - it's pretty loud, even when just the fan is running, and it's quite large and heavy. But it's worth it to have the cool air in a room that's not suitable for a regular window AC unit.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
webgrl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
makes a pregnant woman happy
8/21/2009

Customer review by Kimmiegiggler

3.0 stars 8/21/2009 by Kimmiegiggler
by Kimmiegiggler

Cools down our masterbedroom well. Does not make the room frigid cold no matter that we keep it on all night at the lowest setting - we live in Southern Oregon so it's not that it gets extremely hot here anyways (this week has been in the high 80's - low 90's) . It's "leash" to the window isn't very long, we were hoping we could wheel it out into the living room... but thats not the case. We just position it to point that direction during the evening. It's pretty quiet... no louder then a wired in air conditioner coming on and off.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Kimmiegiggler
Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Life Saver
8/6/2009

Customer review by Painter2

5.0 stars 8/6/2009 by Painter2
by Painter2

Temperatures reached the 100's in WA State. It's the norm for Houses here not to have A/C since is not needed, temepratures stay pleasant during the summer. EXCEPT 2009, I did some research around to get the best bang for our buck. This is it! My wife installed it (after hauling the 85lb a/c upstairs) I'm in Iraq, so if you have a back problem find someone to move it if you need to carry it somewhere, because it is heavy. But it is fenomenal, I have a 700sq ft Master and wife and kids say they don't have to go to a hotel nomore.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Painter2
Lacey, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Does the Job
8/29/2008

Customer review by brightcookie

4.0 stars 8/29/2008 by brightcookie
by brightcookie

This product is very good at cooling the office - we've had some that didn't work very well - and it's easy to use. Overall, the employees are happy with the product, as we are all no longer sweating. However, it definitely has some drawbacks. It is extemely loud (can't use speakerphone anymore), the tubes in the back are gigantic, and it's absolutely an eyesore (but what air conditioner isn't, I suppose). It's also rather large, although we don't have a lot of free space in our office.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
brightcookie
Laguna Beach, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 43 total reviews
1-20 of 43 reviews