Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 45 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

45 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

45 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

82%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
22
4 stars
12
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 stars
8
1-20 of 43 total reviews
82%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 43 total reviews
1-20 of 43 reviews
Haier 12000 BTU
6/15/2009

Customer review by KICKNCKN

5.0 stars 6/15/2009 by KICKNCKN
by KICKNCKN

This machine cools a room down quick...very user friendly and rolls easy. We've looked at alot of portables, this is the best by far.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KICKNCKN
Melbourne, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Wonderful
7/29/2008

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 7/29/2008 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

My husbnd and I chose this AC Unit because we had been suffering 100degree temps INSIDE the house since the beginning of June. It has met all of our expectations and keeps our home 20-25 degrees cooler then outside. Our home is 700 s.ft. so if your home is about the size of mine then you'll LOVE this AC unit, if your home is much bigger then you're going to need more then one. It is fairly loud an dthe exhaust/intake tubes are HUGE (way bigger then I expected) but that's okay because we're no longer suffering heat exhaustion! lol

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Love it!
6/12/2009

Customer review by Sweetpea09

5.0 stars 6/12/2009 by Sweetpea09
by Sweetpea09

We absolutely love this product! We had a minor problem of the screws not gripping when assembling the screen to the expandable window panel, we used a bit of Gorilla Glue to adhere the screws. The unit is not as loud as our window unit was, if you like the sound of a fan at night to fall asleep, you will love this. The hoses going to the window are an eye sore if you like neatness. It cooled down our place last night with ease, it was 77 in our place. We will see when it hits 90 or above. Our place is 1300 sq feet with Cathedral ceilings.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Sweetpea09
Plattsburgh, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
save your money and time
8/7/2009

Customer review by EagleIII

1.0 stars 8/7/2009 by EagleIII
by EagleIII

had this a/c for 4 days...took it back to walmart got my money back...a/c cools about 5 degrees lower than outside temp....recommend frigidaire window a/c unit 12,000 btu energy star.....this unit will do the job for almost half the price of the haier unit...

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
EagleIII
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Don't Bother
8/11/2008

Customer review by Lookin4Sales

1.0 stars 8/11/2008 by Lookin4Sales
by Lookin4Sales

I purchased this product and was VERY UPSET by the results. Soon after we started using it, we realized the cooling unit just wasn't working. It was pretty much stuck on fan mode and was not cooling at all. I didn't purchase a $400 fan, so I tried the troubleshooting and even called the manufacturer for help. After they couldn't help they did offer someone to come over and service the air conditioner. Well to make a long story short. . . After five days of dealing with the manufacturer and the servicer they were supposed to have contacted to visit my home. . . NOTHING WAS DONE and I was told to return it to the store because no one in my area could work on this newer machine. WHAT A HASSLE! I had to box it all back up and return it to my local store. Walmart was good about the purchase and return. The problem was with the manufacturer, Haier, and them being able to fix their own product in a timely manner. Since it was brand new, it shouldn't have even needed to be fixed!

Was this review helpful? (4) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Lookin4Sales
McArthur, OH
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Works, but stinks at first
7/23/2009

Customer review by CarefulBuyer99

4.0 stars 7/23/2009 by CarefulBuyer99
by CarefulBuyer99

I was able to order this air conditioner online and pick it up at a local Walmart. That worked well. The price was extremely good: a fairly equivalent dual-hose portable A/C at Home Depot was $300 more! This air conditioner is somewhat larger than I expected, but thats OK. The hoses are also quite thick at about 6" across. It rolls easily on it's built-in casters. It has dual hoses which is good for efficiency (don't ever get a single hose portable A/C). Setup was easy enough: Screw the large adapter ends onto the hoses. Screw some more adapters onto the window plate. Plug the hoses into the plate and the air conditioner. Open the window part way and put the plate into the opening. The power plug goes into a standard outlet. I had to wait 24 hrs after bringing it home to turn the cooling on, as I had set the box on it's side in the car (any A/C will die an early death if you run it soon after it has been on it's side). My chief complaint about it is the VERY strong plastic/oil smell it gave off for the first week. I noticed the smell as soon as I opened the plastic bag it was in (my wife was NOT happy). I had to close that room off and open a window. I pointed it at the window and let the fan run for hours to get the smell out. After about a week I don't notice the smell anymore. I gave it only 4 stars because of the initial smell. It cools the room quite well. I would not describe it as "quiet", but it is OK. It brings an 87 degree room down to 77 in about 25 minutes, which is a great relief! It could cool the room more than that if I wanted it to. You just set the thermostat to what you want. I have not had to empty the condensation water tank. It is supposed to inject the condensation water into the outgoing hot air, and that does work!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CarefulBuyer99
Southern California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
A non-working product
6/19/2009

Customer review by Marylg

1.0 stars 6/19/2009 by Marylg
by Marylg

I purchased this product and within 2 days of setting it up, it stopped working. I've written to the company twice, but haven't heard anything back from them. Including the purchase price, the shipping, and the tax, I paid over $400 for a product I can't use. Everyone told me I was paying too much for this item, but it was supposed to be a good product and I was willing to pay the price. I'm no longer as willing and I plan to write to the company once more and then report them if they don't respond.

Was this review helpful? (2) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Marylg
Rochester, NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Haier 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
9/2/2009

Customer review by PuppyRescuer

1.0 stars 9/2/2009 by PuppyRescuer
by PuppyRescuer

Too much power for my electrical system. I turned it on twice and it blew every circuit. I need a unit with fewer BTUs.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PuppyRescuer
Dallas, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
This thing rocks
8/6/2008

Customer review by ATrane

5.0 stars 8/6/2008 by ATrane
by ATrane

I have a SoleUSA 12,000 BTU portable Air Conditioner that I got about 2 years ago for just around $600, and this thing blows it out of the water. It's very conveniant with the auto evaporating condensate system as well as a great price. We had it shipped to the store for free and picked it up at our local Walmart store and had no problems!! :)

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ATrane
San Diego
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Life Saver
8/6/2009

Customer review by Painter2

5.0 stars 8/6/2009 by Painter2
by Painter2

Temperatures reached the 100's in WA State. It's the norm for Houses here not to have A/C since is not needed, temepratures stay pleasant during the summer. EXCEPT 2009, I did some research around to get the best bang for our buck. This is it! My wife installed it (after hauling the 85lb a/c upstairs) I'm in Iraq, so if you have a back problem find someone to move it if you need to carry it somewhere, because it is heavy. But it is fenomenal, I have a 700sq ft Master and wife and kids say they don't have to go to a hotel nomore.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Painter2
Lacey, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Sun Room Air Conditioner
10/15/2008

Customer review by retiredWM23

5.0 stars 10/15/2008 by retiredWM23
by retiredWM23

This product is being used in a sun room that does not have insulated glass. It cools fast and it is a very good value for the money. Late in the afternoon when the sun is shinning directly in, it has to work harder to keep it cooled, but so far no complaints

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
retiredWM23
42134
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Exceded expectations
8/11/2008

Customer review by HelloItsMeHomer

5.0 stars 8/11/2008 by HelloItsMeHomer
by HelloItsMeHomer

This a/c unit did excede my expectations. It is a bit pricey, but it is worth it in my opinion. I got it to supplement the central air in my house for use in the hottest room (its normally 12 degrees hotter in this room). The room being my master bedroom. Anyhow it's powerful, cools down the room quickly and keeps it cool all night. I like the fact that you can set the thermostat at a specific temperature. It's about as noisy as a window unit. It says that it's portable, but it's only as portable as far as the exhaust tubes will stretch from the window. The only negative (which is insignificant in my opinion) is with the remote control. If you change the temperature on the main unit - the remote control does not recognize the change. For example you change the main unit to 70 degrees, the remote does not know that and will still say 72 or whatever it was set at previously. I'm just being nit-picky about it. The remote control does work well except for that. Also, the part that goes into the window is not all that great. I am going to get some insulation to put over it because there is quite a bit of air loss. I chose a portable unit because the window is on the front of the house and I didn't want a window unit sticking out making my house look ugly. With this unit, you can hardly tell that it's even there when looking at my house from the street. That's it, I hope that helped.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HelloItsMeHomer
Dallas, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Blow cold air,
8/14/2009

Customer review by crnaman

5.0 stars 8/14/2009 by crnaman
by crnaman

Straight out of the box and installed in about 10 minutes. It's a dual hose design, but there's a big "but" here. But, the condenser air intake also has side vents in the plastic. This means it will also draw air from inside the room just like the single hose design air conditioners, and create somewhat of a negative air flow in the room, even if both hoses are installed in the window. It behooves me as to why they would do this. Not many people would catch on to this, but for me I just taped up the extra vents and force the intake to come entirely from the hose, problem solved. I suppose in an air tight room this wouldn't be a problem, but not many rooms are air tight. Otherwise it blows very cold air and lots of it. For what I bought it for it does the job.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
crnaman
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
Does the job
8/14/2009

Customer review by salmonhead

5.0 stars 8/14/2009 by salmonhead
by salmonhead

I purchased this one after I took back their 7000 BTU model which was lacking in cooling capability. This one works great and will cool my small apartment down to the 60s when it is 100 degrees outside. Total sq. footage of my place is probably slightly over 500 sq. ft. I'd definitely recommend this one.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
salmonhead
Ashland, OR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good Product
8/17/2009

Customer review by Schimel

5.0 stars 8/17/2009 by Schimel
by Schimel

Once you get it together, which takes a little time, after you turn it on, starts working right away. A little noisy, but will cool a small room off in a hurry.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Schimel
Renton, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
nice unit for the price
6/26/2009

Customer review by GoldenShopper09

5.0 stars 6/26/2009 by GoldenShopper09
by GoldenShopper09

We somehow got this unit for a great price-it's hundreds more expensive else where. It came very nicely packaged so the unit, while heavy, wasn't damaged at all during shipping. It runs cold and is relatively quiet-overall a great ac unit

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GoldenShopper09
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
GREAT PRODUCT
8/20/2009

Customer review by Skip100

5.0 stars 8/20/2009 by Skip100
by Skip100

I received the unit on time and it worked just fine. I purchased it because my central unit wasn't keeping up in the heat of summer. It helps keep up and keeps the entire house cool, with the help of the central unit. I also purchased it to be used in the event of a power outage during hurricanes. I just wish I would have purchased the one with the heating element, since the price is not that different, but Walmart does not sell the one with the heating element.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Skip100
Hammond, LA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Does the Job!
8/19/2009

Customer review by kbowie

5.0 stars 8/19/2009 by kbowie
by kbowie

I couldn't find a portable ac unit anywhere during our last heat wave, so I just ordered this online. It took longer than I would have liked to receive. I set it up yesterday and it works great. The house was 81 and it cooled it down to 78 with no issues. Today we started it prior to the house getting hot and it's maintained a nice temp. all day throughout the downstairs. Although it's not hard to set up and all the directions leave something to be desired. I did have to get creative to make the window installation work, but nothing too major. The kit just wasn't long enough for the size of our window. Overall, I'm glad I chose this one!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kbowie
Puyallup, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Supplemental AC
9/4/2008

Customer review by jfiles65

5.0 stars 9/4/2008 by jfiles65
by jfiles65

I bought this to help cool a room in the house that has alot electronic equipment. So far it is a little noisy when its first turned on but it quiets down after the compressor has cycled a few times. It cools the room no problem even on 100 degree days with everything on it will hold 76 degrees easily.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jfiles65
Tulsa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
chillin
9/5/2009

Customer review by krookkrank

5.0 stars 9/5/2009 by krookkrank
by krookkrank

The area I am cooling is really to large for this sized air conditioner but this machine meets my expectations and does make a difference in my work environment.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
krookkrank
Lawton, OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Walmart associate
1-20 of 43 total reviews
1-20 of 43 reviews