Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 49 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

49 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

49 reviews | 4 out of 5

80%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
26
4 stars
12
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 stars
5
1-20 of 43 total reviews
80%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 43 total reviews
1-20 of 43 reviews
This Unit is TRASH
7/16/2016

Customer review by HateHaier

1.0 stars 7/16/2016 by HateHaier
by HateHaier

This unit is TERRIBLE! I live in a older home so I purchased this unit to put in the master bedroom. I set the temper to 61 degrees. It has NEVER got my room to 61 degrees. It is 95 degree weather outside and if I run it all day with my door shut the lowest it can get my room to is 81 degrees with fans on as well. The room isn't big at all so my room should get pretty cool.. It DOESNT!!! I'm 6 months pregnant and miserable because of this thing!! The compressor doesn't run continually it keeps shutting off, it will constantly cause your circuits to blow! It's now 80 outside right now (nighttime) and the room is 82 degrees!!! I'm so upset I will not recommend this portable AC to anyone unless you are trying to get back at them lol.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HateHaier
Would recommend to a friend? No
What I expected
7/7/2008

Customer review by PickyinNH

4.0 stars 7/7/2008 by PickyinNH
by PickyinNH

Wal-Mart had a great price on this unit. I read reviews of this portable AC unit and of others before buying so I knew what to expect. This portable is large and a bit noisy but it seems many portable ACs are loud. This unit has a no drip feature which works so I don't have to empty water. The 10K unit doesn't cool as well as I had hoped because although I am cooling within the recommended sq. footage the area is not an open area. The user manual gives minimal information. The unit was easy to install but it kept leaking. One would hope on the trouble shooting list the user manual would have mentioned to check the drain hose which was not connected on the unit when it came out of the box. After some puzzlement, I found drain hose and connected it and since haven’t had any trouble at all. All in all, I would recommend this unit for people who want to cool. I didn’t want to pay another $100 for a unit with a heater and the no drip feature make this a no fuss no mess type product.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PickyinNH
Derry, NH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great product
6/6/2009

Customer review by Oceangirl2

5.0 stars 6/6/2009 by Oceangirl2
by Oceangirl2

I was hesitant to buy a portable air conditioner because they did not get great reviews. After doing research on several different brands I found this one more promising. It was easy to set up and install. I used it daily for the first week or so because of the warm weather. It cools quickly. I read other reviews that said it was noisey. I don't think that it is any noisier than a window unit. The only downfalls I had was the size of the plastic panel. It was not long enough for the window it would be placed in. Second, the instructions say to drain the pipe if you are not using the air conditioner for a long time. They didn't specify. I suggest if you run the AC to drain it withing a couple of days that you are not using it. You have to find a dish that fits nicely to capture the water from the drain pipe yet large enough so you don't spill it on your carpet. Other than that it is a great AC. I love it because it cools quickly and is easy to use from room to room. Plus it is a big bonus that you can wheel it away for the season.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Oceangirl2
Monaca, Pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Simple to use.
6/16/2009

Customer review by OfTheRose

5.0 stars 6/16/2009 by OfTheRose
by OfTheRose

I am a single women who was able to set everything up myself. It's very easy to use and the remote control is a blessing. I never have to get up in the middle of the night because it has a timer. I am very satisfied.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
OfTheRose
Fresno, Ca.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
ok a/c
7/25/2008

Customer review by jmco

3.0 stars 7/25/2008 by jmco
by jmco

Easy to set up and assemble, but was disappointed in the length of the exhaust tube it came with (wasn't aware it needed one, that's why I ordered portable rather than window). Fan not as strong as I had hoped, and the exhaust tube actually adds heat to the room...also window plate for exhaust doesn't seal the opening completely! However, I am using in an unusally hard to cool/heat space. In a normal (insulated) home/room it would probably be fine, but I don't agree with the BTU- square footage rating.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jmco
Denver, CO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
It works well
7/7/2008

Customer review by htgharleydude

3.0 stars 7/7/2008 by htgharleydude
by htgharleydude

The unit was easy to set up and the controls were easy to figure out and use. As usual, like most manuals, the owner manual was somewhat lacking. The unit did cool, but did not cool as I would expect 10,000 BTUs to cool.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
htgharleydude
La Grange, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Haier portable a/c
6/1/2009

Customer review by oeidabob

5.0 stars 6/1/2009 by oeidabob
by oeidabob

All parts were there. 5" exhaust hose was plenty long enough and can bee shortened by pushing it together again. AC worked fine whit no problems.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
oeidabob
pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
very cool!
6/17/2008

Customer review by maDC0w

5.0 stars 6/17/2008 by maDC0w
by maDC0w

well, living in california, i finally broke down and got this portable unit. it was a little larger than i expected and had to lie in the back seat of my honda accord, but it made it home after i used the "ship-to-store" option (or whatever it's called) to save money. the only complaint i have is that the panel that seals off the exhaust hose in the window/door is not tall enough. it's expandable, but was too short for both my window (which i didn't expect) and my sliding glass door (which i expected) the longest it extends is maybe 3.5 - 4 feet (just guessing). i will have to find a way to seal off the remaining height for my window and door. other than that, i am very satisfied with my purchase. this summer won't be so unbearable for sure!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
maDC0w
foster city, ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Good Value
7/15/2008

Customer review by jbblackbird71

4.0 stars 7/15/2008 by jbblackbird71
by jbblackbird71

Product is a good value for the price. It was easy to put together, and the controls are simple and straightforward. It adequately cools a bedroom or small office, but a livingroom/dining area is too large. The fan does not blow as hard as I had hoped, but it is adequate. All fan speeds result in similar noise level on the cool setting, so we always use it on high. It is also too loud to sleep on the cool setting because when the thermostat triggers the compressor to start, it wakes us up. When we get home from work, we turn it on in our bedroom on high. Within an hour, the room is very nice and cool. Then when we goto bed, we turn it to fan only on low. If I had to buy it over again, I would have opted for the 12,000 BTU model.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jbblackbird71
Paso Robles, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Doubts have been eased
8/2/2008

Customer review by OldManColorado

4.0 stars 8/2/2008 by OldManColorado
by OldManColorado

The concept of a portable air conditioner was doubtful to me, but we had a situation where it seemed the best solution. So far the unit has exceeded expectations and more than met our needs. Pro's - There are many - major points are that it's well-designed, relatively quiet, and the manual is decently written. Overall, it's a good unit. Cons - It is a beast - bigger than expected and weighs about 75#. Should be on an electric circuit with as little load than the air conditioner as possible. The window exhaust kit is well designed but there's not much can be done with a 5" diameter tube that's aethetically pleasing. Overall - an above average experience.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
OldManColorado
Denver CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Cool and Convenient
8/23/2008

Customer review by OldSchoolGamerWV

5.0 stars 8/23/2008 by OldSchoolGamerWV
by OldSchoolGamerWV

I love this thing, keeps my bedroom comfortably cool at night without having to use the central air on the whole house. Having the dehumidifier option on it works great for maintaining a comfortable temperature. It's a bit noisy though, when the compresser turns off, there's a definite clunk. A longer hose, (about two feet longer), would have been great. Setup was simple, and i had no problems with it. Only problem i had was waiting a few hours to let the fluids settle before i turned it on. (The manual recommends 24 hours, hard to do when you're sweating) It will definitely get a single room cool in about 15 minutes.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
OldSchoolGamerWV
West Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Cool Noisy Cheap
10/23/2008

Customer review by OnBudget

5.0 stars 10/23/2008 by OnBudget
by OnBudget

I believe it is a little noisier than a window-ac, but it cools certainly our living room right after we switch it on (not with our central-ac). It consumes only 950W compare to 5000W for our central-ac which mean I can run this portable ac for 5 hours without worrying the bill. It happened to me once that I turned on the ac through the units button (we get the remote control too)and it would not on although the light is on. I guess when I pushed the button I lifted the finger too fast? I don't have that problem anymore. I have 3 choices in summer now, noise or heat or pay.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
OnBudget
Los Angeles, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Downsizing
6/5/2009

Customer review by Paulchek

5.0 stars 6/5/2009 by Paulchek
by Paulchek

The kids are all grown and gone so why are we still airconditioning the whole bedroom area of the house! We bought this unit for our master bedroom and it cools beautifully. The room is cool and we can turn it off in the daytime set it to turn on at 7:00pm. When we go to bed the room is cool and we save even more energy by not cooling in the daytime. On the occassion we do need it in the daytime for a nap I turn it on and it quickly cools the room down since its directed at the bed we are cool while it cools the room down. I love it. I would recommend it to anyone

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Paulchek
Pensacola, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Not a great product
5/25/2009

Customer review by jwfromNC

2.0 stars 5/25/2009 by jwfromNC
by jwfromNC

I wrote an earlier review on this product within a day of purchasing it. I had problems with the window kit and had to make manual modifications to get it to fit my window. My window is a standard size 27" width window and the kit just didn't fit without taking a saw to it. I was also greatly disappointed at how far away the unit had to sit from the window. So my initial impression wasn't favorable. I've been using it for about 2 weeks now, and I'm not impressed at all. If not for the pain of re-boxing and transporting, I'd take this hunk of junk back. Issues: 1. I'm using it in a 500 sq foot 3rd floor attic. It's a supplement to central air. The sun beating on the roof tends to keep this finished attic on the warm side. But the addition of this unit made little difference. It just doesn't cool well. It simply takes a very long time to cool this small room down. 2. There is only a very minor difference between the high, medium and low fan settings. 3. The air direction levers are pretty much useless. Doesn't matter whether you turn them left or right, there's very little in the way of airflow adjustment. 4. I have a 10,500 BTU window unit in a lake house. It puts out APPRECIABLY more airflow than this 11,000 BTU room unit. The difference is MAJOR. Room units simply don't work well in comparison to window units. Not even in the same ballpark. So, overall ... I feel like I made a huge mistake spending $350 on this product.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jwfromNC
NC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Not bad but not great
7/23/2008

Customer review by Junior88Fan

2.0 stars 7/23/2008 by Junior88Fan
by Junior88Fan

Unit is quiet running & seems like a nice quality product. For a 10,000 btu unit? It's not cutting it. Had a 8,000 btu that this replaced & feel that one did a better job. It does eat electric as it does not cycle off for very long bill jumped $100.00 1st month. Using this in a very well insulated fully under ground basement. Recommend spending the extra $$$ & get a 12,000 min btu. Don't trust the sq ft chart as I went 2,000 btu over the recommended 8,000 btu for the space I'm in.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Junior88Fan
Treovse,Pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Product
9/7/2008

Customer review by twinkletoes1

5.0 stars 9/7/2008 by twinkletoes1
by twinkletoes1

Shopped everywhere in store and online to find best value. This unit was it with highest BTU's for the price . Convenient in store pick-up with helpful store assistants to load into vehicle. Packed well with double boxing protection. Takes two to open and remove LARGE unit from boxes. Window exhaust kit was easy to install. Excellent product that cools area quickly. Slick unit resembles Star Wars Storm Trooper a bit spooky at night. Ha.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
twinkletoes1
Minnesota
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Great buy at the right time
8/4/2008

Customer review by TLTmaggie

5.0 stars 8/4/2008 by TLTmaggie
by TLTmaggie
Walmart associate

I bought this air conditioner for my 80+ year old mother. With the recent heat wave keeping temperatures near 100 for over two weeks, it has brought much needed comfort and relief. It adequately cools the large front room and kitchen. The only drawback is the drain plug. It is somewhat hard for her to reach, but not a huge issue. I would definitely recommend this unit to anyone needing a free-standing air conditioner.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TLTmaggie
Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Walmart associate
air conditioner junk
5/29/2009

Customer review by bolt1

1.0 stars 5/29/2009 by bolt1
by bolt1

This portable air conditioner is a total and complete piece of junk. In the hot weather after running it at full power for four hours,it only dropped the room temperature by a tiny three degrees. I live in a tall building and in my dreams I would like to throw this piece of junk off the roof and smash in in a thousand pieces. This unit is rated at 10,000 btu.It feels like onlly a tiny 10 ,Yes only 10 .

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bolt1
lynn,ma
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
works as described
8/3/2008

Customer review by psudo

5.0 stars 8/3/2008 by psudo
by psudo

Even though I read the specs, the unit was larger than I had expected. It works fine and is all it was as written to be. The price was better than some lesser BTU models I looked at. I had a problem with the window adapter in an unusually small window. I had to cut the plastic. A more adjustable window piece would be a good thing. I am sure there are times a larger than standard window is used also.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
psudo
western new york
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Cool & Happy
6/11/2008

Customer review by Jean

5.0 stars 6/11/2008 by Jean
by Jean

Cool & Happy is what I am now! This is a great performing, and very quiet A/C unit! Living in a mobile home, I don't have a lot of room, and this unit is perfect for where I needed air. It runs quiet, which I love, and is very easy to install, and the remote makes it easy if you get too cold, or too warm at night! Don't have to get out of bed! Delivery was very prompt, and I'm pleased.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jean
Bowling Green, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 43 total reviews
1-20 of 43 reviews