Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 34 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

34 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

34 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

85%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
17
4 stars
11
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 stars
2
1-20 of 32 total reviews
85%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 32 total reviews
1-20 of 32 reviews
did the job
8/1/2009

Customer review by BASICBUYER

5.0 stars 8/1/2009 by BASICBUYER
by BASICBUYER

first, the site to store free delivery took three days and not the estimated week to ten days which mattered because it was scorching hot. the unit was easy to install and looked good, which really mattered to my wife who chooses a car based on color. Our 12x12 bedroom was cooled to about 72 with thge temp outside above 90 which wasn't cold but comfortable. At night. with the outside temp around 75 inside it was 65 which I consider cold, but more importantly at 72 or 65, the room was dry.I hate humidity. Last year, I bought a unit at about the same price, but needed to empty the water ever three hours. That unit went back. As advertised, there is no water to empty with this machine. My next benchmark will be my electric bill which I expect to be substantially lower, since I've shut my central air off. If that's not the case, I may have to amend this review, but as of now I say: buy it.

Was this review helpful? (21) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BASICBUYER
new jersey
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good A/C great cooling strength, easy set up
5/14/2009

Customer review by Gersey

4.0 stars 5/14/2009 by Gersey
by Gersey

This A/C cools my 400-500 sq. ft. studio apartment on the 3rd floor of my complex just fine. In the south bay area of california it could get quite hot, but this unit can handle it. The A/C is a little loud. The fan option is helpful (does not require exhaust port hook up, quite, and saves electricity when you don't need need the compressor on. The remote works well. The down side is that the oem exhaust port mounting board is only big enough to fit windows. I had to exhaust through a patio door, so I fabricated a piece of plastic. Another down side is the lack of automatic louvers.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Gersey
San Jose, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
this does the job
7/2/2008

Customer review by oldlazylady

4.0 stars 7/2/2008 by oldlazylady
by oldlazylady

It needs a longer extension above for exhaust in sliding glass windows Tnxs

Was this review helpful? (7) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
oldlazylady
Batavia,NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Not cool enought
7/28/2008

Customer review by intakeoffice

2.0 stars 7/28/2008 by intakeoffice
by intakeoffice

I thought it would cool a larger area and I'm disappointed - our office is 10X12 and doesnot cool it in the afternoon.

Was this review helpful? (7) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
intakeoffice
Danville, AR
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
A great air conditioner
4/9/2009

Customer review by damelo

5.0 stars 4/9/2009 by damelo
by damelo

I have a walk-in closet in my room where I have my computer and it cools the room fast, also with a floor fan I am able to cool my bedroom which is 14'x18' with 10 ft ceilings. I gave the value only three stars because when I purchased it in 2005 it cost almost $500.00

Was this review helpful? (4) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
damelo
Houston,TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
A 9,000btu is a 9,000btu
4/29/2009

Customer review by Galvestonian

5.0 stars 4/29/2009 by Galvestonian
by Galvestonian

This may cool down any small to mid sized room easy, but not any un-insulated garage like mine... To best get the most of it in a garage is to Aim it directly at you like you are in a car or have a fan help it spread out the cool air to drop the garage temp to a few degrees on a punishing Texas Summer.....

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Galvestonian
TEXAS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great portable a/c
6/13/2010

Customer review by Mike636

5.0 stars 6/13/2010 by Mike636
by Mike636

This unit is an excellant unit for an average size room. We cool a 300sq ft area with it comfortably. With outside temp 95 and unit set on 68 it cooled the room to about 74 which was very comfortable compared to outdoors. At night when temp dropped below 80 outside it would cycle on and off and keep the room at 68. Unless the humidity is very high you will only need to empty water tank about once a week. Great product for the price and very simple 15 minute installation. Great for side slide windows where you cannot use a conventional window unit. You can order an adaptor kit to vent through a sliding door.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mike636
Arkansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Expensive, but worth it
7/6/2009

Customer review by rohugh

5.0 stars 7/6/2009 by rohugh
by rohugh

Have had this a few weeks now. Room temp. in my upstairs bedroom was only about 81 during the day, with outside temps in the 90's to 100's. Within minutes of setting up and plugging in, the temp dropped to a pleasant mid-70's range. Keeping the door closed and the machine on, could easily reach 68 degrees- maybe more, but that was plenty cool for me! This is a great airconditioner! Pros- Great cooling power, no need to ever empty water reservouir, adjustable window venting system, fit into my window just fine, very long, flexible exhaust hose so no problems reaching the window to vent, Wal Mart on-site pick-up saved me tons on shipping and was quite fast Cons- display light for room temp. *never* goes off while machine is running- had to cover it so I could get some sleep- not a huge deal, just annoying, *is* expensive, while the wheels on bottom do allow you to roll it around- it is still very heavy and has no handles so made it hard to carry upstairs, instructions in manual were baffling and almost useless Maybe a con, but I was okay with it- it runs very noisily- the motor, fan, and compressor all make noise and when one comes on or shuts off during a cycle the noise can be loud and jarring. For me, personally, I like white noise, esp. when sleeping, so I got used to it. If you are bothered by it, you might re-consider use in a bedroom. It seems like a very well-made product!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
rohugh
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Cool in the valley
8/17/2008

Customer review by Themailman

5.0 stars 8/17/2008 by Themailman
by Themailman

Living in the Sacramento area the summers get quite hot. Having an upstairs makes for quite a challenge for the central air to keep up with the heat. By early evening, even with the A/C running continuously, the upstairs is still in the low 90's. After I got my portable air unit up and running I set the temp. at 72 degrees. Not only did it keep our large bedroom at 72, the cool air spilled out into the rest of the upstairs making it noticably cooler. Even with the fan on high it was not what I would call loud. To bad I didn't think of this sooner. This is a GREAT product. Buy it ! ! !

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Themailman
Sacramento, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Awesome!
8/24/2009

Customer review by HotRodAngus

5.0 stars 8/24/2009 by HotRodAngus
by HotRodAngus

Works great in my garage

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HotRodAngus
Fort Worth, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Very Useful Product
8/4/2008

Customer review by John72

5.0 stars 8/4/2008 by John72
by John72

I'm very happy with my purchase! My room gets extremely hot in the summer, as the central air doesn't cool it off as much as the rest of the house. Even though this product is a little pricey, I believe it was well worth it. It cools off my room VERY quickly! The window venting is a little inconvenient, but the trade-off is well worth it. I do get some tiny little gnats in my room up by the light at night, even though I have the venting installed correctly and taped up, but at the most, I see two or three of them (no big deal). I recommend this product!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
John72
Chillicothe, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
an excellent cooling source
2/5/2009

Customer review by CathieH3800

5.0 stars 2/5/2009 by CathieH3800
by CathieH3800

I am very pleased with this unit. What makes it appealing is that there is a built in heater to evaporate the water so you do not have to worry about draining water pans or installing a water line. The only issue I had was that the venting pipe wasn't long enough and the vendor had to find a local area where it could be purchased. My unit is used in my office to cool it because of the computer equipment. I don't have windows for venting so the hot air is being directed through the ceiling tiles. I am extremely happy with this product.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CathieH3800
Virginia Beach, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good unit for up to 300 sf
6/11/2010

Customer review by Johnny456

4.0 stars 6/11/2010 by Johnny456
by Johnny456

I bought this a/c hoping to cool down my 400 sf garage. But the Florida heat is just too much for it. The best it could do was keep it around 80, even though the garage is fully insulated. I thought it might do the job based on other reviews that said it would cool 400-500 sf. There should be a square footage rating in the item description, but there isn't. There isn't even a sf rating on the package or in the manual. It's a nice unit overall but I think its probably good for about 300 sf at best.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Johnny456
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Disappointed
8/22/2009

Customer review by An anonymous customer

3.0 stars 8/22/2009 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Disappointed in the "tankless" feature portion. The unit shuts off every 30 minutes because the tube in the back is filled with water. The plug is located so low on the unit that we have to stick a bunch of towels and a cookie sheet to collect the water. Reviews did not seem to indicate that others had this problem with condensation occurring so frequently. I would prefer to have had a reservoir and have it run for 4 hours straight.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
NW
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Relief!
7/26/2009

Customer review by tracytoon

4.0 stars 7/26/2009 by tracytoon
by tracytoon

We have short bursts of hot weather where I live, but are having a record hot spell lasting several days now. This works great, it cools the open floor plan of my living room, dining room and kitchen. The noise is what I would expect from any window AC. No problems with the remote, no issues with autoevaporation. The exhaust hose could be a bit longer and more flexible, but it was easy to set up.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tracytoon
Washington State
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
THE WINDOW PIECE IS WHACK
7/1/2008

Customer review by GeorgieGirlOfBrooklyn

4.0 stars 7/1/2008 by GeorgieGirlOfBrooklyn
by GeorgieGirlOfBrooklyn

The device itself runs pretty well. The dehumidifier option is actually better than the cooling option. However, I had a horrible time getting it in the window. The window piece left about a 1" of space between the the top and bottom edges of the window opening and the plastic. Who designed this part? Anyway, good price once you figure out how to work around the faulty window piece.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GeorgieGirlOfBrooklyn
New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Works pretty good
7/17/2008

Customer review by Rrac

5.0 stars 7/17/2008 by Rrac
by Rrac

During these hot Summer days, it is refreshing to have this product. It cools in the matter of minutes of being turn on. when first put on it displays the temperature of the room. All you need to do is adjust the temperature to your desire level and in no time the your room reaches your desire temperature, thanks to the modern technological design of this product.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Rrac
New Hope, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
blissfully cool
6/29/2008

Customer review by laceymom2276

5.0 stars 6/29/2008 by laceymom2276
by laceymom2276

I love my new air conditioner. I am disabled and would have to wait until someone was not too busy to put my old air conditioner in the window. This one I did myself. It cools both my living room and my dining room beautifully. I recommended this product to a friend of mine and she went out and bought one too. This is the best purchase I've made in a long time.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
laceymom2276
buffalo, ny
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
so-so
8/18/2009

Customer review by meltinggrandma

2.0 stars 8/18/2009 by meltinggrandma
by meltinggrandma

I found it doesnt cool as well as I had hoped and the exhaust hose gets very hot.. it is also very noisy ,,the one good thing is it made me more sure I would buy a different brand of portable airconditioner I have a friend who bought a GE and it cost about the same is quieter and seems to cool better.. Walmart didnt have the same thing when I was shopping

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
meltinggrandma
Central Maine
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Haier 9000 portable air conditioner
7/16/2009

Customer review by ATLcustomer678

4.0 stars 7/16/2009 by ATLcustomer678
by ATLcustomer678

This product does work well. It is a little loud, but the sound it makes is akin to white noise. Based on reading other reviews upfront, this product appeared to be low maintenace versus other similar products. After owning the product for a few months now this observation still holds true. I would recommend this product to others.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ATLcustomer678
Marietta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 32 total reviews
1-20 of 32 reviews