Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 92 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

92 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

92 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

78%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
33
4 stars
30
3 stars
10
2 stars
8
1 stars
11
1-20 of 75 total reviews
78%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 75 total reviews
1-20 of 75 reviews
Portable Airconditioner
8/19/2008

Customer review by 1mortim

4.0 stars 8/19/2008 by 1mortim
by 1mortim

The air conditioner works very well in our over the garage bedroom. The only problem is the amount of water the dehumidifer draws from the air. There is an internal drip pan, it is however not large enough to contain all the water. Make sure you have an external water catcher for this product.

Was this review helpful? (30) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
1mortim
buford Ga
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great product!
7/20/2008

Customer review by WalmartsBestCustomer

5.0 stars 7/20/2008 by WalmartsBestCustomer
by WalmartsBestCustomer

This is an excellent product. It is small and looks nice and is very quiet. We bought it as an addition to our central air and it works very well. The only complaint that I have is that it does not indicate on the box nor in the description that you will have to vent the hot air outside. It makes reference to the moisture, but not the air. This was a surprise to us, but luckily we had a place to cut a hole for the vent. You can also vent it through a window. An adapter is included. As long as you know this and can accomodate it, it will work well for you.

Was this review helpful? (19) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WalmartsBestCustomer
Conover, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
We got 3
8/18/2008

Customer review by UsAnd4kids

4.0 stars 8/18/2008 by UsAnd4kids
by UsAnd4kids

This is our 3rd unit purchased from WalMart over the last 3 months. Our central a/c stopped working earlier this year and it will cost a bundle to replace it. We bought 3 of this portable a/c, one for each bedroom. They all work just fine and cools each room comfortably. The timer is a greart feature. We program them to turn on about an hour before we come home and the individual rooms are comfortable. Together with a fan, the room temp gets comfortable quiker. Because we are cooling individual rooms as we need them, we have reduced our electric bill compared to when the central a/c was still operable.

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
UsAnd4kids
Azusa, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Does the job..
8/21/2008

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 8/21/2008 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

These a/c's just don't get as cold as a regular window unit. But, they do cool the room down enough to make a hot, sticky day comfortable. Just remember to get a higher BTU number than you would a regular a/c. For my tiny apartment this 7000 BTU unit is fine, but for any normal sized house or apartment get a 10,000 BTU at the very least. Installation was easier than a window unit, the only tool you need is a phillips screwdriver to screw the hose to the window exhaust piece. Actually unpacking the thing was harder than the installation. And you can easily scoot it around (slowly of course) and the hose will bend accordingly.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
San Diego
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Perfectly Cool
3/21/2009

Customer review by ChefAJ

5.0 stars 3/21/2009 by ChefAJ
by ChefAJ

This unit was exactly what I was looking for. The master bedroom of my condo stays very hot during the summer due to having two exterior uninsulated walls and being fartherest from the cooling unit for my condo, needless to say its miserable sleeping. This unit was easy to install with a little modification because the kit was not tall enough to fit in my side opening windows. My room has never been this cool, without snow on the ground atleast. Usually its about 90 or so in my room this unit keeps it between 68 to 70. I love it. Following the directions keep it from building water up. If you start it the unit and the temp of the room is above what is stated in the directions it has a hard time cooling but ive learned to follow manufactors direction and it works perfectly.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ChefAJ
Lexington, Ky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
OVER RATED
8/10/2008

Customer review by WILDKARD

3.0 stars 8/10/2008 by WILDKARD
by WILDKARD

WELL IT HELPS BUT THE SUGGESTED ROOM DIMENSIONS ARE COMPLETELY OVERRATED. MY BEDROOM IS 12 X 13 AND THE COOLEST I COULD GET THE ROOM WAS 78 DEGREES. IN MY SMALLER OFFICE ROOM (10 X 10) IT PERFORMED VERY WELL. ANY ROOM BIGGER THAN THAT IT WILL JUST TAKE THE EDGE OFF. FOR THE PRICE IT DID OK AS A BACK UP WHEN THE CENTRAL UNIT WENT DOWN. THE FAN AND DEHUMIDIFIER FUNCTIONS WORKED BETTER THAN THE A/C DID.GOOD MODEL FOR A SMALLER APARTMENT, CABIN OR TRAILER TYPE HOME. BETTER OFF SPENDING THE EXTRA $30 AND BUYING THE 9,000 BTU MODEL.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WILDKARD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
4/20/2009

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 4/20/2009 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Hi I pickup my product from wall mart store (super idea to order to store and money saving) so far I still testing but cooling unit working super if you understand this unit is designed for small room I using it in my rv trailer 100sf this unit is small and looks very good(silver color ) so far we do not have yet over 90 but cool well and spread air very good fan working perfect special if you put vent pipe inside room and is quiet compare to roof units I well recommended this unit Bobe

Was this review helpful? (2) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Nice air conditioner
6/20/2008

Customer review by BekkaF

4.0 stars 6/20/2008 by BekkaF
by BekkaF

I picked up my AC at WalMart last week. When we opened the box to set up the AC we noticed two coaster wheels were damaged. The wheels are just one part of the AC and we are sure either WalMart and/or Haiers will make good on this dilemma for us. In regard to the air conditioner, it worked amazingly well in our master bedroom. This is not a small room and the AC worked nicely to cool down the room to an even temp. This gem from Haier was so easy to set up. We had no problems setting up the window exhaust and placing in our window. Of course we want the coaster wheels replaced for the portability and easy storage capabilities provided by this model. Otherwords, the words portable will not apply to the one I picked up. The air conditioner is small and compact; looks nice. No more having to drag yourself out of bed to change the settings on your air conditioner when necessary. The remote is on the night stand within reach. If the air becomes cooler than you want, turn the AC on to fan or boost the symbol upwards to bring your room to a higher temp, or turn the mode down to slower -- all by remote. Going back to easy portability, roll it to another room in the daytime & set it up. Not hard to do at all. The exhaust is that easy to fit in to windows. When the seasons change, no more heavy lifting In & out of storage or drilling holes in your window casing to secure a window AC. Just roll your AC in to a closet. And in summers it comes out of hiding just as quick. Easy Peasy. I couldn't ask for any thing more in an air conditioner. Except for two replacement wheels please ; )

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BekkaF
Binghamton, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
could be great
7/30/2008

Customer review by 4djsfamily

3.0 stars 7/30/2008 by 4djsfamily
by 4djsfamily

This system works well to cool the air; HOWEVER, the panel which is supposed to fit into the window was way too short (even when fully extended). I tried using thick insulation foam (easy to cut); but it wasn't sturdy enough to attach the hose to. Will have to get wood cut to fit. (It has already been more work than I anticipated.)Also, the item sticks out further into the room than expected (because of the stiffness of the hose), so angled from a corner works best. I used in a front facing bedroom window. You can hardly see the hose from the front of the house (which had been a big concern). It operates ONLY from a remote, which fits in a slot on the top.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
4djsfamily
Would recommend to a friend? No
So Bad...
6/24/2009

Customer review by LGaede

1.0 stars 6/24/2009 by LGaede
by LGaede

This is a dehumidifier and don't let the box tell you any different. I bought it because I have a tiny apartment and an inconvenient window. The air vent was very easy to install in the window, and the unit does blow "cool" air. But it was 88 in my shoebox of a bedroom and after 12 hours it wouldn't cool past 82 and sometimes went up a degree or so. I had even set it to 68 and still no relief. After being without ac ALL DAY in 104 degree weather I am livid. My 5,000 btu window air conditioner would've cooled it off in no time, but it was so inconvenient that I decided to try this. It's definately going back.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LGaede
Milwaukee, WI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
I love it...
6/14/2009

Customer review by holsenya

5.0 stars 6/14/2009 by holsenya
by holsenya

Even though I just bought this air conditioner and have not tried it out in real warm weather yet, which I'm sure it will do well, I'm satisfied, so far. I'm a single woman and had no problems, setting it up. They stay cleaner, then window or built in conditioners, that are partly outside and get very dirty. So far I'm very satisfied.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
holsenya
Cobleskill, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Broken on arrival.
8/20/2008

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 8/20/2008 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I live in NYC on the top floor of an apt with very little window ventilation. I normally hate airconditioning and prefer fans, but this summer was brutal and decided to go for the AC. Thing is both windows in my apt were odd sizes and no airconditioner would fit. So a friend told me she bought this portable model and it was fine. SO..I did the same, trusting her judgement. This thing never ran for more then one hour, pretty much on the dot, since DAY ONE. It would shut off and fill up with water. And the stupid thing about the water spout is that it's about a half inch away from the floor and if you unplug it the water gushes all over the place. There's no room to place a bowl or a cup underneath. And it's quite a bit of water. So I tried to lift the unit onto a chair to have access to the spout. It's extremely heavy, doesn't feel portable at all. So this went on for a few days of shutting off and not cooling off my shoebox of a bedroom and draining a ton of water. So I called the customer service line and they said they would send someone out. Which they did (free of charge--which was nice). They said the fan was broken and they would have to order the part, and come back A WEEK later to replace it. (mind you, it had been about 85-95 degrees everyday this summer in NYC). When they came back a week later to replace it, what seemed what should've taken about 20 minutes, took 2 hours. And then they figured out the ENTIRE UNIT was broken and that someone would be coming out to give me a replacement. I bought this on July 28, received it July 30. It's now August 20, and I'm still waiting for someone to just CALL me about sending the replacement unit. I've OWNED this AC for pretty a much a month and have never actually been able to use it. By the time I get the new one, the leaves will be falling off the trees and will be time to put the AC into storage and I won't be able to test it out to see if it works until NEXT summer. Doesn't seem worth $322.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Brooklyn NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Ac
9/3/2009

Customer review by roro1

5.0 stars 9/3/2009 by roro1
by roro1

it works very well in my house

Was this review helpful? (0) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
roro1
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Did not meet expectations!
8/19/2008

Customer review by SidneyIn

2.0 stars 8/19/2008 by SidneyIn
by SidneyIn

I read all the printed info about this air conditioner and I assumed that since it was portable that the exhaust would not have to be expelled through a window. Was I wrong. Doesn't do me any good since I don't have a window in the room I am wanting to use it in. Doesn't exactly make it portable then, does it?

Was this review helpful? (1) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SidneyIn
Kansas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
cools well
8/8/2008

Customer review by rescuesaver

5.0 stars 8/8/2008 by rescuesaver
by rescuesaver

We purchased this air conditioner to place in a trailer that will help cool down the firefighters for safety reasons. It will also help during a search when we are out for long periods of time.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
rescuesaver
Westfield NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Great Value
6/15/2008

Customer review by tradewindsonly

5.0 stars 6/15/2008 by tradewindsonly
by tradewindsonly

Works great--however, annoying to set up and have the hose stay where it should go. Once you do that, you really don't want to move it. That's where the portability comes into question. Otherwise--works extremely well.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tradewindsonly
Herkimer, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Nice Portable Cooling
6/23/2008

Customer review by Zel1

5.0 stars 6/23/2008 by Zel1
by Zel1

My Master Bedroom windows are at the Head of my bed, so a window a/c unit wiuld just blow on my headboard. The Haier portable 7k BTU was the ticket! This little unit works great in a medium size room. It was a breeze to set up. It cools good and has a good blower to deliver the cold air. The only thing I don't like is the remote control, it's small and hard to read the functions. It could be designed a whole lot better. But other than that, The portable unit does a good job. The ship to store was faster than expected too. I'm looking into buying a 10k to 12k portable unit for another part of the house. These portable units are sure easier to set up and store than the bulky window units. I'm sold on the ease of use they offer. I'm handicapped, and these make set up easy.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Zel1
Springfield Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Inexpensive and Efficient
8/18/2009

Customer review by BeaHappy

5.0 stars 8/18/2009 by BeaHappy
by BeaHappy

We had this air conditioner delivered to our home well-packaged with additional accessories. This model works great for such a small unit. It cools a medium sized bedroom in my apartment nicely. There is a nice long flexible air hose that attaches to the a plastic panel included. So, you can position your air conditioner away from the window a good distance. You will have to get use to the noise, like you hear in some motels. The only minor problem we had is the open/close cover over the air flow outlet doesn't open far enough flat to allow more airflow straight out and not upward, so I may have to remove it. The air flow will work fine for most people. Temperature control and controls work fine. You may have to make some manual temp adjustments along the way if you get too cold or hot. Fits basically any size window. We live on the second floor so it gets pretty hot on warm days. We've had it for about three weeks.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BeaHappy
Tacoma,WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
"Cool" Deal!
6/29/2008

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 6/29/2008 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

We can't use a window air conditioner in this room do to the weird window size. My portable air conditioner is great. Easy to install window vent. Cools down my den nicely. Compact and sits out of the way. Quiet. Great produced and not a bad price. A must buy!!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Plymouth, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Comfortable Investment
6/30/2008

Customer review by MrsABCG

5.0 stars 6/30/2008 by MrsABCG
by MrsABCG

This was a great investment. We enclosed our carport, but did not include air or heating. Last summer we used a fan, but this summer, it got extremely hot in here. The air conditioner is perfect for this room.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MrsABCG
Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 75 total reviews
1-20 of 75 reviews