Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 68 reviews | 4.9 out of 5

5.0 stars

68 reviews | 4.9 out of 5

5.0 stars

68 reviews | 4.9 out of 5

99%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
66
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 stars
1
1-20 of 55 total reviews
99%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 55 total reviews
1-20 of 55 reviews
The Best YA Book I've Read in a Long Time
9/9/2009

Customer review by EireLady

5.0 stars 9/9/2009 by EireLady
by EireLady

Wow. Wow, wow, wow--this book is incredible! Deep and gripping, I couldn't put it down until I was finished. The story was so unique and amazing. It's hard to explain it. It's about a futuristic time when there is one capital city with several lesser cities around it. There was a time when a few of the cities rose up against the capital city, but the uprising was crushed and now the capital is trying to make sure that their authority is never compromised again. As part of this, they subject everybody to the Hunger Games. One boy and one girl from each of the cities have to compete in them. Names are randomly pulled from a certain age group, and everyone has to submit their name. When Katniss' little sister's name is chosen, she steps forward to take her place. This is something no one has done before, because in the bloody Hunger Games, there is only one person to win--the sole survivor.

Was this review helpful? (20) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
EireLady
Utah
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
A deeper look into the darkness of people's heart
6/16/2010

Customer review by XxAvidReaderxX

5.0 stars 6/16/2010 by XxAvidReaderxX
by XxAvidReaderxX

I must say that very few books ever emotionally pull me in, and when I say very few I mean two against the roughly 100 or so books I've read (this is not an overexaggeration either), but by the time I was finished with this novel I could feel that stupid pull at my heart that was telling me I will never forget reading this book and I will never forget the characters. Most of the reason may lie with Katniss to be honest. In the book Katniss hates how the Capitol can just take children away and send them into a game where they have to kill each other. She also finds it sick that the people in the capitol actually sit there and watch the games (watch these people really dieing! Really killing!) and just laugh and bet on it and find it entertaining. My hatered for this kind of thing is the same if not more. I mean really! But here's the thing. The book is good, and not only is it good, but Suzanne really makes you face the facts. I mean watching horror movies isn't all that different. Even though you know the people arn't really dieing, and that they're perfectly fine, how could you stand to see someone murdered like that? And especially when stuff like that really does happen to people. To say that this book had no effect on me besides being really awesome would be a lie. This book made me really look around at what's happening in the world, and the darkness in people, and in myself. I think that I might be being to deep for a review, but thats my thoughts and I wanted to let them out somewhere. And if all this deepness didn't get to you there's romance, lot's of action, and the book keeps you of the edge of your seet the whole time Katniss is in the hunger games (ok well maybe not the whole time, but at least 89% of the time)! I really hope you check it out, because it's a great book! I'm going to get the second one right now!

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
XxAvidReaderxX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Beyond expectations!!!!
7/7/2010

Customer review by ILoveReading2

5.0 stars 7/7/2010 by ILoveReading2
by ILoveReading2

I read a lot of books. I normally dont write reviews for them. This is my first. Lately, it seems harder and harder to find books with good plots that can keep you interested from beginning to end. A lot of books have the same situations and love interests and so on. This book took me by surprise. The author really pulls you in and you feel like you are right there. Would you make the same decisions if you were in Katniss and Peeta's place? Would you be as strong, thoughtful, and caring when your life depends on it? Would you be selfish, cold hearted, and go against everything you believe in to survive? The description of life in this book is so real and bellievable. The situations that Katniss and others are put in will bring you to tears. There is romance as well. I read this book in only a couple of hours. Bought the second book and read it the very next two days. I couldn't stop thinking what would happen when I had to put the books down. Cant wait for the third book. Im still wondering what will happen!! Must have!!!

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ILoveReading2
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Walmart associate
AMAZING!!!!
10/8/2008

Customer review by KatrinaC

5.0 stars 10/8/2008 by KatrinaC
by KatrinaC

This was one of the best books I've read in some time. I could not put it down and read it in just one sitting.

Was this review helpful? (5) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KatrinaC
Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
11/30/2011

Customer review by Lodylou

5.0 stars 11/30/2011 by Lodylou
by Lodylou

It is an amazing book. My 16 year old grandaughter ask me to read it. I couldn't put it down. Keeps you right on the edge all the time, but the ending kind of leaves you hanging as there are two more follow-up books in the series. ABSOLUTELY AWESOME!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Lodylou
Duncan, AZ.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Addicted
1/2/2010

Customer review by CecVilla72

5.0 stars 1/2/2010 by CecVilla72
by CecVilla72

I couldn't put the book down. It's awesome! Enough said.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CecVilla72
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent read
9/23/2009

Customer review by bargainshopper411

5.0 stars 9/23/2009 by bargainshopper411
by bargainshopper411

Very much enjoyed the book. At first was taken back by the story line, but quickly got realed in and couldn't put it down.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bargainshopper411
Iowa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
AWSOME!!!!!
6/2/2010

Customer review by luv2ReadAllDayLong

5.0 stars 6/2/2010 by luv2ReadAllDayLong
by luv2ReadAllDayLong

I read a LOT!!! but this book was by far the best book I have read this year! I can not wait to go and get the second book. It was a very susspensfull love story,all people: living in a crewl world. I couldnt put it down! EVER!!!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
luv2ReadAllDayLong
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
The great ruiner
6/4/2010

Customer review by natekillah

5.0 stars 6/4/2010 by natekillah
by natekillah

My wife was always making such a big deal about this book and its sequel "Catching Fire" but I have to tell you, after reading it, she wasn't making a big enough deal. This book/series is absolutely grim and dark but hopeful and captivating. The way Suzanne Collins writes has simply ruined other books. She is descriptive enough to envision being there with Catniss (the main character) yet never slows you down with mundane detail. She lets us craft their world for ourselves. Cannot wait for the third installment "The Mockingjay"

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
natekillah
Arizona
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
AMAZING
1/10/2012

Customer review by CJWokie

5.0 stars 1/10/2012 by CJWokie
by CJWokie

I absolutely loved the book (the series, as a matter of fact). I was sorry to get to the end. My kids and I bought 2 sets of the books, for the 5 of us to share, and were still calling anxiously when one would finish before someone finished the next one. Looking forward to the movie, tho I'm sure it won't do it justice. My nephew just started mandatory reading of the series in high school, and I am delighted.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CJWokie
Oklahoma City
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
WOW! More than I hoped for.
3/7/2011

Customer review by PleasureReader

5.0 stars 3/7/2011 by PleasureReader
by PleasureReader

This book includes a intricate plot centered around a young woman living in a new world where children pay for the mistakes of the past and the government tries to control the working class through hunger and fear. This brave new world in which she lives is only a few steps from our own and you can quickly see how easily this story could be a reality. This book has adventure, suspense, mystery and a love interest which makes it a good book for everyone. Where the world is cruel, violent and unjust, this book is still appropriate for even a 4th grader to read.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PleasureReader
Windsor, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Not long enough!
11/6/2008

Customer review by UsTwoHatches

5.0 stars 11/6/2008 by UsTwoHatches
by UsTwoHatches

I loved this book! It was kind of a blend between Lord of the Flies and 1984 with a little bit of romance thrown in. I can't wait to read the next book! My only complaint about The Hunger Games is that it's too short and it ends in a terrible place-I want to hear more More MORE!!!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
UsTwoHatches
Springfield, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
6/22/2010

Customer review by Partykids2008

5.0 stars 6/22/2010 by Partykids2008
by Partykids2008

Great Story!!!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Partykids2008
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS I'VE EVER READ!!
6/20/2010

Customer review by aluckyhorseshoe

5.0 stars 6/20/2010 by aluckyhorseshoe
by aluckyhorseshoe

This book is about a goverement that controls everthing and the 12 districts. To remind everyone that the goverment has control they have the hunger games. Two kids, a boy and a girl, from the ages 12-18, have to go into the hunger games. There is a total of 24 kids, 2 from each district, only 1 will survive. Katniss Everdeen's little sister is choosen but, Katniss takes her place instead. And then Katniss must go into the games.... I think this is 1 of the best books I've ever read! It has adventure, action and about everthing else. This a great book for teens and girls.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
aluckyhorseshoe
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Great book
10/3/2010

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 10/3/2010 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

First of all, the whole Hunger Games series is awesome. Definitely buy these books, it is worth it. Also, if you want a hardcover of this awesome book, you can't beat Wal-mart's online price. i shopped around and even if you choose to have it shipped to your home instead of site to store, it is still cheaper than buying it anywhere else. Came in a timely manner and in perfect condition.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Awesome!!!
8/24/2010

Customer review by jme24

5.0 stars 8/24/2010 by jme24
by jme24

This book is no doubt is on the top of my list, cant wait for Mockingjay!!! I would also recommend Graceling and Fire by Kristin Cashore.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jme24
ky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Absolutely Amazing!
3/15/2012

Customer review by YoloYouOnlyLiveOnce

5.0 stars 3/15/2012 by YoloYouOnlyLiveOnce
by YoloYouOnlyLiveOnce

This book was absolutely amazing. I'm not a big reader myself, but when my friend told me if I wanted to see the movie with them, I had to read it. So I did, and now I am addicted. I am on the third and last book. You get very attatched to the characters. I can barely put the books down now, as I spend hours at a time reading them. Get this book and you will not regret reading it! YOLO

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
YoloYouOnlyLiveOnce
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Great Read
6/30/2010

Customer review by daletta

5.0 stars 6/30/2010 by daletta
by daletta

Very good book!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
daletta
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Love2read
3/20/2012

Customer review by Happy2cook

5.0 stars 3/20/2012 by Happy2cook
by Happy2cook

Wow!!!! What a great book. I couldn't put it down once I started reading it. I am now going to Walmart today to buy the other 2 in the series. I know they will be equally good or better then the first!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Happy2cook
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
ADDICTED
1/28/2011

Customer review by assnowfallls

5.0 stars 1/28/2011 by assnowfallls
by assnowfallls

love, love, loved this book, once i finished the first i was so hooked, i went out and bought catching fire the next day! never read a book so fast in my life

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
assnowfallls
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 55 total reviews
1-20 of 55 reviews