Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 26 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

26 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

26 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

65%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
14
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 stars
4
1-20 of 22 total reviews
65%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 22 total reviews
1-20 of 22 reviews
Some Thing Has Found Us
2/28/2010

Customer review by Pitchfork

5.0 stars 2/28/2010 by Pitchfork
by Pitchfork

When the film opens you learn that the footage you are about to see is the property of the United States Department of Defense and the name assigned to the event is "Cloverfield". The first eighteen minutes of the film is set at a going-away party for one of the characters who's about to leave for Japan to start a new job. Things progress in typical party fashion, with the typical party drama, when suddenly their building shakes and the power flickers off and on for a few seconds. From that point on the film becomes something else entirely! From news footage and then through their own eyes, they learn that New York City is being attacked by a colossal (over 30 stories tall) creature of unknown origins. Then you follow a small group of characters as they try to escape the city alive. The entire film is shot from the vantage point of a hand-held camcorder. I know most people don't like that style of film making, but I personally think it's a great way to tell this story. You see exactly what the characters see and have to deal with, like the parasitic creatures that fall of the main creature. The extras on the DVD are definitely worth the time. In fact, you learn that the creature is actually a frightened newborn! That adds a whole new twist to the story if you ask me. I think the movie is smart and definitely worth a viewing or two. I would caution people that easily get motion sickness to be prepared because the footage is quick and jerky through most of the film. I highly recommend this film!

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Pitchfork
Mesa, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Headache
10/24/2008

Customer review by RatedRko89

2.0 stars 10/24/2008 by RatedRko89
by RatedRko89

When I saw this movie I figured that I was going to be somewhat like Godzilla but with a different monster and the first night I owned this film I didn't even watch it all. I had just got off of work and was looking foward to watching it but I didn't know the whole movie was first person filmed. I just got a headache from the bad filming and turned the movie off. My wife liked this movie but I wasn't a big fan.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RatedRko89
TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
I saw it! It's Alive! It's Huge
5/10/2008

Customer review by JayMan85

4.0 stars 5/10/2008 by JayMan85
by JayMan85

This is not your common Monster attacking a city movie. This is viewed through a first person, handheld video camera fright fest. IF YOU CANNOT STAND CAMERA MOVEMENT OR SHAKING DO NOT WATCH THIS FILM. This movie is a mix of Godzilla/Blair Witch Project. I won't HIGHLY RECOMMEND this movie, because this is the type of movie you either like it very much or you'll be dissapointed in. It leaves you with alot of questions. But you journey with a group of people in this intense situation that would be something terrible to go through. VERY SAD ENDING.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JayMan85
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
A great movie
5/18/2008

Customer review by RayH1

5.0 stars 5/18/2008 by RayH1
by RayH1

Having enjoyed "The Blair Witch Project", with its "first person" point of view from hand-held camera, I also enjoyed this technique in "Cloverfield". This is fun, thrill ride (once you get past the first 15 minutes whick looks like a watered down 90210 episode). The "first person" point of view may not be for everyone, but it gave the Cloverfield monster its "larger-than-life" persona. I would recommend this movie to anyone who enjoys monster movies. Extras in the DVD are worth the purchase, and Walmart offered a great price on this (less than $20). Also movie is shipped really quickly, so you only have to wait a few days to get your purchase sent to you.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RayH1
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Awsome
4/25/2008

Customer review by horroraddict

5.0 stars 4/25/2008 by horroraddict
by horroraddict

I waited for this movie to hit dvd since i never got the chance to go to the theater to see this and i watched it on surround sound with dolby pro logic and it was amazing. By far one of the best monster movies ever made. Although it was only 74 minutes it kept me feeling like i was in the movie. Great special f/x and sound. Deffinatley some good acting for new actors. I really enjoyed the vision of bothe jj abrams and mike reeves with the home movie style and camera shooting, some really great stuff. overall this movie is one of the best and will be for quite some time. see it asap!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
horroraddict
hawley, pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Cloverfield Rocks!
4/25/2008

Customer review by Moviemavin

5.0 stars 4/25/2008 by Moviemavin
by Moviemavin

Just like Blair Witch, this is an AMERICAN ICONIC monster movie...& just like Blair Witch this was filmed from a amature point of view & it seems unscripted, & a good job at that...it also leaves a lot of questions unanswered, that should be answered in the sequal! To which I can't wait to see the sequal... On a side note, the first 17 mins of the movie you can skip, the rest of the film though is CAN'T MISS!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Moviemavin
Alaska
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Not what I expected
4/29/2008

Customer review by countrybeartasha

1.0 stars 4/29/2008 by countrybeartasha
by countrybeartasha

This has to be the worst movie I have ever seen!! I would not recommend this movie to anyone and If I could get my money back for this DVD, I would. It was advertised much differently than what was actually shown. DONOT BUY THIS MOVIE unless you like watching someone running around with a video camera and seeing the movie through the camera.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
countrybeartasha
Would recommend to a friend? No
GREAT MOVIE.. BEST OF 2008
4/17/2008

Customer review by kaseykahnefan1

5.0 stars 4/17/2008 by kaseykahnefan1
by kaseykahnefan1
Top 1000 contributor

I LOVE THIS MOVIE.. ME AND MY FRIEND WENT AND SEEN THIS OPENING DAY.. AND I DIDNT NO WHAT TO EXPECT... BUT THIS MOVIE SCARED ME AND IT WAS AWESOME LOL LOL.. I LEFT WTH A HEADACHE SCREAMING SO MUCH AND WITH CLAW MARKS ON MY HAND FROM MY FRIEND... THIS MOVIE IS AWESOME.. PLZ BUY IT ITS ONE OF THE BEST MOVIES OF 2008

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kaseykahnefan1
iron station,nc
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Top 1000 contributor
Cloverfield
12/9/2009

Customer review by jesuslovesxbox

5.0 stars 12/9/2009 by jesuslovesxbox
by jesuslovesxbox

This movie is the best monster movie that has come out in a long time. I recommend this for any fan of monster movies. THE CAMERA DOES SHAKE SOME SO IF YOU GET MOTION SICKNESS I DON'T KNOW IF YOU WANT TO WATCH THIS MOVIE! My friend said he didn't like it because of that but it didn't bother me.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jesuslovesxbox
NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Cloverfield
5/1/2008

Customer review by skaterdude42006

5.0 stars 5/1/2008 by skaterdude42006
by skaterdude42006

this movie was one of the best movies i've ever seen it puts you right there in the middle of it all and it's very suspenseful and thrilling i loved it it may not be the best if you get mtion sickness though the camera moves alot but this film is AMAZING!!!!!!!!!! thats all you can say!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
skaterdude42006
Ardmore, OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
a excellent movie!!!!
5/18/2008

Customer review by deadhead92

5.0 stars 5/18/2008 by deadhead92
by deadhead92

its one of those keepers for the whole family. Most people hated it for the fact of the shake cam, but it makes the suspense of the story creep up on you. i liked it. its buy far the best movie of the year. so go out a buy this movie. you'll regret not watching it.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
deadhead92
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Awesome Movie
4/21/2008

Customer review by Julez123

5.0 stars 4/21/2008 by Julez123
by Julez123

This movie is very intense, fast, and amazing. It's constantly keeping you on the edge of your seat the whole time. The effects are amazing. Best if watched on a big screen. CAUTION: MAY FRIGHTEN LITTLE KIDS. SOME LANGUAGE. PERVASIVE VIOLENCE

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Julez123
Hayden, AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Sweet movie!!
5/15/2008

Customer review by DirtRider23

5.0 stars 5/15/2008 by DirtRider23
by DirtRider23

I really liked this movie. You might get dizzy from watchin the camera but other than that it was cool. ps. play close attention to the end (When they're in the ferris wheel)

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DirtRider23
Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Watch It
4/25/2008

Customer review by yourfeet

4.0 stars 4/25/2008 by yourfeet
by yourfeet

This film tackles the monster genre from a whole new angle. It's only 1 hour and 25 mins - short and sweet.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
yourfeet
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Disapointed
5/5/2008

Customer review by SLEast

2.0 stars 5/5/2008 by SLEast
by SLEast

I picked the movie up at the store, it did not say on the box that THE WHOLE MOVIE, was filmed from someones shoulder. I personally find this very distracting, and could not even watch the whole thing. My Husband watched it, and said it was ok, but made him dizzy a lot when the person filming was doing all the climbing and running with the camera. If you liked the way Blair Witch was filmed, then I guess you will like this one.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SLEast
Kaufman, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
The worst movie ever!
7/8/2008

Customer review by Horrorfan85

1.0 stars 7/8/2008 by Horrorfan85
by Horrorfan85

Well if you watched the previews on this movie it looks so interesting to watch but if you see the movie it was just horrendous. The entire movie was just a shaky camera by one of the characters which will give you a vertigo and the storyline was so poorly done and and not to mention the ending. Matt reeves probably created this movie on a very tight budget because it was just horrible. Save your money it's not worth it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Horrorfan85
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great Horror/Suspense Movie but a USDED DVD.
11/16/2014

Customer review by Ichido

5.0 stars 11/16/2014 by Ichido
by Ichido

I bought this DVD, not knowing that it was a Used Disc, probably from Netflix or a Box DVD machine. This Movie is Great!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Ichido
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Not worth it
4/27/2008

Customer review by ssbaker

1.0 stars 4/27/2008 by ssbaker
by ssbaker
Walmart associate

This was the worse movie I have seen in a long time. The story line was interesting enough but the way it was filmed was a big disapointment. This is the first time I have watched a movie that left me with a headache. I wouldn't recommend this movie to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ssbaker
Arkansas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Walmart associate
DON'T BUY!!!!!
5/11/2008

Customer review by iluvwalmart08

1.0 stars 5/11/2008 by iluvwalmart08
by iluvwalmart08

this had to be the worst movie i have ever seen. it was a toss up between cloverfield and open water......lol. don't buy this movie....you will regret it!!!! it has no begining and no ending.....it just didn't make sense!!!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
iluvwalmart08
ny
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per year
Not a good movie
8/11/2009

Customer review by An anonymous customer

2.0 stars 8/11/2009 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I was very disappointed in the movie. The way the movie was filmed was very annoying and hard to watch and relax. The story was boring. I would not recommend this movie and would never watch it again.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? No
1-20 of 22 total reviews
1-20 of 22 reviews