Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 202 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

202 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

202 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

93%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
154
4 stars
30
3 stars
6
2 stars
1
1 stars
11
1-20 of 161 total reviews
93%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 161 total reviews
1-20 of 161 reviews
Presto 6-Quart Aluminum Pressure Cooker
4/1/2009

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 4/1/2009 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I always watched my grandmother use her pressure cooker and was always amazed at how it worked. Meats and vegetables always turn out very moist and tender, bursting with flavor. I finally bought my own a few days ago, and I have to say, it is one of my best purchases in a long time. The Presto pressure cooker is so easy to use, I was able to bring it home from the store, wash it then cook my grandmother's beef stew recipe and had food ready within 30 minutes! In the past, to achieve tender vegetables and meat, I had to boil the stew and lower the heat to let it simmer for over an hour, slowly cooking. With the pressure cooker, it is much faster and the contents are much more tender and flavorful. I notice that I'm the only guy who has ever written a review for a pressure cooker, but I'm doing it because I highly recommend it to any bachelor out there wanting to make a quick REAL meal. It's also very impressive to be able to cook such flavorful ridiculously tender food on your own. My future pressure cooked meals are- -BBQ pulled pork- (it'll be very tender super moist fluffy pork roast which will be easy to pull and soak in BBQ sauce. -Hawaiian style shoyu chicken- fall off the bone chicken wings - BBQ ribs- pressure cooked in a rub, then soak in bbq sauce, which will just fall off the bone.

Was this review helpful? (160) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Ewa Beach, HI and Champaign, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
AWESOME
1/1/2008

Customer review by 1timesaver

5.0 stars 1/1/2008 by 1timesaver
by 1timesaver

THIS IS THE BEST PRODUCT IN THE WORLD great size, great quality, greater price ! And you can use the CHEAPIEST CUTS OF MEAT. I walked in from work, put a pork roast, some onion, celery, carrots, a little seasoning, & 2 cups of apple juice in, locked my lid, put it on the stove, went and changed, came back and turned the flame down, and in 20 minutes, (by the time I made the salad, set the table & got soft drinks), the pork roast was done, so tender & juicy !!! It's the best when you want to serve great meals and have a little time. But read the directions ! If you've never used one, you could get hurt if you don't know what your doing, read the directions !! It's so simple & easy.

Was this review helpful? (81) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
1timesaver
Portage, Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
7/30/2009

Customer review by imcatlover

5.0 stars 7/30/2009 by imcatlover
by imcatlover

Works great. I have a stainless steel one but prefer the aluminum because the stainless steel would scorch sometimes, it seemed to have a hot spot that would scorch roast or soup if I didn't stir frequently when finishing up after coming off pressure. I have a smooth top stove .

Was this review helpful? (46) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
imcatlover
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Better than a microwave
11/26/2008

Customer review by faybaby

5.0 stars 11/26/2008 by faybaby
by faybaby

I have become obsessed with this pressure cooker, child a pressure cooker cooks chitterlings in 25 minutes, pig feet, neck bones and boiling meat for collard greens in 25 minutes, and another 20 minutes and bam you got the best tasting green on this side of the world. My sisters ain’t got nothing on me anymore. In the pass they have informed by that I don’t get the best out of my cooking cause I always cook in a hurry and my food don’t have time to savor, well now I can still cook in a hurry and get the favor- savor what ever you want to call it at the same time. I have a six quart one but by the end of the day I will have an 8 quart one also (Wal-Mart $39.00) , that way I can have two things cooking at once. Man all these years people have been afraid of pressure cookers, that goes to show that man fears what he doesn’t understand because the lack of knowledge there of. I know you all might think that I am crazy but when I find something that works for me I live by it and wants everyone that I know to explore the benefits thereof.

Was this review helpful? (73) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
faybaby
Warner Robins, Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Save me 50% of energy !
7/17/2011

Customer review by Mahelma

4.0 stars 7/17/2011 by Mahelma
by Mahelma

1. Pressure cooking saves time For example, cook brown rice in 15 minutes, dried beans in 12 minutes, and lentils in 7 minutes. 2. Pressure cooking saves money The energy savings from shorter cooking times means lower gas or electric bills. 3. Pressure-cooked foods taste delicious 4. Pressure-cooked foods are healthy 5. Pressure cooking is safer than you think 6. Pressure cookers are helpful for preparedness Since very little steam escapes during the cooking process, maximum flavor is preserved. Pressure-cooked meat is moist and tender, and dried beans are more flavorful than canned, which sometimes have an aftertaste. Advice: I bough a 6Q cooker for two person. You should buy a bigger one if you have more than two...

Was this review helpful? (23) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Mahelma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good one...Satisfied with it...
1/9/2010

Customer review by UsaBuyer

5.0 stars 1/9/2010 by UsaBuyer
by UsaBuyer

This is my first Presto...I am totally happy with this cooker...I had a whistling cooker before and everyday landed up scaring my 6 month old daughter with the loud noise...but this one has solved my problem...now i can cook her stuff when shez sleeping too..doesnt make too much noise...its big enuf to make stuff for 4 ppl...with so much of indian cooking, i am happy with it...using it twice a day...gr8 to prepare dals, rice, veggies, potatoes..etc etc etc...what else wud one want with this price..

Was this review helpful? (17) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
UsaBuyer
Saint Louis, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Outstanding Product
3/10/2011

Customer review by PrimeTimetoo

5.0 stars 3/10/2011 by PrimeTimetoo
by PrimeTimetoo

I've owned the older version of this pressure cooker for 30 years, so now that its time to replace it I will get the same one. Looks great. Cooks great. I made the right choice again after 30 years.

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PrimeTimetoo
Monroe Township, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Very light
4/4/2011

Customer review by Chironess

4.0 stars 4/4/2011 by Chironess
by Chironess

The Presto 6 quart cooker is good for me because it is light and makes the perfect amount for a meal and a leftover. As I have gotten older, it is harder to pick up the large stainless steel cooker I already have and I no longer need to make tons of food all the time since the kids have grown.This pressure cooker fits. Makes great chicken stock then soup all in an hour.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Chironess
Fort Wayne Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Bad sizing
12/25/2013

Customer review by butwheat

3.0 stars 12/25/2013 by butwheat
by butwheat

Here is why. I love presto. I use there pressure canners and there pressure cookers all the time. When my old Mirro 6 quart pressure cooker went bad I was going to replace it with this presto 6 quart. But it is the same diameter as the 4 quart but deeper and if you cook a lot of meat in it as I do, it is not wide enough for even a chuck steak. you would have to cut and stack the meat adding to the cooking time for thickness. I already took this back to Walmart and ordered an 8 quart which I know is bigger in diameter.

Was this review helpful? (12) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
butwheat
central wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Maybe Good but it is different that Indian cookers
2/2/2011

Customer review by HelloIndian

1.0 stars 2/2/2011 by HelloIndian
by HelloIndian

To all those friends who are looking to replace their old made in India pressure cookers - a word of caution. This cooker looks same but behavior is different. It does not whistle (just rocks steadily!!) when the pressure is right. So you need to know your cooking times exactly and will need a stopwatch .... I returned it as it means complicated cooking for me and my family

Was this review helpful? (28) (21)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HelloIndian
TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Well worth he price
10/24/2013

Customer review by queensford

5.0 stars 10/24/2013 by queensford
by queensford

Many years ago I owned a pressure cooker. I bought this new Presto, and became reacquainted to pressure cooker cooking. It is awesome. I cooked a meatloaf, and baked beans last weekend. They came out perfect. I am still wondering why I stopped using a PC. Quality great. Buy at least a 6 qt. You cannot fill it more than 2/3 full. I love this cooker!!!

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
queensford
fairhaven, ma.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
If you can afford go with stainless steel!
12/28/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 12/28/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Aluminum stains a lot, black residue coming off the cooker every time when I wash and wipe it. Would have definitely bought stainless if knew in advance. Otherwise this device is a time saving machine.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Toronto
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Had to return
4/1/2010

Customer review by Butterfly14

3.0 stars 4/1/2010 by Butterfly14
by Butterfly14

The handles would not line up on this product no matter how hard we tried, therefore it wouldn't seal properly. Had to return. We are probably going to buy another one in the hopes that the one we bought was simply defective. If the 2nd one doesn't work we'll try a different one.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Butterfly14
Would recommend to a friend? No
Buy it now.
2/5/2011

Customer review by MLVegan

5.0 stars 2/5/2011 by MLVegan
by MLVegan

I eat a lot of beans and now I am making them from scratch with this pressure cooker. The difference in taste from canned beans is incredible. I made split pea soup in less than 20 minutes and it was spot on perfect. Buy it now, you won't be sorry.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MLVegan
washington
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great first pressure cooker
8/5/2012

Customer review by skboards

5.0 stars 8/5/2012 by skboards
by skboards

The aluminum pot is nice and light. It was very easy to put together and my room mates were surprised that I didn't blow myself up as they had never seen a pressure cooker before. The seals leak while pressure builds up but this is expected. Once the pot is up to pressure the seals hold like a rock. This is a great size for a couple and the time savings are amazing. The inside does build oxides but this is safe and merely a cosmetic defect.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
skboards
ND
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great value for the money !!
11/7/2012

Customer review by live2ride4ever

4.0 stars 11/7/2012 by live2ride4ever
by live2ride4ever

The only reason I didn't give this 5 stars was that the bottom handle comes loose and must be tighten quite frequently. The lid is tricky to put on, but once you learn how ( line up the arrows, you MUST close lid from right side to left ) you won't have any problems. Love the rack, keeps food off the bottom of the cooker.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
live2ride4ever
Lakeland
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
PRESTO 6 QT PRESSURE COOKER
2/12/2013

Customer review by golfer117

5.0 stars 2/12/2013 by golfer117
by golfer117

GREAT PRODUCT, MY OLD ONE IS STILL WORKING AFTER 12 YEARS, BOUGHT ANOTHER ONE, GREAT PRODUCT, MANY THANKS PRESTO AND WALMART

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
golfer117
NEW YORK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
I'd buy it again
10/16/2013

Customer review by mrvs15

5.0 stars 10/16/2013 by mrvs15
by mrvs15

Great for two to four person meals, deserts, etc. Because of the rapid cooking I don't mind making one person meals (no need for leftovers) fresh. Yes, the Presto steam basket #85650 fits this cooker.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mrvs15
camillus, ny
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
homecook
1/18/2013

Customer review by toomuchpressure

5.0 stars 1/18/2013 by toomuchpressure
by toomuchpressure

This product works well and cooks fast.The only thing I'm withholding Judgement on is that it's tall instead of wide.I haven't used it enough to tell if that will make a difference.The pressure relief has only one pressure 15 lbs. my last cooker had weights to add or subtract from 5 to 15 lbs

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
toomuchpressure
ms
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great
1/13/2008

Customer review by OlGma

5.0 stars 1/13/2008 by OlGma
by OlGma

If I would have known how easy this was to use I would have had one years ago. I grew up with the "fear" of my moms and this is a breeze to use. I have to add I made a super roast and potatoes and carrots in a little over an hour!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
OlGma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 161 total reviews
1-20 of 161 reviews