Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 82 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

82 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

82 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

94%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
63
4 stars
14
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 stars
2
1-20 of 60 total reviews
94%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 60 total reviews
1-20 of 60 reviews
5/28/2008

Customer review by mkrvp1

5.0 stars 5/28/2008 by mkrvp1
by mkrvp1

I had the benefit of selecting this tv side by side by side, in the store from a 46" Vizio, and Sony Bravia 46". The picture clarity and colors just seemed sharper with this model over the Sony and Vizio which were higher priced. Normally, I would have purchased the Sony because of name recognition. However, after seeing them side by side I determined that having the Sony name was not worth the extra $300 I would have had to pay to get it. I believe this tiv is a great value for the money I spent. In my home the sound fills the room, the comercials on tv are not sound elevated. I am extremely impressed with this model and I dont even have it hooked up to HD yet. I couldnt ask for a better value.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mkrvp1
elkhart, indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
5/25/2008

Customer review by ny2fl

5.0 stars 5/25/2008 by ny2fl
by ny2fl

great tv! we have had a magnavox 31" tube for almost 15 years with no problems so we went with a brand we trust. great picture and sound is actually relatively good! getting HDTV this week from brighthouse and we are really please with the quality so far

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ny2fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Pretty, but come on...
6/2/2008

Customer review by TopherT

1.0 stars 6/2/2008 by TopherT
by TopherT

After having the TV for a few days I was just getting used to the beautiful picture and the HD life. Then after having it set up for less than 48 hrs the pictutr began to distort and turn pink. Now I have a 1400 black plastic box in my living room, that I have to wait on a repair man to come and fix. Not a very promising start... my 80 junktv i got on sale has worked for over 6 years, and this "nice' tv didn't even make it one week.

Was this review helpful? (3) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TopherT
Saint Louis
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
6/21/2008

Customer review by MULKIE

5.0 stars 6/21/2008 by MULKIE
by MULKIE

RECEIVED THIS LCD 47" TV FOR FATHERS DAY. EASY TO INSTALL AND I AM VERY HAPPY WITH IT'S PERFOMANCE, BUT WITHOUT SOME SORT OF GUIDE YOU HAVE TO SCAN TOO MUCH TO SEE WHATS ON AND WHEN, WHICH OF COARSE IS THE FAULT OF COMCAST. THEY WANT YOU TO UPGRADE BUT NO WAY OF KNOWING WHATS ON. GREAT BUY AND EXTENDED WARRANTY IS VERY REASONABLE, I WISH I COULD HAVE GOTTEN THE 3 YEAR EXTENDED WARRANTY BUT THAT COULD ONLY BE DONE THRU THE INTERNET, AND MY KIDS WANTED TO SURPRISE ME.

Was this review helpful? (0) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MULKIE
SHARON, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Philips Class Full-HD
10/9/2008

Customer review by fryboy60

5.0 stars 10/9/2008 by fryboy60
by fryboy60

I love it. The picture is great, it is too bad I don't have HD with my DVD or VCR yet. I got the PS3 which plays HD in the games or Blue Ray. The picture does switch to different screen sizes but I think this is a signal problem. The TV boost the antanas signal and makes the reception better, too.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
fryboy60
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
TheDoctor'sTV
6/10/2008

Customer review by TheDoctorFromGallifrey

5.0 stars 6/10/2008 by TheDoctorFromGallifrey
by TheDoctorFromGallifrey

Very pleased with the purchase. Set up was very easy, and within minutes I doubled my head shot count gaming on line. Truly a must for any sniper who needs that extra edge. Great for multi player action also. 27 inches just can't cut it anymore. Nothing says "SIT DOWN" as a shoot all the way across the map.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TheDoctorFromGallifrey
Marinette, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Philips LCD
10/10/2008

Customer review by DaleH

5.0 stars 10/10/2008 by DaleH
by DaleH

LCDs are still high priced. This one is a great TV. A bit on the heav side though. Has component inputs ,S video and wonderfully three HDMI inputs. This gives you HD TV, blue ray DVD and my Netflix box.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DaleH
18062
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Very Pleased
8/2/2008

Customer review by Multipleman

5.0 stars 8/2/2008 by Multipleman
by Multipleman

This is our first purchase of an LCD, did all the research etc. Even got advice from the cable guy! :-) I can honestly say that we are very pleased wih this Phillips 1080P LCD. The picture quality is superb, HDMI connect is a must if you want your moneys worth. Although the sound quality is good a 5.1 Home Theater will make it WOW!!! The price is reasonable for the quality of TV you get. I highly recommend this Phillips to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Multipleman
Crestview, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
10/13/2008

Customer review by jrzgirlinthesouth

5.0 stars 10/13/2008 by jrzgirlinthesouth
by jrzgirlinthesouth

The picture is stunning even on the non-HD channels. I am absolutlely thrilled with this set. It is an excellent value.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jrzgirlinthesouth
Charlotte, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
An Excellent Product
10/16/2008

Customer review by Beachkidz

5.0 stars 10/16/2008 by Beachkidz
by Beachkidz

We love our new Phillips 47" HDTV !! We have had a RCA 36" tube tv for over 20 years and since it was Analog we thought it would be the right time to change to Digital, especially with the changes coming. It took us several months to decide on this TV but we couldn't be happier with our choice. We just had Dish Satellite installed and wow it's like being at the movies !! We plan to purchase Phillips surround sound system to enhance the sound quality.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Beachkidz
Iowa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great TV. quite versatile
10/12/2008

Customer review by akya

5.0 stars 10/12/2008 by akya
by akya

I bought this tv to use both as a new monitor for my HTPC (computer), and to watch tv on. It looked like a good value for what you get: a 47 inch tv with 1080p/1920x1080 resolution. Upon buying i wasn't sure if PC hookup was an option. The sales placard said it supported a pc, but there are no native pc inputs (ie VGA/DVI). I had to buy a DVI -> HDMI cable to hook it up. Now it works great. PC games look unreal on a 47 inch screen. one small note, is if you are using a pc, you will need to hook the audio into a seperate device (i use the auxillary input on my stereo). HD tv looks awesome, and non hdtv looks no worse then before. I use my pc to upconvert dvd's. considering getting a blu-ray drive. I imagine blu-ray looks pretty nice. Pros: -Great picture/sound. Good value -tons of inputs. built in mp3 player/picture viewer via usb input -Size is great. it is much easier to plug/unplug things, compared to a boxy tube-tv. -Matte finish helps reduce glare -full 1080p Cons: -No Picture in picture -automatic sizing sometimes gets confused on analog (non-hd) stations, this can be fixed by setting the picture format to 4:3 or something other then automatic.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
akya
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Phillips 47" Class Full-HD
10/12/2008

Customer review by jimjoe

5.0 stars 10/12/2008 by jimjoe
by jimjoe

We order our Phillips TV online, we are very pleased with its performance.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jimjoe
Greenville, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Big TV Small Price!
6/17/2008

Customer review by moondog79

5.0 stars 6/17/2008 by moondog79
by moondog79

I highly recommend this tv. I have done extensive research on LCD televisions, and Walmart had the best price. Other retailers want over $2000 for much smaller tvs with the same features. The sound quality is great, and setup is easy. The menu will walk you right through it step by step. Most retailers are avertising the dynamic contrast ratio on lcd tvs ( which is always a big number ), in which this tv is 29,000:1. I believe the static contrast ratio on this tv is 1,500:1. I have had this tv for 3 weeks now, and it is hard to turn off. With the 5 ms response time, playing my ps3 is awesome. So if you are on a budget or want to save money and looking for a great tv, this is the one. Thanks Walmart!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
moondog79
Brandon, MS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Beautiful TV
8/13/2008

Customer review by barrry

5.0 stars 8/13/2008 by barrry
by barrry

This LCD TV has as good of a picture as any Plasma and uses less juice. You won't find a better picture. It only fades a little when you are nearly beside it. I won't even need to order the HD package from my cable provider. Most channels have a perfect picture. You can see every pimple and even cracked lips without the HD package. The sound is incredible, needs to be tweaked a bit with the equalizer, but it's really easy to hook up and get running,, 5 minutes. If I had known how good the sound was I wouldn't have bought a surround system, although it is nice to have surround sound for special movies or events.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
barrry
Bay City, Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great buy!
10/27/2008

Customer review by walmartshoppers2008

5.0 stars 10/27/2008 by walmartshoppers2008
by walmartshoppers2008

Great product at a great price. Perfect size for our family room and the picture is very clear in both standard and especially HD. I would highly recommend this product to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
walmartshoppers2008
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Grrrrreat product!!!!!
6/20/2008

Customer review by xswampman

5.0 stars 6/20/2008 by xswampman
by xswampman

This is a great TV. Watch out that you get this model number if you buy the TV in store. I purchased the Philips 47" in the store and bought last years model. I didn't even know it until I started to register the TV with Philips. I had to bring it back and get the right model. Of course Wal Mart is easy to bring stuff back and they were apologetic to me that I had to go through buying last years model. The manager told me that there were three different model numbers for the Philips 47" in there store room, get this model 47PFL3603D/27. You will love it! Great picture! With the other model, my wife kept saying that the picture did not look as good as the one in the store. She was right. Get this model and you will love it. PS: The sound isn't bad with this set, but I purchased the Philips $198.00 sound system and the sound is great. Not the best sound system I have ever had, but it works great with the TV.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
xswampman
Pueblo, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good buy vs Sony
8/24/2008

Customer review by alsguitar

5.0 stars 8/24/2008 by alsguitar
by alsguitar

The value is exceptional for 47 inches. The picture quality is great. It is extremely comparable to the Sony Bravia which we were considering for 1 inch less and $500 more. Only thing Sony has vs this model is the RCA audio output. Great TV

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
alsguitar
Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Flat Panel HDTV - Good Value
6/28/2008

Customer review by BransonMOShopper

5.0 stars 6/28/2008 by BransonMOShopper
by BransonMOShopper

Have always been a Sony Man. But til lighting got our 50" Sony . . . I was able to shop around for a new TV. Flat panels are the wave of the future so I began comparing and reviewing customer comments at various websites. Samsung, Sony, Vizio and Philips were often mentioned. But, Sony and Samsung are higher priced when compared to other not so familiar brands that have similar features. Vizio has become a U.S. leader in flat panels (CA. based). I was seriously considering the Vizio 46". However a couple of visits to Walmart and looking at the pictures between the Philips 47" and Vizio - I decided on the Philips for a $100.00 more (Also liked the cabinet better on the Philips). Only have had it for 2 days and really like the set. We have dish network without HD. But, still apprectiate the great picture and sharpness of images. Sound is good but with kids running around we find ourselves turning it up. We also purchased the HTS3565D/37 Philips Home Theater System with Easy Link and IPod Dock for $198. The 2 together are great (Used a HDMI cable for best connectivity and picture). I didn't rate the Features a five because it wouldn't be fair as I haven't got a chance yet to review all the features.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BransonMOShopper
Branson, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great for the money
8/25/2008

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 8/25/2008 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I was looking to upgrade my TV for my PS3/Blu-Ray and this set looked good. After fiddling with the picture and sound as well as updating the firmware through Philips' website, I'm very satisfied with this television. Navigating the menus are tricky at first. Eventually I'll get a surround sound system for the full movie experience, but the sound on this TV has a decent range. A great starter for folks just now upgrading to a flat panel. Overall : A to A-

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Northern IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Product
8/27/2008

Customer review by alphaPhialphaman

5.0 stars 8/27/2008 by alphaPhialphaman
by alphaPhialphaman

I purchased this TV a few weeks ago. Wonderful picture and sound for the price. I purchased the warranty just in case, but overall great HD TV.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
alphaPhialphaman
CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 60 total reviews
1-20 of 60 reviews