Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 82 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

82 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

82 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

94%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
63
4 stars
14
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 stars
2
1-20 of 60 total reviews
94%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 60 total reviews
1-20 of 60 reviews
Very Pleased
8/2/2008

Customer review by Multipleman

5.0 stars 8/2/2008 by Multipleman
by Multipleman

This is our first purchase of an LCD, did all the research etc. Even got advice from the cable guy! :-) I can honestly say that we are very pleased wih this Phillips 1080P LCD. The picture quality is superb, HDMI connect is a must if you want your moneys worth. Although the sound quality is good a 5.1 Home Theater will make it WOW!!! The price is reasonable for the quality of TV you get. I highly recommend this Phillips to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Multipleman
Crestview, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
great tv
9/30/2008

Customer review by lcddude

5.0 stars 9/30/2008 by lcddude
by lcddude

tv is nice only one thing that is wrong with it when you change the channel there is a box that takes up alot of the picture on the left side {so the picture is blocked} that says the settings the tv is set up to and what channel its on and there is no way to get rid of it.I called Philips and they said sorry but there is no way to take that off.It goes away after about 5 seconds

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lcddude
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great TV for the money!
8/29/2008

Customer review by RancidMercury

5.0 stars 8/29/2008 by RancidMercury
by RancidMercury

I normally don't write reviews, but I figured that I would for this buy! This TV rocks! It has plenty of inputs for all the toys! Xbox 360 looks great in 1080p with an HDMI cable. The sound that comes through the speakers isn't bad. I would highly recommend hooking this up to a surround sound system. The settings that you can change on this TV is great. Sometimes the Automatic viewing option gets annoying when watching regular TV as it always trying to adjust the picture ratio during commercials and other news channels. Channel surfing is a little slow on the regular tuner, but if you use a cable or satelite box it doesn't matter. The remote isn't backlit and seems a little cheap. But no biggy there. The contrast ratio is awesome on this TV. The colors are more vivid than the display TV they have at the store. Overall this TV is a great one for your money. I am really happy with it. I would recommend it to those who want a good TV and don't want to break the bank.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RancidMercury
Omaha, NE
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
5/28/2008

Customer review by mkrvp1

5.0 stars 5/28/2008 by mkrvp1
by mkrvp1

I had the benefit of selecting this tv side by side by side, in the store from a 46" Vizio, and Sony Bravia 46". The picture clarity and colors just seemed sharper with this model over the Sony and Vizio which were higher priced. Normally, I would have purchased the Sony because of name recognition. However, after seeing them side by side I determined that having the Sony name was not worth the extra $300 I would have had to pay to get it. I believe this tiv is a great value for the money I spent. In my home the sound fills the room, the comercials on tv are not sound elevated. I am extremely impressed with this model and I dont even have it hooked up to HD yet. I couldnt ask for a better value.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mkrvp1
elkhart, indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
5/25/2008

Customer review by ny2fl

5.0 stars 5/25/2008 by ny2fl
by ny2fl

great tv! we have had a magnavox 31" tube for almost 15 years with no problems so we went with a brand we trust. great picture and sound is actually relatively good! getting HDTV this week from brighthouse and we are really please with the quality so far

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ny2fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Grrrrreat product!!!!!
6/20/2008

Customer review by xswampman

5.0 stars 6/20/2008 by xswampman
by xswampman

This is a great TV. Watch out that you get this model number if you buy the TV in store. I purchased the Philips 47" in the store and bought last years model. I didn't even know it until I started to register the TV with Philips. I had to bring it back and get the right model. Of course Wal Mart is easy to bring stuff back and they were apologetic to me that I had to go through buying last years model. The manager told me that there were three different model numbers for the Philips 47" in there store room, get this model 47PFL3603D/27. You will love it! Great picture! With the other model, my wife kept saying that the picture did not look as good as the one in the store. She was right. Get this model and you will love it. PS: The sound isn't bad with this set, but I purchased the Philips $198.00 sound system and the sound is great. Not the best sound system I have ever had, but it works great with the TV.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
xswampman
Pueblo, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great TV. quite versatile
10/12/2008

Customer review by akya

5.0 stars 10/12/2008 by akya
by akya

I bought this tv to use both as a new monitor for my HTPC (computer), and to watch tv on. It looked like a good value for what you get: a 47 inch tv with 1080p/1920x1080 resolution. Upon buying i wasn't sure if PC hookup was an option. The sales placard said it supported a pc, but there are no native pc inputs (ie VGA/DVI). I had to buy a DVI -> HDMI cable to hook it up. Now it works great. PC games look unreal on a 47 inch screen. one small note, is if you are using a pc, you will need to hook the audio into a seperate device (i use the auxillary input on my stereo). HD tv looks awesome, and non hdtv looks no worse then before. I use my pc to upconvert dvd's. considering getting a blu-ray drive. I imagine blu-ray looks pretty nice. Pros: -Great picture/sound. Good value -tons of inputs. built in mp3 player/picture viewer via usb input -Size is great. it is much easier to plug/unplug things, compared to a boxy tube-tv. -Matte finish helps reduce glare -full 1080p Cons: -No Picture in picture -automatic sizing sometimes gets confused on analog (non-hd) stations, this can be fixed by setting the picture format to 4:3 or something other then automatic.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
akya
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Pretty, but come on...
6/2/2008

Customer review by TopherT

1.0 stars 6/2/2008 by TopherT
by TopherT

After having the TV for a few days I was just getting used to the beautiful picture and the HD life. Then after having it set up for less than 48 hrs the pictutr began to distort and turn pink. Now I have a 1400 black plastic box in my living room, that I have to wait on a repair man to come and fix. Not a very promising start... my 80 junktv i got on sale has worked for over 6 years, and this "nice' tv didn't even make it one week.

Was this review helpful? (3) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TopherT
Saint Louis
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Flat Panel HDTV - Good Value
6/28/2008

Customer review by BransonMOShopper

5.0 stars 6/28/2008 by BransonMOShopper
by BransonMOShopper

Have always been a Sony Man. But til lighting got our 50" Sony . . . I was able to shop around for a new TV. Flat panels are the wave of the future so I began comparing and reviewing customer comments at various websites. Samsung, Sony, Vizio and Philips were often mentioned. But, Sony and Samsung are higher priced when compared to other not so familiar brands that have similar features. Vizio has become a U.S. leader in flat panels (CA. based). I was seriously considering the Vizio 46". However a couple of visits to Walmart and looking at the pictures between the Philips 47" and Vizio - I decided on the Philips for a $100.00 more (Also liked the cabinet better on the Philips). Only have had it for 2 days and really like the set. We have dish network without HD. But, still apprectiate the great picture and sharpness of images. Sound is good but with kids running around we find ourselves turning it up. We also purchased the HTS3565D/37 Philips Home Theater System with Easy Link and IPod Dock for $198. The 2 together are great (Used a HDMI cable for best connectivity and picture). I didn't rate the Features a five because it wouldn't be fair as I haven't got a chance yet to review all the features.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BransonMOShopper
Branson, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Value
9/21/2008

Customer review by mark60

5.0 stars 9/21/2008 by mark60
by mark60

Shopped for a year before I bit the bullet. Great picture and decent sound. Easy set up. Do wish it was available in the store but I ordered on Sunday, had it first thing Thursday. Tremendous number of inputs for all your HD and other devices. The only complaints I have is the automatic video setting tends to flutter between settings during a scene. Not a big deal. Also the sound is very level across stereo channels even with AVL and other enhancements turned off. Drowns out announcers with crowd noise during a game. I'm still playing with the settings for this. I run audio output from my box to my surround sound system to remedy. Comparable picture quality with sets costing hundreds more. It's great.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mark60
SE, CT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Big TV Small Price!
6/17/2008

Customer review by moondog79

5.0 stars 6/17/2008 by moondog79
by moondog79

I highly recommend this tv. I have done extensive research on LCD televisions, and Walmart had the best price. Other retailers want over $2000 for much smaller tvs with the same features. The sound quality is great, and setup is easy. The menu will walk you right through it step by step. Most retailers are avertising the dynamic contrast ratio on lcd tvs ( which is always a big number ), in which this tv is 29,000:1. I believe the static contrast ratio on this tv is 1,500:1. I have had this tv for 3 weeks now, and it is hard to turn off. With the 5 ms response time, playing my ps3 is awesome. So if you are on a budget or want to save money and looking for a great tv, this is the one. Thanks Walmart!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
moondog79
Brandon, MS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Beautiful TV
8/13/2008

Customer review by barrry

5.0 stars 8/13/2008 by barrry
by barrry

This LCD TV has as good of a picture as any Plasma and uses less juice. You won't find a better picture. It only fades a little when you are nearly beside it. I won't even need to order the HD package from my cable provider. Most channels have a perfect picture. You can see every pimple and even cracked lips without the HD package. The sound is incredible, needs to be tweaked a bit with the equalizer, but it's really easy to hook up and get running,, 5 minutes. If I had known how good the sound was I wouldn't have bought a surround system, although it is nice to have surround sound for special movies or events.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
barrry
Bay City, Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great TV
7/29/2008

Customer review by gimmidat

4.0 stars 7/29/2008 by gimmidat
by gimmidat

The picture on this t.v. (particularly watching programming in HD is awesome), you see a lot more definition on your morning journalist. The depth of texture and sharpness is incredible (and I only use an s-video cable). This T.V. was an upgrade from the 32in. I used in the living room. I use the s-video connection for regular viewing. (Will go HDMI in a few months since this one is used mostly for gaming.) The sound is good, but I upgraded to theater surround sound (also, Phillips). This T.V. has 3 HDMI connections, 3 component, composite, s-video, side usb etc... great value for the money too.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
gimmidat
Fort Worth, Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Ok for awhile
9/28/2008

Customer review by meg25uncp

1.0 stars 9/28/2008 by meg25uncp
by meg25uncp

I bought this tv in august and was disappointed by how blurry it was with my direct tv. I called to ask why it was like this and was told their is an update to my tv thta needs to be installed. The information on the phillips website is compressed and I could not get it to be recognized by my tv throigh the ubc port so they are sending me another stick. I really think that 1000 is too much for me to have to spend more time calling and installing software. Thsi should have been done in the factory!!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
meg25uncp
Would recommend to a friend? No
6/21/2008

Customer review by MULKIE

5.0 stars 6/21/2008 by MULKIE
by MULKIE

RECEIVED THIS LCD 47" TV FOR FATHERS DAY. EASY TO INSTALL AND I AM VERY HAPPY WITH IT'S PERFOMANCE, BUT WITHOUT SOME SORT OF GUIDE YOU HAVE TO SCAN TOO MUCH TO SEE WHATS ON AND WHEN, WHICH OF COARSE IS THE FAULT OF COMCAST. THEY WANT YOU TO UPGRADE BUT NO WAY OF KNOWING WHATS ON. GREAT BUY AND EXTENDED WARRANTY IS VERY REASONABLE, I WISH I COULD HAVE GOTTEN THE 3 YEAR EXTENDED WARRANTY BUT THAT COULD ONLY BE DONE THRU THE INTERNET, AND MY KIDS WANTED TO SURPRISE ME.

Was this review helpful? (0) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MULKIE
SHARON, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
great product
7/10/2008

Customer review by ilovetoshopoo7

5.0 stars 7/10/2008 by ilovetoshopoo7
by ilovetoshopoo7

after carfull considration and research this phlips tv was a great buy . we are very happy with it its easy to use and pleanty of controls to adjust the picture the way you want it . with strong colors and good contrast and also has an equlizer to change sound. with a fast responce time of 5 wich is very good most tvs are 6 7 0r 8 this tv is great . we also bougth a phlips dvd player with up convert wich tranforms your normal dvd.s into hd very good picture .

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ilovetoshopoo7
corbin ky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great for the money
8/25/2008

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 8/25/2008 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I was looking to upgrade my TV for my PS3/Blu-Ray and this set looked good. After fiddling with the picture and sound as well as updating the firmware through Philips' website, I'm very satisfied with this television. Navigating the menus are tricky at first. Eventually I'll get a surround sound system for the full movie experience, but the sound on this TV has a decent range. A great starter for folks just now upgrading to a flat panel. Overall : A to A-

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Northern IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
An Excellent Product
10/16/2008

Customer review by Beachkidz

5.0 stars 10/16/2008 by Beachkidz
by Beachkidz

We love our new Phillips 47" HDTV !! We have had a RCA 36" tube tv for over 20 years and since it was Analog we thought it would be the right time to change to Digital, especially with the changes coming. It took us several months to decide on this TV but we couldn't be happier with our choice. We just had Dish Satellite installed and wow it's like being at the movies !! We plan to purchase Phillips surround sound system to enhance the sound quality.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Beachkidz
Iowa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
A good value tv
7/13/2008

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 7/13/2008 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer
Walmart associate

TV has average picture quality without a digital cable/satellite subscription. Picture quality improved with the installation of my digital cable and HDMI cable I purchased at WMT for under $27.00. HD channels look good, although I have seen better on more expensive sets. This set has 3 HDMI inputs which is great if you have a Blue Ray player and/or a gaming console. Overall, TV is a good for the price.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Bentonville, AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Walmart associate
simply great
7/7/2008

Customer review by jeepbuff

5.0 stars 7/7/2008 by jeepbuff
by jeepbuff

This tv is amazing i have been looking for about a month trying to find a combination of piture and price. This phillips excceeds that through amazing picture. but with an hd cable box. Blu-ray and hd dvd look perfect and upconvert dvd's look very good. like with all lcd and plasma tv's regular analog signal will not look good. This tv has picture and features of tv's costing hundreds more. Buy it

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jeepbuff
westfield ma.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 60 total reviews
1-20 of 60 reviews