Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 577 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

577 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

577 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

88%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
379
4 stars
125
3 stars
22
2 stars
13
1 stars
38
1-20 of 550 total reviews
88%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 550 total reviews
1-20 of 550 reviews
Less than 2 year life span
12/30/2010

Customer review by CoherentPC

2.0 stars 12/30/2010 by CoherentPC
by CoherentPC

Had our unit less than 2 years. Will not heat and turns off after 29 seconds. It was top rated by Consumer Reports back then. A few months after we bought ours, we bought one for my in-laws. GE said the magnatron is the issue and that part has 5 year warranty (no labor coverage). They wanted me to pay service person $84.50 travel fee plus time to install it. I had GE just ship it to me. The part arrive 2 days later. It was idiot simple to replace. But unit still did not work. Called GE back now they want to sell a $70 capacitor and possibly even a control panel. The guy claimed that the failing magnatron usually takes the capacitor out with it. Not a chance. Giving another brand a shot now. Just hope my mother-in-laws lasts longer.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CoherentPC
Algonquin, IL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
GE Profile 2.2 Cu. Ft. Countertop Microwave Oven
1/24/2016

Customer review by billl

4.0 stars 1/24/2016 by billl
by billl

This is my third one. Bought second in 2007. Great microwave for the money. Very easy to use and reset. Only flaw is the cheap plastic door latch. Who knows how long the second one would have lasted if the latch hadn't failed.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
billl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
5 yr. limit
12/30/2015

Customer review by NWdentalassist

3.0 stars 12/30/2015 by NWdentalassist
by NWdentalassist

Roomy inside for cookware, but door becomes an issue. Thinking because it was a new microwave the door was harder to close than previous one. This continued to be an issue, so I contacted GE. Of course I didn't realize warranty had expired a month prior. After repeatedly having to 'slam' the door in order to close door so that the microwave would actually work, latch broke. Maybe I'm expecting too much that a microwave SHOULD last 5 yrs.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NWdentalassist
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great Performance
1/24/2016

Customer review by ajcaccia

5.0 stars 1/24/2016 by ajcaccia
by ajcaccia

Specifically sought out this model again. Bought my original one several years ago and it finally needed replacement after normal wear and tear. This model is the best value for the money and the size is great for a family. You can easily fit a 9x13 pan into the unit and the power output heats up the food in 60% of the time of most other microwaves.

ajcaccia
Rockford, IL, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
GE Microwave
1/28/2016

Customer review by scrub

5.0 stars 1/28/2016 by scrub
by scrub

Great looks and quality, also has all the features we could ever want

scrub
Salem, MO, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Well made and easy to run
1/24/2016

Customer review by Fireman3152

5.0 stars 1/24/2016 by Fireman3152
by Fireman3152

I had to replace my 30+ yr old microwave and looked all around . Till I found this one . What won me and my wife over is how well made and the size and how easy it was to use . The clean looks and the turn table and how well it cooks . We could not ask for a nicer microwave to buy .

Fireman3152
Up state NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Microwave
1/26/2016

Customer review by banamom

5.0 stars 1/26/2016 by banamom
by banamom

You can push 1 or 2 buttons and the unit does the rest!

banamom
Salem, OR, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Overall Happy With Purchase
8/23/2013

Customer review by MariahL

4.0 stars 8/23/2013 by MariahL
by MariahL

I bought this microwave based on a thorough comparison of other countertop microwaves on the market and a review of Consumers Reports recommendations. Overall, I am happy with the purchase, but believe that microwave technology is still evolving. This microwave comes with many features, but realistically I only utilize a few of them consistently. I regularly use the defrost function, but was disappointed to find that sensor cooking seems to overheat the food. I have never used sensor cooking technology before, so it was not a big deal for me to go back to just guessing the time that my food should be in there - but I will say, I was hoping this function was going to work more efficiently! I love the amount of room inside of the microwave, my paper towel covering the food no longer hits the inside of the microwave. The draw back is that the outside is large - I just put mine in a deep corner on my countertop, but if someone does not have the counter space I could see this being an issue.

MariahL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
great features
1/23/2016

Customer review by oled

5.0 stars 1/23/2016 by oled
by oled

I bought this GEORGE because the last one is owned work for 30 Years. I believe in GOD

oled
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Bad Choice
11/28/2009

Customer review by Up2Long

1.0 stars 11/28/2009 by Up2Long
by Up2Long

I bought this unit less than two years ago. It started to develop an RF leak and now it won't work. It starts and then 3 seconds latter it shuts down. There were comments from various other sources that this unit's magnetron is the problem. The warranty doesn't cover this problem. If you want it fixed be prepared to pay a lot of money.

Was this review helpful? (45) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Up2Long
Would recommend to a friend? No
Wonderful product!
1/21/2016

Customer review by 2difor

5.0 stars 1/21/2016 by 2difor
by 2difor

This is the second one like this that I purchased because I like it soooo much. It heats up quickly, has great features and is roomy. I love it.

2difor
Maryland, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
broke after 2 years
10/7/2010

Customer review by carrsquer

1.0 stars 10/7/2010 by carrsquer
by carrsquer

have owned it 2 years and it has stopped heating. reading other reviews i now see that it is a common problem wish these reviews were here 2 years ago! i would not havwe bought it

Was this review helpful? (51) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
carrsquer
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
Microwave
1/19/2016

Customer review by rmt21

5.0 stars 1/19/2016 by rmt21
by rmt21

I love the key pad and the dept of the microwave, it is large The wattage is great the food get very hot quick I have recommended to my sister. The price is also great for the product

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
rmt21
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Loved it...
8/18/2008

Customer review by chrissij

3.0 stars 8/18/2008 by chrissij
by chrissij

until it broke. I purchased this microwave in September of 2007. I love the size, the features, everything about it. Unfortunately, it no longer heats up anything, making it a rather expensive timer and clock. I'm hoping GE will cover the repair. I suspect the problem is the magnetron. We'll see.

Was this review helpful? (72) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
chrissij
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
Works perfectly
1/13/2016

Customer review by SarahA

5.0 stars 1/13/2016 by SarahA
by SarahA

We got this at our new office and it's great plus looks amazing!

SarahA
Seattle, WA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
nice features, runs Well...but.....
11/30/2008

Customer review by RDW1

2.0 stars 11/30/2008 by RDW1
by RDW1

Pros: Nice size, nice features, runs well and gets food hot fast Cons: The door cracked in 2 places about a month after we purchased it. It doesn't impact the functionality but it does look awful. The tray inside also no longer rotates after having it less than a year. If you are only heating up on thing in the center of it then its not a problem but part of the reason we bought this was because its size would normally allow for heating up several side dishes or two full dinner plates at once.

Was this review helpful? (50) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RDW1
Would recommend to a friend? No
A real work horse!!
1/8/2016

Customer review by Pantera1421

5.0 stars 1/8/2016 by Pantera1421
by Pantera1421

We've been using this microwave for 8 months now and have had zero problems. The unit is rock solid and never falters. My only suggestion for improvement would be to add a swipe lighted keyboard feature. The keypad is kind of crowded and at times difficult to read in reduced lighting situations.

Pantera1421
North Augusta, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very Stream Line
1/12/2016

Customer review by Penwen

5.0 stars 1/12/2016 by Penwen
by Penwen

Love my new microwave is so reliable and modern great Brand!

Penwen
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
bad news
5/25/2011

Customer review by mgbjim

1.0 stars 5/25/2011 by mgbjim
by mgbjim

Great for two years and then just died. GE may be able to fix it after you pay for a service charge and parts and labor. In other words, just go buy a new one and don't make it a GE!! Our old Sharp lasted 20 years and was still working when we gave it away!

Was this review helpful? (17) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mgbjim
Charlotte, NC area
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Lemon, Don't Buy It!!!
9/5/2009

Customer review by Susan52

1.0 stars 9/5/2009 by Susan52
by Susan52

I purchased this in December 2006. On September 9, 2009 it totally went out. Since it is past the 1 year warranty, it is my tough luck. It is more economical to buy another microwave than to repair this one. I thought GE was supposed to be a good brand? After this experience, I will never buy another GE microwave. My previous microwave lasted 15 years - and it wasn't even a quality brand . I strongly advise against purchasing this microwave. I can't believe it went out so soon.

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Susan52
San Marcos, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 550 total reviews
1-20 of 550 reviews