Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 509 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

509 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

509 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

87%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
330
4 stars
111
3 stars
20
2 stars
12
1 stars
36
1-20 of 482 total reviews
87%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 482 total reviews
1-20 of 482 reviews
Loved it...
8/18/2008

Customer review by chrissij

3.0 stars 8/18/2008 by chrissij
by chrissij

until it broke. I purchased this microwave in September of 2007. I love the size, the features, everything about it. Unfortunately, it no longer heats up anything, making it a rather expensive timer and clock. I'm hoping GE will cover the repair. I suspect the problem is the magnetron. We'll see.

Was this review helpful? (63) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
chrissij
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
broke after 2 years
10/7/2010

Customer review by carrsquer

1.0 stars 10/7/2010 by carrsquer
by carrsquer

have owned it 2 years and it has stopped heating. reading other reviews i now see that it is a common problem wish these reviews were here 2 years ago! i would not havwe bought it

Was this review helpful? (41) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
carrsquer
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
nice features, runs Well...but.....
11/30/2008

Customer review by RDW1

2.0 stars 11/30/2008 by RDW1
by RDW1

Pros: Nice size, nice features, runs well and gets food hot fast Cons: The door cracked in 2 places about a month after we purchased it. It doesn't impact the functionality but it does look awful. The tray inside also no longer rotates after having it less than a year. If you are only heating up on thing in the center of it then its not a problem but part of the reason we bought this was because its size would normally allow for heating up several side dishes or two full dinner plates at once.

Was this review helpful? (44) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RDW1
Would recommend to a friend? No
Bad Choice
11/28/2009

Customer review by Up2Long

1.0 stars 11/28/2009 by Up2Long
by Up2Long

I bought this unit less than two years ago. It started to develop an RF leak and now it won't work. It starts and then 3 seconds latter it shuts down. There were comments from various other sources that this unit's magnetron is the problem. The warranty doesn't cover this problem. If you want it fixed be prepared to pay a lot of money.

Was this review helpful? (35) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Up2Long
Would recommend to a friend? No
bad news
5/25/2011

Customer review by mgbjim

1.0 stars 5/25/2011 by mgbjim
by mgbjim

Great for two years and then just died. GE may be able to fix it after you pay for a service charge and parts and labor. In other words, just go buy a new one and don't make it a GE!! Our old Sharp lasted 20 years and was still working when we gave it away!

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mgbjim
Charlotte, NC area
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Lemon, Don't Buy It!!!
9/5/2009

Customer review by Susan52

1.0 stars 9/5/2009 by Susan52
by Susan52

I purchased this in December 2006. On September 9, 2009 it totally went out. Since it is past the 1 year warranty, it is my tough luck. It is more economical to buy another microwave than to repair this one. I thought GE was supposed to be a good brand? After this experience, I will never buy another GE microwave. My previous microwave lasted 15 years - and it wasn't even a quality brand . I strongly advise against purchasing this microwave. I can't believe it went out so soon.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Susan52
San Marcos, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Hoping it works longer
5/24/2008

Customer review by Hoagie

5.0 stars 5/24/2008 by Hoagie
by Hoagie

This is my second purchase of this microwave oven. The first one was bought in Aug. of 2006. It quit working about a month ago and of course, was out of warranty. The cost to repair was more than the cost of this new one, so I bought a new one. I liked the oven well engough to give it a second chance. I am hoping the first one was a lemon. Keeping my fingers crossed!!!

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Hoagie
Columbus,IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Unhappy
5/28/2009

Customer review by Turtle22

2.0 stars 5/28/2009 by Turtle22
by Turtle22

My husband and I received this microwave as a wedding gift. Six months later...it doesn't work! After about a 2 months we noticed that food wasn't getting as hot as it used to. 4 months it would take twice as long to heat something....6 months, it just shuts off when we try to run it. Since it was a gift (with no gift receipt) we are having trouble finding someone to fix it and honor the 1 year warrenty. I was very angry when I found out that GE doesn't cover my area! Needless to say...I am very unhappy.

Was this review helpful? (11) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Turtle22
Hermitage, PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great Microwave with many features !
8/13/2012

Customer review by ewmay1

5.0 stars 8/13/2012 by ewmay1
by ewmay1

I purchased this Microwave March 2008 and it went through 4 years of holiday cooking and everyday life cooking and is still the house main cooker! It is very helpful if you read all of the features in the manual !!

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ewmay1
Winchester, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
do not buy!
11/4/2009

Customer review by walmartshoppa

1.0 stars 11/4/2009 by walmartshoppa
by walmartshoppa

we purchased on Oct 19th '09. stopped working within days. on a daily basis trips the outlet & we are not even using the oven. & has never cooked a potato. turns off without warning, leaving food cold and/or not cooked. tried the inverter defrost, that worked. but as for everyday normal use its pretty useless! VERY DISAPPOINTED that this was on the very top of the consumer reports list. Im very unhappy with this product!!! bringing it back to walmart tomorrow!

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
walmartshoppa
las vegas, nv
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
7/27/2011

Customer review by APhi

5.0 stars 7/27/2011 by APhi
by APhi

This is the third GE Profile that I have bought. My first was for myself, then one for my first daughter to go to college, and finally this last one for my youngest daughter who just graduated from nursing school and moved about 2 hours away. We have had no problems at all from these microwaves, and some of them have been moved around quite a bit. They are roomy and are super fast. I would not hesitate to buy this product again. One word of caution, since they are so fast at cooking, the programmed popcorn time is really too long. I cut it short, or you will have burned popcorn.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
APhi
Mesquite, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Less than 2 year life span
12/30/2010

Customer review by CoherentPC

2.0 stars 12/30/2010 by CoherentPC
by CoherentPC

Had our unit less than 2 years. Will not heat and turns off after 29 seconds. It was top rated by Consumer Reports back then. A few months after we bought ours, we bought one for my in-laws. GE said the magnatron is the issue and that part has 5 year warranty (no labor coverage). They wanted me to pay service person $84.50 travel fee plus time to install it. I had GE just ship it to me. The part arrive 2 days later. It was idiot simple to replace. But unit still did not work. Called GE back now they want to sell a $70 capacitor and possibly even a control panel. The guy claimed that the failing magnatron usually takes the capacitor out with it. Not a chance. Giving another brand a shot now. Just hope my mother-in-laws lasts longer.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CoherentPC
Algonquin, IL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Microwave
3/25/2009

Customer review by Kgreen07

5.0 stars 3/25/2009 by Kgreen07
by Kgreen07

This microwave oven is great, large enough in size to make larger servings and very easy to use. Would recommend to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (5) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Kgreen07
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
a great product
5/10/2009

Customer review by ShoppingToShop

5.0 stars 5/10/2009 by ShoppingToShop
by ShoppingToShop

I find this prduct to be wonderful. An earlier comment on 02/22/2009 mentioned the blue side. They forgot to remove the blue shipping plastic protective cover. Duh. It just peels off.

Was this review helpful? (4) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ShoppingToShop
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Cooking Good
8/7/2010

Customer review by AllOfTheGoodOnesAreTaken

5.0 stars 8/7/2010 by AllOfTheGoodOnesAreTaken
by AllOfTheGoodOnesAreTaken

Totally pleased with this purchase - both with the product and with Walmart. I bought this to replace a Panasonic Inverter microwave oven that I had for over a decade. This GE model is its twin in size, power, and features. Unit works well and has nice settings, too. Price was unbelievably low to boot. So low that two local retailers refused to match the price, stating that it was less than their wholesale cost. Shipping was speedy, also. I received it much sooner than the web site predicted. Kudos to Walmart for great service.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AllOfTheGoodOnesAreTaken
Long Island, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
GE Profile 2.2 cu.ft. microwave oven
2/21/2011

Customer review by MWclehts

4.0 stars 2/21/2011 by MWclehts
by MWclehts

Overall an excellent product. Three gripes on controls: 1)the current "minute add on" is not as helpful as the former "30 seconds add on"; the "Start" key area is hard to find--need to relearn location & visually check; previous option for hitting the "1" through "6" keys and having the integer's value in minutes start rather than entering, e.g., "100" for 1 minute and no seconds, and then start is not as helpful. Finally while the shipper for Walmart badly damaged the first unit, Walmart did more than their share to get me another unit without added cost to me in either the return of the damaged unit or shipment of the new unit.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MWclehts
Cleveland, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Disappointed
4/23/2010

Customer review by QueenBeez

2.0 stars 4/23/2010 by QueenBeez
by QueenBeez

This appliance stopped working less than 6 months after I bought it. Repairs will cost more than it's worth. I expected better from a GE product, so I'm very disappointed and not likely to trust that brand again.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
QueenBeez
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
Great While It Lasted
2/7/2011

Customer review by Rocko1963

1.0 stars 2/7/2011 by Rocko1963
by Rocko1963

I had this microwave less than 3 years. It was used lightly and had some nice features. It stopped working with no warning. When turned on it clicks a couple times and then nothing. My last microwave lasted 12 years before it broke. I'm very disappointed with GE. They used to make some of the best products you could buy.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Rocko1963
Pennsylvania
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great size for larger meals-easy to use features.
10/27/2012

Customer review by ckbt

5.0 stars 10/27/2012 by ckbt
by ckbt

My previous microwave lasted 26 years. Hopefully this one will, too. I'm loving the "side dish" feature and experimenting with different ways to use it. The sensor feature really works and takes the guesswork out of timing the cooking of different foods.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ckbt
St. Cloud, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
GE Profile 2.2 Cu. Ft. Countertop Microwave Oven
8/11/2011

Customer review by Crafty6446

4.0 stars 8/11/2011 by Crafty6446
by Crafty6446

Damage to front of Microwave - dented.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Crafty6446
61231
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 482 total reviews
1-20 of 482 reviews