Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 1361 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

1361 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

1361 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

86%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
854
4 stars
284
3 stars
95
2 stars
61
1 stars
67
1-20 of 1238 total reviews
86%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 1238 total reviews
1-20 of 1238 reviews
Great product
4/2/2010

Customer review by WalkinMomma

5.0 stars 4/2/2010 by WalkinMomma
by WalkinMomma

This vacuum is light and portable. It has great suction, as well. Even if I have just vacuumed the day before, it will pick up a ton of dust the next day. The dust receptacle is easy to disengage and empty into the trash. It is easier to maneuver with the ball--it is easier on your back and hips, which is important right now because I am nearly 39 weeks along pregnant. The brush on the bottom comes undone easily for getting hair and other things off--it will turn off automatically if something gets hung up on it. The handle comes out and transforms into a handheld apparatus that is also convenient and looks like it will not break easily. With the touch of a button, when you are ready to put it away the handle will lower down into the rest of the vacuum, making it only a few feet tall and not very wide. It's a dream. The cord isn't very long--you will need to find a new plugin every time you switch rooms.

Was this review helpful? (93) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WalkinMomma
Oklahoma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
This vacuums SUCKS...
4/12/2009

Customer review by Love2Vacuum

5.0 stars 4/12/2009 by Love2Vacuum
by Love2Vacuum
Walmart associate

...and I mean that in a good way!!! I wanted to purchase this item, because I have seen it so much on television, I thought I would give that guy a chance. I have owned vacuums before, and they always stop working, they loose their suction and before you know it, they don't pick up anything. It picks up baby powder, sand, crushed up crackers, cat hair, you name it, it gets it. I have long hair and I am use to taking vacuums apart, to get my hair off the brushes. This vacuum has a great feature, where if it gets loaded with hair or string, the brushes shut off. I usually spend a good 1/2 hour taking the vacuum apart to get the hair or string out, not with this one, there is a lever on the side that you turn and then the whole brush comes out, pull the hair out and put it back in. I was shocked that I didn't have to get the screwdriver out and spend a lot of time on this. I have to empty out the canister a lot, but it is because it works so well, I am getting everything that my old vacuums did not get. Once I get everything off the floor that they left behind, I should not have to empty so much. I love this vacuum, I would recommed it to everyone, because it is light, easy to move around, and sucks like no other vacuum I have ever had!!!

Was this review helpful? (217) (21)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Love2Vacuum
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Walmart associate
Small But Mighty
8/19/2011

Customer review by Hayes78

4.0 stars 8/19/2011 by Hayes78
by Hayes78

This vacuum is small, but mighty! There are several positives with this product that really outweighs the negatives. If knowing the size of the vacuum was an option, I would have chosen the larger model.(I ordered online vs seeing the product in the store) I have a 3500 sq ft house so this model is a tad too small. It does however, clean the carpets to a "professional" clean look, fluffing the carpets perfectly. It also has a brush that's removable so you can clean the clean hair, string, etc. that gets caught in the brush from time to time. It's beyond the lightest thing ever! The cleaning attachments are on the not so great side. The hose is too short for my ceilings/removing cobwebs, and the one attachment you get is nothing to write home about. The cord on this model doesn't reach far enough for my liking. Overall, this is a great vacuum for a small apartment/dorm that doesn't require heavy vacuuming daily. The pluses outweigh the minuses for sure! Love Dyson and their products!

Hayes78
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Fantastic Product
1/20/2009

Customer review by boregard2

5.0 stars 1/20/2009 by boregard2
by boregard2

I love this dyson. I have a canister dyson which has incredible pickup also but as I'm 64, it became tough to pull it around. We decided to try the Dyson upright DC24 as it was advertised as light weight. It is and it's so much easier to use. It also has great pickup and with a dog that sheds so much that's important.

Was this review helpful? (69) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
boregard2
Gaffney SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
My Dyson
1/19/2016

Customer review by Giss

5.0 stars 1/19/2016 by Giss
by Giss

It is a good machine it handles well and not to bad on the light weight. It does a great job on cleaning.

Giss
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
dyson DC24
12/21/2010

Customer review by dmspeiser

3.0 stars 12/21/2010 by dmspeiser
by dmspeiser

These are things that you might want to address. Even though I would recommend your product, there are things that are not pleasant. 1. The red lever that moves the machine into working mode does not always work, and it is difficult to get it to work by stepping on it. 2. It is very difficult to use the extention in close or corner areas because the coils and the plastic do not stretch far enough and the machine lifts off the floor and falls with trying to clear over something. 3. The plastic canister that collects the dirt does not seat easily. You have to work too hard to get it to reseat. You almost feel that if you push too hard that you will break something. Not durable. 4. You should have made the head an inch lower and it would have gone under everything. 5. I like the way that it moves easily over carpet and floor. 6. I like that it is light weight because I have to carry it up and down stairs. 7. I like that is swivals easily and has great suction. Please contact me.

dmspeiser
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Great for hard floors, horrible for carpet
7/5/2012

Customer review by Emilyrocks

1.0 stars 7/5/2012 by Emilyrocks
by Emilyrocks

Okay it was hard to decide whether to give 1 star or 2, but I just couldn't give it a 'fair'. I've considered purchasing a Dyson for years and finally took the plunge. I was so excited to receive this vacuum, I wanted to love it so badly! I don't, at all, I'm so disappointed in it. It does a really horrible job on carpet, you can feel that it has hardly any suction and doesn't pick up worth anything. I had an itsy bitsy piece of paper right on the top of my carpet and it took THREE swipes to pick it up! Then I vacuumed one room with it, very thoroughly, and noted how much was in the dust cup. I took out my old cheap Shark vacuum, under $100, and re vacuumed that same room. There was more in that dust cup than there was in the Dyson immediately after using the Dyson. I really can't understand how such an expensive vacuum could do so poorly. The cord is also very short, shortest I've ever had on a vacuum. It's just annoying to have to keep plugging into different outlets. I have to say it does work great on hard floors. Even with the roller brush on it didn't spit stuff around like most vacuums do. I also love the size and how it maneuvers. I need a vacuum that works great on both carpet and tile, so sadly this is going back. Not sure what I'm going to get now. Big bummer.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Emilyrocks
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Hated It!
8/7/2010

Customer review by pocket123

1.0 stars 8/7/2010 by pocket123
by pocket123

Don't waste your money! This is a terrible vacuum! I have a dog, cat and 3 children ages 3, 1 & 1. I have to have a clean floor. I was very excited to get my Dyson. I had a much cheaper vacuum prior to the Dyson and was frustrated by many of the features, but appreciated it's fabulous suction. I thought the Dyson would solve all my problems. Unfortunately, it was the worst purchase I've ever made!!! The suction was horrible, and the attachments were useless. I called Dyson to see if my machine was defective, and they were no help! I was told they never hear anything but compliments about the suction of their machines and I must be doing something wrong. I'm not mensa, but I'm not too stupid to know how to use a vacuum. It does not leave vacuum lines in the carpet. I was told it's not supposed to (they designed not to leave lines), and I had to go over each are of my carpet several times to get up little pieces of debris. The attachments were completely useless. They were designed for someone very tall. This is a terrible vacuum and I'd recommend choosing another machine! Don't fall for the marketing!

Was this review helpful? (12) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
pocket123
Richmond, VA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
the best
1/2/2016

Customer review by ritchie

5.0 stars 1/2/2016 by ritchie
by ritchie

we owned this machine for over three years we bought the floor model used ........it's been running strong this whole time ....even survived a pit bull attack our '' family pet''.......still running strong we are very happy with it .....thank you folks at Dyson...........

ritchie
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
AMAZING!!!
11/28/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 11/28/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

This thing is amazing! My wife and I had read reviews about it before purchasing and saw that a lot of people had issues with the canister size. We have a 2-story, 3 bedroom house and have had no issue yet. Some of the reviews said that the canister would fill up too fast..... Naturally this would happen if you had a need for a new vaccuum and purchased one of these. This thing was pulling up things that our previous vaccuum had missed. With the power and efficiency of the DC24 there should be no need for a large canister unless you only vaccuum once a month. The idea that people want to vaccuum their entire house from one outlet and without emptying the canister seems a bit absurd. The light weight and numerous handles make it amazingly portable and the ball makes it incredibly maneuverable. My wife is 39 weeks pregnant(she insisted) and has no problem at all using/carrying it anywhere. The only issue I have found is that the handle doesn't lock in the "down" position. Definitely worth every penny!

An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Best vacuum ever
12/20/2010

Customer review by mjholt

5.0 stars 12/20/2010 by mjholt
by mjholt

We bought our Dyson a 1 1/2 years ago. We have three dogs, two are big with heavy coats, and they are in and out of the house. We also have a lot of mud, dirt, hay, and dust because we live in the country. The Dyson vacuums it all up. The suction is so powerful that it gets find sand as well as the larger parts. I have allergies, and the exhaust is not blown in my face. The is the first vacuum cleaner that has not seriously bothered me and which works. I have owned almost every brand of vacuum cleaner available -- both upright and canister -- and this is the best. There are some parts that I wish they would change, such as the latch for the canister, which is hard to operate and which i always worry about breaking. That is the biggest drawback. The metal section of the wand is too long for easy use on sofa cushions and drapes, but again that is a small annoyance compared to the fact that it gets the dirt, dust, and dog hair. This is a lot of money to spend on a vacuum cleaner, but it works very well.

mjholt
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
DC24 Multi Floor
1/2/2016

Customer review by Raulf

5.0 stars 1/2/2016 by Raulf
by Raulf

I have had this Dyson for 4 years and it is still running great! Out of all the vacuums I have used, this one is my favorite. I don't see myself buying a new vacuum for a few years. But when I do it will be a Dyson.

Raulf
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Breath of Fresh Air
1/12/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 1/12/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

My husband and I have three big dogs and a 4 bedroom home with only carpet in the bedrooms and hardwood/area rugs throughout. We have recently had to throw away our last two cheap vacuums because they lost suction and smelled awful when we vacuumed no matter how many times we changed or washed the filters. When looking back we discovered that we had spent over $700 in the last five years on vacuums and their accessories and I decided enough was enough. I purchased our first dyson a few weeks ago and I can't believe how amazingly clean my house is! Considering I'm a bit of a neat freak, I didn't think it could get any cleaner, but the Dyson seems to find the dirt and suck it up. I was worried at first the DC24 would be too small for the size of our house, but it works perfectly! I love that you don't have to even touch the nasty stuff it found in my rugs, just press a button and it falls right out into the trash can. And the room just smells so clean and fresh now, I can finally breath again when vacuuming!

An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
DC24
5/30/2012

Customer review by drlong

5.0 stars 5/30/2012 by drlong
by drlong

After my mother purchased a Dyson vacuum for her home, I was the first person to try it out and I was totally amazed with it. Whatever you have seen on TV commercials regarding the Dyson vacuum is true. The Dyson does have an amazing ability to maintain suction, its engineering is well thought out, and ergonomically, I don't have to worry about hurting my back or other joints while vacuuming now. The ease at which you can clean the filters and canister, along with minimal mess really is a positive factor. I needed a vacuum for my small business office and guess what I purchased? The DC 24 is a smaller & lighter version of my mother's Dyson, but it still has the same ability to maintain a powerful suction and it has the same wonderful features. The DC 24 is a perfect match for any home or office. I give both Dyson vacuum's "5 Stars" because they are the best of all the rest on the market, and once you try it, you won't ever be satisfied with anything less of what it has to offer which is a lot for your money!

drlong
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Fantastic vacuum
12/22/2010

Customer review by RMG525

5.0 stars 12/22/2010 by RMG525
by RMG525

I have owned this vacuum for 3 years. It is by far the best vacuum. I love that with the click of one button, I can roll it from carpet to hard floors. The hose detaches easily to get into all the nooks and crannys. It feels powerful when you are vacuuming and you truly feel like its picking up anything and everything out of your carpet. I have 2 young children so I am constantly vacuuming up cheerios and kid friendly snacks. It doesn't scatter food crumbs (especially on hard floors) like other vacuums I have had that just make it take longer to clean. The canister is easy to clean and virtually hands free. When I purchased this vacuum new, I bought it from a small store that allowed me to take it home and try it out before buying it. The salesman told me to vacuum with my regular vacuum first and then vacuum with the dyson as a follow up. I was amazed at how much MORE the dyson picked up after my old vacuum! I was sold instantly. Definitely worth the investment!

RMG525
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
worth the price? yes!
4/9/2009

Customer review by kanukgirl

5.0 stars 4/9/2009 by kanukgirl
by kanukgirl

this was an expensive purchase BUT it cleans better than any other vacuum I've ever own, its quiets on carpets, its really good on hard wood floors (it doesn't blow the dust/dirt away from its exaust) soooo easy to manoeuver!! the dirt canister seams a little small because I have to empty it ALOT, either it is small or picks up lots!

Was this review helpful? (55) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kanukgirl
Pennsylvania
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great Vacuum- a step up from the DC-14
1/3/2011

Customer review by Cmonster

4.0 stars 1/3/2011 by Cmonster
by Cmonster

This is the third Dyson vacuum I have had the pleasure of owning, and definitely the best. The design has improved over the years and quality has never disappointed. Constant air flow is strong unless the canister is way too full. The hose assembly detaches very easily and has good length. Again the design is better and easier to use than previous models. The beater bar is also motorized rather than air driven, which helps pull things out of the carpet (for good or bad)- just be careful on and around rugs or anything that could be tangled. My only gripe with the vacuum is emptying the canister. Hair tends to collect on the grill part of the canister, which doesn't simply come off by opening the lid. I have to scrape it off. Although this is a pain, it doesn't outweigh the superior cleaning power of the vacuum and I highly recommend it to anyone. I am a college student with bad allergies and this is the only vacuum I trust to clean up after sloppy roommates.

Cmonster
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Dyson DC 24, only one complaint
12/21/2010

Customer review by Nolanick1

4.0 stars 12/21/2010 by Nolanick1
by Nolanick1

Overall, I really like my Dyson DC 24. It is easy to use, picks up a lot of debris and is very compact. The "ball" feature is its best attribute, allowing you to easily work around your furniture. The only complaint I have is that the rotating bristle brush on the main vaccum stops working from time to time and does not always re-set when you press the re-set switch. This requires you to take it appart, clean it and put it back. It's not a huge hassle, but when you are in the thick of cleaning and you have to stop and take your vaccum appart, it is a little frustrating. Also, I would not recommend picking your dyson up by the top handle when carrying up or down stairs. It has come apart on a couple of occasions, spilling debris and vaccum parts everywhere. Unless you have a very small living space requiring vaccuming, I would reccomend the larger model. The DC 24 fills up rather quick, requiring a lot of emptying. Other than that, it is a great vaccum.

Nolanick1
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Great Machine & Service
1/2/2012

Customer review by Ariane

4.0 stars 1/2/2012 by Ariane
by Ariane

I've owned my Dyson for about a year and half now. I've noticed that in the past couple of weeks, a truly horrible sound has been coming from the brushbar area. I removed the brushbar and the sound stopped. I looked up this issue online and found that it is typically due to a damaged brushbar and/or brushbar end cap. While this is unfortunate in such a new machine, I am pretty hard on my products, so I'm not too surprised. When I call the Dyson support center, I spoke with an associate. The associate was friendly and helpful. He asked me to turn the machine on, so he could listen to the sound. Even though he wasn't able to hear the sound to well, he immediately shipped me a new brushbar. He also registered my vacuum for me, since I had not registered it before. The only reason I did not give the DC24 five stars is the fact that I'm having this issue at all. Even so, if you're going to have an issue with one of your products, you would prefer it be a Dyson product, so that it will be resolved quickly and efficiently.

Ariane
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Love the vacuum; hate the filters
12/22/2010

Customer review by MtLady

4.0 stars 12/22/2010 by MtLady
by MtLady

I tried the vacuum out in the store to see how it cleaned and operated and how it felt before I bought it. I failed, however, to ask to remove the washable filter. I bought 3 of these, one for each floor of our large house. I was able with a little difficulty to pull out the filters by myself for about 1 1/2 years. Then I got osteoarthritis in my thumbs and wrists. Now I can't do it. My husband gets them out for me but they really are hard even for him! Maybe the newer ones are easier. Also the pull-out cleaning attachment with the long metal wand is a little awkward. Having one major complaint and one minor complaint, I love the cleaning! We have 2 cats and no children at home but live in a dry climate. I can't believed the amount of dirt and dust the Dyson sucks up. I love being able to see though the clear container when it's time to empty it; no guessing. I love not having to buy bags anymore. The cleaning is fantastic. If it weren't for having to deal with getting out the filters, I would have given it 5 stars.

MtLady
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
1-20 of 1238 total reviews
1-20 of 1238 reviews