Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 1356 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

1356 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

1356 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

85%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
849
4 stars
284
3 stars
95
2 stars
61
1 stars
67
1-20 of 1233 total reviews
85%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 1233 total reviews
1-20 of 1233 reviews
This vacuums SUCKS...
4/12/2009

Customer review by Love2Vacuum

5.0 stars 4/12/2009 by Love2Vacuum
by Love2Vacuum

...and I mean that in a good way!!! I wanted to purchase this item, because I have seen it so much on television, I thought I would give that guy a chance. I have owned vacuums before, and they always stop working, they loose their suction and before you know it, they don't pick up anything. It picks up baby powder, sand, crushed up crackers, cat hair, you name it, it gets it. I have long hair and I am use to taking vacuums apart, to get my hair off the brushes. This vacuum has a great feature, where if it gets loaded with hair or string, the brushes shut off. I usually spend a good 1/2 hour taking the vacuum apart to get the hair or string out, not with this one, there is a lever on the side that you turn and then the whole brush comes out, pull the hair out and put it back in. I was shocked that I didn't have to get the screwdriver out and spend a lot of time on this. I have to empty out the canister a lot, but it is because it works so well, I am getting everything that my old vacuums did not get. Once I get everything off the floor that they left behind, I should not have to empty so much. I love this vacuum, I would recommed it to everyone, because it is light, easy to move around, and sucks like no other vacuum I have ever had!!!

Was this review helpful? (216) (21)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Love2Vacuum
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Walmart associate
Great product
4/2/2010

Customer review by WalkinMomma

5.0 stars 4/2/2010 by WalkinMomma
by WalkinMomma

This vacuum is light and portable. It has great suction, as well. Even if I have just vacuumed the day before, it will pick up a ton of dust the next day. The dust receptacle is easy to disengage and empty into the trash. It is easier to maneuver with the ball--it is easier on your back and hips, which is important right now because I am nearly 39 weeks along pregnant. The brush on the bottom comes undone easily for getting hair and other things off--it will turn off automatically if something gets hung up on it. The handle comes out and transforms into a handheld apparatus that is also convenient and looks like it will not break easily. With the touch of a button, when you are ready to put it away the handle will lower down into the rest of the vacuum, making it only a few feet tall and not very wide. It's a dream. The cord isn't very long--you will need to find a new plugin every time you switch rooms.

Was this review helpful? (93) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WalkinMomma
Oklahoma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Fantastic Product
1/20/2009

Customer review by boregard2

5.0 stars 1/20/2009 by boregard2
by boregard2

I love this dyson. I have a canister dyson which has incredible pickup also but as I'm 64, it became tough to pull it around. We decided to try the Dyson upright DC24 as it was advertised as light weight. It is and it's so much easier to use. It also has great pickup and with a dog that sheds so much that's important.

Was this review helpful? (69) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
boregard2
Gaffney SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
worth the price? yes!
4/9/2009

Customer review by kanukgirl

5.0 stars 4/9/2009 by kanukgirl
by kanukgirl

this was an expensive purchase BUT it cleans better than any other vacuum I've ever own, its quiets on carpets, its really good on hard wood floors (it doesn't blow the dust/dirt away from its exaust) soooo easy to manoeuver!! the dirt canister seams a little small because I have to empty it ALOT, either it is small or picks up lots!

Was this review helpful? (55) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kanukgirl
Pennsylvania
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
not worth the price
2/28/2010

Customer review by hsmomJ

3.0 stars 2/28/2010 by hsmomJ
by hsmomJ

I finally got a Dyson, on clearance for half price. I must say that I am very disappointed. It is TOTALLY NOT worth the price. Even at 1/2 price we are taking it back to the store, something I rarely do. It is simply just a surface cleaner and not a deep cleaner. I first tried my DC24 on the hard floor in the kitchen and it did fine. What I would expect pretty much. Although, items such as cheerios and dried cat food were too tall to fit under the cleaning head. Next, I cleaned out the filters on both the DC24 and my Hoover. I cleaned a hallway with the Dyson, going over the carpet several times...more than I would normally. Next I vacuumed over the same area with my Hoover. Oh my! I was so surprised to see how much my Hoover picked up that was left by the Dyson. There was almost a half inch of sand and cat litter (yes, this is a high traffic spot at the front door that hasn't been cleaned well in a couple of weeks). There was dust and cat hairs covering the filter as well...plus more stuff the Dyson left behind. But it was the amount of sand and small grit that surprised me. Especially since there was hardly any dirt in the Dyson filter. Truthfully, for the price of a Dyson, it REALLY should be more than just a surface cleaner. I am very disappointed and can't understand how people can be so thrilled with this product when it doesn't pull up the deep down dirt. I would say this cleans about as good as the $50 dollar vac we had about 10 years ago that we used for quick surface cleaning. So, the price of $400 at reg retail is astonishing really. The only things going for it are: quiet, lightweight, looks cool. But I use my vacuum for cleaning the carpets, not for impressing my guests. Now I am still on the search for a lightweight vac my 6yr old can use easily. But I am now even more thrilled with my 10yr old Hoover which sucked up more dirt than the new fancy Dyson.

Was this review helpful? (18) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
hsmomJ
florida
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Excellent Value
10/15/2008

Customer review by Knightsong

5.0 stars 10/15/2008 by Knightsong
by Knightsong

I never would have believed the Dyson difference if I hadn't tried it myself. I can't believe how much power this tiny, light machine has. The brush disengages automatically if something becomes wound around it - such as a shoe string. The ball system makes it so maneuverable, also. Compare the one time expense of a Dyson to buying a new Hoover or Dirt Devil every year...it's really a no-brainer!

Was this review helpful? (17) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Knightsong
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
Engineering Marvel needs More Engineering
7/19/2009

Customer review by DenimFan

3.0 stars 7/19/2009 by DenimFan
by DenimFan

Dyson vacuums sound like the best, but after buying and trying one, I find Dyson tried to re-make the product and did not retain the tried and true features of good old vacuums. 1) We have wood floors with a few rugs, so the on/off switch is a real PAIN. It turns the vacuum on in the vibrating/rug mode which is NOT good for wood floors. So, I have to lift the vacuum to turn it on by pushing at least twice on the switch. It does not always "catch" to go from rug to floor mode, so then I have to push the switch again. The switch also doesn't always "catch" when I try to turn the vacuum off. 2) The dusting attachment (the only attachment that came with this $400 vacuum) does not curve for ease of use but instead sticks awkwardly straight out. And...there is no ease in attaching and detaching the attachment (and others if I chose to buy them). So, it is another awkward feature. 3) The cord is ridiculously short. 4) The ball is not as agile or as innovative as is promoted. I wonder if Mr. Dyson truly used his vacuum outside the laboratory. I would like to say that once I get it to running, I do like how it cleans the floors and then does a good job on our rugs as well. I love Wal-Mart, and I hate to return things, but I am seriously considering returning this vacuum.

Was this review helpful? (15) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DenimFan
Prescott, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Not what I expected
5/12/2010

Customer review by myron302

3.0 stars 5/12/2010 by myron302
by myron302

After seeing all the commercials and reading the review we decided to pay the extra $150+ to buy the Dyson over the other leading brands. My first impression is the dc24 is smaller than I was thinking it would be. The suction in my opinion is a lot less than my Hoover. My Hoover would suck up any cord it ran over. Although this is not a positive at least it had the power to do it. You will never have this problem with the dc24. I didn’t realize it but the DC24 has half the suction power of the dc25. I am assuming the dc25 will pick up a cord. (A small note the unit is designed so that the cord doesn’t get tangled in the brush let’s say if it sucked it up which it won’t) The hose on this unit is short, looks as if it will not last. Ironically my Hoover hose broke which is why I replaced the unit this time but the Dyson hose looks a little less sturdy. Again if you’re buying this vac because you heard it very powerful, don’t expect fireworks. With that being said, it do work but it is not worth the extra money. I am returning the dc24 and will try the dc25 or 28 which don’t have a ball. I would have to say that the only thing I am really please with is the ball. So even though the DC28 has more suction, it doesn’t have the ball. This is a trade off, kind of. I purchased the Dyson for the warranty and the fact that I don’t have to buy a new vac every year but after reading other reviews, it appear getting warranty help is a huge issue.

Was this review helpful? (13) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
myron302
New Britain, CT
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Hated It!
8/7/2010

Customer review by pocket123

1.0 stars 8/7/2010 by pocket123
by pocket123

Don't waste your money! This is a terrible vacuum! I have a dog, cat and 3 children ages 3, 1 & 1. I have to have a clean floor. I was very excited to get my Dyson. I had a much cheaper vacuum prior to the Dyson and was frustrated by many of the features, but appreciated it's fabulous suction. I thought the Dyson would solve all my problems. Unfortunately, it was the worst purchase I've ever made!!! The suction was horrible, and the attachments were useless. I called Dyson to see if my machine was defective, and they were no help! I was told they never hear anything but compliments about the suction of their machines and I must be doing something wrong. I'm not mensa, but I'm not too stupid to know how to use a vacuum. It does not leave vacuum lines in the carpet. I was told it's not supposed to (they designed not to leave lines), and I had to go over each are of my carpet several times to get up little pieces of debris. The attachments were completely useless. They were designed for someone very tall. This is a terrible vacuum and I'd recommend choosing another machine! Don't fall for the marketing!

Was this review helpful? (12) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
pocket123
Richmond, VA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great for hard floors, horrible for carpet
7/5/2012

Customer review by Emilyrocks

1.0 stars 7/5/2012 by Emilyrocks
by Emilyrocks

Okay it was hard to decide whether to give 1 star or 2, but I just couldn't give it a 'fair'. I've considered purchasing a Dyson for years and finally took the plunge. I was so excited to receive this vacuum, I wanted to love it so badly! I don't, at all, I'm so disappointed in it. It does a really horrible job on carpet, you can feel that it has hardly any suction and doesn't pick up worth anything. I had an itsy bitsy piece of paper right on the top of my carpet and it took THREE swipes to pick it up! Then I vacuumed one room with it, very thoroughly, and noted how much was in the dust cup. I took out my old cheap Shark vacuum, under $100, and re vacuumed that same room. There was more in that dust cup than there was in the Dyson immediately after using the Dyson. I really can't understand how such an expensive vacuum could do so poorly. The cord is also very short, shortest I've ever had on a vacuum. It's just annoying to have to keep plugging into different outlets. I have to say it does work great on hard floors. Even with the roller brush on it didn't spit stuff around like most vacuums do. I also love the size and how it maneuvers. I need a vacuum that works great on both carpet and tile, so sadly this is going back. Not sure what I'm going to get now. Big bummer.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Emilyrocks
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Complete Wast of Money
9/30/2011

Customer review by KVCK

1.0 stars 9/30/2011 by KVCK
by KVCK

Extremely disappointed in this product. My Hoover had better suction then the Dyson that was double the money. How can you pay so much for a vacumm that won't clean dirt on the floor without going over it multiple times! VERY SHORT CORD

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KVCK
East Brunswick, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Overpriced, not much suction and difficult to use
5/20/2012

Customer review by ColoradoDeb

1.0 stars 5/20/2012 by ColoradoDeb
by ColoradoDeb

I bought the DC24 because I was tired of purchasing vacuums every few years. The brush doesn't always come on and I've been fiddling with this vacuum for two days trying to get the brush to spin to vacuum my carpets. (The video shows that the brush should be able to turn on and off anytime. Without the brush, even the smallest item doesn't get sucked up.) Also, it has a small width and requires many more strokes to clean my carpets. This was a bad purchase and I'm afraid I can not recommend it.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ColoradoDeb
Colorado springs
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Very Disappointed
1/16/2009

Customer review by luvnmybaby23

3.0 stars 1/16/2009 by luvnmybaby23
by luvnmybaby23

I purchased a Dyson Ball in July 2008. On December 9, 2008 the motor blew out. Dyson is replacing the motor but I have been without a vacuum for over a month now. I was pleased with how well the vacuum was picking things up, but I am very disappointed that a $500 vacuum would have its motor go out after only 6 months of use. I will never purchase another Dyson vacuum again.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
luvnmybaby23
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Needed replacement vac
5/4/2009

Customer review by TNchange

3.0 stars 5/4/2009 by TNchange
by TNchange

Pros: Weight, size and maneuverability, assembly Cons: Price, power button hard to depress, filter cleaning Compared different vacuums for a replacement since my old vacuum had a motor burn out; went with Dyson on someone's recommendation and other reviews. This is my first Dyson product. Vacuumed once and Dyson seemed to pick up all the dirt although I had to reach up into chamber to retrieve fine fibers. The filters have to be taken out and washed every month – so if you have allergies like I do this vacuum may not be a good choice. .

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TNchange
Hermitage, TN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
9/6/2011

Customer review by soapywater

5.0 stars 9/6/2011 by soapywater
by soapywater

Very good sweeper. The easiest, most efficient sweeper I have ever owned. It will turn on a nickle and give you four cents backs. It has a lot of power easy cleaning chamber. Very good I give it an 11 out of a 1 to 10 scale.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
soapywater
farmington mo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Awesome
7/28/2011

Customer review by RrunnerMark

5.0 stars 7/28/2011 by RrunnerMark
by RrunnerMark

This machine is ready to go! Very simple to put together, hand / wand everything just snaps together. This is one slick machine. I call this a "man machine" as it is a no-frill, powerful and flat gets the job done. It is light, portable and simple to use. It is also smooth going from different height carpet right to laminate flooring. The vacuum automatically adjusts to carpet/floor heights and does have an option to turn off brushes for hardwood or laminate flooring. By all means you get what you pay for in its quality. I felt it to be well worth the purchase price in that you never have to buy bags or filters since they are reusable by just washing with cool water. Love the control of the vacuum cleaner and this model will get in tight spots! Highly recommend this product and am very pleased with it operation!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RrunnerMark
Dayton, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
8/2/2011

Customer review by 22sassy

5.0 stars 8/2/2011 by 22sassy
by 22sassy

The Dyson commercials are true....this is the best ever. I will never buy any other brand. I am in the process of a rehab and the Dyson has the most suction, gets every little speck of dust, plus it is so easy to empty. You do not have to worry about having bags in house. Love it!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
22sassy
carl junction, mo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
awesome product-it sucks so much dirt up!
8/1/2010

Customer review by dysonchick

5.0 stars 8/1/2010 by dysonchick
by dysonchick

I love my new dyson. It sucks so much dirt up. I could not believe how dirty my house was. I read so many reviews on this product before i bought it so i was aware that the hose is too short when trying to clean some areas-you will have to move the vacuum around with you -which is not heavy but kind of a pain. I think there is an extension hose you can get through- the dyson website which i will purchase. One review said that the cord was too short but i dont expect any vacuum to be able to stretch all the way around my great room or my living room since their really big rooms. Also i have dropped this baby down my flight of stairs the first day i had it and it did not break or even leave a mark on the vacuum. Very durable. It manevuers really well- on carpets but when you have to clean your bare floors with it -you have to turn the ball off so it becomes harder to manevuer. I also just bought and used today the allergy and asthma attachments- i love all them. I used the matress tool to clean the stairs-fyi i have learned that you need to clean the stairs starting from the bottom to the top so the vacuum does not fall down the steps while you are vacuuming them with the hose attachments:.) I do wish that the attachments came with the vacuum b/c they are pricey but definately worth it. This vacuum also is pricey but definately worth the splurg! I will never vacuum with anything but dyson from now on. You can also smell the difference in your home after vacuuming since it is so clean and the hepa filter does its job!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dysonchick
St. Peters, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
very good purchase
8/6/2011

Customer review by powerchuteflyer

5.0 stars 8/6/2011 by powerchuteflyer
by powerchuteflyer

I SHOPPED A LOT OF PLACES FOR THIS PRODUCT AND WALMART HAD THE BEST PRICE. I HAD IT DELIVERED TO THE STORE. I HAVE USED THE DYSON 24 AND IT REALLY DOES A NICE JOB ON THE CARPET AND FLOOR.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
powerchuteflyer
LOVELOCK, NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Thank You, Dyson!
3/28/2010

Customer review by OldyNotMoldy

5.0 stars 3/28/2010 by OldyNotMoldy
by OldyNotMoldy

I am a senior with upper extremety issues and have waited for years to buy this product. Not that I couldn't afford it, but because I couldn't imagine any vacuum could be worth this price. I have very high expectations. I am NOT disappointed! I love this vacuum! It does everything it's supposed to, and it knows when I switch from carpet to wood..self adjusting. It is so lightweight and easy to use. I do have to empty the cannister 2-3 times each time I use it but that is not a complaint. I have never seen so much dirt every single time I use this (there are only two us and one cat). And my floors actually seem to stay cleaner for longer because it's not dirt upon dirt, it's deep cleaning. Amazing! Well worth the price, easy maneuvering, sooo light weight and powerful. I don't even have to get the broom out to sweep under the counters after I vacuum, like I have had to do for so many years. This litte gem gets the job done. Well worth the price. I could have saved myself years of agony from lifting heavy vacuums and going over spots 2 or 3 times to get dirt up. I have never been so happy with a quality product. My only complaint...I would love a longer cord.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
OldyNotMoldy
San Francisco Bay Area
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
1-20 of 1233 total reviews
1-20 of 1233 reviews